Solicitor at Ashtons Legal

Colin Makin

Solicitor - Employment Law Partner

SRA ID: 196063

Colin’s work covers all aspects of the employer/employee relationship from recruitment to termination. As well as providing day to day employment law advice and support, Colin also advises on large scale redundancy exercises and restructurings as well as executive service agreements and terminations. His particular expertise is advising on the employment aspects of business transfers and service provision changes (TUPE). He has advised on some of the largest and most complex TUPE cases to be heard in the Employment Tribunals.

The Long Barn, Fornham Business Court, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP31 1SL

Licensed for 21 years

Practice Areas

Employment

5.0/5 7 Client Reviews 7
  • Employment 100%
7 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jon
Verified Jon Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
August 04, 2020 20200804000000

Employment

5

Jon recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Colin Makin

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your review of Colin and Emily. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anne
Verified Anne Added 9 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
August 01, 2020 20200801092445

Professionalism with understanding

5

I was recommended to ask for Employment Law advice from Colin Makin at Ashtons. My experience justified that recommendation.
Colin’ s colleague, Emily Dixon, gave me clear and considered advice. She was pleasant, whilst being very thorough. I felt received a very professional, but personal service - thank you to both Emily and Colin for your time and care.

Solicitor named in this review: Colin Makin

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 26 October, 2020

Thank you for your great review of Emily and Colin. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laura
Verified Laura Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
April 18, 2020 20200418114642

Professional, manage expectations and never over promise

5

My whole experience with both Colin and Tony has been totally amazing. I’m not just talking about the successful outcome but how they both supported me throughout the legal journey. Add to that the fantastic results and it really is a no brainier. Thank you Ashtons for everything, you literally have changed my life

Solicitor named in this review: Colin Makin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Graham
Verified Graham Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
February 27, 2020 20200227000000

Employment

5

Graham recommends Ashtons Legal

Solicitor named in this review: Colin Makin

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Verified Chris Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
February 15, 2020 20200215100532

Employment Issue

5

Great service, able to see me quickly, made me feel better during this difficult time. Told me what to say to my employer.

Solicitor named in this review: Colin Makin

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 20 February, 2020

Thank you for your review, Chris! We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and will pass your feedback onto Colin and Emily.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 2 years ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
January 28, 2019 20190128194308

Settlement agreement

5

I required a solicitor to guide me through a redundancy settlement agreement. On the recommendation of a close friend I visited Ashtons. From reception through to final meeting everyone was very helpful, professional and gave you time. I would have no hesitation in recommending Ashtons to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Colin Makin

A representative from Ashtons Legal responded to this review on 04 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Brian
Brian Added 2 months ago Report to admin
Ashtons Legal
Collected whilst working at Ashtons Legal
February 23, 2021
Collected on
20210223105400

Brian

5

Through a very difficult time personally, Ashtons Legal were fantastic with there support, understanding and advice. I was made fully aware of the process throughout and was given great advice and guidance. Thank you so much, especially to Emily and Colin. I would highly recommend Ashtons to anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Colin Makin

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Colin Makin

Colin’s work covers all aspects of the employer/employee relationship from recruitment to termination. As well as providing day to day employment law advice and support, Colin also advises on large scale redundancy exercises and restructurings as well as executive service agreements and terminations. His particular expertise is advising on the employment aspects of business transfers and service provision changes (TUPE). He has advised on some of the largest and most complex TUPE cases to be heard in the Employment Tribunals.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Colin Makin

Address

Ashtons Legal

The Long Barn

Fornham Business Court

Bury St Edmunds

Suffolk



Phone 0330 404 0773

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

16/08/99

14/01/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Employment Partner

Ashtons Legal

?-present