• 21 Market Place
  • DN14 7BL
  • 01430 430230
  • www.sbblaw.com

Symes Bains Broomer

01430 430230

Symes Bains Broomer is a dynamic and expanding local law firm. In an increasingly competitive market place we refuse to stand still and we are always looking for new and exciting opportunities. This can be seen by considering the development of our firm in the ‘Our History’ section on our website. Despite all of these changes and developments, however, one thing remains core and central to our business and this is putting the needs of clients first. Our fundamental goal is to make the lives of our clients easier by supplying consistently excellent and efficient legal advice when it is needed. We aim to be clear and straightforward in our guidance so that problems faced by our clients suddenly become more manageable.

4.9/5 772 Customer Reviews 772
Recommended by
768 Verified Clients
like Christine and Verified Client
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Symes Bains Broomer compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Symes Bains Broomer on ReviewSolicitors

772 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    731
  • Very Good
    30
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    2
Anonymous
Click to rate
Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 6 days ago Report to admin
December 05, 2018 20181205201501

Fraud

5

From the moment I met David Rix, I was confident I had made the right choice in solicitor. He listened to everything I said and supported me from beginning to end. All the staff from receptionists to the top were extremely friendly and helpful. I would not consider going anywhere else if I was ever unfortunate enough to need legal advice again, or if I needed help with any other legal needs. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart. I would also like to mention having the best Barrister on my side.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christine
Verified Christine Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
November 12, 2018 20181112201506

Making A Will

5

The staff were very helpful and friendly and made the making of the will stress free

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs
Verified Mrs Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 02, 2018 20181102201505

My Will

4

Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 30, 2018 20181030201501

House sale/purchase

5

Dawn was extremely responsive to all our queries & questions. She was especially helpful & reassuring on the moving/completion day.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daphne
Verified Daphne Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 12, 2018 20181012211501

Late Mothers Estate

5

Symes Bains Broomer solicitors have handled our family affairs for several years now and I find them to be thorough and extremely professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 11, 2018 20181011211501

House & Farm Sale & House Purchase

5

Helen has been brilliant through a very difficult sale, she has kept us informed every step of the way and her support has helped us to keep our sanity!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 09, 2018 20181009211502

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 07, 2018 20181007211501

Lasting Power Of Attorney

5

A much understood subject to many people . Was explained to me very clearly. Handled efficiently.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 06, 2018 20181006211501

Will

5

Good work by Mr Horwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 05, 2018 20181005211501

Divorce and Family Matters

5

Jo was understanding and considerate, always listened to the problem and happy to explain when I didn't fully understand the legal side of things. Legal secretary Billy was always helpful. Couldn't have wished for a better team!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Symes Bains Broomer

  • Anna Omara

    Anna joined SBB in August 2017 and is based at our Howden office focusing on private client work. She deals with all aspects of Wills, Probate, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Trusts. Anna gained a Bachelor of Science honours degree from Newcastle University before studying law at the University of Law in York. She trained as a Solicitor in Leeds and qualified in 2008. Since then she has worked in private practice in Yorkshire. Although she is currently practising private client work she has previously carried out residential conveyancing and is also an accredited Duty Solicitor in matters of criminal defence gaining considerable experience as an advocate in court. Anna prides herself on being a good listener, approachable and eager to protect and support her clients. She understands that every client has different circumstances and always tries hard to provide bespoke, clear no-nonsense advice to each client. She has been described as a Solicitor who 'goes the extra mile' for her clients. Outside the office Anna loves spending time with her son, daughter, husband and family. She also enjoys running and trying to keep fit.

  • Helen Moody

    Helen has over 20 years of experience in dealing with residential conveyancing matters and has been with Symes Bains Broomer at our Howden office for ten years. Helen will always try to “go the extra mile” for her clients to ensure their move is as stress free as possible. In her spare time Helen enjoys walking her dogs, reading and occasional visits to the theatre.

  • Charles Broomer

    Charles joined the predecessor firm of Taylor Broomer & Co in 1986 and was instrumental in completing a merger that created the current firm of Symes Bains Broomer in 2004. Based at the Goole office, Charles is a Partner covering a broad range of private client work including: Sales and purchases of farms, development land, and businesses Wind Farm and other renewable work Commercial Leases Other property related matters Complex Wills and Probate Tax Planning and Trusts In his spare time Charles is a keen (but, sadly, not very proficient) golfer and enjoys trying to tame the woodland surrounding his house.

  • Laura Morgan

    Laura graduated from the University of Hull with a 2:1 Law Degree, she then successfully completed the Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, York, gaining a commendation. She secured a Training Contract at Truth Legal in Harrogate and Roche Legal in Nether Poppleton and qualified as a Solicitor on 1 March 2017. Laura joined Symes Bains Broomer as an Associate Solicitor on 13 March 2017 and is based at our Goole office. She is currently assisting Charles Broomer with a broad range of private client work including: Sales and purchases of farms, development land, and businesses Wind Farm and other renewable work Commercial Leases Other property related matters Complex Wills and Probate Tax Planning and Trusts Outside of the office, Laura’s main passions are holidaying and sightseeing. She also enjoys spending time with family and friends and dog walking.

  • Dawn Daly

    Dawn joined the firm when it was Taylor Broomer & Co on the 2nd July 1990 as a secretary for John Smith at the Howden Office. In 1998 Dawn attended Bishopthorpe College in York and studied the ILEX course. She passed Part I in June 2000 and Part II Conveyancing Practice in June 2001. Dawn gradually started Fee Earning in 2002 at the Howden Office along with her secretarial duties and in November 2002 she moved to the Goole Office and became the Conveyancing Executive there and has been ever since.

  • Viv Driver

    Having obtained the STEP Trust and Estate Technician Certificate in 2005, and having qualified as a Specialist Paralegal in Wills, Probate and Administration in 2009 Viv was admitted as a Qualified Paralegal by the Institute of Paralegals in 2013, made a Fellow of the Institute in November 2015 and became a Tier 4 member of the Professional Paralegals Register in January 2016. Viv has been engaged as a Probate Executive by the firm since October 2005 and deals with the preparation of Wills, administration of estates, Court of Protection work (LPA’s, Deputyship Orders and registrations of EPA’s) and general probate matters. Viv takes a keen interest in marketing and gets involved in promoting the firm wherever possible. Viv’s friendly, sympathetic and approachable manner has created good client relationships and Viv ensures that she is always available to her clients, and aims to provide a professional and efficient service. Viv’s outside interests include family; nature and wildlife (particularly African wildlife); gardening; reading and craftwork.

  • Andrew Horwich

    Andrew (Ash as he is known in the office) studied at Hull University whilst working at SBB’s predecessor R A C Symes & Co. His areas of practice include a wide range of civil disputes ranging from high value probate disputes to the recovery of residential properties for landlords. Other areas of practice include personal injury and land law disputes. His involvement over the years in a number of contested probate cases has brought him directly into the arena of probate practice dealing with a number of estates. Ash is the firm’s staff Partner, training Partner, finance Partner and IT Partner. These numerous roles bring him very much into day to day contact with the multiple facets of a busy legal practice. Away from the office, he can be found walking his dog given that all of his spare time seems to be devoted to this mission. When you see him out walking his dog you will understand.

  • Joanne Harriman

    Jo studied law at The University of Sheffield and went on to complete the Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, York, gaining a distinction. She then joined a Scunthorpe firm to complete her training and qualified as a Solicitor in January 2005. Jo is based in our Scunthorpe office and specialises in all aspects of Family Law, with particular expertise in private children matters, relationship breakdown, divorce, finances, pre-marital agreements and cohabitation disputes. Jo has been a member of the Law Society Family Law Advanced Accreditation Scheme for several years; a scheme for family practitioners who have undergone a rigorous process, demonstrating superior experience, knowledge and best practice in family law. Jo prides herself in offering specialist advice and taking a straightforward and client based approach to complex or sensitive family matters. Outside the office Jo likes to spend time with family and friends, she enjoys cooking and outdoor activities including running and climbing. Due to Jo's continued high performance she was invited to become a Partner with the firm from 1st August 2016. A position she was very pleased to accept.

  • Rodger Price

    Rodger was born in Manchester and went to local schools before obtaining a Business Law degree (LLB) from Huddersfield University in 1984. He was subsequently called to the bar by Lincoln’s Inn in 1985. His early career as a barrister was spent in the Courts service, and then as a prosecutor, before he was admitted as a solicitor in 1992, joining what was then William Bains Solicitors. He became a Partner in 1994. He holds a post graduate diploma in Advanced Legal Practice from De Montfort University. The bulk of Rodger’s practice today is focussed around his long term interest in commercial work, reflecting that original choice of a Business Law degree. From simple Partnership Deeds or Shareholder Agreements through to company sales and acquisitions, he deals with all aspects of commercial transactions for a diverse client base. Nowadays, as Managing Partner, Rodger is responsible for the day to day running of the practice. Outside the law, he follows his beloved Manchester City, and takes part in long course triathlon. He has completed many marathons and is a four time Ironman triathlon finisher.

  • Charles Broomer

    Charles joined the predecessor firm of Taylor Broomer & Co in 1986 and was instrumental in completing a merger that created the current firm of Symes Bains Broomer in 2004. Based at the Goole office, Charles is a Partner covering a broad range of private client work including: Sales and purchases of farms, development land, and businesses Wind Farm and other renewable work Commercial Leases Other property related matters Complex Wills and Probate Tax Planning and Trusts In his spare time Charles is a keen (but, sadly, not very proficient) golfer and enjoys trying to tame the woodland surrounding his house.

  • David Rix

    David Rix qualified as a Solicitor in 1978. He worked as a sole Practitioner for over 30 years. He has extensive experience in general practice. He joined Symes Bains Broomer as a Partner in October 2012. David Rix specialises in criminal work and all court cases. He also deals with civil litigation. He is approachable, hands on and very direct and has a wide ranging bank of clients. He is committed to ensuring continued high standards within Symes Bains Broomer.

About This Branch

Description

At Symes Bains Broomer we are proud to have an excellent group of people with deep and detailed knowledge in their chosen specialisms. Many of our staff have been with the firm for a number of years getting to know clients and developing an innate knowledge of their needs. Other members of staff may not have been with us for quite so long but they bring detailed experience from working elsewhere in the market together with new, fresh and innovative ideas. We genuinely believe that the combination of these aspects is a significant advantage to choosing our firm. We also ensure that an appropriate focus is placed on our pricing. Gradually, we are seeing a move away from the old and unpredictable method of charging solely on the basis of time spent and hourly rates. Whilst we still use this as a basis for recording work on files, we ensure that estimates are provided at the outset of a transaction and ensure that these are revised and updated where needed. Also, in an increasing number of areas we offer fixed fees as a matter of routine, for example in making a will or buying a house. We recognise that price is hugely important to clients and we aim to be competitive in our pricing structures. However, we would never sell ourselves solely on the basis of being the lowest price in the area. This is not what Symes Bains Broomer is about. Instead, we recognise the importance of a quality job and we believe that we strike the correct balance between quality work and competitive pricing. You can also be certain that our firm is audited and inspected to the highest standards. We currently hold the Lexcel quality mark which emphasises excellence in legal practice management and client care. Together with this, we also hold the ISO 9001 quality accreditation and we are members of the Law Society’s Conveyancing Quality Scheme as well as being Family Law accredited.


Legal Services
  • Leasehold properties
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Trusts
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Remortgaging
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Wills
  • Financial advisors
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Housing disputes
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Child Law
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Pension Law
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Financial Matters
  • Housing Management
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Media and Sports
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Buying at auction
  • Business Crime
  • Separation
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Housing Associations
  • Litigation Law
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Family law
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Injunctions
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • IT professionals
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • TUPE
  • Social Services
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Professional Conduct
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Criminal Damage
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Transfers of equity
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Probate
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Family Leave
  • Part Time Workers
  • Employment Contracts
  • Right to Manage
  • Family Mediation
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Separation Agreement
  • Gardening Leave
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Professional trustees
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Property Disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Fraud
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Insurance brokers
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Drink driving
  • Transfer of title
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Pension and property advice
  • Theft
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Repossessions
  • Drugs offences
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Disputed Wills
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Collaborative Law
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Against The Council
  • Barristers
  • Senior Executives
  • Child contact
  • Extending your Lease
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Professional Discipline
  • Civil partnerships
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Assault
  • Valuers
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Redundancy
  • Children
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Flexible Working
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Disputed Probate
  • Lease Extensions
  • Equestrian property
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Data Protection
  • Commercial Law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Setting up a business
  • Developer disputes
  • Employment - business
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Environmental policy law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Development plot sales
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Competition law
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Tax
  • Corporate finance
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Commercial Leases
  • Franchising
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Statutory Demands
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Finance
  • Rights of way issues
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Agency agreements
  • Share option schemes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Summary Judgment
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Management buyouts
  • Health and Safety
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Credit Control
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Farming disputes
  • Asset Tracing

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000