Coffin Mew LLP

01635 521 212

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part Of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth and Southampton, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 1170 Client Reviews 1170 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

1170 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    1059
  • Very Good
    90
  • Average
    17
  • Poor
    20
  • Awful
    37

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Michael
Verified Michael Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 04, 2020 20201104203157

Would not recommend

2

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Only managed to phone and get through to my solicitor twice within 5 months of dealing with them, complained to Head Office and request a new Solicitor twice which never happened.

Working from home = not answering the phone

Had to do a lot of the work myself, was tempted to charge Coffin Mew for my time!

Solicitor was fine when working for me, just felt as if I was at the bottom of a large pile of clients and was not important enough to deal with.

Too far longer than needed and poor communication. Had to ring multiple offices across the country to get some send out of anyone.

Solicitor named in this review: Natasha Freeman

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 08 November, 2020

There are two sides to every story and we do not wish to engage further on this matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Phil
Phil Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 03, 2020 20201103185844

Matrimonial Issue

5

Matter Type: Matrimonial finance

The difficult situation was dealt with by the team with professionalism which brought the matter to a conclusion I was happy with.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 05 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 22, 2020 20201022182835

Excellent servicr

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I would highly recommend this firm of solicitors, the sake of my property was fast and I was kept fully informed the whole way through.

Solicitor named in this review: Natasha Freeman

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 23 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Helen
Helen Added 3 months ago Report to admin
October 20, 2020 20201020104934

Very good

4

I would highly recommend this firm, I have been kept informed throughout the sale of my property.

Solicitor named in this review: Natasha Freeman

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 20 October, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 3 months ago Report to admin
September 24, 2020 20200924162527

Awful communication

1

I have been incredibly disappointed by the service provided in the sale & purchase of my house. I have had to chase repeatedly and have never been able to get my solicitor or her assistant to answer any calls or emails. The only time I was able to talk to them was when they initially wanted by business and then when they needed me. Other than that they were useless and impossible to communicate with.

Further to that they did not pay my stamp duty charges on time and have resulted in additional fees due to late payments

I will not be using their services again

Solicitor named in this review: Natasha Freeman

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 24 September, 2020

Dear Michael Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that you feel our normally high service standards have fallen short and that you experienced some difficulties in your recent dealings. We are committed to providing a high quality service and to dealing with all of our clients fairly and with integrity. We invite you to contact Ian Peach whose details will have been previously provided to you in order that he may address your concerns directly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lauren
Lauren Added 5 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
August 13, 2020 20200813113518

Awful service and get ignored constantly

1

Emails get ignored for days (sometimes weeks) and the phone never gets answered. The whole process of selling and buying a home is being made stressful by the fact I constantly have to chase up everything and email and ring multiple times to ever get a response. It doesn’t feel like anything is being kept on top of and I have lost complete trust in them. They make it completely stressful and say they’ll do things then don’t (e.g said they’d post things then never do - in the end I went to the office myself to get the paper copies as that felt the only way stuff was going to get done). I’m hoping this review might actually result in getting a response!! Whether things are being worked on in the background or not, I’m a paying customer and expect some acknowledgement of emails and some customer service. Our broker is shocked at how slow everything is moving and is also chasing for us to try and move it along! Avoid if you want a stress free experience that doesn’t involve getting ignored constantly.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 August, 2020

We are sorry to hear your concerns and will seek to put things right if we possibly can. We do provide a mobile telephone number for all of our fee earners so that clients have a direct line of communication with the person dealing with their matter. We also provide details of how to escalate any concerns to team leaders during the course of matters. We will happily try to resolve any ongoing issues if you would care to contact the team leader whose details would have been provided to you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

sophie
sophie Added 7 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
June 10, 2020 20200610140141

An utter disgrace

1

3 unanswered messages to tell them my mother died last week. It doesn't get much worse

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 11 June, 2020

Dear Sophie, We are very sorry for your loss and that you had trouble getting through to us initially. We contacted you and assisted you about this matter, providing you with a lawyer's name and mobile number, prior to you positing this review. We are unable to discuss specific details of your concern on Review Solicitors or any other review site but please feel free to raise them with us directly via the contact details we provided . Kind regards Annabelle Vaughan Head of Wills, Trust and Probate

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael Charles
Verified Michael Charles Added 8 months ago Report to admin
April 28, 2020 20200428212349

High quality professional service, but very expensive

4

Matter Type: Trusts

If you want every i dotted and every t crossed, they will do it very well, but look at alternatives if your budget is limited.

Solicitor named in this review: Julie Michelle Thomas

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah Noelle
Verified Sarah Noelle Added 10 months ago Report to admin
March 04, 2020 20200304195030

Personal service

5

Matter Type: Probate

CoffinMew dealt with my father’s estate and the sale of his property. Neil Irvine was a pleasure to meet and dealt with the whole process in such a kind and professional way. Whoever I spoke to on the phone was very pleasant and kept us up to date regularly.

Solicitor named in this review: Neil Irvine

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 06 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo
Jo Added 10 months ago Report to admin
March 03, 2020 20200303125258

Coffin Mew - License to Sublet

4

Matter Type: Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises

We use Coffin Mew for various legal aspects and always find them to be extremely professional. We always feel very safe knowing that we are being guided by their very capable and knowledgeable team. They will always go the extra mile to ensuring that we are kept informed at each stage of the way.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 04 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Sophie
Sophie Added 10 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 27, 2020
Collected on
20200227190135

Sophie

1

Very difficult to get hold of anyone. Calls not returned. I’m midway through managing my terminally ill mother’s estate and they are adding to the stress of an already heartbreaking situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 09 March, 2020

Dear Sophie, I am very sorry to read that you have not felt like you’ve had a positive experience with the team at Coffin Mew. I have looked into this case personally for you and spoken with the relevant team members, and I understand that you have since spoken to another member of the team who returned your call the following day and is now dealing with your matter. If you have any further issues or queries, please don’t hesitate to contact me and I will look into this for you. Best wishes, Annabelle Vaughan – Partner and Head of Wills, Trusts & Probate

Emma
Emma Added 10 months ago Report to admin
February 27, 2020
Collected on
20200227105851

Emma

5

I am so glad that I chose Coffin and Mew! Amie O'Leary was such a good solicitor that was so thorough. Her assistant Tracey was also excellent and kept us up to date at all times. I would highly recommend this solicitors! Especially for first time buyers as I felt at ease that everything was taken care of at all times. Thank you again Aimie and Tracey!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 28 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Justin
Justin Added 12 months ago Report to admin
January 24, 2020
Collected on
20200124125028

Justin

5

Aimie O’Leary is an experienced, solid Conveyancer ably supported by Tracey Wilkins. Comfortable and confident with complex transactions; Aimie is always ready to provide solutions when things don’t go to plan, and will get the deal done. Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 27 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Cherie
Cherie Added 1 year ago Report to admin
December 23, 2019
Collected on
20191223184014

Cherie

5

I contacted coffin mew for my dad who wanted to change his will, we met with Hannah who was lovely. She talked to my dad and really listened, taking an interest in his life and making him feel completely at ease. He was able to get across his wishes without upset and Hannah understood him perfectly.
When an older person makes a will it's so important they feel listened to, and understood not rushed or confused. Highly recommended for a great professional service with compassion.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 24 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and wish you all the best for the future.

Alexander
Alexander Added 1 year ago Report to admin
December 10, 2019
Collected on
20191210083303

Alexander

5

I contacted Coffin Mew regarding a commercial lease and have to say my experience was made a lot easier using someone that clearly knows every aspect of his profession! Mike Cooper was a great help not only did he literally walk me theough the process he managed to advise me on things I had no idea about! He was a great help extremely friendly and held great communication throughout the whole process a true professional. I would highly recommend him and will definitely be using him in the future.

Alex.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 11 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. The firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000