Senior Paralegal at Lockings Solicitors

Nicola Coughlin

Senior Paralegal

I am a Paralegal based at the Beverley office and specialise in dealing with Wills and Lasting Powers of Attorney. I have over 20 years legal experience and have dealt with thousands of happy clients. I passionately believe that every adult should have an up-to-date Will and a Lasting Power of attorney. A Will deals with the assets you have and where you would like them to pass on your death. Lasting Powers of Attorney allow you to appoint people that you trust to assist you during your lifetime and it is my role to talk you through this process. Many clients worry about visiting a solicitor’s office to discuss their Will or Lasting Power of Attorney requirements. This can be due many different reasons, perhaps because of their age, frailty or complex family circumstances or just because of an apprehension to discuss such sensitive matters with a stranger. However, my main aim is to put my clients at ease from the outset, listen to what they would like to achieve and then prepare a Will and/or Lasting Power of Attorney that is tailored to their needs. I pride myself on explaining the process of making a Will and/or Lasting Power of Attorney in a language that is easily understandable without relying on legal terminology.

Highgate House, 19 Wednesday Market, Beverley, East Yorkshire, HU17 0DJ

Licensed for 1 years

Practice Areas

Welfare & Benefits, Wills, Trusts & Probate, Family Law

4.9/5 147 Client Reviews 147
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate 99%
  • Family Law 1%
147 Client Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    131
  • Very Good
    14
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 week ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
May 12, 2022 20220512221336

Will updates

5

Nicola dealt with our requirements and was as professional as they come. Excellent communication and listening skills, very personable but most of all very knowledgeable and competent in the matter if Wills. Her advice and guidance really helped ensure we got exactly what we wanted with our Will changes.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 19 May, 2022

Thank you Mark. We are happy to have been of service. We really appreciate your custom and your review. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Judith Elsie
Verified Judith Elsie Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
May 06, 2022 20220506192618

Will

5

My daughter uses Lockings and when I needed to update my will Lockins Soliciters was recommend. They were very professional from start to finish.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 09 May, 2022

Thank you Judith. We really appreciate your custom and you taking the time to feedback. We are delighted you are pleased and we look forward to working with you in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
May 04, 2022 20220504145402

Producing a will

4

My only reason for not giving 5 stars was i had to push for a Hull office appointment, they did explain why but i was specific when engaging to work that this is what was required. I was accomodated in Hull and all was good.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 04 May, 2022

Thank you Andrew. We are really pleased you got the outcome you were looking for and we really appreciate the feedback you have given which we have taken on board to ensure there is no problem with clients who want an appointment in Hull being seen in Hull. Best wishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
May 03, 2022 20220503102730

Will-Writing

5

The writing of two mirror wills was done very efficiently, with an over the phone consultation initially. After the draft wills had been drafted out, they were talked through over the phone to explain all the clauses and then an appointment was made to sign the documents at a later date with a witness to sign also. An easy and very efficient way to have a will written professionally.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 04 May, 2022

Thank you Peter. We really appreciate your custom and your review. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
April 28, 2022 20220428192340

Arranging LPAs

5

Arranging LPAs for me. The process was clearly and carefully explained. With good advice and experience when appropriate.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 29 April, 2022

Thank you Christopher. We are delighted you are pleased. We really appreciate your custom and we look forward to working with you in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
April 28, 2022 20220428171253

Wills

4

Advice given on areas we had not thought of.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 29 April, 2022

Thank you Peter. We are delighted to have been able to help and we are glad you are pleased. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Edna Hardy
Verified Edna Hardy Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
April 26, 2022 20220426165024

Making Will

5

On reaching 85 thought it was time to review my will.
Nicola Coughlin made a very thorough and painstaking will. Making sure all the Is dotted and Ts crossed. If my family need any advice I am sure it will be given.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 28 April, 2022

Thank you Edna. We really appreciate your custom and your feedback. We are delighted to have been able to help you. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Penelope
Verified Penelope Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
April 13, 2022 20220413172422

Wills

5

Wills

From the first telephone call they were extremely helpful. We dealt with Nicola at the Beverley Office. She explained everything thoroughly including the lasting power of attorney Nothing was too much trouble. First class would recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 19 April, 2022

Thank you Penelope. We are delighted you are pleased. We really appreciate your custom and that you've taken the time to feedback. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Linda
Verified Linda Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
April 10, 2022 20220410132326

Will writing

4

Everything done over the phone due to Covid restrictions except the actual signing of the Will which I had to go into the Beverley office to do.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 11 April, 2022

Thank you Linda. We really appreciate you taking the time to feedback. We are glad you are pleased and we look forward to working with you in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Verified Michael Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
April 06, 2022 20220406104335

Brilliant Wills Service

5

Brilliant Wills Service - from start to finish Nicola was first class at explaining options, including upsides and risks for our financial legacies. The whole process was handled by all of the staff in a very professional, efficient and friendly way, and we are extremely satisfied that we have got the Wills that we needed.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 11 April, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to feedback Michael. We are glad to have been of service. We are delighted you are pleased and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Geoff
Geoff Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
May 02, 2022
Collected on
20220502142539

Geoff

5

I was pleased with the service I received from Nicola Coughlin. She took her time to explain things fully to me and gave some good advice. She gave us all the confidence we needed, to feel happy that she had done what we needed her to as a family. Thanks also to Heather and her team for keeping me informed of the progress, they were always spot on with the timing of calls etc. I am pleased I chose Lockings Solicitors to help me.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 02 May, 2022

Thanks Geoff. We really appreciate your custom and your feedback. We are delighted you are pleased and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fiona
Fiona Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
March 08, 2022
Collected on
20220308143259

Fiona

5

The service I have received each time I've used them which include house purchases, power of attorney and writing my will, has been excellent and I intend to use them again in the future

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 08 March, 2022

Thank you Fiona! We really appreciate your custom and that you’ve taken the time to feedback. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alan
Alan Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
March 07, 2022
Collected on
20220307123557

Alan

5

Excellent service, mostly undertaken by video link but managed to be very clear information given at every step of the process.
When we did visit the office the staff were very friendly and kept us fully covid safe.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 07 March, 2022

Great thanks Alan. We are delighted you are pleased and we look forward to working with you in the future. Regards.

Was this review helpful? Yes

michael
michael Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Lockings Solicitors
Collected whilst working at Lockings Solicitors
April 23, 2021
Collected on
20210423144830

michael

5

excellent people to engage with very knowledgeable.

Solicitor named in this review: Nicola Coughlin

A representative from Lockings Solicitors responded to this review on 23 April, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback Michael. We really appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Regards

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Nicola Coughlin

I am a Paralegal based at the Beverley office and specialise in dealing with Wills and Lasting Powers of Attorney. I have over 20 years legal experience and have dealt with thousands of happy clients. I passionately believe that every adult should have an up-to-date Will and a Lasting Power of attorney. A Will deals with the assets you have and where you would like them to pass on your death. Lasting Powers of Attorney allow you to appoint people that you trust to assist you during your lifetime and it is my role to talk you through this process. Many clients worry about visiting a solicitor’s office to discuss their Will or Lasting Power of Attorney requirements. This can be due many different reasons, perhaps because of their age, frailty or complex family circumstances or just because of an apprehension to discuss such sensitive matters with a stranger. However, my main aim is to put my clients at ease from the outset, listen to what they would like to achieve and then prepare a Will and/or Lasting Power of Attorney that is tailored to their needs. I pride myself on explaining the process of making a Will and/or Lasting Power of Attorney in a language that is easily understandable without relying on legal terminology.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Nicola Coughlin

Address

Lockings Solicitors

Highgate House

19 Wednesday Market

Beverley

East Yorkshire



Phone 01482 300 500

Website

Resume

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Paralegal

Lockings Legal Services Limited

?-present