Coffin Mew LLP

023 92388021

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth and Southampton, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 1215 Client Reviews 1215 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

1215 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    1053
  • Very Good
    89
  • Average
    17
  • Poor
    19
  • Awful
    37

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Stephen
Stephen Added 5 days ago Report to admin
November 25, 2020 20201125185848

House Purchase

5

I wish to highlight the excellent support and guidance by Mr Ian Peach who overlooked my house purchase and legal requirements. His excellent communication and quick solutions to any problems was a credit to him and his company. I recommend him and his company for a good quality service.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lois Elizabeth
Verified Lois Elizabeth Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 18, 2020 20201118131259

Housing & Property

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

Lois Elizabeth recommends Coffin Mew LLP

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Tregarthen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David John & Lynne Elizabeth
Verified David John & Lynne Elizabeth Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 13, 2020 20201113192339

Successful Outcome

4

In this difficult year we were able to complete on the purchase of our house without too many problems.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Angela
Verified Angela Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 12, 2020 20201112115250

My house sale

5

Emily has made this process very easy and smooth . Quick to get back to me if I needed answers or help. Took me through lockdown and kept my spirits up about the move happening. I would highly recommend you to anyone who needed help , thank you Emily x

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Merrett

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 12 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard Charles
Verified Richard Charles Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 12, 2020 20201112104952

New house purchase

4

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

As a first time house purchaser I did feel I needed and would of liked more more regular/weekly updates when we were waiting for paperwork. That said they were excellent at responding to questions and providing updates when asked and they were very efficient with all paperwork. I would recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Kirsten Wickham

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 12 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Komal
Verified Komal Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 12, 2020 20201112081659

Helpful and professional.

5

It was a great journey with them very helpful and always on time.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 12 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lewis Robert
Verified Lewis Robert Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 12, 2020 20201112065738

House move

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

Jodie and the team where great comms where easy and well timed, a smooth moving process.

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Tregarthen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 12 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Neil
Verified Neil Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 11, 2020 20201111093550

House Move

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

Great Service and all around experience

Solicitor named in this review: Shona Archer

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 11 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Natalie
Verified Natalie Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 10, 2020 20201110141236

Stress free buy of first home.

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

Coffin Mew was recommended by Taylor Wimpey as we were buying a new build. Being first time buyers we were apprehensive about it all but Jodie Tregarthen at Coffin Mew was absolutely fantastic, everything was done efficiently and anything we didn’t understand was explained in full.
I would highly recommend Coffin Mew as they made the entire process stress free and simple.
Thank you to Jodie and her team.

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Tregarthen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 10 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daniel Morgan
Verified Daniel Morgan Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
November 10, 2020 20201110115118

Excellent solicitors

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

An excellent service looking after the sale of our house and purchase of our new property. During a stressful process Jodie at Coffin Mew was reliable throughout and would highly recommend to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Jodie Tregarthen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 10 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Family
Family Added 6 days ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020
Collected on
20201124132954

Family

1

If you are moving house you want as much to be transparent as can be. Here i felt communications were poor, integrity of the messages we were getting in dealing with Coffin was not always consistent with reality. We found this company slow and a challenge to work with. We missed a number of important deadlines and they didnt get started on things until EVERYTHING was in, which meant we all had to play catch up on the issues Finally raised.
It may have just been Kirsten, as we have not engaged with the rest of the firm

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alison
Alison Added 6 days ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020
Collected on
20201124132314

Alison

1

The Most FRUSTRATING company to work with; Not what you want when moving house. They have a policy to only start working on conveyancing once ALL surveys and documented are received. Kirstin Wickman was really poor in communications and allowed for several deadline to slip, which jeopardised the whole chain. I can commend her on being diligent, but to answer 4 times the same question about who owns the neighbours land (a registered easement/ right of passage) was just tedious and time consuming. I found nothing about working with the practice streamlined or helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jess
Jess Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 01, 2020
Collected on
20201001112024

Jess

1

Several enquiries sent to request a quote for conveyancing fees and calls and emails not returned. Used another firm within Portsmouth who have been excellent with communication. I can only assume coffin mew did not want the business.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 07 October, 2020

Thank you for your comments. We have requested details so that we can further investigate the calls and e-mails that you say were not returned. We employ dedicated staff to deal with all of our new business enquiries and quotes for our award winning conveyancing service and are keen to understand what went wrong on this occasion so that we can improve our service offering.

donald
donald Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 29, 2020
Collected on
20200929154714

donald

1

Poor service all round dealing with my mums probate, Seroius lack of communication with delay upon delay. All blamed on Covid as this being the go to reason for everrything. Avoid and you will not be dissapointed with quality, sorry did i mention quality, meant shoddy client care .

Was this review helpful? Yes

mark
mark Added 4 months ago Report to admin
July 20, 2020
Collected on
20200720205011

mark

5

We purchased a property using Coffin Mew, on recommendation from another solicitor, as the seller had employed the same company we originally approached.

Ian Peach who did our conveyancing was excellent, replying promptly and managing to get the purchase complete in under 6 weeks.

Thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 July, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. The firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000