Solicitor at Ashtons Legal

Ashtons Legal

Stephen Williams

Solicitor - Partner

SRA ID: 160697

Stephen specialises in family law advising on financial matters relating to divorce and separation in respect of both married and unmarried couples, especially with clients who have a business or agricultural background. Stephen is experienced in high value divorce matters with international, business and trust-related issues. He has also undertaken work with an international aspect, both in family law and in recent years he advised on certain very high profile issues before the International Criminal Court.

Waterfront House, Wherry Quay, Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4 1AS

Licensed for 26 years

Practice Areas

Family Law

4.6/5 11 Customer Reviews 11
  • Family Law 100%
11 Client Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
Happy Customer
Happy Customer Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
March 03, 2020 20200303130930

Excellent free advice

5

Met with Stephen Williams last week and received excellent sound advice from a very personable gentleman. He wasn't there to simply take funds and make something out of a situation but instead gave his expert view on things which in turn gave us all the assurance we needed at this particular time. Would definitely recommend Stephen/Ashton's for anyone needing help/best advice in matters of family law/divorce etc. Superb!

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jess
Jess Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
June 04, 2019 20190604132045

Many thanks!

5

This was my first time working with ashtons Legal. Brilliant firm. Very friendly professional service. Would highly recommended to anyone!

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 05 June, 2019

Thank you very much for the excellent feedback and five star rating, it is greatly appreciated. We will pass it onto the team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rae
Rae Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
April 04, 2019 20190404093831

Professional and Caring

5

I’ve been using Ashton’s Legal for almos 2 years. They’re extremely professional and patient. All the staff have been considerate and calm and they’re knowledgeable. Stephen was very reassuring whilst helping me through court too. I would recommend them highly.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 02 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
January 25, 2019 20190125160239

Professional and Reassuring

5

Stephen Williams acted in my divorce. From our initial meeting, Stephen offered clear, considered and pragmatic advice. His professionalism and wealth of experience coupled with a calm, reassuring manner was of great comfort throughout a traumatic period. Eminently capable, he readily identified the key issues, seemed to have a sixth sense on how matters would unfold and was always one step ahead. He kept me focused on the end result and guided me expertly through the whole process. His clear view on what the financial outcome would be (he was right!) was enormously helpful as I planned for my future. I would highly recommend both Stephen and Ashtons Legal.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 25 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ana
Ana Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
December 17, 2018 20181217160010

Finest Professionalism and dedication

5

Amazing service that never let me down in 9 years. I would strongly recommend to everyone.
Mr Stephen Williams is a law ace and always goes an extra mile to fit you in his busy diary and deliver an excellent outcome.
Much obliged

K & family

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 19 December, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sergej
Sergej Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
October 30, 2018 20181030160249

Divorce and Child Custody

5

I have to thank Ashton-Legal and in particular Stephen Williams in the Family Department for his tireless efforts in my case. He was brilliant in my divorce proceedings, achieving more than what I was expecting given the circumstances and guided me through this difficult time in my life. I later retained Mr Williams as my lawyer when I was enduring a difficult situation with my child custody battle in the UK whilst living in Australia, once again, he handled the case brilliantly. He kept me fully informed about every stage of my case and gave me the best advice, as well as keeping my mind settled. Thanks to him, my daughter is now living with my in Australia and we can be a family once again. I would highly recommend Mr Williams to anyone who is seeking a reliable and precise legal advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 31 October, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your thanks onto Stephen and the team. Best wishes. Vicki

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kirsty
Kirsty Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
October 26, 2018 20181026194137

Fantastic service

5

I was faced with a particularly difficult and high conflict divorce. I chose Stephen Williams at Ashton’s in Ipswich as he has a wealth of experience in high conflict divorce cases. I knew mine would be a long battle. He was exceptional, calm and kind in helping me through an emotionally difficult process of separating from a long standing abusive marriage. His advice was professional and sensible. He has a wonderful sense of humour (much needed!). His secretary and assistants were very helpful and friendly. I can not fault the service I received. He constantly reassured me when it felt at times as though it would never end. He also instructed the best barristers on my behalf. I would absolutely recommend Stephen as a family solicitor for anyone wanting a professional, understanding, kind and highly experienced lawyer to guide them through what can be a very trying process.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 31 October, 2018

Thank you very much for your recommendation. We are delighted you are pleased with the service you received. Best wishes. Vicki

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jayne
Jayne Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
October 26, 2018 20181026161422

Applicants divorce

5

Solid, reliable and very supportive legal advice from Stephen Williams, who has been very approachable, personally very reassuring, helpful and supportive of ensuring a fair, equitable outcome. He has reassured me when the process became overwhelming and stressful, as inevitably divorce does become! I would highly recommend Stephen and the Ashtons team. I will most definately use Ashtons for all further legal advice e.g conveyancing, wills etc.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 31 October, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gail
Gail Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
October 26, 2018 20181026111522

Divorces "If only you could write a book"

5

There is a time in your life, Like a Divorce when you cannot control events, Its the worst thing for me that's just how I am. Meeting Stephen Williams at Ashton Legal, a Solicitors which I have used before, I immediately felt was some who understood how I felt and was willing to work with me.
The correspondence was unrelenting and we work together to minimise the responses. I relied on this knowledge to guide me though decisions I had to make and When it came to going to court Stephen organised counsel to attend with, being the less expensive option!!
Divorces are expensive but all in all Stephen I felt was fair and reasonable with the costs involved.
And I lived to tell the Tale!!

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 31 October, 2018

Many thanks for your review and best wishes for the future. Vicki

Was this review helpful? Yes

G
G Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
October 25, 2018 20181025175305

Child contact on separation, and divorce proceedings

5

Already well acquainted with the firm, which I had used in the past for conveyancing and Will drafting, I was introduced to Stephen Williams, head of the Family Law department, when I needed legal advice in Children Act proceedings in relation to child contact after separation. I was immensely reassured by his depth of experience, sound common sense, professionalism and particularly an incisive approach that resulted in the right outcome in the interests of my child. I also valued Stephen's efficient, no-nonsense and always courteous way of dealing with the other side in hugely stressful divorce proceedings. When it became necessary to resort to the Family Court I appreciated his cost-efficient and collaborative approach in using experienced Counsel when required.

Solicitor named in this review: Stephen Williams

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 31 October, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Stephen Williams

Stephen specialises in family law advising on financial matters relating to divorce and separation in respect of both married and unmarried couples, especially with clients who have a business or agricultural background. Stephen is experienced in high value divorce matters with international, business and trust-related issues. He has also undertaken work with an international aspect, both in family law and in recent years he advised on certain very high profile issues before the International Criminal Court.

Languages Spoken: English, French

Contact Stephen Williams

Address

Ashtons Legal

Waterfront House

Wherry Quay

Ipswich

Suffolk



Phone 01473 261363

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

15/10/93

17/10/19

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Partner

Ashtons Legal

?-present