Coffin Mew LLP

023 92388021

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part Of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth and Southampton, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 1201 Client Reviews 1201 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

1201 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    1032
  • Very Good
    93
  • Average
    18
  • Poor
    21
  • Awful
    37

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Clare
Clare Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 24, 2021 20210424133820

House Purchase - superb service from Coffin Mew

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

As always Ian Peach and colleagues from Coffin Mew provided an excellent service.
Their attention to detail, commitment, prompt action and excellent advice gave us confidence and assurance, especially when we ran in to unforeseen challenges.
We cannot recommend Ian and team highly enough. We would not go anywhere else.
Thank you Ian, Ed and Team. You are the best!

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Ian Edward Peach from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ciprian
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Ciprian Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 20, 2021 20210420192633

Help to buy redemption

5

Matter Type: Remortgaging

From the very beginning I was well informed, I knew what is happening next and everything has been done as planned. I am pleased with Emily Merrett's professionalism.
Thank you!

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Merrett

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 21 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kevan
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Kevan Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 15, 2021 20210415131257

+Good and thorough service

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Ian and his team have acted very professionally and thorough. They protected my asset through the transition period of conveyance.
Fully recommend using their services.

Kevan Ariss

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Ian Edward Peach from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas Simon Christopher & Rachel Julie
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Nicholas Simon Christopher & Rachel Julie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 13, 2021 20210413220624

Very good communication

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

I was really impressed with the service we received from Natalie at Coffin Mew. She was extremely attentive, diligent and had gave excellent communication throughout the process. Moving house is never easy, but Coffin Mew really were there to take much of the pain out of the process. Many thanks.

Solicitor named in this review: Natalie Marsh

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicola
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Nicola Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
April 13, 2021 20210413143553

Conveyancing

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Having recently sold my Apartment and bought a new house I remembered how stressful it was

My Solicitor Emily Brown was truly outstanding
Efficient patient friendly and very helpful I could not fault her in any way she was fantastic

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Brown

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Nicholas Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 06, 2021 20210406082105

My first house sale

5

Wonderfully straight forward even with the complication of needing a power of attorney, due to working away from U.K. during the sale.
I was recommended Coffin Mew by my estate agent Martin Archbold and I can not both highly enough, for any house sale you have.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Ian Edward Peach from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 12 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Sarah Tracy
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Sarah Tracy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 03, 2021 20210403061116

Thank you

5

I was kept informed throughout the process, my call were returned promptly and had great advice and help.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 05 April, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Laura
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Laura Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 31, 2021 20210331181200

Fantastic conveyancing

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Ian Peach was excellent. Nothing was too much of a problem and he resolved everything efficiently and with great attention to detail. I am very grateful for the time and effort that was put into the sale of my property and the purchase of my new property. The service was outstanding.

Solicitor named in this review: Ian Edward Peach

Ian Edward Peach from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 31 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Denise
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP. Denise Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 30, 2021 20210330083127

Help To Buy Remortgage

5

Excellent service. Good communication. Always kept aware of any delays caused by other parties and what was being done about them. Will definitely use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 31 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 18, 2021 20210318164442

Commercial Lease Renewal

5

Matter Type: Commercial Leases

We have been clients of the firm for over 20 years and they recently acted for us in the renewal of a lease to our tenants. I cannot praise them enough their expertise and tenacity during 12 months of negotiations was superb and their advice was excellent. I would highly recommend them and have no quibble over their fees.
Michael Ford
Managing Director
Forton Ltd

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 March, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

butterflies
butterflies Added 2 days ago Report to admin
May 03, 2021
Collected on
20210503194808

butterflies

5

As a first time buyer we were lost. During a stressful period and pandemic times, the whole team was very professional and very helpful. Recommended to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Family
Family Added 5 months ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020
Collected on
20201124132954

Family

1

If you are moving house you want as much to be transparent as can be. Here i felt communications were poor, integrity of the messages we were getting in dealing with Coffin was not always consistent with reality. We found this company slow and a challenge to work with. We missed a number of important deadlines and they didnt get started on things until EVERYTHING was in, which meant we all had to play catch up on the issues Finally raised.
It may have just been Kirsten, as we have not engaged with the rest of the firm

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 January, 2021

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with our service and that we were unable to meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service so we are really disappointed to receive this review. Our New Homes team leader contact details have previously been provided to you and we are happy to discuss any concerns directly with you.

Alison
Alison Added 5 months ago Report to admin
November 24, 2020
Collected on
20201124132314

Alison

1

The Most FRUSTRATING company to work with; Not what you want when moving house. They have a policy to only start working on conveyancing once ALL surveys and documented are received. Kirstin Wickman was really poor in communications and allowed for several deadline to slip, which jeopardised the whole chain. I can commend her on being diligent, but to answer 4 times the same question about who owns the neighbours land (a registered easement/ right of passage) was just tedious and time consuming. I found nothing about working with the practice streamlined or helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 26 January, 2021

We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with our service and that we were unable to meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service so we are really disappointed to receive this review. Our New Homes team leader contact details have previously been provided to you and we are happy to discuss any concerns directly with you.

Jess
Jess Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 01, 2020
Collected on
20201001102024

Jess

1

Several enquiries sent to request a quote for conveyancing fees and calls and emails not returned. Used another firm within Portsmouth who have been excellent with communication. I can only assume coffin mew did not want the business.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 07 October, 2020

Thank you for your comments. We have requested details so that we can further investigate the calls and e-mails that you say were not returned. We employ dedicated staff to deal with all of our new business enquiries and quotes for our award winning conveyancing service and are keen to understand what went wrong on this occasion so that we can improve our service offering.

donald
donald Added 7 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
September 29, 2020
Collected on
20200929144714

donald

1

Poor service all round dealing with my mums probate, Seroius lack of communication with delay upon delay. All blamed on Covid as this being the go to reason for everrything. Avoid and you will not be dissapointed with quality, sorry did i mention quality, meant shoddy client care .

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. The firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000