Ray Nixon Brown

01525 372 247

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors, Richard Herne & Co, Ray Nixon Brown, Coles, Austin Ray, Hancock Quins

Ray Nixon Brown have been helping the community of Leighton Buzzard for generations. Whether that involves buying your first house, recovering money or just planning for the future, we can help set you on the right path. To tackle your legal problem right away, call and talk to our friendly advisers. We'll get you an appointment with one of our solicitors quickly, so you can stop worrying.

4.2/5 353 Customer Reviews 353 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Ray Nixon Brown compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Ray Nixon Brown on ReviewSolicitors

353 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    245
  • Very Good
    34
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    13
  • Awful
    48

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
joanna
joanna Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 16, 2017 20170916123906

Conveyancing

5

Prompt professional service with no frills and a competitive price. Quick response and action to all questions asked.
Extremely happy with service given.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 3 years ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
January 25, 2017 20170125100842

Power of Attorney

5

The service and professionalism provided by Ray Nixon Brown is exceptional. The advise and subsequent documentation received made the whole process simple and straightforward.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gordon
Verified Gordon Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 27, 2020 20200527093635

House sale

4

Very helpful in the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ruth
Ruth Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2020 20200511132503

032776 Laurence Daniels

5

Laurence managed my expectations and then exceeded them,he explained every part of my claim and felt I could and did ask for clarification when legal terms used. These he put into layman's terms. I would recommend that if you have an injury claim he is your man.



Solicitor named in this review: Laurence Daniels

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 4 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 05, 2020 20200505094735

Terrible experience

1

Used Coles solicitors ( now taken over by RH Legal ) as conveyances for our house purchase. We offered on our proposed new house in early Oct 2019 and eventually completed on the 24/04/2020!!
The delay was due, mainly, to the ineptitude of RH Legal. The issue was that due to Coles being taken over by RH they had not kept up to date with their “housekeeping”. This meant that they were not on the panel of lenders for our mortgage company. We were told repeatedly this would not be an issue and the details, or housekeeping, required by our lender, would all be updated speedily. This never happened. We stuck with RH until we were told by them to switch to another firm of solicitors to manage our new house purchase, as they were unable to complete the necessary checks to ensure that RH were a legitimate firm and our lender could send monies to them at the completion stage of the house purchase.
The delays caused a great deal of stress to my wife and I. I have never been treated like this previously and we have moved house several times previously.
Due to the long delay, our house seller demanded that we increase our original offer price to due house price rises which she missed out on in the 7 months it took to complete. She also lost the purchase of her intended house due to the long delays.
At no time were we told that the housekeeping matters would cause such a delay to the whole process. I gave Coles ( now RH Legal ) the benefit of the doubt on several occasions. In hindsight, if we had have been told to change solicitors earlier, we would have completed early in the new year, which was the preferred date for all parties in the chain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vera
Verified Vera Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2020 20200430171045

House Sale, handled by Coles Solicitors (not RH Legal)

2

This was the first time in dealing with a law firm that I have never met the solicitor acting on my behalf.

Most of the delays seemed to be created by the buyer's solicitors, but my solicitor did not seem to respond to their queries as robustly as I would have hoped. I was asked questions to which I thought the answers should have been apparent from the deeds, eg whether the property was landlocked, and about access to a non-existent garage. The overall impression was that the solicitor had perhaps not read all the paperwork.

Also, I was asked the same question twice about a draft indemnity policy.

In the end, what should have been a simple transaction, dealing with a cash buyer, took about twice as long as expected, and caused extra anxiety.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra
Sandra Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2020 20200430111714

Will

5

I instructed Hancock Quins for the preparation of my Will. My queries were explained in depth and the advice I received on Inheritance Tax was concise and accurate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Andrew Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 29, 2020 20200429224555

Shocking!

1

In summary
-Poor service, lack of communication
-GDPR data breach sharing personal information of another client
-Misplaced documents containing bank, insurance, investments which led to miscalculation of estate value and inheritance tax
- Failure to include all investments and bank values in Assets and Liabilities statement
- Failure of the companies internal complaints procedure as outlined in their T&Cs - basically the senior person in the company appointed has not responded despite being chased!
- Miscalculation of inheritance tax due to HMRC
- 8 months down the line - still no application for probate, nor conveyancing concluded
- A senior manger appointed to handle this case has made various promises to send forms, appoint other solicitors, advise etc. Still waiting!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 14, 2020 20200414122502

Fantastic experience buying and selling

5

Mariette was brilliant throughout the process. Our sale and purchase both went through smoothly. Mariette was thorough with her explanations and requests, and she always clarified things clearly when we had any queries. She was great value for money and always went out of her way for us. We could happily trust Mariette with our sale and purchase.
We definitely recommend Mariette. Thanks again!

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2020 20200401180152

House Sale - Mariette

4

First class service from Mariette under the current conditions that we find ourselves in.
I am used to dealing with MY Solicitor - previously Chris Tunnard - so was initially disheartened to find myself being passed from office to office and person to person. The interdepartmental communication was not good - and I was starting to panic.
However, when I eventually ended up in Mariette's safe hands I didn't need to worry again. She pushed my sale along at an exceptional rate. Nothing sat on her desk for any length of time. She was always very quick in responding to my queries and was always a step in front me.
Many thanks Mariette - your efforts are very much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Ian
Ian Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 15, 2019
Collected on
20191115071337

Ian

2

Tried to get a quote for some legal work for a remortgage. Had to chase a couple of times just to get a quote. When the quote arrived it was significantly higher than the others I got locally. It felt like a practice that saw enquiries as an inconvenience. Didn't fill me with confidence.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ray Nixon Brown responded to this review on 09 December, 2019

Thank you for your honest feedback Ian and we are sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience. We are currently going through a period of transition and have encountered a few challenges. We hope, in the future, you may give us another opportunity to work with you. Ray Nixon Brown (T/A Kingly Solicitors)

Steven
Steven Added 8 months ago Report to admin
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ray Nixon Brown responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

Julie
Julie Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 08, 2019
Collected on
20190508061601

Julie

5

A long standing pillar of the community in Leighton Buzzard where you will get great service from knowledgeable and helpful professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ray Nixon Brown responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Julie.

Joanna
Joanna Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 19, 2017
Collected on
20170919145154

Joanna

5

I have now used Ray Nixon Brown on a couple of occasions for conveyancing purposes and found them very professional without fuss and good value for money. Very pleased with the service given.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John
John Added 3 years ago Report to admin
January 26, 2017
Collected on
20170126162402

John

5

The service and professionalism provided by Ray Nixon Brown is exceptional. The advise and subsequent documentation received made the whole process simple and straightforward.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Wills
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Stress at Work
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Litigation Law
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Repossessions
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Partner and family visas
  • TUPE
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Visas
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Lease Extensions
  • Gardening Leave
  • Financial Matters
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • UK ancestry
  • Part Time Workers
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Leasehold properties
  • Family Mediation
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Professional Conduct
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Separation Agreement
  • Drugs offences
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Social Services
  • Pension Law
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Professional Negligence
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Child contact
  • Family law
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Housing Management
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Against The Council
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Travel rights
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Pension and property advice
  • Employment Contracts
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Consumer Rights
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Injunctions
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Re-entry bans
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Transfer of title
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Citizenship
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Collaborative Law
  • Extending your Lease
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Ancestry visas
  • Deportation appeals
  • Housing Associations
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Trusts
  • Criminal Damage
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Flexible Working
  • Transfers of equity
  • Senior Executives
  • Child Law
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Business Crime
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Redundancy
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Immigration Law
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Professional Discipline
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Property Disputes
  • Human Rights
  • Assault
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Family Leave
  • Family Based Visas
  • Theft
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Civil partnerships
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Probate
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Right to Manage
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Remortgaging
  • Housing disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Children
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000