Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Coffin Mew LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 90%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coffin Mew LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Coffin Mew LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 90%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coffin Mew LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Coffin Mew LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Coffin Mew LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1042
  • Very Good

    93
  • Average

    18
  • Poor

    21
  • Awful

    37

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Debbie

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Debbie

March 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

I dealt with Aimee OLeary and she was outstanding. Knowledgable, calm, professional & very approachable. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

George

George

February 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great

No complaints from Grandpa. I didn't receive any call and I believe is happy. Great job guys. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Michael

November 04, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Would not recommend

Only managed to phone and get through to my solicitor twice within 5 months of dealing with them, complained to Head Office and request a new Solicitor twice which never happened.

Working from home = not answering the phone

Had to do a lot of the work myself, was tempted to charge Coffin Mew for my time!

Solicitor was fine when working for me, just felt as if I was at the bottom of a large pile of clients and was not important enough to deal with.

Too far longer than needed and poor communication. Had to ring multiple offices across the country to get some send out of anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Phil

Matter Type:

Matrimonial finance

Phil

November 03, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Matrimonial Issue

The difficult situation was dealt with by the team with professionalism which brought the matter to a conclusion I was happy with.

Was this review helpful?

Helen

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Helen

October 22, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent servicr

I would highly recommend this firm of solicitors, the sake of my property was fast and I was kept fully informed the whole way through.

Was this review helpful?

Helen

Helen

October 20, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very good

I would highly recommend this firm, I have been kept informed throughout the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

September 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful communication

I have been incredibly disappointed by the service provided in the sale & purchase of my house. I have had to chase repeatedly and have never been able to get my solicitor or her assistant to answer any calls or emails. The only time I was able to talk to them was when they initially wanted by business and then when they needed me. Other than that they were useless and impossible to communicate with.

Further to that they did not pay my stamp duty charges on time and have resulted in additional fees due to late payments

I will not be using their services again

Was this review helpful?

Lauren

Lauren

August 13, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Awful service and get ignored constantly

Emails get ignored for days (sometimes weeks) and the phone never gets answered. The whole process of selling and buying a home is being made stressful by the fact I constantly have to chase up everything and email and ring multiple times to ever get a response. It doesn’t feel like anything is being kept on top of and I have lost complete trust in them. They make it completely stressful and say they’ll do things then don’t (e.g said they’d post things then never do - in the end I went to the office myself to get the paper copies as that felt the only way stuff was going to get done). I’m hoping this review might actually result in getting a response!! Whether things are being worked on in the background or not, I’m a paying customer and expect some acknowledgement of emails and some customer service. Our broker is shocked at how slow everything is moving and is also chasing for us to try and move it along! Avoid if you want a stress free experience that doesn’t involve getting ignored constantly.

Was this review helpful?

sophie

sophie

June 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

An utter disgrace

3 unanswered messages to tell them my mother died last week. It doesn't get much worse

Was this review helpful?

Michael Charles

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Trusts

Michael Charles

April 28, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

High quality professional service, but very expensive

If you want every i dotted and every t crossed, they will do it very well, but look at alternatives if your budget is limited.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Sophie

Sophie

February 27, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sophie

Very difficult to get hold of anyone. Calls not returned. I’m midway through managing my terminally ill mother’s estate and they are adding to the stress of an already heartbreaking situation.

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Emma

February 27, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emma

I am so glad that I chose Coffin and Mew! Amie O'Leary was such a good solicitor that was so thorough. Her assistant Tracey was also excellent and kept us up to date at all times. I would highly recommend this solicitors! Especially for first time buyers as I felt at ease that everything was taken care of at all times. Thank you again Aimie and Tracey!

Was this review helpful?

Justin

Justin

January 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Justin

Aimie O’Leary is an experienced, solid Conveyancer ably supported by Tracey Wilkins. Comfortable and confident with complex transactions; Aimie is always ready to provide solutions when things don’t go to plan, and will get the deal done. Excellent.

Was this review helpful?

Cherie

Cherie

December 23, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Cherie

I contacted coffin mew for my dad who wanted to change his will, we met with Hannah who was lovely. She talked to my dad and really listened, taking an interest in his life and making him feel completely at ease. He was able to get across his wishes without upset and Hannah understood him perfectly.
When an older person makes a will it's so important they feel listened to, and understood not rushed or confused. Highly recommended for a great professional service with compassion.

Was this review helpful?

Alexander

Alexander

December 10, 2019

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alexander

I contacted Coffin Mew regarding a commercial lease and have to say my experience was made a lot easier using someone that clearly knows every aspect of his profession! Mike Cooper was a great help not only did he literally walk me theough the process he managed to advise me on things I had no idea about! He was a great help extremely friendly and held great communication throughout the whole process a true professional. I would highly recommend him and will definitely be using him in the future.

Alex.

Was this review helpful?

Coffin Mew LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. The firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Medical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Redundancy
    • Settlement Agreements
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Children
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Asbestosis
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Tax
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Trade Marks and Designs

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment