Coffin Mew LLP

023 9252 3111

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, London, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton and by appointment in Wantage, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.6/5 461 Customer Reviews 461
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

461 Customer Reviews

4.6/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    382
  • Very Good
    41
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    13
  • Awful
    19

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
 Robin Michael Owen & Christine Iris
Verified Robin Michael Owen & Christine Iris Added 19 hours ago Report to admin
November 14, 2019 20191114102259

Lease extension

5

Handled promptly and efficiently good communication via email.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Richard Stephen Edward
Verified Richard Stephen Edward Added 1 day ago Report to admin
November 13, 2019 20191113205452

Very professional

5

Had a rough time selling my property but coffin mew was always there to keep me updated and deal with any queries I had.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 November, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Gary & Catherine Louise
Verified Gary & Catherine Louise Added 2 days ago Report to admin
November 12, 2019 20191112113549

Poor service

2

Found the whole experience bad, we weren't given a solicitor in our area at first and then when we were the communication throughout was very poor. When the bill came it was different to the amount on the letter, online it would only let me pay how much was on the invoice so the solicitor then told us we had to pay the rest that was stated on the letter by bank transfer. found it a bit strange how the letter and attached invoice were different, surely they should have matched. Then we got chased for another £3 as they hadn't checked the amount already paid properly. Everything was done by post, we missed the sale off the house by a week when all it took was a phone call asking what date we would like to complete on which then resulted in us paying more rent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Graeme & Wendy Grace
Verified Graeme & Wendy Grace Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 06, 2019 20191106161534

Conveyencing

4

Conducted smoothly and effectively with good communications at all times and timely completion of work.
Will use again for other legal business.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 07 November, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Samantha Kelly
Verified Samantha Kelly Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 30, 2019 20191030122847

Was recommended

3

Andrew Paul is very helpful polite man, he was always available to take my calls and answer my questions.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 31 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Karen Elizabeth
Verified Karen Elizabeth Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 30, 2019 20191030080951

Sale of property

5

Very approachable throughout making everything stress free

Solicitor named in this review: Delia Budd

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
October 24, 2019 20191024105705

Excellent professional legal service on a flat purchase

5

A return visit to Coffin Mew who have acted for us before in purchases and sales of residential property, proved to be even more efficient, economic, professional and careful, on our behalf. A great service which was entirely successful.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 25 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Gillian Gail
Verified Gillian Gail Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 15, 2019 20191015180510

Fabulous Service

5

Mr A Paul and his team were excellent in giving me a smooth transition into moving.

All members of staff were very helpful and were on top form in answering any queries I had.

Would recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 16 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Kevin Andrew & David Neil & Anthon
Verified Kevin Andrew & David Neil & Anthon Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 11, 2019 20191011170414

Smooth conveyancing experience

5

I asked Delia and the team to act for us in the sale of our property based on a previous good experience and I would have no hesitation in asking them to undertake similar work in the future should the circumstances arise. All our queries were handled in a friendly and efficient manner and we were kept well informed on progress. Many thanks !

Solicitor named in this review: Delia Budd

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 16 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Barry James Lewis & Jennifer
Verified Barry James Lewis & Jennifer Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 03, 2019 20191003184427

House Sale

5

Have used Coffin Mew for many years for house conveyancing and have always been very happy with the service provided

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 04 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

James
James Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2019
Collected on
20190906172842

James

5

Prompt service my enquiry answered within 24hrs excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 08 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

topbuzz
topbuzz Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 27, 2019
Collected on
20190827124857

topbuzz

5

Very good honest solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

The
The Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802190754

The

5

Prompt service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 05 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Mark
Mark Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 31, 2019
Collected on
20190731091824

Mark

5

Absolutely brilliant, could not be more helpful and friendly. Every silly question I had was answered and any concerns I had was quickly resolved. I can't thank Delia enough for her assistance, she went above and beyond for the smooth handling of our house sale. Thank you Delia and team!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Terry
Terry Added 5 months ago Report to admin
June 12, 2019
Collected on
20190612103342

Terry

5

Very nice staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Agricultural and Rural Business. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing 230 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Asbestosis
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Housing disputes
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Family law
  • Disputed Probate
  • Probate
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Human Rights
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Civil partnerships
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Redundancy
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Immigration Law
  • Child contact
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Flexible Working
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Fatal Accident
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Serious Injury
  • Disputed Wills
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Wills
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Media and Sports
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Part Time Workers
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Against The Council
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Medical Negligence
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Domestic Abuse
  • MRSA Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Lease Extensions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Dental Negligence
  • Separation
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Children
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Litigation Law
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Right to Manage
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • TUPE
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Pension and property advice
  • Buying at auction
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Housing Associations
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Trusts
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Employment Contracts
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Repossessions
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Leasehold properties
  • Visas
  • Senior Executives
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Planning
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Property Disputes
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Personal Injury Law
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Trusts
  • Stress at Work
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Child Law
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Transfers of equity
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Mediation
  • Framework agreements
  • Intellectual Property
  • Debt Recovery
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Credit Control
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Environmental policy law
  • Farming disputes
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Corporate finance
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Tax
  • Equestrian property
  • Developer disputes
  • Development loan facilities
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Commercial Leases
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Share option schemes
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Finance
  • GDPR
  • Statutory Demands
  • Development plot sales
  • Purchase of development land
  • Domain Names
  • Corporate Law
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Competition law
  • Copyright
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Employment - business
  • Engineering contracts
  • Banking
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Franchising
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Patents
  • Rights of way issues
  • Management buyouts
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • In-house training
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Planning law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Commercial Law
  • Development agreements
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Setting up a business
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Agency agreements
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Construction

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000