• Radnor House
  • RG14 5EU
  • 01635 521 212
  • www.coffinmew.co.uk

Coffin Mew LLP

01635 521 212

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton and by appointment in Wantage, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 938 Customer Reviews 938 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

938 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    811
  • Very Good
    74
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    15
  • Awful
    25

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
sophie
sophie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 10, 2020 20200610140141

An utter disgrace

1

3 unanswered messages to tell them my mother died last week. It doesn't get much worse

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 11 June, 2020

Dear Sophie, We are very sorry for your loss and that you had trouble getting through to us initially. We contacted you and assisted you about this matter, providing you with a lawyer's name and mobile number, prior to you positing this review. We are unable to discuss specific details of your concern on Review Solicitors or any other review site but please feel free to raise them with us directly via the contact details we provided . Kind regards Annabelle Vaughan Head of Wills, Trust and Probate

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael Charles
Verified Michael Charles Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 28, 2020 20200428212349

High quality professional service, but very expensive

4

If you want every i dotted and every t crossed, they will do it very well, but look at alternatives if your budget is limited.

Solicitor named in this review: Julie Michelle Thomas

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 29 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah Noelle
Verified Sarah Noelle Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 04, 2020 20200304195030

Personal service

5

CoffinMew dealt with my father’s estate and the sale of his property. Neil Irvine was a pleasure to meet and dealt with the whole process in such a kind and professional way. Whoever I spoke to on the phone was very pleasant and kept us up to date regularly.

Solicitor named in this review: Neil Irvine

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 06 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo
Jo Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 03, 2020 20200303125258

Coffin Mew - License to Sublet

4

We use Coffin Mew for various legal aspects and always find them to be extremely professional. We always feel very safe knowing that we are being guided by their very capable and knowledgeable team. They will always go the extra mile to ensuring that we are kept informed at each stage of the way.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 04 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nigel
Nigel Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220081301

Extremely efficient and professional service

5

Coffin Mew handled the sale of our industrial property with extreme efficiency and professionalism. Samantha was always on hand and responded immediately. I would highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Mabbutt

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Paul Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 17, 2020 20200217164459

Commercial Property Purchase

5

I would highly recommend Samantha Mabbutt at Coffin Mew.

I used her for a commercial property purchase and I cannot fault the service I received, she was very knowledgeable and quick to respond to any queries and made the process a lot easier.

I wouldn't hesitate to use Samantha again she was a pleasure to deal with.

Thank you

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Mabbutt

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jeeven
Jeeven Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 16, 2020 20200216153723

Warehouse purchase

5

Coffin Mew were excellent throughout the process. The warehouse purchase was a lengthy and complicated process but they kept me informed of developments and always responded promptly to any queries I had. Samantha was meticulous and diligent in all of her dealings and I would strongly recommend the team to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Mabbutt

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Garry
Garry Added 8 months ago Report to admin
November 05, 2019 20191105124335

Conveyance

5

We were pleased with the swift conclusion to the lease renewal handled by Hemant Amin.

Solicitor named in this review: Hemantkumar Manmohan Amin

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 06 November, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Helen Elizabeth
Verified Helen Elizabeth Added 8 months ago Report to admin
October 15, 2019 20191015201515

Amazing service

5

Coffin Mew have been fantastic with our house purchase from start to finish. Elizabeth and Kelly were brilliant and kept us informed every step of the way. They also answered the phone and emails whenever we contacted them so we were never left in the dark at any point. Kelly put herself out over and above to make sure our sale went through on time. I can’t thank them enough for keeping me calm and giving me confidence in such a stressful situation. Best Solicitors I’ve ever used and this is house number 9!

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Carson

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 16 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Susan Lynne
Verified Susan Lynne Added 9 months ago Report to admin
October 09, 2019 20191009142303

Recent House Sale and Purchase

5

A fast overall smooth transaction for both sale and purchase.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Carson

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 09 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Sophie
Sophie Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 27, 2020
Collected on
20200227190135

Sophie

1

Very difficult to get hold of anyone. Calls not returned. I’m midway through managing my terminally ill mother’s estate and they are adding to the stress of an already heartbreaking situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 09 March, 2020

Dear Sophie, I am very sorry to read that you have not felt like you’ve had a positive experience with the team at Coffin Mew. I have looked into this case personally for you and spoken with the relevant team members, and I understand that you have since spoken to another member of the team who returned your call the following day and is now dealing with your matter. If you have any further issues or queries, please don’t hesitate to contact me and I will look into this for you. Best wishes, Annabelle Vaughan – Partner and Head of Wills, Trusts & Probate

Emma
Emma Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 27, 2020
Collected on
20200227105851

Emma

5

I am so glad that I chose Coffin and Mew! Amie O'Leary was such a good solicitor that was so thorough. Her assistant Tracey was also excellent and kept us up to date at all times. I would highly recommend this solicitors! Especially for first time buyers as I felt at ease that everything was taken care of at all times. Thank you again Aimie and Tracey!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 28 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Justin
Justin Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 24, 2020
Collected on
20200124125028

Justin

5

Aimie O’Leary is an experienced, solid Conveyancer ably supported by Tracey Wilkins. Comfortable and confident with complex transactions; Aimie is always ready to provide solutions when things don’t go to plan, and will get the deal done. Excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 27 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Cherie
Cherie Added 6 months ago Report to admin
December 23, 2019
Collected on
20191223184014

Cherie

5

I contacted coffin mew for my dad who wanted to change his will, we met with Hannah who was lovely. She talked to my dad and really listened, taking an interest in his life and making him feel completely at ease. He was able to get across his wishes without upset and Hannah understood him perfectly.
When an older person makes a will it's so important they feel listened to, and understood not rushed or confused. Highly recommended for a great professional service with compassion.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 24 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and wish you all the best for the future.

Alexander
Alexander Added 6 months ago Report to admin
December 10, 2019
Collected on
20191210083303

Alexander

5

I contacted Coffin Mew regarding a commercial lease and have to say my experience was made a lot easier using someone that clearly knows every aspect of his profession! Mike Cooper was a great help not only did he literally walk me theough the process he managed to advise me on things I had no idea about! He was a great help extremely friendly and held great communication throughout the whole process a true professional. I would highly recommend him and will definitely be using him in the future.

Alex.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 11 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing over 200 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000