Coffin Mew LLP

023 92388021

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part Of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth and Southampton, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 1185 Client Reviews 1185 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

1185 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    1018
  • Very Good
    91
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    21
  • Awful
    37

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Shea Patrick & Fiona
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Shea Patrick & Fiona Added 2 days ago Report to admin
March 02, 2021 20210302094049

House buying

5

With awkward times at moment they’ve been helpful.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Merrett

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abigail
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Abigail Added 2 days ago Report to admin
March 02, 2021 20210302073047

House Sale

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Coffin Mew LLP recently completed on my house sale. The service received was highly professional and the sale, despite covid, was quick and easy.

Solicitor named in this review: Kirsten Wickham

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Emma Added 2 days ago Report to admin
March 02, 2021 20210302073005

Maisonette purchase

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Good communication and clear advise, particularly around a complicated freehold/leasehold arrangement. Managed to complete my maisonette purchase within 3 months. Thank you!

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Was this review helpful? Yes

Freya
Freya Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 21, 2021 20210221204940

Helped us with a complicated process

4

I thoroughly enjoyed working with Coffin Mews during the process of buying my flat. After an initially bumpy start caused by a change in personnel and information not being followed up (hence the 4 stars not 5) this work was picked up by Estelle and Julia. Estelle was punctual, clear in what was required of us, and professional in her advice. She explained the various processes and timelines thoroughly and chased the other parties when there were delays. Overall our experience was very good and I felt confident that nothing had been overlooked and we were well represented legally. We ultimately ended up with the best possible deal. Even when other parties were resistant to it, Estelle managed to convince them otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alison Mary
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Alison Mary Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
February 15, 2021 20210215190354

OK but areas to improve

2

Matter Type: Exclusivity and lock-out agreements

Whilst they did do the basic requirements of the job they did almost cost us the smooth acquisition of the house through poor work load management. They requested key information at the start of the process which was provided but failed to check it until it was needed months later wasting time processing the purchase of the house and meaning an extension on timescales was required. This was fully in the control of Coffin Mew.

Additionally I was surprised at the level of accuracy in the documents, I would have thought a solicitor would at least use spell checker.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Isabelle
Isabelle Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 02, 2021 20210202155136

First time buyers

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

My husband and I where looking to buy our first home and decided on Coffin Mew for our solicitors.
Being first time buyers we didn't really have a clue what we where doing so naturally has a lot of questions. Our solicitor Ed, was fantastic. He answered the sea of questions we had promptly and without making us feel like total newbies. We cannot sing Ed's praises enough. He has been a total star.
We are very happy with the service we have been provided and would happily recommend Ed and Coffin Mew to anyone looking to buy a house.

Solicitor named in this review: Edward Glanville

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Timothy
Timothy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 29, 2021 20210129101605

Suetts Farm Sale

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

All work was carried out quickly efficiently at a fair cost.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jennifer
Jennifer Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 28, 2021 20210128200009

Property sale

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale

I met Ian 14 years ago when I had the pleasure of working with him. During this time I experienced first hand the true professional he is.

The service Ian and his team have provided, once again, has been second to none. Ian was always in the detail, provided clear guidance and made sure we were fully informed throughout. When dealing with members of his team they too were incredibly responsive, courteous and reassuring.

I would not hesitate to recommend Ian and his team. I would never use anyone other.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Ian Edward Peach from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 28 January, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Derek
Derek Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 27, 2021 20210127150535

HOUSE SALE and PURCHASE

5

Emily Merrett helped us throughout the process of selling our previous house and buying this new one. She was friendly, very efficient and kept us well informed and advised. We particularly appreciated her professionalism and support when our purchasers became difficult at a crucial stage of the process. We would definitely recommend Emily and use Coffin Mew again.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 28 January, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Donna
Donna Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 21, 2021 20210121131923

House Purchase

5

Excellent Service, great communication knew exactly what was going on, and helped with dates that I required. Estelle was easy to speak to and really friendly.
Made buying my property a confident experience. In these trying times.
Thank you so much would definitely use Estelle and Coffin Mew again

Solicitor named in this review: Estelle Baldry

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 January, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Family
Family Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020
Collected on
20201124132954

Family

1

If you are moving house you want as much to be transparent as can be. Here i felt communications were poor, integrity of the messages we were getting in dealing with Coffin was not always consistent with reality. We found this company slow and a challenge to work with. We missed a number of important deadlines and they didnt get started on things until EVERYTHING was in, which meant we all had to play catch up on the issues Finally raised.
It may have just been Kirsten, as we have not engaged with the rest of the firm

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 January, 2021

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with our service and that we were unable to meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service so we are really disappointed to receive this review. Our New Homes team leader contact details have previously been provided to you and we are happy to discuss any concerns directly with you.

Alison
Alison Added 3 months ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020
Collected on
20201124132314

Alison

1

The Most FRUSTRATING company to work with; Not what you want when moving house. They have a policy to only start working on conveyancing once ALL surveys and documented are received. Kirstin Wickman was really poor in communications and allowed for several deadline to slip, which jeopardised the whole chain. I can commend her on being diligent, but to answer 4 times the same question about who owns the neighbours land (a registered easement/ right of passage) was just tedious and time consuming. I found nothing about working with the practice streamlined or helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 January, 2021

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with our service and that we were unable to meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service so we are really disappointed to receive this review. Our New Homes team leader contact details have previously been provided to you and we are happy to discuss any concerns directly with you.

Jess
Jess Added 5 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2020
Collected on
20201001112024

Jess

1

Several enquiries sent to request a quote for conveyancing fees and calls and emails not returned. Used another firm within Portsmouth who have been excellent with communication. I can only assume coffin mew did not want the business.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 07 October, 2020

Thank you for your comments. We have requested details so that we can further investigate the calls and e-mails that you say were not returned. We employ dedicated staff to deal with all of our new business enquiries and quotes for our award winning conveyancing service and are keen to understand what went wrong on this occasion so that we can improve our service offering.

donald
donald Added 5 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
September 29, 2020
Collected on
20200929154714

donald

1

Poor service all round dealing with my mums probate, Seroius lack of communication with delay upon delay. All blamed on Covid as this being the go to reason for everrything. Avoid and you will not be dissapointed with quality, sorry did i mention quality, meant shoddy client care .

Was this review helpful? Yes

mark
mark Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 20, 2020
Collected on
20200720205011

mark

5

We purchased a property using Coffin Mew, on recommendation from another solicitor, as the seller had employed the same company we originally approached.

Ian Peach who did our conveyancing was excellent, replying promptly and managing to get the purchase complete in under 6 weeks.

Thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. The firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000