Senior Conveyancing Executive at Coffin Mew LLP

Elisabeth Smith

Senior Conveyancing Executive

I am a senior Conveyancing Executive in the Residential Property department and have worked in residential property since 1997 and since 2002 in the Hampshire area. I deal with all matters relating to residential property. This includes sale s and purchases of freehold and leasehold properties, shared ownership matter, transfer of equities, lease extensions and dedication agreements. I enjoy problem solving and dealing with matters which are considered to be out of the ordinary.

1000 Lakeside, North Harbour, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 3EN

Licensed for 1 years

Practice Areas

Housing & Property

4.7/5 62 Client Reviews 62
  • Housing & Property 100%
62 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    49
  • Very Good
    8
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
Julie
Verified Julie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
May 18, 2021 20210518101144

Nothing to fault, they did exactly what was required

5

I had a long drawn out process of selling my property through no fault of my solicitor, the dreaded chain, however everything in the end went smoothly and I cannot fault my solicitor Elisabeth who I will be dealing with again for the purchase of my next property.

I have already recommended her to a friend who will use her for the sale of his place.

Everything was done on line with no need for face to face, I'm sure if you don't have a printer to print and scan the documents they would send them in post to you, so no reason not to deal in this way.

Happy and hoping my purchase goes much quicker as no chain.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 23 May, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sayed
Verified Sayed Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
May 18, 2021 20210518060406

Property purchase

5

Purchased a property at auction and was very happy overall with the quality and speed of service from Elisabeth Smith.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 23 May, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kenneth
Verified Kenneth Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
May 11, 2021 20210511145801

Conveyancing

5

Elisabeth at Coffin Mew worked extremely hard to ensure that the transaction went through without delay and any issues were speedily dealt with.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 17 May, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Denise
Verified Denise Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
March 30, 2021 20210330083127

Help To Buy Remortgage

5

Excellent service. Good communication. Always kept aware of any delays caused by other parties and what was being done about them. Will definitely use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 31 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janet
Verified Janet Added 5 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
December 28, 2020 20201228125604

Disappointing service

2

I have used Coffin Mew on previous occasions to complete conveyancing work but the Solicitor that I have used before was not available due to an absence. I was referred to Elisabeth Smith in Portsmouth.
I work within Financial Services and appreciate fully the impact on working practices that the Covid pandemic has had/is having but making I what feel were appropriate allowances for this, the service provided by Elisabeth was very disappointing.
She was extremely difficult to make contact with and when I did manage to speak to her, on every occasion, she was ill prepared/hadn't read through correspondence - this made our conversations extremely frustrating. I felt from start to finish (across a sale, a purchase and a remortgage - 3 separate properties and 3 separate transactions), I was fully in control/influencing every step taken.
I feel that I was let down by Elisabeth, especially in light of the fact that the fees were high/not reduced due to the pandemic and the challenges that have impacted (cheaper Solicitors elsewhere but I foolishly felt that it was worth paying more for a better service). I completed on the purchase of my new property, not safe in the knowledge that all appropriate questions and enquiries had been made.
I wouldn't be happy to recommend Elisabeth personally and am unsure whether I would even return to Coffin Mew for future legal services which is a shame as I have used them over many years.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 January, 2021

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the service and that we were unable to meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service so we are really disappointed to receive this review. We are obliged for the feedback and will use this to work with our colleagues to seek to improve upon your experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Shelley
Verified Shelley Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
November 13, 2020 20201113124059

Buying/selling property....

4

...is tough these days. Having a Conveyancing Manager who keeps you updated, is paramount.

When the chips were down, my Conveyancing Manager stepped up to the mark, along with others within CM.

Would I use their services again? yes.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ben & Mary
Verified Ben & Mary Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
November 06, 2020 20201106000000

Ben & Mary recommends Coffin Mew LLP

5

Ben & Mary recommends Coffin Mew LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew Robert
Andrew Robert Added 7 months ago Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
October 21, 2020 20201021171456

Simply awful

1

From start to finish, just too many issues to discuss.
General lack of communication, initial 2 weeks to reply to email, did not reply phone messages, I could go in to details but at every turn of the house sale and purchase was terrible, and to top it off, they sent me a completion statement which was incorrect, so they re calculated, but it was a painful process, and would never ever recommend their services for anything.
Very poor indeed.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 22 October, 2020

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that the your recent experience did not meet your expectations. We are committed to providing a high quality legal service and to dealing with all our clients fairly and with integrity. When a client feels that something is not right during the course of a transaction we ask them to tell us so that we can work to put things right. All of our clients are provided with team leader contact details at the outset of their matter and if you would like to contact them we shall happily try to investigate and address your concerns directly with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jonathan Mark
Verified Jonathan Mark Added 11 months ago Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
July 08, 2020 20200708192817

Delayed due to virus

4

They ensured everything was ready to go once lockdown was reduced to allow house sales.

Everything went ok when day came for exchange and completion

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abigail Charlotte
Verified Abigail Charlotte Added 11 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Coffin Mew LLP
Collected whilst working at Coffin Mew LLP
June 18, 2020 20200618202927

Review

3

All fine until the very final stages of the sale and purchase. Communication was poor, reactive rather than proactive. Consistently chased for updates. We were kept accurately up to
date by our estate agent more so than our solicitor. Lacked confidence in the accuracy of the updates provided.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

There are two sides to every story and we do not wish to engage further on this matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Elisabeth Smith

I am a senior Conveyancing Executive in the Residential Property department and have worked in residential property since 1997 and since 2002 in the Hampshire area. I deal with all matters relating to residential property. This includes sale s and purchases of freehold and leasehold properties, shared ownership matter, transfer of equities, lease extensions and dedication agreements. I enjoy problem solving and dealing with matters which are considered to be out of the ordinary.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Elisabeth Smith

Address

Coffin Mew LLP

1000 Lakeside

North Harbour

Portsmouth

Hampshire



Phone

Website

Resume

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Senior Conveyancing Executive

Coffin Mew LLP

?-present