Coffin Mew LLP

023 92388021

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton and by appointment in Wantage, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 938 Customer Reviews 938 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

938 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    811
  • Very Good
    74
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    15
  • Awful
    25

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Natalie Lena
Verified Natalie Lena Added 2 days ago Report to admin
July 04, 2020 20200704070109

House purchase

5

Kerry (and the extended team) were utterly amazing throughout a very difficult and stressful process, in part due to COVID-19 but also other external factors. I couldn’t have asked for more support, better communication or clearer guidance.
I couldn’t recommend Coffin Mew more highly.
Thank you again!!

Solicitor named in this review: Kerry Allen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 04 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sharon Louise
Verified Sharon Louise Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 25, 2020 20200625184047

Very calming experience!

5

Very easy to deal with all online with phone calls if required. All managed through Lockdown!

Solicitor named in this review: Kirsten Wickham

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 02 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosemary
Verified Rosemary Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 19, 2020 20200619081222

Tan Jaff

5

My case has handled with compassion and professionalism.

Solicitor named in this review: Tan Fria Jaff

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abigail Charlotte
Verified Abigail Charlotte Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 18, 2020 20200618212927

Review

3

All fine until the very final stages of the sale and purchase. Communication was poor, reactive rather than proactive. Consistently chased for updates. We were kept accurately up to
date by our estate agent more so than our solicitor. Lacked confidence in the accuracy of the updates provided.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

There are two sides to every story and we do not wish to engage further on this matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark Anthony Philip & Dianne
Verified Mark Anthony Philip & Dianne Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 18, 2020 20200618152226

A very thorough professional company

5

During the covid 19 virus , coffin mews worked at home to meticulously resolve our purchase of a new home , great communication from a great team , constant updates and feedback Now all resolved , we would highly recommended coffin mew to anyone .

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael David
Verified Michael David Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 16, 2020 20200616102333

First Class Conveyancing

5

We were recommended to Coffin Mew by the Estate Agents we purchased a house through. Although it was during the time of the
Covid 19 lockdown everything was undertaken very efficiently and on line from providing ID through to signing the contract. A quotation was provided art the start and any questions we had throughout were answered very promptly

Many thanks

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Keir
Verified Keir Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 16, 2020 20200616071817

Conveyencing

5

Elisabeth Smith and Leigh Anders were absolutely amazing. Been working with them for around 6 months or so on a rollercoaster of a sale/purchase, involving multiple fallen through buyers and many obstacles on the purchase. Each was handled with professionalism, efficiency and friendliness. Nothing was ever really too much to ask and they both worked wonderfully on the deal. Just the sale left to finalise now and I'm sure that will be just as good.

Would absolutely recommend this firm, and Elisabeth/Leigh especially.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Allan
Allan Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 15, 2020 20200615120931

Highly recommended

5

Having used Coffin Mew and been very pleased with their service in setting up our wills, we didn't hesitate to consider them for conveyancing for our house move. Emily was great throughout, keeping us updated and highlighting things we needed to consider. Despite a delay due to Covid-19 restrictions, we were kept informed, in fact Emily was back on the case a whole week before our estate agents. Many thanks for a smooth process despite the restrictions!

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Merrett

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stefan John & Paula Louise
Verified Stefan John & Paula Louise Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 14, 2020 20200614124856

Excellent service

5

Emily was brilliant, kept me in contact and answered any questions I had in a timely fashion. I would highly recommend her.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Merrett

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 June, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

John Henry
Verified John Henry Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 12, 2020 20200612010000

Housing & Property

5

John Henry recommends Coffin Mew LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Merrett

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Mark
Mark Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 17, 2020
Collected on
20200317174856

Mark

1

Struggling with this solicitors' office. Really poor communication and seem to not have an idea what they are doing. We've tried asking many questions but are not getting responses, hence the Google review. Perhaps this will generate some action.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 25 March, 2020

Hi Mark, we are sorry that you have not got the responses you would want or expect from us. Unfortunately, Google is not allowing us to respond to reviews directly due to the coronavirus pandemic, so we have been unable to respond there, hence a delay in coming back to you. With that in mind, can you please contact our Marketing department who will be glad to look into these issues for you directly and try to rectify the situation. Please email us on Marketing@coffinmew.co.uk. Many thanks, Customer Services

christian
christian Added 10 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909165618

christian

3

Decent people, helpful but would like to have more communication

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 September, 2019

Hi Christian, Thank you for your feedback. We have passed your comments onto the wider team to look at ways we can improve further and look forward to working with you in the future. Kind regards, Customer Services

Richard
Richard Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 25, 2019
Collected on
20190625132810

Richard

5

We moved house last December and Salih was extremely helpful in making sure a tricky transaction went as smoothly as possible. I've needed extra documentation and help since the move and he's always happy to help. I've had experience of dealing with other firms who deliver the complete opposite, so I highly recommend you choose Coffin Mew! Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra
Sandra Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 29, 2019
Collected on
20190429120026

Sandra Keylock

5

Recently used Coffin Mew to purchase a flat and can not recommend them enough, in particular Rafiq Sumra. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He kept me completely informed at every stage and was readily available to answer any questions that arose. Fantastic service. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Nick
Nick Added 1 year ago Report to admin
January 09, 2019
Collected on
20190109152209

Nick Byrom

5

Friendly professional and efficient service. Will always use them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing over 200 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000