Richard Herne & Co

0117 957 4508

If you are looking for help and advice with conveyancing in South Gloucester, then look no further than Richard Herne and Co. We are regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and we are highly qualified and experienced. So you really can put your mind at ease when you enlist in our services because you are in the hands of the professionals.We are a fully qualified firm of solicitors and we have an in-house licensed conveyancer with practicing conveyancing certificates.

4.3/5 303 Customer Reviews 303
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Richard Herne & Co compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Richard Herne & Co on ReviewSolicitors

303 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    220
  • Very Good
    28
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    38

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Victoria
Verified Victoria Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 05, 2019 20191105072136

Fabulous!

5

A highly efficient, responsive, professional conveyancing service delivered with a warm and friendly approach. Joanne and Bev made our house sale/purchase run smoothly from start to finish! Thank you 😊

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 05 November, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Victoria. We have a fantastic conveyancing department which we are very proud of. We hope you are enjoying your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Madeleine
Madeleine Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 29, 2019 20191029093907

Handling of an estate

5

From 2006 until his retirement in October 2019 I have enjoyed the professional help of Simon Cole, Coles Solicitors Northallerton. As a foreign citizen living outside the United Kingdom it was especially important for me to have a solicitor who acted with integrity and whose advice I could follow with absolute confidence.
I would like to thank Simon Cole and wish him all the best for his retirement
Madeleine

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Simon Pearson Cole

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 29 October, 2019

Many thanks for your wonderful review Madeleine. Simon is a very valued member of our team and we will miss him dearly when he retires on Thursday. We thank you for your continued business and hope you will keep us in mind should you need a Solicitor again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Verified Michael Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 24, 2019 20191024010000

Michael recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

5

Michael recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019 20190926141715

House purchase

4

As always with house moves but stressful and takes longer than expected. But all sorted and seemed very thorough to ensure we have no future issues.

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thank you for your review Mark. We know the moving process can be stressful and lengthy but we thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you enjoy your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

edward
edward Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 24, 2019 20190924130924

Great Trusted company

5

I have been using coles for many years now in regards to a family matter. I have never had any issues with them at all found the to be friendly and approchable. When every to call them its always a happy "hello, how are you doing" nothing is ever an issue to them. Thank you for everything Shauna and Bernie excellent service throughout

Solicitor named in this review: Shauna Leslie Finch

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

Edward, many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review. I have passed your comments on to Shauna and Berni who are both thrilled to have been able to help. If any of our team can be of any help in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 20, 2019 20190920103836

House sale

5

All carried out well, quick to complete, no complaints, would recommend and use again.

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 23 September, 2019

Thank you for your review David. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if there is anything else we can help with. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vicky
Vicky Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 19, 2019 20190919224333

My divorce

5

I could not have had better advice from Mrs Shauna Finch. She has made the whole process bearable. She was able to signpost me to other types of support as well as giving me excellent legal advice. Divorce is never easy, but I am delighted that I have had Shauna’s experience and knowledge to guide me through what has been the most difficult time in my life so far.

Solicitor named in this review: Shauna Leslie Finch

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 23 September, 2019

Vicky, thank you ever so much for leaving such a wonderful review of Shauna. At what is an incredibly difficult time for you we appreciate your feedback. We are glad Shauna could help and we wish you all the very best in the next exciting step in your future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lee
Verified Lee Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 18, 2019 20190918115107

House sale

1

Firstly I must say my house sale actually did go through but later than was actually agreed, however from day 1 I was left out of the loop with decisions, had to deal with a secretary on many occasions after solicitor went on holiday (never handed my case over), had to make phone calls to buyers solicitor to see if any progress and nearly lost the sale.

I was not told when paperwork had arrived and even 3 weeks after something did arrive, was then instructed "oh, I forgot to tell you to send this". Not easy when you live abroad.

Honestly, I'm so happy it's over but do have a large phone bill to now pay.

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I am pleased that your transaction has now completed for you. We are never in complete control of the timings of a transaction due to having to deal with search providers, mortgage lenders, other solicitors, estate agents etc. I appreciate that due to your distance that there was some issues, and having spoken to the team who handled your matter they did do their utmost to assist you. Once again thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Katie Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 13, 2019 20190913184301

House sale and purchase

5

Huge thank you to Joanne and her team for all of their help in the sale of our house and the purchase of our new home. What should have been a straight forward transaction turned out to be more difficult than anticipated but Joanne kept us updated throughout, was always available to take our calls and answer our queries and ensured that eventually got the completion date that we wanted.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 16 September, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Katie. Joanne is thrilled to have been able to help you. From all at Coles Solicitors, we hope you are enjoying your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clive
Clive Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 13, 2019 20190913093856

Writing my will. Efficient and thorough

5

Great service. I had initially engaged another solicitor in Redcar who treated me as a nuisance because I wanted "my will" rather than and off the shelf will. I moved to Coles, Vicky John listened to what I wanted and translated it into a will. It was my will, not a law-society standard. Thank you Coles for being welcoming and for treating me as an individual

Solicitor named in this review: Victoria John

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 16 September, 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback Clive. We are glad that Vicky could help you after initially dealing with another firm of Solicitors. If we can be of any assistance in the future, you know where we are. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kathryn
Kathryn Added 10 months ago Report to admin
January 02, 2019
Collected on
20190102164602

Kathryn

5

Lovely staff and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review Kathryn.

Tom
Tom Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 30, 2018
Collected on
20181030092248

Tom

1

Unbelievably slow to respond, every single time. Our exchange was delayed by about 6-8 weeks simply because they were so slow to turn things around. Phone just rings and rings. When they did respond, they would blame other parties and try to take you for a fool. Really, really poor experience. Always spend the money to get a decent solicitor - it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 13 November, 2018

Dear Mr Collins Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service provided to you by our company. We have checked our records and we cannot see that we have acted for you, if you were our client please get in contact with us direct so we can look into your matter using our complaints procedure. We believe that you might have been on the other side of a matter we dealt with and note that whilst completion was wanted by you some weeks earlier, this was not possible as not all the formalities on your side had been dealt with by the proposed date. It was therefore impossible for exchange to take place. We confirm that our client was happy with the service we provided them.

Johnny
Johnny Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 26, 2018
Collected on
20181026223811

Johnny

1

Our house buyers used Richard Hearne and were nearly completely useless. We had to send follow ups for weeks, whilst the solicitor was either on holiday or sick, then couldn't be reached (which conveniently seemed to fall on multiple consecutive Friday's). Correspondence was sent out by post and not electronically - the slowest form. The case seemed to have to be picked up by a competent solicitor from London eventually. Wouldn't recommend whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 13 November, 2018

Dear Mr Jones Thank you for your review however we feel your feedback is unwarranted as you are not our client. We confirm that we do regularly send out correspondence via email however this is not always possible depending on the size and nature of the documents that need to be sent. We confirm that our client has not raised any issues with the service we provided them. As you are not our client we have requested Google remove your review.

Catherine
Catherine Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 31, 2019
Collected on
20191031154447

Catherine

5

Professional services

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 05 November, 2019

Thank you for your kind words Catherine. Coles Solicitors

Steven
Steven Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Citizenship
  • Criminal Damage
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • TUPE
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Property Disputes
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Deportation appeals
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Child Law
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Litigation Law
  • Stress at Work
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Professional Negligence
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Buying at auction
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Theft
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Criminal defence - All
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Re-entry bans
  • Trusts
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Professional Conduct
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Immigration Law
  • Regulatory Defence
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Transfers of equity
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Drugs offences
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Pension Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Civil partnerships
  • Housing disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Flexible Working
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Transfer of title
  • Family Based Visas
  • Children
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • UK ancestry
  • Leasehold properties
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Trusts
  • Wills
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Travel rights
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Discrimination at Work
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Injunctions
  • Senior Executives
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Human Rights
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Probate
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Separation Agreement
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Right to Manage
  • Business Crime
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Extending your Lease
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Assault
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Social Services
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Redundancy
  • Child contact
  • Family Mediation
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Housing Management
  • Pension and property advice
  • Remortgaging
  • Partner and family visas
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Lease Extensions
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Family Leave
  • Financial Matters
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Family law
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Repossessions
  • Housing Associations
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Employment Contracts
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Against The Council
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Part Time Workers
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Visas
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Collaborative Law
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Consumer Rights
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Ancestry visas
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000