Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Coffin Mew LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 92%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coffin Mew LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Coffin Mew LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Coffin Mew LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Coffin Mew LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Coffin Mew LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.7/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    1061
  • Very Good

    97
  • Average

    18
  • Poor

    21
  • Awful

    37

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Harry

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Harry

July 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service, approachable and friendly team

I would thoroughly recommend Coffin Mew LLP solicitors, they offer a wide variety of products and consist of a professional and friendly team. A great and fast service keeping myself well informed throughout.

Was this review helpful?

Louis

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Louis

July 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

My Experience - First time buyer

Absolutely fantastic service, easy to contact, efficient and very professional.

Couldn’t recommend highly enough

Was this review helpful?

Richard

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Richard

July 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Smooth Transaction

I'd used Coffin Mew twice before for property transactions and am very pleased that I chose them again this time. Emily Merrett dealt with various challenges along the transaction chain with aplomb so completion was reached with a minimum of stress (for me at least).

Was this review helpful?

Sean

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sean

July 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic

Jodie dealt with our sale and purchase. It was an incredibly stressful sale/purchase due to a number of factors but Jodie and the team were professional and communicative throughout the entire process. They all did their best to ensure problems were resolved as quickly as possible and gave great advice. We would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful?

Rachel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Rachel

July 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Faultless

Coffin Mew was recommended to me by the estate agent. What a fantastic recommendation that turned out to be. Mr Ian Peach & his colleagues managed to get my house sale & purchase through in record time (5 weeks). Ian worked in to the evening & was up in the early morning, to get everything done to our incredibly tight schedule. He answered all queries immediately. He was thorough & clear. I honestly cannot think of one thing to criticise. A very impressive man & I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend him & the company.

Was this review helpful?

Linda

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Linda

July 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional & efficient

Emily Merrett was very professional & efficient at every level in dealing with the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful?

Gloria Vashti & Roland Austin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Gloria Vashti & Roland Austin

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Quick and Efficient Completion even with tight timescales

Courteous and professional staff -

Have used Coffin Mews a number of times over the last 4 years and have dealings with a number of their staff and can say that everyone has been polite and very professional .

Well Organised and Available -

Even with the pandemic and working from home limitations Coffin Mews has been well organised and available , responding to calls and emails quickly .

Quick and Efficient

Quick and Efficient Completion even with our tight timescales in trying to complete before the Stamp Duty Holiday Ended today (30th June 2021) .

A total success ...

Thanks ...Coffin Mews would be first in the list for any Conveyancing we may need !!!


Was this review helpful?

Joy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Purchase and Sale

Joy

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lovely people

Lovely people and very happy with their service, the only criticism would be that their communication could be better, though I understand that they are working hard to get the process done.
Overall I was very satisfied.

Was this review helpful?

Deborah

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Deborah

June 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service even through lockdown

Really helpful - most work done by email so convenient and speedy.

Was this review helpful?

James

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Coffin Mew LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

James

June 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very professional and efficient

I have used Coffin Mew's conveyencing services a couple of times now and have found them to be very professional and efficient. In particular, they keep in touch and respond when contacted (unlike a lot of other law firms!)

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

butterflies

butterflies

May 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

butterflies

As a first time buyer we were lost. During a stressful period and pandemic times, the whole team was very professional and very helpful. Recommended to everyone.

Was this review helpful?

Family

Family

November 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Family

If you are moving house you want as much to be transparent as can be. Here i felt communications were poor, integrity of the messages we were getting in dealing with Coffin was not always consistent with reality. We found this company slow and a challenge to work with. We missed a number of important deadlines and they didnt get started on things until EVERYTHING was in, which meant we all had to play catch up on the issues Finally raised.
It may have just been Kirsten, as we have not engaged with the rest of the firm

Was this review helpful?

Alison

Alison

November 24, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Alison

The Most FRUSTRATING company to work with; Not what you want when moving house. They have a policy to only start working on conveyancing once ALL surveys and documented are received. Kirstin Wickman was really poor in communications and allowed for several deadline to slip, which jeopardised the whole chain. I can commend her on being diligent, but to answer 4 times the same question about who owns the neighbours land (a registered easement/ right of passage) was just tedious and time consuming. I found nothing about working with the practice streamlined or helpful

Was this review helpful?

Jess

Jess

October 01, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Jess

Several enquiries sent to request a quote for conveyancing fees and calls and emails not returned. Used another firm within Portsmouth who have been excellent with communication. I can only assume coffin mew did not want the business.

Was this review helpful?

donald

donald

September 29, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

donald

Poor service all round dealing with my mums probate, Seroius lack of communication with delay upon delay. All blamed on Covid as this being the go to reason for everrything. Avoid and you will not be dissapointed with quality, sorry did i mention quality, meant shoddy client care .

Was this review helpful?

Coffin Mew LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. The firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
    • Medical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Employment
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Redundancy
    • Settlement Agreements
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Children
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Immigration
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Visas
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident At Work
    • Accidents In Public Places
    • Against The Council
    • Asbestosis
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
    • Children's Serious Injury
    • Fatal Accident
    • Fatal Asbestos
    • Head and Brain Injury
    • Mesothelioma Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Serious Injury
    • Spinal Injury Compensation
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Small businesses
    • Tax
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Computer and IT Law
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • GDPR
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Trade Marks and Designs

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment