Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Hill & Abbott Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hill & Abbott Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 3%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 96%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hill & Abbott Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Hill & Abbott Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Hill & Abbott Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Hill & Abbott Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 96%
No 4%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hill & Abbott Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    104
  • Very Good

    4
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Awful

    7

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Julie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Julie

November 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible

I regret appointing this firm I stand to lose my sale and purchase due to the incompetence, inefficiency and poor service

Was this review helpful?

Julie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Julie

November 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Terrible

I regret appointing this firm I stand to lose my sale and purchase due to the incompetence, inefficiency and poor service

Was this review helpful?

Hazel

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Hazel

October 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

I've used Hill & Abbot for conveyancing several times over the past couple of years and have alwyas been impressed with the service received. Jorga is no exception. she is prompt and polite and gets the job done. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her and the firm. She is backed up by other helpful members of staff including Summer. keep up the good work and thank you for your help.

Was this review helpful?

Lynne

Lynne

October 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service from start to finish

When I sold my house Hill & Abbott were excellent and efficient from start to finish. Claire & Summer dealt with everything quickly, accurately and efficiently. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Seth

Seth

September 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

Highly recommended solicitor, we’re first time buyers but Jorga made it easy for us to deal with the purchase.

Was this review helpful?

Martin

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Martin

August 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service through out purchases!!

Whilst going through multiple property purchases, Jorga and the team at Hill and Abbott have been great. Look forward to Hill and Abbott conveyancing on many more property business ventures in the coming years. Thank you for your great service!

Was this review helpful?

Georgia

Georgia

August 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Property sale and purchase

We recently instructed Jorga for the sale and purchase of our property- we had no less than 5 star service throughout the whole process.
She was extremely patient, knowledgeable and supportive which made a very stressful process much easier. Everything was dealt with quickly and explained fully, even my estate agent commented on how fantastic she had been.
I would highly recommend her to anyone and would certainly instruct again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Hayley

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hill & Abbott Limited.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Hayley

July 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alex Garrett a true professional

I can’t begin to tell you how difficult it is going through a divorce. Alex became such great support and with his added experience it was all a easy process from start to finish.

Thank you Alex from the bottom of my heart.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs Saini

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hill & Abbott Limited.

Matter Type:

Divorce

Mrs Saini

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Divorce Proceedings

My experience with Abbot and Hill has been a very good experience. Alex had taken care of every eventuality regarding my divorce in the uptmost professional way. He had provided regular updates, and a swift service. He had made me feel calm through the whole process and delighted it only took a few months to get all this behind me. I'm am very grateful and recommend his services for anyone going through a divorce. He is very up front and will tell you exactly how it is going to turn out, every step of the way. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Lynne Bailey

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Hill & Abbott Limited.

Lynne Bailey

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will and Powers of Attorney

I was very happy with the service I received with regard to writing a Will and arranging for Powers of Attorney to be prepared. Shannon made me feel welcome and comfortable and explained very clearly the processes involved. I would definitely recommend Hill and Abbott for anyone looking for similar services.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Nicky

Nicky

November 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Nicky

Their family solicitor department at least is unprofessional beyond belief!!

Was this review helpful?

michael

michael

October 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

michael

Very professional company

Was this review helpful?

Sunil

Sunil

October 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Sunil

Just wanted to thank you all for your help you provided with the sale and purchase of our new home.

Nnenna was our appointed solicitors and we can not fault the time and effort she went through in chasing our purchasers and our vendors to make sure we met completion prior to the stamp duty deadline, along with claire who kept us updated through out.

only part was the delay to the local authority searches but this was due to the mass influx of the property market transaction.

again thank you all and we will 100% be using your team for all of our future legal matters

Was this review helpful?

Tina

Tina

August 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tina

I strongly recommend AVOIDING this company at any cost- they do not keep their promises and do not communicate to clients properly. Everything started very positive and promising. The paralegal Summer was replying to my emails even outside of the working hours but this quickly ended. I appointed this company in the begging of April as I’m buying a property in Chelmsford. Summer were sending me the searches in different times and at some point I stopped receiving any updates (18 of May was my last email from the paralegal). My first attempt to get the update was on 30.06.2021-I’ve emailed her to call me and let me know where we are in the process. No one came back to me so I called and spoke with Georgina, she advised that Summer is on holidays and I’ll get a response soon. I’ve been waiting for the reply and emailed again on 15.07.2021 as I haven’t received any response. I called in. The secretary put me through to my actual solicitor Charlene who promised to reply to my email next week and give me a full report on the situation. Two weeks later I still haven’t received anything from Charlene and had to call back again. The secretary put me through to Charlene who promised to send me the update within one hour. Today is 4th of August 2021 and I still haven’t had any update on my property situation from them. I thoroughly regret appointing this company and I have no idea if my mortgage offer expires before they even get back to me. I recommend NOT to use this company. They’ll make you feel lovely at the begging and will be very efficient until the moment you hired them. Later you will be waiting for their response for ages. Shame and disgrace working with them!!!!!!! You’ll get just frustration and irritation from using their “service”. AVOID them at any cost.

Was this review helpful?

Tony

Tony

July 10, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tony

Nice people, very helpful

Was this review helpful?

Hill & Abbott Limited are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Based in our modern central Chelmsford office we can trace our origins to the 1880s. Today, our growing team of over 50 friendly, team orientated professionals offer a full range of legal services to support you and your business, delivering our best solutions with exceptional customer service.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Accident and Emergency Claims
    • Amputation Negligence Claims
    • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
    • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
    • Birth Injury Claims
    • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
    • Blood Transfusion Claims
    • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
    • C. Difficile Claims
    • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
    • Cerebral Palsy Claims
    • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Cochlear Implant Claims
    • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
    • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
    • Defective Medical Device Claims
    • Dental Negligence
    • Dental Negligence Claims
    • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
    • Diabetes Claims
    • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
    • Eye Surgery Claims
    • Failed Sterilisation Claims
    • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
    • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
    • Fertility Negligence Claims
    • GP Negligence Claims
    • Group B Streptococcus Claims
    • Hospital Negligence Claims
    • Knee Replacement Claims
    • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
    • Laser Treatment Claims
    • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • MRSA Claims
    • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Medical Negligence
    • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
    • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
    • Nerve Damage Claims
    • Nerve Injury Claims
    • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
    • Oral Cancer Claims
    • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
    • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Periodontal Disease Claims
    • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
    • Pressure Sore Claims
    • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Restorative Dentistry Claims
    • Sepsis Negligence Claims
    • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
    • Spinal Surgery Claims
    • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
    • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
    • Surgery Compensation Claims
    • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
    • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Amputation
    • Asbestos Compensation
    • Asbestos Lung Cancer
    • Asbestosis
    • Back Injury At Work
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Broken Bone Or Fracture
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Bus and Coach Accident
    • Car Accident
    • Car Passenger
    • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
    • Children's Accident
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Chronic Pain
    • Cycling Accident
    • Defective Work Equipment
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Dog Bite
    • Fall From Height
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Head Injury At Work
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Holiday Accidents and Illness
    • Holiday Sickness and Illness Compensation
    • Horse Riding Injury
    • Industrial Disease Compensation
    • Manual Handling
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Motor Insurance Policy
    • Motorbike Accident
    • No Win No Fee
    • Noise-Induced Hearing Loss
    • Occupational Asthma
    • Osteoarthritis
    • Pedestrian Accident
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Pleural Plaques (Scotland)
    • Pleural Thickening
    • Repetitive Strain Injury
    • Road Traffic Accident
    • Road Traffic Accident Abroad
    • Serious Injury
    • Skiing Injury
    • Slips, Trips and Falls
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Sports Injury
    • Supermarket Accident
    • Terrorism Abroad
    • Tinnitus
    • Vibration White Finger
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
    • Whiplash
    • Workplace Slip and Trip
  • Professional Negligence
    • Barristers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional trustees
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment