Coffin Mew LLP

01273069999

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton and by appointment in Wantage, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 903 Customer Reviews 903 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

903 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    781
  • Very Good
    72
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    15
  • Awful
    23

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Samuel Joseph
Verified Samuel Joseph Added 5 months ago Report to admin
December 12, 2019 20191212233829

Helpful

5

Salih was extremely helpful and efficient with dealing with the purchase of my property. Highly recommended.

Solicitor named in this review: Salih Hasan Ozdemirciler

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 17 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Victoria Jane
Verified Victoria Jane Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 20, 2019 20190820211841

First time buyer

5

As a cautious first time buyer, Salih was amazing as my solicitor. He guided me through everything and was always really prompt answering any questions I had. The buying process wasn’t so straightforward but Salih and Will helped guide me through and make sense of everthing.

Solicitor named in this review: Salih Hasan Ozdemirciler

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 27 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 James Oluseyi Ibrahim
Verified James Oluseyi Ibrahim Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 20, 2019 20190820091745

Top class service and a pleasure to deal with

5

I instructed Coffin Mew as a first time buyer for a property purchase. From the first moment, the service I received was first class. Salih, who handled my case, was knowledgeable, personable and great at keeping me updated via clear communication. On the few occasions that Salih was unavailable, other members of the Coffin Mew team were able to answer my queries and keep me up to speed. I was very satisfied with the advice I received throughout the transaction, and would certainly use again. I am very happy to recommend Salih and Coffin Mew to anyone undertaking a property transaction.

Solicitor named in this review: Salih Hasan Ozdemirciler

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 20 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Caroline Susan
Verified Caroline Susan Added 11 months ago Report to admin
June 14, 2019 20190614185316

House Purchase

5

Very impressed with Coffin Mew, our house purchase was handled smoothly and we were kept informed at all times and the costs were near enough what we were quoted. I would happily use them again.

Solicitor named in this review: Salih Hasan Ozdemirciler

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Najah and Nicole
Verified Najah and Nicole Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 13, 2019 20190513155256

Consistently excellent service

5

Deanne Ferguson and her assistant Carla Campbell were efficient, personable and professional throughout. We have been using Coffin Mew for years and they will remain our first port of call for any legal advice.

Solicitor named in this review: Carla Campbell

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Simon James
Verified Simon James Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 13, 2019 20190513143321

Conveyancing for property sale and purchase

5

First time I used Coffin Mew for conveyancing. I've used their other departments through the business and have always been impressed with the service so thought I'd use their conveyancing team. I have to say they've been fantastic. Sal was very proactive and nothing was too much trouble for him. I would highly recommend their services.

Solicitor named in this review: Salih Hasan Ozdemirciler

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin & Anita
Verified Colin & Anita Added 8 hours ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 24, 2020 20200524170119

Stellar - Ian Peach

5

Ian stepped in at short notice to take over the work from Elisabeth on securing our new home, which was complex and time consuming.
His modest bio on the web doesn't go anywhere near in describing his service provision.
He most certainly delivered the best customer experience possible and went out of his way to keep us appraised at all times (during the day and late evening) in support of making the process efficient and as pain free as possible.
Ian certainly delivered on his wide skill set and was exceptional in his problem solving, providing practical solutions and associated guidance
In short his support was nothing short of stellar and I would recommend Ian to anyone.
His team should be immensely lucky to have him as their boss/mentor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lesley Marion
Verified Lesley Marion Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 21, 2020 20200521151429

Above and beyond

5

I was very impressed with Ian Peach he was thorough professional and all the way kept me informed what was happening ,my circumstances made it quite difficult he took it in his stride was more than competent even when the buyers solicitors made awkward demands he more than helped me through it a calm voice in a stormy sea when bed bound and hundreds of miles away not easy

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lisa Melanie
Verified Lisa Melanie Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 19, 2020 20200519214007

Quality service under difficult conditions

5

Elisabeth and Amy of Coffin Mew provided timely and balanced guidence , support and advice while handling with my late mother's probate and my property sale/purchase.
That they managed this throughout the Covid 19 situation is testement to their professionalism and commitment to customer service.
The reassurance of a human touch at such uncertain times cannot be underestimated

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 May, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Felix & Katherine Victoria
Verified Felix & Katherine Victoria Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 19, 2020 20200519070851

Very pleased

5

Very happy with Paul's conveyancing work. Professional and prompt service throughout. Highly recommended.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 May, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Paul
Paul Added 6 months ago Report to admin
November 08, 2019
Collected on
20191108160739

Paul

4

Use them for conveying for the sale of a property all good little bit of a pain to get to as there in central Brighton there services where fine

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 11 November, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Johanna
Johanna Added 6 months ago Report to admin
November 03, 2019
Collected on
20191103212550

Johanna

5

Unfortunately, it became necessary to take my ex-employer to tribunal, a situation that I could never have envisaged especially at a time of very poor health. I took advice from Amy Richardson at Coffin Mew and was immediately impressed by her understanding not only of my situation but of the extra care that I needed and, straight away, had no hesitation in engaging her as my solicitor. For over a year, Amy not only acted as my voice in a legal capacity but guided me with great sensitivity through the whole process, ultimately culminating in a successful result for me. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Amy - her friendliness, professionalism, knowledge and compassion was the reason I achieved such a positive outcome following a tremendously difficult event.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 06 November, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and wish you all the best for the future.

Peri
Peri Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 24, 2019
Collected on
20191024095605

Peri

5

I would recommend Coffin Mew, they were always on hand with any queries I had.
Being a first time buyer it was all very scary but Sal would explain and help with any issue's I had. It was a very quick and smooth process I would highly recommend. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 25 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Paul
Paul Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 12, 2019
Collected on
20191012173035

Paul

5

Fantastic experience from start to finish with Salih in the Brighton office for our lease extensions. Efficient, straight forward and a pleasure to deal with and we would thoroughly recommend. Thank you very much, Paul and Barbara Wilkins

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 16 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Martin
Martin Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 11, 2019
Collected on
20191011124454

Martin

5

I can highly recommend Salih and his conveyancing team for a thorough and calm approach to property sale and purchase. I’ve used the firm at its other offices and Brighton has measured up to the high standards I have experienced across the group.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 16 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing over 200 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Fatal Accident
  • Lease Extensions
  • Collaborative Law
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Medical Negligence
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Civil partnerships
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Leasehold properties
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Against The Council
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Redundancy
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Housing disputes
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Trusts
  • Serious Injury
  • Litigation Law
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Employment Contracts
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Housing Associations
  • Probate
  • Disputed Wills
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Family law
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Property Disputes
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Children
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Human Rights
  • Visas
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Transfer of title
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Transfers of equity
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Repossessions
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Right to Manage
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Remortgaging
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Wills
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Planning
  • Separation
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Trusts
  • Accident At Work
  • Immigration Law
  • Financial Matters
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Employment Law
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • TUPE
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Housing Management
  • Extending your Lease
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Travel rights
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Disputed Probate
  • Asbestosis
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Consumer Rights
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Finance
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Development loan facilities
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Small businesses
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Share option schemes
  • Franchising
  • Environmental policy law
  • Credit Control
  • Commercial Leases
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Banking
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Competition law
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Computer and IT Law
  • GDPR
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Debt Recovery
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Domain Names
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Agency agreements
  • Framework agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Corporate finance
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Developer disputes
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Tax
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Development agreements
  • Management buyouts
  • Construction
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Planning law
  • Corporate Law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Intellectual Property
  • Copyright
  • Patents
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Purchase of development land
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Engineering contracts
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Employment - business
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Asset Tracing
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Data Protection
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Commercial Law
  • Development plot sales
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Setting up a business

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000