Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Coffin Mew LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 4%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 92%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coffin Mew LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Coffin Mew LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 92%
No 8%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 92%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coffin Mew LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Coffin Mew LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 92%
No 8%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1087
  • Very Good

    97
  • Average

    18
  • Poor

    21
  • Awful

    38

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Daniel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Daniel

October 12, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

First time buyer Fears

As a first time buyer I was scared out of my mind during the whole conveyancing process. All members of staff at Coffin Mew helped put me at my ease all the way through the process. I would recommend them to anyone who is buying a home.

Was this review helpful?

David & Christina

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

David & Christina

October 11, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very competent and efficient.

We found Coffin Mew - and Natalie Marsh and her colleagues in particular - to be very competent and responsive to any issues that were raised. Responses to enquiries were dealt with very quickly and efficiently and we were kept informed at all times.

Was this review helpful?

Georgia

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Georgia

September 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great stress free service

Emily at coffin mew has been brilliant throughout my transaction. Very knowledgeable, speedy turn arounds on anything needed and dealt with bumps in the road which could have been very stressful if she hadn’t been there to help. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful?

Laura

Laura

September 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly recommended

We used Coffin Mew for our recent house sale and purchase, working in particular with Emily Merrett. She was brilliant throughout the whole process, always happy to explain things and help us understand, and to chase up the other solicitors from our buyers/sellers when required as well. This high level of service has continued after completion as well. She helped ensure the whole thing went as smoothly as possible, and we would definitely use Coffin Mew again.

Was this review helpful?

Abigail & Ben

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Abigail & Ben

September 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

We felt really let down.

Unfortunately, we felt really let down. We didn’t feel supported and we were made to feel on various occasions when we didn’t understand something.
We felt that emails were sent last thing on a Friday too often and, for something as stressful as moving house, we didn’t feel like our point of contact made it any easier on us.

Was this review helpful?

Anne

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Anne

September 21, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent

We used Coffin Mew for a house purchase. They were recommended by our estate agents and we haven't been disappointed.

Ian Peach worked tirelessly on our behalf; he responded quickly to any questions, was professional, efficient and personable and made the whole process completely stress-free.

I can not recommend Ian Peach/Coffin Mew highly enough and they would be the first port of call for any legal work in the future,

Was this review helpful?

Dean & Sharon

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Dean & Sharon

September 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Buy and sell

Excellent work done, in particular by Emily Merrett who dealt with us.
Always kind and very fast in responding to queries. Our sale would have fallen through without her. Excellent work.

Was this review helpful?

Deirdre

Deirdre

September 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Always a Pleasure!

and always a first class service. Adrian McClinton, Ben Loosemore and the support staff are 100% and a pleasure to work with. They are very professional, knowledgeable and go above and beyond in helping you out. They are the only company I go to when requiring a solicitors service and would highly recommend the team at Portsmouth to anyone. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?

David

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

David

September 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement agreement - Excellent service

Leon Deakin was friendly and knowledgeable about settlements. Clarifications were answered promptly and the settlement was completed on time. Excellent service.

Was this review helpful?

Amber-Rose

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Amber-Rose

September 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lauren Ward

Lauren has been excellent! She has made such a stressful and lengthy process, a little bit easier. She is reliable, extremely quick and efficient as well as very easy and accessible to communicate with! I have recommended Coffin Mew to other people.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Tom

Tom

September 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Tom

Absolutely first class service from Kerry at Coffin Mew. They put our buyers solicitors to shame. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

butterflies

butterflies

May 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

butterflies

As a first time buyer we were lost. During a stressful period and pandemic times, the whole team was very professional and very helpful. Recommended to everyone.

Was this review helpful?

Family

Family

November 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

If you are moving house you want as much to be transparent as can be. Here i felt communications were poor, integrity of the messages we were getting in dealing with Coffin was not always consistent with reality. We found this company slow and a challenge to work with. We missed a number of important deadlines and they didnt get started on things until EVERYTHING was in, which meant we all had to play catch up on the issues Finally raised.
It may have just been Kirsten, as we have not engaged with the rest of the firm

Was this review helpful?

Alison

Alison

November 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alison

The Most FRUSTRATING company to work with; Not what you want when moving house. They have a policy to only start working on conveyancing once ALL surveys and documented are received. Kirstin Wickman was really poor in communications and allowed for several deadline to slip, which jeopardised the whole chain. I can commend her on being diligent, but to answer 4 times the same question about who owns the neighbours land (a registered easement/ right of passage) was just tedious and time consuming. I found nothing about working with the practice streamlined or helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jess

Jess

October 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jess

Several enquiries sent to request a quote for conveyancing fees and calls and emails not returned. Used another firm within Portsmouth who have been excellent with communication. I can only assume coffin mew did not want the business.

Was this review helpful?

Coffin Mew LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. The firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Medical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Redundancy
    • Settlement Agreements
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Children
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Asbestosis
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Tax
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Trade Marks and Designs
Book an appointment