Coffin Mew LLP

03330000122

Coffin Mew is a bold, innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, London, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton & Wantage. Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.4/5 138 Customer Reviews 138
Recommended by
133 Verified Clients
like Caroline Susan and Matt
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

138 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    109
  • Very Good
    11
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    5
  • Awful
    13

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
 Caroline Susan
Verified Caroline Susan Added 4 days ago Report to admin
June 14, 2019 20190614185316

House Purchase

5

Very impressed with Coffin Mew, our house purchase was handled smoothly and we were kept informed at all times and the costs were near enough what we were quoted. I would happily use them again.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Najah and Nicole
Verified Najah and Nicole Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 13, 2019 20190513155256

Consistently excellent service

5

Deanne Ferguson and her assistant Carla Campbell were efficient, personable and professional throughout. We have been using Coffin Mew for years and they will remain our first port of call for any legal advice.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Simon James
Verified Simon James Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 13, 2019 20190513143321

Conveyancing for property sale and purchase

5

First time I used Coffin Mew for conveyancing. I've used their other departments through the business and have always been impressed with the service so thought I'd use their conveyancing team. I have to say they've been fantastic. Sal was very proactive and nothing was too much trouble for him. I would highly recommend their services.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sue
Sue Added 16 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 18, 2019 20190618113837

Thank you

5

I was recommended to use Charlotte Allery and I would recommend her to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Alieu S
Verified Alieu S Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 17, 2019 20190617130549

Well done

5

Well done happy with the way they handle my whole mortgage process

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 16, 2019 20190616211007

Separation

5

Family law
Case was settled out of court, with the best outcome i could have wished, for all thanks to Stuart Duncan.
Stuart has a great work ethic, during a very stressful family matter, each time i spoke with Stuart my mind was put at ease with Stuart’s exceptional knowledge in family law, highly recommend.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Sian Louise
Verified Sian Louise Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 15, 2019 20190615102735

Poor communication and mistakes

2

At first they were brilliant, happy to send me quote and answer questions but from the second I agreed to go with them it went downhill. After sending my welcome pack back I heard nothing for weeks and they took weeks to reply to any email or online query, I was worried the pack had been lost in the post with all my personal information. I clearly stated within the pack that I had a help to buy ISA yet this was over looked and if I hadn’t of pointed it out I would have lost the government bonus. Also cost me my time as I’d left work to send the money but due to the mistake couldn’t send it that day. Finally, I was sent my paperwork along with another persons containing their personal details and information of the house they were buying which is unacceptable and a huge data protection fail on their part. When I pointed this out I got no reply to my email and a simple “sorry” from a staff member there. If it had been my personal information sent to somebody else I would be very unhappy. Overall I felt it was expensive, yes they did their job eventually but with silly mistakes and poor customer service and communication.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 June, 2019

Dear Sian Louise, Many thanks for getting in touch. We are very sorry to hear about your experience which is certainly not usual as can be seen from other reviews. Our Head of Conveyancing is looking into the circumstances for you and will be reviewing what happened. Please be assured we will be in touch as and when we have completed this. Best wishes, Customer Services

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614182208

If it weren't for Coffin Mew

5

If it wasnt for Coffin Mew I would not have proceeded with the transfer of my property to my SIPP as the associated so called 'Wealth Managers' were useless in all matters. Coffin Mew were professional at all times, swift and accurate with their actions. Well done! you kept me sane when I was really getting fed up with the whole process.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Stewart Alan
Verified Stewart Alan Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 14, 2019 20190614155432

Conveyancing

4

No nonsense efficient service. Made the whole process of selling my dads house very straightforward.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Christopher William
Verified Christopher William Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 13, 2019 20190613111629

Reassuring

5

From start to finish the whole team have been there to support and reassure if any concerns arose, as they always do in house buying.
Thank you for a brilliant service - easily recommend the company with no qualms whatsoever .

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Matt
Matt Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
May 22, 2019
Collected on
20190522103128

Matt

5

Having worked as an Estate Agent for 15 years I find Salih unlike most solicitors I have ever dealt with. He responds promptly to emails with detailed explanations as to how the sale/purchase is progressing. He has definitely made my job easier when getting updates throughout the conveyancing process, which is highly appreciated! I have referred many clients to Sal over the years and never have any reservations about doing so because I know he can be relied upon and will not disappoint. He always goes the extra mile to get the job done and is a real asset to Coffin Mew.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 13, 2019
Collected on
20190513140503

Chris Banks

5

I have always been very happy with the work Deanne Ferguson has done for me. She has always given a very speedy reply to my querys & even when complex issues ahve been involved she has always taken the time to ensure I fully understood the situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Simon Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 13, 2019
Collected on
20190513133934

Simon Bond

5

First time I used Coffin Mew for conveyancing. I've used their other departments via my business and have always been impressed with the service so thought I'd use their Brighton conveyancing team for the sale and purchase of two properties. I have to say they've been absolutely fantastic. Salih was very proactive and nothing was too much trouble for him. Costs were agreed upfront and were competitive and fair. I would highly recommend their services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

amy
amy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 13, 2019
Collected on
20190513091811

amy p

5

Salih helped me to purchase my first home, and I couldn't have asked for a better solicitor. His calm, meticulous but fast approach to his work was second to none. He caught many details that even the seller's own solicitor had not considered and never backed down to pressure from the chain. Sal always made sure he did the right thing and talked me through every step of the way through a very stressful and pressured sale.

I would gladly recommend Sal's team to anyone who needed a conveyancer and he will be the first to know when I am looking to move again. I wish I could give 10 stars! Absolutely first-class service, thank you Sal and team!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Terry
Terry Added 6 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 12, 2019
Collected on
20190612103342

Terry

5

Very nice staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Our client focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Agricultural and Rural Business. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing 230 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services
  • Transfer of title
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Financial Matters
  • Transfers of equity
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Planning
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Buying at auction
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Litigation Law
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child Law
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Disputed Probate
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Fatal Accident
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Family law
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Employment Contracts
  • Children
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Trusts
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Housing disputes
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Repossessions
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Accident At Work
  • Media and Sports
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Pension and property advice
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Trusts
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Separation
  • Consumer Rights
  • Asbestosis
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Child contact
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Collaborative Law
  • Wills
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Clinical Negligence
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Disputed Wills
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Probate
  • Tribunal Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Stress at Work
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Remortgaging
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Senior Executives
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Separation Agreement
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • TUPE
  • MRSA Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Property Disputes
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Civil partnerships
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Redundancy
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Housing Management
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Right to Manage
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Against The Council
  • Professional Discipline
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Franchising
  • Asset Tracing
  • Data Protection
  • Commercial Leases
  • Employment - business
  • In-house training
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Rights of way issues
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Summary Judgment
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Construction
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • GDPR
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Environmental policy law
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Copyright
  • Finance
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Credit Control
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Development agreements
  • Farming disputes
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Debt Recovery
  • Framework agreements
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Purchase of development land
  • Statutory Demands
  • Competition law
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Intellectual Property
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Development loan facilities
  • Development plot sales
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Domain Names
  • Management buyouts
  • Engineering contracts
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Share option schemes
  • Mediation
  • Banking
  • Commercial Law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Setting up a business
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Planning law
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Corporate finance
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Agency agreements
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Tax
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Developer disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Patents
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Equestrian property
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Corporate Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000