Coffin Mew LLP

023 92388021

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, London, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton and by appointment in Wantage, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 768 Customer Reviews 768
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

768 Customer Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    661
  • Very Good
    61
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    14
  • Awful
    21

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Katherine Alice
Verified Katherine Alice Added 19 hours ago Report to admin
February 20, 2020 20200220202822

Professional, efficient and friendly

5

Very efficient and friendly, communication by email and phone was always prompt and polite, made buying a house as stress free as it can be

Solicitor named in this review: Kerry Allen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Robin William Alexander
Verified Robin William Alexander Added 1 day ago Report to admin
February 19, 2020 20200219201338

House purchase

4

Straight to the point, generally very clear and approachable - a pleasant experience which often isn’t the case in this field!

Solicitor named in this review: Kerry Allen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Umesh
Verified Umesh Added 2 days ago Report to admin
February 19, 2020 20200219143231

Efficient and fast

5

Fantastic service, quick and understandable.

Solicitor named in this review: Amy Cassini

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daniela Maria Caterina
Verified Daniela Maria Caterina Added 2 days ago Report to admin
February 18, 2020 20200218172432

Conveyancing

5

Great firm.polite and professional.Sold my house within 6 weeks.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew John
Verified Matthew John Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 18, 2020 20200218124122

Attentive & professional

5

Conveyancing was efficient on their part. It showed how bad the conveyancer's further down the chain were.

Solicitor named in this review: Kerry Allen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David Alfred
Verified David Alfred Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 18, 2020 20200218121448

Excellent from start to finish

5

Natalie handled my conveyancing with utter professionalism and made the whole process smooth and worry free. Would definitely recommend Coffin Mew and Natalie to anyone buying a house.

Solicitor named in this review: Natalie Marsh

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 18 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sara Joanne
Verified Sara Joanne Added 3 days ago Report to admin
February 18, 2020 20200218075218

Previous moves great, this time disappointing service

3

I have moved several times in my life and have always used Coffin Mew. They have always provided a great service (when Jodie Williams was my point of contact it was flawless). However my recent purchase was disappointing and frustrating to say the least. There was no chain and no mortgage required and the whole process took around 5 months. I appreciate this could have been in part due to the other side but phone calls were not returned on many occasions and communication was not great. I often had to leave messages on voicemail or with reception. Right down to the day before completion, I was in the bank not knowing how much to transfer for completion the next day as I had not received the completion statement that morning as promised. There was no phone call either to prepare me for any delay. I made special arrangements to leave work early to get this done and was left waiting. I would actually like to know in detail why this matter took so long. In my eyes it should have been a relatively easy and quick process.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 February, 2020

Hi Sara, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Our team have been in touch with you directly to provide a detailed explanation of various stages of your matter so we hope this provides some clarity. We have passed your comments onto the wider team to look at ways we can improve further and look forward to working with you in the future. Kind regards, Customer Services

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tony Kwong Wah
Verified Tony Kwong Wah Added 5 days ago Report to admin
February 15, 2020 20200215230649

Great service

5

Kirsten and her team have been helping me every step of the way through my first house purchase. Their fee is extremely reasonable with no hidden charges all the while providing excellent support, I would definitely recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Kirsten Wickham

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Amy Louise
Verified Amy Louise Added 6 days ago Report to admin
February 14, 2020 20200214164628

Good service

4

Started off the process a little slower and less communication I would have liked meaning I felt like I was chasing all the time! Which I feel you shouldn’t have to do. But.......
After speaking with the team this was rectified and from then on the service was great! Lots of updates and really pushed for what I needed towards the end of my purchase.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Carson

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie Dorothy
Verified Katie Dorothy Added 1 week ago Report to admin
February 13, 2020 20200213205855

Brilliant service

5

Emily has worked on a number of sales/purchases for us. She’s thorough, helpful, professional and always on top of our sale\purchase.

I couldn't recommend her highly enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Merrett

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

christian
christian Added 5 months ago Report to admin
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909165618

christian

3

Decent people, helpful but would like to have more communication

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 September, 2019

Hi Christian, Thank you for your feedback. We have passed your comments onto the wider team to look at ways we can improve further and look forward to working with you in the future. Kind regards, Customer Services

Richard
Richard Added 8 months ago Report to admin
June 25, 2019
Collected on
20190625132810

Richard

5

We moved house last December and Salih was extremely helpful in making sure a tricky transaction went as smoothly as possible. I've needed extra documentation and help since the move and he's always happy to help. I've had experience of dealing with other firms who deliver the complete opposite, so I highly recommend you choose Coffin Mew! Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra
Sandra Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 29, 2019
Collected on
20190429120026

Sandra Keylock

5

Recently used Coffin Mew to purchase a flat and can not recommend them enough, in particular Rafiq Sumra. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He kept me completely informed at every stage and was readily available to answer any questions that arose. Fantastic service. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 April, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Nick
Nick Added 1 year ago Report to admin
January 09, 2019
Collected on
20190109152209

Nick Byrom

5

Friendly professional and efficient service. Will always use them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Darrell
Darrell Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 24, 2018
Collected on
20181024143104

Darrell Manchip

5

As a local estate agent, finding a trusted solicitor to work on behalf of clients can be difficult. Jodie Williams and the rest of the conveyancing team at Coffin Mew have been incredibly helpful throughout the time I've been working alongside them - can't recommend highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Agricultural and Rural Business. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing 230 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Remortgaging
  • Immigration Law
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Wills
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Lease Extensions
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Repossessions
  • Buying at auction
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Visas
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Asbestosis
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Medical Negligence
  • Employment Contracts
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Property Disputes
  • Separation
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Civil partnerships
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Serious Injury
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Employment Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Travel rights
  • Consumer Rights
  • Transfer of title
  • Extending your Lease
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Housing Associations
  • Human Rights
  • Against The Council
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • TUPE
  • Trusts
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Probate
  • Trusts
  • Litigation Law
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Children
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Financial Matters
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Fatal Accident
  • Collaborative Law
  • Planning
  • Housing disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Housing Management
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Accident At Work
  • Redundancy
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Leasehold properties
  • Disputed Wills
  • Family law
  • Disputed Probate
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Patents
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Agency agreements
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Commercial Leases
  • Tax
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Debt Recovery
  • Environmental policy law
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Rights of way issues
  • Employment - business
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Corporate finance
  • Development plot sales
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Management buyouts
  • Franchising
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Share option schemes
  • Construction
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Development loan facilities
  • Development agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Small businesses
  • Purchase of development land
  • Intellectual Property
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Copyright
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial Law
  • Domain Names
  • Engineering contracts
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Developer disputes
  • Corporate Law
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Finance
  • Framework agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Banking
  • Setting up a business
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Planning law
  • Competition law
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Credit Control
  • GDPR
  • Buying and selling a farm

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000