Austin Ray

01908 644644

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors, Richard Herne & Co, Ray Nixon Brown, Coles, Austin Ray, Hancock Quins

Our legal practice in Bletchley, Milton Keynes provides a full range of legal services for individuals and business clients, with a team of fully qualified, experienced and friendly lawyers with a passion for client service. We understand the challenges and concerns faced by our clients and we are committed to delivering expert legal advice. We aim to deliver a confidential, efficient, cost effective and friendly service.

4.2/5 343 Customer Reviews 343 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Austin Ray compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Austin Ray on ReviewSolicitors

343 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    241
  • Very Good
    32
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    12
  • Awful
    45

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Paul
Verified Paul Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 03, 2020 20200303122054

Inept Communication

2

I was selling a house in a different location from where I live and wanted to use a local solicitors that had the facilities to do so without travelling. Coles seemed a perfect fit, however the branch that was asked to sell my propoerty would not get in touch or communicate with me throughout the process, I had to initiate contact and most of the informationI received was through the estate agent. I was also told that there was delays in selling my house as their assistant was of sick, sorry not my problem! Did not feel like a valued customer felt like a problem.

There was good news though, if I was to rate my local Coles I would have given them a higher rating as they were courtious and helpful. I went to complain about the branch dealing with the sale my house and the level of attention I got after this was much better.

The scores are solely based on the branch that was local to the property not my local branch.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Verified Matthew Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 02, 2020 20200302000000

Housing & Property

5

Matthew recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

Was this review helpful? Yes

Beryl
Beryl Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 28, 2020 20200228170843

application for inquest

4

I have had invaluable help from Tony Eastwood in the process of achieving a new inquest for my son who died in 1997. The legalities of the last stages of this process, involving an application to the High Court proved impossible without professional help. The administrative team at the Redcar office have always proved helpful and sympathetic whenever I have needed to phone. Mr Eastwood found me an excellent barrister to appoint as my representative at the Coroner's Court in Essex. The result has been a new narrative verdict which is extremely satisfactory.

Solicitor named in this review: Anthony Eastwood

A representative from Austin Ray responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review Beryl and we are so glad Tony could assist you with your case. If you ever need a Solicitor in the future, you know where we are. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katherine
Verified Katherine Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 24, 2020 20200224000000

Katherine recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

5

Katherine recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Penny
Verified Penny Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 19, 2020 20200219200415

Selling of mums property and probate

5

Louise and bev were very kind and professional with good communication skills also very professional. Would recommend Cole's

A representative from Austin Ray responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Penny. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Verified Simon Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 19, 2020 20200219141717

Conveyancy

5

Straightforward clear professional, it was good to have in the the ability to upload documents. Very happy with the service overall

A representative from Austin Ray responded to this review on 19 February, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Simon. It's very much appreciated. We wish you all the best in your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michelle
Verified Michelle Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 13, 2020 20200213190708

Instructing

4

Knowledgable and informative. I do feel that communication could have been a bit better as sometimes I didn’t feel like I was kept up to speed with things. This could have been because it was my first house purchase and I was not aware of the usual process. This was also quite a difficult case which took a lot longer than expected.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Austin Ray responded to this review on 17 February, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Michelle and congratulations on your first home. We are sorry you felt you were not kept up to speed at all times and we have taken this feedback on board. We wish you all the very best in your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Deb
Deb Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 11, 2020 20200211205715

Appalling!

1

My partner’s mother died in September following which we collected her Will and House Deeds from the Guisborough branch. After keeping them for a few weeks we returned both to Guisborough as we felt they would be safer there until required. However when we went to collect them this week we found the Guisborough branch closed. We also then discovered the Thirsk branch which I use to be closed too. In neither case had we been notified. When we today contacted the Northallerton head office branch they were unable to tell us where these documents were and we now have to wait and see if they can find them. I have no idea what we do if they can’t be found and it is a stress after a death and the subsequent sorting of affairs that we could absolutely have done without. It is extremely poor service not to notify people that their branch is closing, and it is incompetence bordering on professional misconduct to lose, even temporarily, such important documents. Suffice to say, I will be collecting my own Will from them immediately - it would clearly be safer under the bed!



A representative from Austin Ray responded to this review on 12 February, 2020

Thank you for providing this feedback. Having spoken to our team, we are confident we spoke with a gentleman yesterday regarding this and we are currently resolving the issue. We will be back in touch shortly to discuss the detail of your review. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Verified Michael Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 11, 2020 20200211000000

Company & Commercial

5

Michael recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Laurence Daniels

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adrian
Verified Adrian Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 31, 2020 20200131141122

Probate delays

3

Probate application took 6 months !! I was advised at the outset & fully accept delays at Probate Registry which were beyond your control. However after approx. 3 months with no progress, I started to ask more questions of the delays and see what efforts were being made by and was assured all paperwork was in order & nothing more could be done. Eventually I wrote to my local MP's office and thanks to their efforts, progress was made & it transpired that there were errors on the forms submitted by Coles which were exacerbating the delays - despite being assured all was correct !! I was very disappointed that it took my MP to find this out and not Coles, bearing in made you were obviously charging me fees and the MP was working for free. I do wonder if the probate would be through yet if it wasn't for my MP

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

phillip
phillip Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 15, 2020
Collected on
20200215231229

phillip

3

Helpful..

Was this review helpful? Yes

Austin Ray responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Phillip. Coles Solicitors

Richard
Richard Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 30, 2019
Collected on
20191230133151

Richard

1

Slow service. No communication between staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Austin Ray responded to this review on 07 January, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you have not had the experience you wanted from us. Unfortunately the festive period can often create delays for which we apologise.

steve
steve Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 18, 2019
Collected on
20190318063946

steve

4

Warm professional welcome a good all round firm of solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Austin Ray responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Steve.

Julian
Julian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 19, 2018
Collected on
20180619075342

Julian

1

My experience with this company was a positive one as they were the defence solicitor, guess what they lost. And they lost on very very basic laws. If I knew about them and I am not a trained solicitor, how a partner of a solicitors firm didnt really is difficult for me to comprehend.
Anyway, plenty more firms to choose from in the Milton Keynes area.Make an informed choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Leanne
Leanne Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 12, 2018
Collected on
20180612184046

Leanne

5

Great solicitors. Friendly and efficient

Was this review helpful? Yes

Austin Ray responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Professional Negligence
  • Employment Contracts
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Re-entry bans
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Collaborative Law
  • Separation Agreement
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Family Mediation
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Trusts
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Extending your Lease
  • Stress at Work
  • Family law
  • Family Based Visas
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Drugs offences
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Civil partnerships
  • Buying at auction
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Lease Extensions
  • Right to Manage
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Against The Council
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Immigration Law
  • Ancestry visas
  • UK ancestry
  • Criminal Damage
  • Remortgaging
  • Part Time Workers
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Housing Management
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Child Law
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Consumer Rights
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Gardening Leave
  • Partner and family visas
  • Pension Law
  • Financial Matters
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Social Services
  • Injunctions
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Human Rights
  • Repossessions
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Child contact
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Leasehold properties
  • Boundary Disputes
  • TUPE
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Assault
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Litigation Law
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Property Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Pension and property advice
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Housing Associations
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Citizenship
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Housing disputes
  • Transfer of title
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Trusts
  • Deportation appeals
  • Travel rights
  • Injunctions
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Probate
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Business Crime
  • Visas
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Family Leave
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Professional Conduct
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Senior Executives
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Redundancy
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Flexible Working
  • Theft
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Transfers of equity
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Children
  • Wills
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000