Whitehead Monckton Limited

020 7531 2990

Whitehead Monckton is one of the largest law firms in Kent, with offices located in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden. Our experienced legal team provides a comprehensive range of services to both business and individual clients in practice areas including commercial transactions, property, employment, family, estate planning and wills and probate. We have developed expertise in the following areas: rural business, charities, property development and leisure, enabling us to provide comprehensive support to clients within these sectors. Browse our website for further details on our legal services and team members. If you have any queries please don't hesitate to contact us today. We are confident our solicitors in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden can provide you with the legal services you need.

4.7/5 78 Customer Reviews 78
Recommended by
74 Verified Clients
like Janis And Ron and Ross
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Whitehead Monckton Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Whitehead Monckton Limited on ReviewSolicitors

78 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    70
  • Very Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    3
Anonymous
Click to rate
Ross
Verified Ross Added 3 months ago Report to admin
September 30, 2018 20180930211502

Recent sale and purchase of property

5

We couldn’t have been happier with the service - without such a supportive solicitor I don’t know how we would have survived!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janis and Ron
Verified Janis and Ron Added 3 months ago Report to admin
September 28, 2018 20180928211502

We found Whitehead and Monckton a very good firm to deal with

5

We have been very satisfied with all our dealings with Whithead and Monckton Solicitors for many years and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 6 months ago Report to admin
July 19, 2018 20180719211501

Sale of Business.

5

Our business was conducted efficiently and effectively at very short notice. Chris Longden, Haggai Peri and David Riorden could not have done more to ensure a successful and seamless transaction. Further, all administrative staff at Whitehead Monckton were polite, mannered and highly professional. It has been a pleasure to have worked with all at Whitehead Monckton and I would not hesitate to recommend the firm to anybody who requires sound, clear, expert advice that is delivered with clarity and attention to detail. An excellent outcome for us due in no small part to the excellence of all at WM. Thankyou.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nisha
Verified Nisha Added 7 months ago Report to admin
June 15, 2018 20180615211501

Family

5

Thank you to Daniel Bennett for representing me in a recent emergency family law related matter. Daniel is a dedicated, empathetic and trustworthy solicitor with a sound knowlegde of family law. I have no hesitation in recommending him! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lorna
Verified Lorna Added 7 months ago Report to admin
May 29, 2018 20180529211502

Recommend

5

As a new client of Whitehead Monckton facing a stressful situation I felt comfortable that I was dealt with in a fair friendly and wholly competent manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Verified Steve Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 19, 2018 20181219201502

Well supported through difficult times.

5

My father died in September 2016 and we engaged Whitehouse Monckton to manage the Estate . Part way through that my mother died in the following March . This compounded the undertaking somewhat. The expert help and support we received throughout the processing of the Estates however was excellent and seamless . We were given professional and yet personal support to carry us to a good conclusion.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christian
Verified Christian Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 29, 2018 20181129201504

Best conveyance ever

5

Lisa Allbutt & Katie Langridge did an excellent job through out the purchase process of my house, from the start to completion. Everything was great & quick. In fact, we were ready for completion before the vendor's solicitor. I am very pleased I used the firm Whitehead Monckton solicitors and I will recommend this firm especially Lisa & Katie who handled my buy to let property. Lisa is an expert conveyance solicitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Maureen
Verified Maureen Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 27, 2018 20181127201504

Updating Wills

5

From the initial phone call to your office, right through to the completion of our wills, both my husband and myself were treated with courtesy, and professionalism. Everyone we came in to contact with was helpful, friendly and welcoming, making us feel completely relaxed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 26, 2018 20181126201504

Excellent service

5

We have been very impressed with the excellent advice and service that we have received. Everything has been very clearly explained. We have recommended your company to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Enid
Verified Enid Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 16, 2018 20181116201506

My Will

5

Last Will and Testament

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Whitehead Monckton Limited

  • Katie Broadfield

    Originally from Cambridge, I completed an LLB (Hons) in Law Degree at Sheffield Hallam University and then moved to London to undertake the Legal Practice Course at the College of Law. Following that I worked as a paralegal at Kingsley Napley Solicitors in London in the professional regulation department before joining Whitehead Monckton as a Trainee Solicitor in 2007. I qualified as a Solicitor in the Tax & Estate Planning department of Whitehead Monckton in February 2009 based in Maidstone. In October 2016 I became an Associate Director and relocated from Maidstone to Canary Wharf to head up the Tax & Estate Planning team at Docklands Solicitors, following the successful merger of the two firms. I now offer the full range of private client services and expertise to the London market, adding value to Docklands Solicitors' clients and the local area.

  • Alexander Bak

    Having first been called to the Bar I commenced legal practice in 2002. I have worked for major UK national and international legal practices as well as working in-house for a large hotel company as well as in house for 2 major UK telecommunications operators. I undertake a wide range of commercial property work, with a particular emphasis on: Acquisition and disposal of commercial property (freehold and leasehold) Acquisition and disposal of leisure property, such as hotels, pubs, restaurants, golf clubs etc (freehold and leasehold) Commercial Landlord and Tenant Property portfolio management Land development Secured lending Franchising Telecommunications (wayleave, rooftop and greenfield agreements) I also specialise in alcohol licensing and act for both individual and corporate clients. I apply licensing experience to leisure property transactions and am also able to act on behalf of clients in relation to all types of licensing applications and hearings. I am fluent in German.

  • Ruth Thoms

    I completed my LLB Law (Hons) Degree at Nottingham Trent University followed by the Legal Practice Course at Nottingham Law School. I then trained as a solicitor in Mayfair, London gaining extensive experience across a number of areas in law, before joining the firm in June 2017. I have expertise in: Commercial and Residential freehold and leasehold both sale and purchase transactions. Residential re-mortgages. Sale and purchase of newly built properties/developments of land. Declaration of Trust. Transfer of equity. Lease extensions.

  • Pam Thomas

    I qualified as a solicitor in 1988 and in 2005 and set up Docklands Solicitors with my partners. I have specialised in residential property transactions since 1988. I am conscious of how stressful moving house can be and I provide a thorough and personal service giving you peace of mind; I will deal with your enquiries in a professional but friendly manner. Through my many years of experience in dealing with large and small transactions I can anticipate the pitfalls that may arise and will work with you to ensure that your transaction proceeds as smoothly as possible. I have good strong links with many surveyors and estate agents.

  • Marsha Marriner

    Before I joined Whitehead Monckton’s Property Department in 2004 I worked for city law firm S J Berwin in their real estate department within the retail team which gave me a width breadth and knowledge of commercial property from both a strong Landlord and Tenant’s position. Since joining the Team at Whitehead Monckton I now act for a diverse range of clients both in the commercial, private and agricultural sector and have experience in a wide range of commercial transactions. Whatever property dealings you are contemplating I can help. I was delighted to be asked to be part of the new office in Canterbury which opened in 2013 as it brought with it the exciting prospect of developing more roots within the home county.

  • Sarah Brissenden

    I attended a local school in Tenterden and then completed my LLB Hons in Law with Business at the University of Brighton in 2009. Following a year working as a Law Costs Draftsmen in Canterbury I studied the Legal Practice Course at the College of Law in Guildford. I then spent the following two years working at London law firms before commencing my training contract with Whitehead Monckton in the Tenterden office in September 2013. I qualified as a solicitor in September 2015 and now work in the Family team at Canterbury. I am a member of the Rural Business team. I am also a Secretary of Kent Resolution and a committee member of Kent Young Resolution. When out of the office I enjoy travelling to different countries and experiencing different cultures. When I am home I enjoy spending time socialising with family and friends and enjoy keeping fit by jogging and playing badminton.

  • Jennifer Beynon

    I completed my LLB (Hons) Law Degree at the University of Kent followed by the Legal Practice Course at The College of Law. I then trained and worked in London before joining the firm in 2017. I have expertise in: Residential and commercial freehold and leasehold sales and purchases Transfers of equity and re-mortgages Lease extensions and shared ownership properties Sales and purchases of newly built property as well as acting for Developers in setting up Residential Estate paperwork and selling off individual plots Auction sales and purchases

  • Garry Warman

    I chose to combine both an academic and vocational approach towards my career and whilst working for a local firm of solicitors gained practical experience across a broad range of issues within my chosen field. I qualified as a Member of the Institute of Legal Executives in 1997 and joined Whitehead Monckton the same year. I became a Fellow of the Institute in 1999 and proudly became the first Legal Executive Partner of the firm in April 2011. I became an Associate Director when the firm incorporated to a Limited Company in April 2014 and Director in January 2016. I specialise in: Wills Tax planning and succession advice Estate administration Lasting and Enduring Powers of Attorney Trust creation and administration I am a member of the Society of Trust & Estate Practitioners (STEP) and Solicitors for the Elderly (SFE). I am the head of Whitehead Monckton’s Corporate Social Responsibility team.

  • David Riordan

    I completed a BA Hons Degree in English Literature at the University of Sheffield. I went on to study law at the College of Law in Chester completing the Postgraduate Diploma in Law followed by the Legal Practice Course. After qualifying as a solicitor, I practiced as a property litigator for two years with a large regional firm and then relocated to Kent with my wife where I have practiced as a civil litigator for 4 years prior to joining Whitehead Monckton in April 2014. While practising I completed a Diploma in Advanced Litigation with Law South and have since continued to develop my interest in mediation and alternative dispute resolution. I have a firm belief in seeking to successfully resolve cases through mediation where possible prior to going to trial. I have expertise in: Litigation and Dispute Resolution including: Landlord & tenant Property disputes Commercial litigation Company, director & shareholder disputes Partnership disputes Professional negligence claims

  • Lindsay Sharp

    I completed a BSc Hons Degree in Medical Biochemistry at Cardiff University followed by the Postgraduate Diploma in Law at University of Westminster and the Legal Practice Course at College of Law London. I then trained and worked in a long-established Kent based firm (qualifying in 2007) before joining the firm in 2017. Alongside work I continued my postgraduate education with University of Cambridge and qualified as a Notary Public in 2010. Now as one of approximately 800 Notaries in England and Wales I perform a full range of Notarial services and have an expanding portfolio of regular clients which include local companies, individuals, charities, PLCs and a FTSE100 company I have expertise in: Leases of commercial premises, including assignment and surrenders, acting for landlord and tenants Sales and purchases of commercial buildings Acting for local developers, from the initial acquisition stage through to individual plot sales Deeds of easement and wayleaves Remortgaging property portfolios Advising and rectifying title defects The sale and purchase of high value or complex residential properties.

  • Hannah Durston

    I completed a BSc in Psychology at the University of Southampton before going on to complete my Graduate Diploma in Law at Kingston University and my Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, Guildford. I then joined Whitehead Monckton as a trainee solicitor in September 2009. I qualified as a Solicitor in September 2011 and until April 2013 was based in the Maidstone office. Since then I have been based in the firm's Canterbury office. I became a Senior Solicitor in September 2015 and an Associate in April 2016. I have expertise in: Wills Tax planning and succession advice Lasting Powers of Attorney Court of Protection matters including Deputyship and Statutory Will applications Estate administration Trust creation and administration I am a member of Whitehead Monckton’s Corporate Social Responsibility team and have an active role in raising awareness and money for our Charity of the Year. I am also a full accredited member of Solicitors for the Elderly and a Dementia Friends Champion and have completed two of the three STEP thesis papers with a view to becoming a fully qualified STEP member via the Qualified Practitioner route in 2018.

  • Emma Palmer

    I completed a BA (Hons) degree in English at the University of Southampton before taking a gap year where I worked as a special needs teaching assistant in a Kent school. I then completed the Common Professional Examination at the College of Law, Guildford, followed up by the Legal Practice Course where I achieved a distinction. I then trained and practised in Surrey before moving to Kent in 2000 and working for another firm locally until I joined Whitehead Monckton in 2013. I have expertise in: All aspects of family law but I have particular expertise in: Divorce Complex finance following divorce – especially cases involving pensions Breakdown of unmarried relationships Children matters I have been a Resolution Accredited Specialist in financial and children proceedings for over 10 years and a Law Society Family Law Panel Member for over 10 years. As a committed Resolution practitioner I am always keen to promote and encourage settlement out of Court. I further qualified in 2014 as a collaborative lawyer. I am a member of the Canterbury “around the table” POD group for collaborative lawyers, a volunteer for both the Canterbury CAB and the Kent Law Clinic and give regular careers talks and attend careers fairs at local education establishments in Kent. I am also actively involved with local Law Society, being a Past President of the Medway Law Society and the current Honorary Secretary of the Kent Law Society.

  • Dan Cowley

    I completed a BA Hons Degree in History at Durham University followed by the Postgraduate Diploma in Law at Oxford Brookes University and the Legal Practice Course at The Oxford Institute of Legal Practice. I then trained and worked in Oxford (qualifying in 2005) for almost 11 years at Manches solicitors (now Penningtons Manches LLP) before relocating and joining the firm in 2014. I have expertise in: Acting for Landlords and Tenants in commercial lease transactions; Acting for further and higher education establishments in respect of their property portfolio management (previous clients include Oxford Brookes University and the University of Oxford). Acting for developers and landowners in respect to site assembly, development and sale of development land including joint venture, promotion agreements, overage agreements and mixed use regeneration projects; Property securitisation and secured lending; Acting for investors in the sale and purchase of commercially tenanted properties Acting for affordable housing registered providers in their development site acquisition and plot sales;

  • Daniel Bennett

    Listed as a leading individual in Legal 500 : (total professional commitment is exceptional and the quality of care is quite unique). I have a lot of experience exclusively in high net worth family law having started as a trainee solicitor at Boodle Hatfield in Oxford and London, continuing to Blandy & Blandy and then Pannone. I have postgraduate training in psychology and I am an experienced Family Mediator and Collaborative Practitioner. I became a Director at Whitehead Monckton in July 2016. I am a committed Resolution Member, having sat on the National Committee from 2013 to 2016, and Trustee of the John Cornwell Foundation. I train psychotherapists, solicitors and other professionals nationally to work effectively for clients out of court and to promote interdisciplinary working so that families are provided with lasting, meaningful solutions to family challenges which arise. I am a Resolution Accredited Specialist in financial and children proceedings. I have expertise in: collaborative and mediation agreements and meetings; complex financial proceedings and cases involving foreign clients and assets; applications to remove children from the jurisdiction; pre-nuptial and post-nuptial agreements.

  • Janey Goode

    After studying law at King's College, London, I trained with Clifford Chance, joining their Company department in 1990. I joined Whitehead Monckton in 1993 and became a partner in 1996. I qualified as a Notary in 1997 and became a Director when the firm incorporated to a Limited Company in April 2014. I am Head of the Business Law department. I am the Honorary Treasurer of the Kent Law Society and Chair of Kent and East Sussex Notaries Group. Listed as a leading individual for Corporate in Chambers for 2017 (of Whitehead Monckton is held in high regard by her clients, who praise her "broad range of experience" and appreciate the "practical approach" she takes to complex corporate matters.) Having been a keen horse rider for many years before having a family, I have taken a break from horse riding to devote more time to my family but hope in the future to take it up again. In the meantime, I maintain close links with the horse riding community. I have expertise in: All aspects of corporate and business law, from corporate reorganisations and financing to shareholders’agreements Notarial work. Specialist in partnership law and rural partnerships.

About This Branch

Description

With offices in Canterbury, London, Maidstone and Tenterden, Whitehead Monckton is one of the largest legal practices in the county. We offer a wide range of services specifically for businesses together with legal support for you as an individual. You can see our lawyers at the office most convenient to you or we can meet at your office or home. Its important to us that we are recognised within Kent as being a very approachable and professional firm. Many of our staff, including a number of Directors, completed their legal training with the firm and our ethos of client support and care is very important to all members of the firm.


Legal Services
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Housing Associations
  • Planning
  • Insurance brokers
  • Extending your Lease
  • Flexible Working
  • Separation
  • Stress at Work
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Property Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Barristers
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Transfer of title
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Wills
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Trusts
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Remortgaging
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Social Services
  • Professional trustees
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Lease Extensions
  • Professional Discipline
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Valuers
  • Child Law
  • Separation Agreement
  • Housing Management
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Transfers of equity
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Right to Manage
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Family Leave
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Family law
  • Pension Law
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Housing
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Leasehold properties
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • IT professionals
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Discrimination at Work
  • TUPE
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Trusts
  • Financial advisors
  • Repossessions
  • Financial Matters
  • Litigation Law
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Child contact
  • Children
  • Redundancy
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Benefits
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Probate
  • Pension and property advice
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Notary
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Injunctions
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Family Mediation
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Part Time Workers
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Tax
  • Employment Contracts
  • Housing disputes
  • Buying at auction
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Gardening Leave
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Collaborative Law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Asset Tracing
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Health and Safety
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Equestrian property
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Rights of way issues
  • Management buyouts
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Tax
  • Finance
  • Environmental policy law
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Developer disputes
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Banking
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Leases
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Planning law
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Development plot sales
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial Law
  • Agency agreements
  • Statutory Demands
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Corporate finance
  • Purchase of development land
  • Licensing
  • Summary Judgment
  • Data Protection
  • Mediation
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Employment - business
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Setting up a business
  • Competition law
  • Franchising

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • 0830 - 1800
  • Closed
  • Closed