Request a callback

Book an appointment

How GL Law Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of GL Law on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used GL Law and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how GL Law performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 94%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used GL Law and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how GL Law compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that GL Law offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    42
  • Very Good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    3

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Richard Watkins

Richard Watkins

July 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Private Client

I have used several legal practices in Bristol Bath Wiltshire and Cornwall during the last few years, and all were to be found to be wanting in terms of execution of projects, speed, empathy, communication, and legalese made simple. GL Law have been a welcome surprise by exceeding our expectations in every quarter. Thank you Heledd and Bev. We look forward to working with you other colleagues now.

Was this review helpful?

Mr H

Mr H

July 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Private Client

Excellent service, perfectly executed at a low cost.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

The service was very good. By far the most irritating bit was doing this survey.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

July 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Commercial Property

Exceptional, prompt, efficient and very good value. I will always recommend Jonathan Wilson and Bridget Juckes.

Was this review helpful?

Roger

Matter Type:

Commercial Litigation Matters

Roger

June 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great litigators

Richard Gore is rare amongst lawyers in having an astute sense of commercial acumen as well as a detailed knowledge of the law. His advice is always keenly focussed and represents excellent value for money. You can always be sure that work won't be delegated and that it will get his personal attention even if it has to be done at short notice. He and his colleagues at GL Law are a great team and I thoroughly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Matter Type:

Commercial Litigation Matters

Andrew

June 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

First class commercial litigators

Richard Gore of GL Law is a first class lawyer who provides clear, pragmatic and commercially aware advice to those who find themselves faced with shareholder, partnership, agency and other commercial disputes. He is firmly focused on good client service. I would unhesitatingly recommend him

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

April 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Commercial

Just a note of thanks to Bridget as well......

Was this review helpful?

Aydan Frankcom

Aydan Frankcom

April 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Residential Property

If you are going to work only days a week where business at the other end doesn't stop, you have to allocate somebody to take care of things in the absence of the main solicitor. This could be a capable paralegal as well, not necessarily an experienced solicitor is needed to send documents or ask for documents.

Was this review helpful?

Raphael

Raphael

March 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellant - in difficult loan / business agreement which went to court.

I have used Gregg Latchams on several occasions for various things. The most complex and involved being a "business partnership / project" that involved my lending money secured against a property and "joint venture" to develop and make money from improvements to and sale of the property. Cut a long and involved story short - it went pear shape - we could not agree what to do, he could not and refused to repay the loan so it all went to court. GLL - and Richard Gore were excellant with lots of advice prior to and during it going to court - where I won and would could have been very expensive for me eventually came to a good out come.
Excellant advice and service.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Daniel

Daniel

January 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Daniel

I couldn’t have asked for a better representative!! I was kept up to date at every stage and felt at all times that nick had my back. I was so impressed with the bundle he produced, and even more impressed by his excellence in the court room, and above all the way he used my dad’s one liner in his closing statement “ this is a book on how not to run a company” you did me proud and thanks to us taking this step my former employer has been forced to buck up his ideas once again thank you for all your help gregg Latchums number 1 ☝️

Was this review helpful?

Judy

Judy

January 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Judy

A well-established law firm that I have used for both business and personal matters. I have always received an efficient and effective service. Located on Queen Square in a convenient location with nearby parking.

Was this review helpful?

Neil

Neil

December 09, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Neil

I wanted to write to you to express my gratitude and thanks, for the professionalism, commitment and incredible support provided by Jen over recent months.
Earlier this year, I was somewhat deflated at the legal advice and support I was receiving with my previous solicitor, and frustrated that my divorce case wasn’t progressing. However, since being advised by a close friend to approach GL, I’ve never looked back.
I can’t thank you and Jen enough for everything you’ve done for my divorce case, and the position I find myself in today. Yesterday, we achieved a deal, having moved the other sides position considerably from the beginning of the FDR hearing.
In a difficult year for us all, you have managed to end my year on a high note, for which I am very grateful.

Was this review helpful?

Adam

Adam

April 07, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Adam

I was highly recommended to use Gregg Latchams by a respected friend. I have to say, it was very easy to conduct business with them (even from a long distance away from their offices), communication was frequent and pricing was made clear from the very start. Overall I'm very happy with the service received and now I can highly recommend them to anyone else needing help.

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Rachel

March 14, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Rachel

I found the team at Gregg Latchams to be friendly, supportive, and professional. I was kept up to date with progress and made to feel welcome to get in contact with any queries. The process and implications of the matter were explained to me so that I was able to make fully informed decisions about next steps - it really felt like we were working together in partnership. Costs were made clear to me at the start and did not exceed the agreed amount. I'd definitely recommend Gregg Latchams.

Was this review helpful?

GL Law are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

GL Law is an independent law firm with a rich history dating back to the 1800s. Bristol is home to our headquarters and our team support clients across the South West, London, and beyond. Our specialist legal advisors will help you make life decisions, navigate change and limit risk. Therefore, we think it’s important that our team are friendly and supportive as well as experts in a range of legal practices. Everyone at GL Law works hard to ensure you receive exceptional service. Our approach is friendly, human and above all – effective. To find out more about GL Law please call 0117 906 9400 or email hello@gl.law

Practice areas

Property & Conveyancing Family Law Wills, Probate & Inheritance Private Wealth, Tax & Trusts Long-Term & Elderly Care Dispute Resolution Employment Law Commercial & Corporate Commercial Property Construction Regulatory & Licensing

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Libel and Defamation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Business Crime
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Change of name
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Environment
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • 0830 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment