Richard Herne & Co

0117 957 4508

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors, Richard Herne & Co, Ray Nixon Brown, Coles, Austin Ray, Hancock Quins

If you are looking for help and advice with conveyancing in South Gloucester, then look no further than Richard Herne and Co. We are regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and we are highly qualified and experienced. So you really can put your mind at ease when you enlist in our services because you are in the hands of the professionals.We are a fully qualified firm of solicitors and we have an in-house licensed conveyancer with practicing conveyancing certificates.

4.2/5 344 Customer Reviews 344 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Richard Herne & Co compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Richard Herne & Co on ReviewSolicitors

344 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    241
  • Very Good
    33
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    12
  • Awful
    45

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Colin
Colin Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2020 20200401180152

House Sale - Mariette

4

First class service from Mariette under the current conditions that we find ourselves in.
I am used to dealing with MY Solicitor - previously Chris Tunnard - so was initially disheartened to find myself being passed from office to office and person to person. The interdepartmental communication was not good - and I was starting to panic.
However, when I eventually ended up in Mariette's safe hands I didn't need to worry again. She pushed my sale along at an exceptional rate. Nothing sat on her desk for any length of time. She was always very quick in responding to my queries and was always a step in front me.
Many thanks Mariette - your efforts are very much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 03, 2020 20200303122054

Inept Communication

2

I was selling a house in a different location from where I live and wanted to use a local solicitors that had the facilities to do so without travelling. Coles seemed a perfect fit, however the branch that was asked to sell my propoerty would not get in touch or communicate with me throughout the process, I had to initiate contact and most of the informationI received was through the estate agent. I was also told that there was delays in selling my house as their assistant was of sick, sorry not my problem! Did not feel like a valued customer felt like a problem.

There was good news though, if I was to rate my local Coles I would have given them a higher rating as they were courtious and helpful. I went to complain about the branch dealing with the sale my house and the level of attention I got after this was much better.

The scores are solely based on the branch that was local to the property not my local branch.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Verified Matthew Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 02, 2020 20200302000000

Housing & Property

5

Matthew recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

Was this review helpful? Yes

Beryl
Beryl Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 28, 2020 20200228170843

application for inquest

4

I have had invaluable help from Tony Eastwood in the process of achieving a new inquest for my son who died in 1997. The legalities of the last stages of this process, involving an application to the High Court proved impossible without professional help. The administrative team at the Redcar office have always proved helpful and sympathetic whenever I have needed to phone. Mr Eastwood found me an excellent barrister to appoint as my representative at the Coroner's Court in Essex. The result has been a new narrative verdict which is extremely satisfactory.

Solicitor named in this review: Anthony Eastwood

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review Beryl and we are so glad Tony could assist you with your case. If you ever need a Solicitor in the future, you know where we are. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katherine
Verified Katherine Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 24, 2020 20200224000000

Katherine recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

5

Katherine recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Penny
Verified Penny Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 19, 2020 20200219200415

Selling of mums property and probate

5

Louise and bev were very kind and professional with good communication skills also very professional. Would recommend Cole's

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Penny. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Verified Simon Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 19, 2020 20200219141717

Conveyancy

5

Straightforward clear professional, it was good to have in the the ability to upload documents. Very happy with the service overall

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 19 February, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Simon. It's very much appreciated. We wish you all the best in your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michelle
Verified Michelle Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 13, 2020 20200213190708

Instructing

4

Knowledgable and informative. I do feel that communication could have been a bit better as sometimes I didn’t feel like I was kept up to speed with things. This could have been because it was my first house purchase and I was not aware of the usual process. This was also quite a difficult case which took a lot longer than expected.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Michelle and congratulations on your first home. We are sorry you felt you were not kept up to speed at all times and we have taken this feedback on board. We wish you all the very best in your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Deb
Deb Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 11, 2020 20200211205715

Appalling!

1

My partner’s mother died in September following which we collected her Will and House Deeds from the Guisborough branch. After keeping them for a few weeks we returned both to Guisborough as we felt they would be safer there until required. However when we went to collect them this week we found the Guisborough branch closed. We also then discovered the Thirsk branch which I use to be closed too. In neither case had we been notified. When we today contacted the Northallerton head office branch they were unable to tell us where these documents were and we now have to wait and see if they can find them. I have no idea what we do if they can’t be found and it is a stress after a death and the subsequent sorting of affairs that we could absolutely have done without. It is extremely poor service not to notify people that their branch is closing, and it is incompetence bordering on professional misconduct to lose, even temporarily, such important documents. Suffice to say, I will be collecting my own Will from them immediately - it would clearly be safer under the bed!



A representative from Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 12 February, 2020

Thank you for providing this feedback. Having spoken to our team, we are confident we spoke with a gentleman yesterday regarding this and we are currently resolving the issue. We will be back in touch shortly to discuss the detail of your review. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Verified Michael Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 11, 2020 20200211000000

Company & Commercial

5

Michael recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Laurence Daniels

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Kathryn
Kathryn Added 1 year ago Report to admin
January 02, 2019
Collected on
20190102164602

Kathryn

5

Lovely staff and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review Kathryn.

Tom
Tom Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 30, 2018
Collected on
20181030092248

Tom

1

Unbelievably slow to respond, every single time. Our exchange was delayed by about 6-8 weeks simply because they were so slow to turn things around. Phone just rings and rings. When they did respond, they would blame other parties and try to take you for a fool. Really, really poor experience. Always spend the money to get a decent solicitor - it's worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 13 November, 2018

Dear Mr Collins Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service provided to you by our company. We have checked our records and we cannot see that we have acted for you, if you were our client please get in contact with us direct so we can look into your matter using our complaints procedure. We believe that you might have been on the other side of a matter we dealt with and note that whilst completion was wanted by you some weeks earlier, this was not possible as not all the formalities on your side had been dealt with by the proposed date. It was therefore impossible for exchange to take place. We confirm that our client was happy with the service we provided them.

Johnny
Johnny Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 26, 2018
Collected on
20181026223811

Johnny

1

Our house buyers used Richard Hearne and were nearly completely useless. We had to send follow ups for weeks, whilst the solicitor was either on holiday or sick, then couldn't be reached (which conveniently seemed to fall on multiple consecutive Friday's). Correspondence was sent out by post and not electronically - the slowest form. The case seemed to have to be picked up by a competent solicitor from London eventually. Wouldn't recommend whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 13 November, 2018

Dear Mr Jones Thank you for your review however we feel your feedback is unwarranted as you are not our client. We confirm that we do regularly send out correspondence via email however this is not always possible depending on the size and nature of the documents that need to be sent. We confirm that our client has not raised any issues with the service we provided them. As you are not our client we have requested Google remove your review.

Victor
Victor Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 14, 2020
Collected on
20200314132831

Victor

3

Good welcoming service you can have a free 30min first consultation. Had to make a refund and it took to long unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes

kelly
kelly Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 09, 2020
Collected on
20200309185306

kelly

5

Solicitor was very informative and helpful . I would certainly use this solicitor again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Herne & Co responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Kelly and we look forward to working with you again. Coles Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Housing Management
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Family law
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Housing disputes
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Pension and property advice
  • Re-entry bans
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Financial Matters
  • Property Disputes
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Family Leave
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Flexible Working
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Ancestry visas
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Pension Law
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Professional Discipline
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Buying at auction
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Assault
  • Citizenship
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Part Time Workers
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Senior Executives
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Visas
  • Criminal Damage
  • Professional Conduct
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Collaborative Law
  • TUPE
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Employment Contracts
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Drugs offences
  • Family Based Visas
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Separation Agreement
  • Repossessions
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Children
  • Partner and family visas
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Against The Council
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Gardening Leave
  • Child contact
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Remortgaging
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Travel rights
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Immigration Law
  • Extending your Lease
  • Consumer Rights
  • Lease Extensions
  • Deportation appeals
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Tenant Eviction
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Probate
  • Business Crime
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Leasehold properties
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Theft
  • Housing Associations
  • Injunctions
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Trusts
  • Personal Injury Law
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Right to Manage
  • Human Rights
  • Civil partnerships
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • UK ancestry
  • Family Mediation
  • Stress at Work
  • Redundancy
  • Injunctions
  • Transfer of title
  • Wills
  • Professional Negligence
  • Social Services
  • Litigation Law
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Trusts
  • Child Law
  • Declarations of trusts
  • EEA Family Permits
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000