Miller Hendry

01382 200000

Miller Hendry is a long established legal and estate agency practice which has been selling properties in the Tayside and Strathearn area for generations. We pride ourselves on providing the high level of service you would expect from one of the largest estate agents in the area combined with the personal touch our clients expect.

4.8/5 168 Customer Reviews 168
Recommended by
166 Verified Clients
like Verified Client

How Miller Hendry compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Miller Hendry on ReviewSolicitors

168 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    149
  • Very Good
    16
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308114158

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Fast, efficient and friendly service provided throughout. It was a pleasure dealing with Miller Hendry.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 months ago Report to admin
December 13, 2018 20181213201502

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Excellent service from all staff involved. Highly efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 4 months ago Report to admin
November 01, 2018 20181101201505

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

The overall service was very good. The staff were always helpful and we are happy to continue with Miller Hendry as our legal advisors.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 5 months ago Report to admin
October 22, 2018 20181022211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Competent and alert on property matters unlike my experience elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 5 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2018 20181001211502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

The service that we received was excellent, Julie and Claire were very professional and helpful and kept us fully informed at every stage of the sale and purchase.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 6 months ago Report to admin
September 16, 2018 20180916211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Lovely friendly service. Got the job done efficiently.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 6 months ago Report to admin
September 08, 2018 20180908211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

This is the first time I have purchased a property in Scotland and Miller Hendry were excellent throughout in leading us through the process. Michael Johnston was outstanding and I would happily recommend him and Miller Hendry to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 6 months ago Report to admin
September 07, 2018 20180907211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

All matters dealt with in a timely and friendly manner. I enjoyed dealing with Michael, he was very professional and always a pleasure to speak to.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 7 months ago Report to admin
August 21, 2018 20180821211502

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I feel we have been looked after very well by Miller Hendry by every member of staff and department we have dealt with. From the Power of Attorney when our mother went into a home, right through to her death in March 2018 when we had to sell her property and carry out the wishes of her will.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 7 months ago Report to admin
August 20, 2018 20180820211502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Refreshingly Professional

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Miller Hendry

  • Alison Fitzgerald

    Alison is a Partner based in our Dundee office with experience in Housing Law, Housing Associations and private sector Landlord and Tenant Law.

  • Jeffrey Hope

    Jeff is our Managing Partner and based in our Dundee office and his areas of specialisation are Housing Law, Housing Associations and Accident claims. Jeff graduated from the University of Dundee with an Honours Degree in Law and Diploma in Legal Practice. Following his traineeship in Dundee he joined Burns, Veal & Gillan in 1986, becoming a Partner in 1989. After working in Conveyancing and Corporate Law, Jeff now specialises in Housing Law and Accident Claims. In addition to being the Managing Director of Miller Hendry (Asset Management) Limited which provides financial advice he is also Clerk and Factor of Dundee Educational Trust. Jeff is a member of the New Golf Club in St Andrews and is also an Honorary Member of Junior Chamber St Andrews.

  • Ernest Boath

    Ernie was educated in Kirriemuir and then at the University of Dundee where he graduated with a Degree in Law in 1989 and a Diploma in Legal Practice in 1990. After working mainly in Forfar and Kirriemuir on Court, Agricultural, Private Client and Conveyancing work, he joined Miller Hendry in 1997. He became the Head of the firm's Private Client Department in 2009. Ernie advises clients on Wills, Powers of Attorney, Intervention and Guardianship Orders, Inheritance Planning and Executries. He has been appointed Guardian for a number of incapable adults. In addition, he administers a number of Private and Charitable Trusts. Ernie is Secretary of the Angus Committee of Tayside Valuation Appeal Panel and was appointed a part-time occasional Sheriff Clerk in Forfar. He has taught on the Private Client course in the University of Dundee Post Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice. Ernie lives near Kirriemuir with his wife and their three children. When the seasons allow, he enjoys skiing and shooting.

  • Caroline Fraser

    Caroline is a Partner based in our Dundee office, specialising in the preparation of Wills and Powers of Attorney, providing advice to the elderly, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Charity Law, Succession Law and the administration of Executries. In addition, an area of particular interest to her is Scottish Trust law and taxation. Caroline trained with Miller Hendry and originally hails from Crieff. She was educated at Ardvreck School and Morrison’s Academy and then went on to gain her Honours Degree in Law and the Diploma in Legal Practice from the University of Dundee. She is a Notary Public and is also a member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP), the professional body for practitioners specialising in the field of Trusts and Estates. Caroline completed the STEP Diploma in Trusts and Estates (Scotland) with Distinction and had the honour of receiving the “Trust and Executry Accounting Student of the Year Award” at STEP’s Annual Award Ceremony in London. Married with two sons, Caroline enjoys spending time with family and friends, cooking, travelling and going on country walks. She also has an interest in interior design and gardening.

  • Alistair Duncan

    Alistair is the Head of our Commercial Department and works out of both Dundee and Perth offices. A graduate of the University of Dundee, Alistair trained in Edinburgh in all aspects of commercial and rural property and acted for a number of plc's and Highland estates. He joined Miller Hendry in 2004 and works with clients on commercial property matters including developments, leases, bank security work and property investment and farms, forestry and estates. Married with two sons, if Alistair is not in the office then he is more than likely to be on a bike, hillwalking, skiing, or running.

  • Kim De Smid

    Kim is a senior solicitor based in our Dundee office. She graduated from Dundee University and has since worked in private practice in Dundee and Fife. She joined Miller Hendry in 2014, and deals with all areas of residential conveyancing, mainly helping clients buy and sell properties. Out of work she enjoys music and walking her dogs.

  • Lyndsey

    Lyndsey graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 2007, following which she joined the Scottish Law Commission as a legal research assistant. She then returned to Dundee in 2008 to obtain her Diploma in Legal Practice, graduating in 2009. Lyndsey joined Miller Hendry in September 2010.

  • Beverley McMahon

    Beverley is an Senior Associate based in our Dundee office. Beverley deals with all aspects of Residential Conveyancing, including buying and selling properties, equity release arrangements, re-mortgages, boundary disputes and transfer of title, with a particular interest in domestic leasing. She graduated with an Honours Degree in Law and gained her Diploma in Legal Practice from the University of Dundee. Beverley commenced her training with a firm of solicitors in Kyle of Lochalsh before returning to work in this area, firstly in St. Andrews and then in Dundee, joining Miller Hendry in 2008. Outside of the office, Beverley lives with her partner and enjoys walking and cycling in her spare time.

  • Leann Brown

    Leann graduated from the University of Dundee in 2005 with a Honours Degree in Law. She then obtained a first class Masters Degree in Civil Engineering also at the University of Dundee before going on to complete the Diploma in Legal Practice. Leann qualified as a Solicitor in 2010. Having worked with prominent law firms in Fife, Aberdeen and Dundee specialising in Private Client work, Leann joined Miller Hendry in September 2013 and is part of our Private Client team specialising in Will drafting, Powers of Attorney, Executry and Trust administration, and Estate Planning. Leann lives locally with her husband and dog.

  • Alan Matthew

    Alan is a Consultant based in our Dundee Office. His areas of specialisation are Employment Law, Intellectual Property and Licensing. Alan graduated from the University of Dundee in 1978 and worked in a number of legal firms in Tayside and Fife before joining Burns Veal in 1984 where he became a Partner the following year. In 1998 the firm joined Miller Hendry. With a broad experience in Court and Private Client work, Alan now concentrates on Commercial work and in particular Employment, Intellectual Property and Licensing Law. From 1997 to 2010 he was a member of the Council of the Law Society of Scotland and continues to serve on the Guarantee Fund Committee. Alan’s late wife, Eileen, was also a Partner in the firm and they have two grown up daughters. His interests include rugby (ex-Morgan Academy player), hill walking, travelling and after dinner speaking.

  • Donnie Macleod

    Donnie is a Partner based in our Perth office and has worked with Miller Hendry since 2003. He deals with Wills, Powers of Attorney, Guardianships, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Trusts, advice to elderly clients and the administration of Executries. Outside of the office he is a keen curler and golfer and his musical interests include bagpiping.

  • Richard Frenz

    Richard is a graduate of the University of Dundee. He joined the then firm of Sneddon Campbell & Monro in Perth in 1978 and became a Partner in 1982. Head of the Court Department, Richard specialises in most aspects of Family Law including separation, divorce, residence, contact and adoptions. He has been Accredited by the Law Society of Scotland as a specialist in this area. He is also the local co-ordinator of the Family Law Association and has lectured and written articles on his area of his expertise. Amongst his outside interests, Richard is a member and past Secretary of the Society of the High Constables of the City of Perth and is a member of The Guildry Incorporation of Perth. He is a former Secretary and Captain of Perthshire Rugby Club. His sporting interests include golf, curling, bowling, tennis, badminton, squash and cycling. Richard is married and has four children.

  • John G Thom

    John is a Partner based in the Miller Hendry, Perth office. He specialises in Succession and Estate Planning, Powers of Attorney and Guardianships, Private Trusts, Executries, Asset Management and Mental Health Legislation. Educated at Glenalmond College and a graduate of the University of Aberdeen, John joined Miller Sneddon in 1988 and became a Partner in 1991. He has worked in the Perth and Dundee offices of the firm which became Miller Hendry in 1991. Before becoming Chairman of the firm John was Head of the Private Client Department and before that Head of the Residential Property Department.

  • Amanda Frenz

    Amanda looks after our clients in the Perth, Crieff and Auchterarder areas. She specialises in Conveyancing and Leasing. Amanda is a Honours Graduate of the University of Aberdeen. After training with a firm in Aberdeen she joined Miller Hendry in 1994 and since then she has helped hundreds of our clients to successfully purchase and sell their properties. Amanda is friendly and approachable and is always delighted by the number of returning clients and the friends and family of existing clients who contact her for help with property matters. Amanda is a Partner in our Perth office. She has been on the board of Perthshire Solicitors Property Centre for many years. Amanda also is a member of the Oakbank Primary School Council and has helped with many fundraising events over the years. Amanda and her husband, Richard, a Partner in our Court Department, live in Perth with their son.

  • Aileen Scott

    Aileen is an Associate based in our Perth Office. She lives in Auchterarder and came to work with Miller Hendry having worked with Drysdale Anderson, Solicitors, Auchterarder. Aileen deals with the administration of Executries, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Guardianships, Wills and Powers of Attorney. She has many years of experience in this area and enjoys all aspects of private client work.

About This Branch

Description

Miller Hendry is a long established legal practice which has served individuals and businesses in the Tayside and Strathearn area for generations. The firm has grown to be one of the largest legal practices in our area. We are able to assist our clients while offering a personal service to all our clients. Our staff include solicitors, paralegals and support staff who are equipped to provide a complementary blend of specialist and more general expertise on a wide range of fields including those listed on this page. We continue to try to shape in a proactive way the services we provide to meet the ever changing needs of our clients. Whatever the problem, be it personal or business, large or small, routine or complex, it will be given individual attention and will be handled according to the highest professional standards.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000