Biscoes Law Limited

02392 512030

Biscoes, your local lawyers, are located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.

4.5/5 62 Customer Reviews 62
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Biscoes Law Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Biscoes Law Limited on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

62 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    51
  • Very Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    5
Anonymous
Click to rate
Abigail
Abigail Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 11, 2018 20180811201415

Review for the litigation team.

5

Charlotte Ware was a real delight to work with. She kept us informed of the progress of our case and was always helpful and informative when we contacted her. We felt that she really cared about our case and had a good working knowledge of it. She was friendly and professional and we would not hesitate to recommend her to other clients. The litigation team are, in our opinion, just brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anna
Anna Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 11, 2018 20180811184524

Very professional and courteous

5

I would like to thank you very much, and all involved at Biscoes who have helped me achieve the outcome I so desperately needed. I cam through the toughest experience of my life and you have played a major part in getting me through it. You explained everything very well regarding my case and did it in a very professional and courteous manner; I thank you all once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dhoha
Verified Dhoha Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910224015

Thank you for the great service

5

Thank you Gillian Cowling and team, you’ve made my experience about buying a property such a good one, everything went so smooth so professional and well organised. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew Robin
Verified Andrew Robin Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910212012

Very Efficient........They DO what they SAY

5

We were allocated Biscoes Law by Home Legal Direct and was a little concerned in the first instance as they were based in Hampshire, and the property we were buying was in South Yorkshire.

I needn't have worried, the geographical distance was no issue, and the quality of the service from Biscoes was excellent. They always say that one of the most stressful things you can do is move house, and so important to me is a solicitor that is proactive, and needs no chasing. We dealt with Gillian Cowling and she always did what she said she was going to, when she said she would, and this kept the stress levels to an absolute minimum.

I would HIGHLY recommend Biscoes and Gillian to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sean Austin
Verified Sean Austin Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910201118

Mortgage

4

Overall Biscoes we’re knowledgeable and professional. There was added costs due to a breakdown in communication from the beginning however this was explained but could have been put in the initial quote.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Malcolm John
Verified Malcolm John Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910183930

Excellent advice re tenancy and ending tenancy

5

We received excellent advice from Adam Manning, firstly drawing up the tenancy. The advice that we were given when we saw Mr. Manning was excellent and he was so understanding especially when we had to end the tenancy. I would always recommend the law firm Biscoes

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910172422

Conveyancing

5

Very well done with obvious efficiency. I appreciated the personal contact.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laurence Stuart
Verified Laurence Stuart Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910160444

Great Service

5

A great service cannot fault any part of the service that our solicitor provided.

Solicitor being reviewed: Melanie Natalie Palfrey

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael John
Verified Michael John Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910131211

Moving house to flat downsizing

1

They were very slow getting searches done . We moved from portsmouth to brockenhurst as both registered disabled . Moved near to our daughter. Feedback was appalling , we had toget very cross and asked to speak to person in control. They kept saying they were on holiday and our searches left whilst they were away, . Sorry because they were our family long term solicitors with wills etc with them . Very sad at the service they gave us

Solicitor being reviewed: Melanie Natalie Palfrey

Was this review helpful? Yes

Treciaus
Verified Treciaus Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 10, 2019 20190910125738

Limited company

2

Worst ever very rude solicitor does not care about how much you pay

Solicitor being reviewed: Courtney Weeks

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Historically, the longserving Portsmouth based firms of Biscoe Smith, Heather and Bellinger, Cousins Burbidge & Connor and Lyndhurst Groves merged in 1994 to form Biscoes Cousins Groves. In 2004 in the Firm's 150th year, Biscoes absorbed Wilkinson & Co and merged with King and Franckeiss, both well respected local firms. Subsequently in 2005 a merger with Covers added a Petersfield office to an already impressive list of locations, which was closely followed by the opening of an office in Gosport. In 2006 a Portchester branch was created following the link up with the long established practice of Barry Swanton & Co. In 2018 Biscoes merged with Gurney Champion & Co & Heyes Saumuel in Ryde, Isle of Wight. Biscoes continues to move confidently into the 21st Century, whilst remaining steadfastly committed to the provision of a traditional and locally based legal service. Located in offices close to you. Emergency and home appointments are available in certain cases. We are here to help you with all your legal requirements and offer a comprehensive range of legal services. We pride ourselves in providing a professional approach in a friendly environment.


Legal Services
  • Financial Matters
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Professional Conduct
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Assault
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Transfers of equity
  • TUPE
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • UK ancestry
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Ancestry visas
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Property Disputes
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Professional Discipline
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Child contact
  • Stress at Work
  • Media and Sports
  • Remortgaging
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Children
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Repossessions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Housing Management
  • Injunctions
  • Housing disputes
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Immigration Law
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Family Mediation
  • Pension Law
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Re-entry bans
  • Transfer of title
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Consumer Rights
  • Part Time Workers
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Child Law
  • Partner and family visas
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Extending your Lease
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Tax
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Deportation appeals
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Senior Executives
  • Wills
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Social Services
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Family Based Visas
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Collaborative Law
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Gardening Leave
  • Leasehold properties
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Injunctions
  • Buying at auction
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Trusts
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Planning
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Pension and property advice
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Family Leave
  • Travel rights
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Professional Negligence
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Against The Council
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Libel and Defamation
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Family law
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Trusts
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Notary
  • Separation Agreement
  • Separation
  • Road Traffic Accident
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Theft
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Housing Associations
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Human Rights
  • Visas
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Civil partnerships
  • Drugs offences
  • Citizenship
  • Criminal Damage
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Probate
  • Redundancy
  • Business Crime
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Litigation Law
  • Lease Extensions
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Employment Contracts
  • Summary Judgment
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Copyright
  • Commercial Leases
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Law
  • Development plot sales
  • Planning law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Employment - business
  • Development agreements
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Developer disputes
  • Licensing
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Corporate finance
  • Share option schemes
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Engineering contracts
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Setting up a business
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Management buyouts
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Health and Safety
  • Rights of way issues
  • Franchising
  • Finance
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Tax
  • Construction
  • Asset Tracing
  • Environmental policy law
  • Framework agreements
  • Mediation
  • Data Protection
  • Statutory Demands
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Domain Names
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • In-house training
  • Environment
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Credit Control
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Agency agreements
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Purchase of development land
  • Patents
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Development loan facilities
  • Competition law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Corporate Law
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0900 - 1715
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000