Coffin Mew LLP

023 9252 3111

Coffin Mew is a bold, innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, London, Newbury, by appointment in Wantage, Portsmouth and Southampton Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.5/5 225 Customer Reviews 225
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

225 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    177
  • Very Good
    20
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    9
  • Awful
    18

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
 Carol
Verified Carol Added 6 days ago Report to admin
August 13, 2019 20190813201308

Very happy with the service

5

I dealt with Delia Budd at the Gosport office she helped me through every step of the way.

Solicitor being reviewed: Delia Budd

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Ian David & Rebecca
Verified Ian David & Rebecca Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
July 25, 2019 20190725194351

House Conveyancing

4

Quietly got on with the job, contacting us when needed.
As with all house conveyancing, seems nothing is happening, but it is quietly going on in the background.

Solicitor being reviewed: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 13, 2019 20190713115909

Great solicitors

5

Good, advise and calm friendly service. Price is comparable.

I have purchased 4 properties through Coffin Mew and all have gone smoothly.

Agents love Andrew too.

Solicitor being reviewed: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Verified Anonymous Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711181237

Fantastic service

5

We always use Coffin Mew for our legal business as the service is fantastic. Would highly recommend.

Solicitor being reviewed: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Sarah Tracy
Verified Sarah Tracy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 10, 2019 20190710153017

Helpful

5

No question i asked was ever too much trouble, quick response to emails and very professional service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Martin Anthony
Verified Martin Anthony Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 22, 2019 20190622112732

Sale of Flat 2

5

I had a very good experience with Coffin Mew on a recent flat sale, all went smoothly & I was out of the UK for most of the time but I was always kept informed.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 25 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Hayley & Mark Anthony
Verified Hayley & Mark Anthony Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 12, 2019 20190612093446

Selling

4

Great service I was unsure because ast time I used the Portsmouth branch they were shockingly bad. But would recommend this branch again for sure

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Benjamin Oliver
Verified Benjamin Oliver Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 31, 2019 20190531151223

Coffin Mew - Andrew Paul

5

Andrew Paul was excellent throughout the conveyancing of our new house.
He was very quick to responding to queries and always very polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Maureen Ann
Verified Maureen Ann Added 3 months ago Report to admin
May 10, 2019 20190510171014

Delia

5

Delia dealt with the sale of my late mothers house and i can honestly say I have never dealt with such a lovely solicitor before. She made it easy and also made me feel more like a friend than just another number. I would highly recommend this company and Delia Budd in particular. The reception staff were also very helpful and friendly.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Ronald Edward & Beth Melanie
Verified Ronald Edward & Beth Melanie Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 28, 2019 20190428222037

House conveyance

5

Great service, would use aga8n and recommend

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

The
The Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
August 02, 2019
Collected on
20190802190754

The

5

Prompt service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 05 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Mark
Mark Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
July 31, 2019
Collected on
20190731091824

Mark

5

Absolutely brilliant, could not be more helpful and friendly. Every silly question I had was answered and any concerns I had was quickly resolved. I can't thank Delia enough for her assistance, she went above and beyond for the smooth handling of our house sale. Thank you Delia and team!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Terry
Terry Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 12, 2019
Collected on
20190612103342

Terry

5

Very nice staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Niral
Niral Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 09, 2019
Collected on
20190309141454

Niral

5

I've recently had the good fortune of working with the Court of Protection department at Coffin Mew Solicitors and can genuinely say that it's been a real pleasure from start to finish. Amy Chater and her team were excellent and I would highly recommend them.

Right from the first meeting with Emily Steel, then liaising with Tania Robinson, working with Amy Chater throughout and finally with Natasha Freeman for the conveyancing, I can honestly say it was a great experience. They were always very prompt in their communication and I would not hesitate working with them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adrian
Adrian Added 7 months ago Report to admin
December 30, 2018
Collected on
20181230220536

Adrian

4

We engaged Coffin Mew for a recent house sale. Even with a tight deadline, we completed on time. They were always easy to contact and deal with. They weren't flawless, but far above our previous experience with other solicitors. I'd happily recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Our client focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Agricultural and Rural Business. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing 230 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Probate
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Child contact
  • Media and Sports
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Disputed Wills
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Repossessions
  • Medical Negligence
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Child Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Against The Council
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Human Rights
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Serious Injury
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Trusts
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Pension Law
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Right to Manage
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Consumer Rights
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • TUPE
  • Disputed Probate
  • Financial Matters
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Separation
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Stress at Work
  • Collaborative Law
  • Trusts
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • MRSA Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Visas
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Professional Discipline
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Family law
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Dental Negligence
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Housing disputes
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Litigation Law
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Accident At Work
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Fatal Accident
  • Flexible Working
  • Civil partnerships
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Travel rights
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Housing Associations
  • Asbestosis
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Wills
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Children
  • Transfer of title
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Redundancy
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Immigration Law
  • Leasehold properties
  • Family Mediation
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Housing Management
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Planning
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Intellectual Property
  • Banking
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Competition law
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Planning law
  • Franchising
  • Engineering contracts
  • Asset Tracing
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Purchase of development land
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Credit Control
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial Law
  • Copyright
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Tax
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Commercial Leases
  • Developer disputes
  • Development agreements
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Agency agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Domain Names
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Environmental policy law
  • Rights of way issues
  • GDPR
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Development plot sales
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Development loan facilities
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Debt Recovery
  • Equestrian property
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Corporate Law
  • Setting up a business
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Finance
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Framework agreements
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Summary Judgment
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Corporate finance
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Employment - business
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Mediation
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Construction
  • Patents
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Share option schemes
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Statutory Demands
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Farming disputes
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • In-house training
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Design rights and product designs

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000