Coffin Mew LLP

023 8033 4661

Also known as - Charles Lucas & Marshall Part of Coffin Mew

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton and by appointment in Wantage, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.7/5 1111 Client Reviews 1111 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

1111 Client Reviews

4.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    958
  • Very Good
    85
  • Average
    16
  • Poor
    18
  • Awful
    34

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Matt
Matt Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
September 22, 2020 20200922074332

Smooth Redundancy

5

Matter Type: Redundancy

I approached a few solicitors with help for my redundancy, and settled upon Coffin Mew for their reasonable price and reputation. They assured me this was something they were well used to dealing with and guided me through the process in a friendly professional manner. They managed to secure a redundancy payout for me very quickly, especially considering additional negotiations with my employer, that improved my redundancy payment.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte Allery

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 24 September, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Abhishek David & Monika Abhishek
Verified Abhishek David & Monika Abhishek Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 17, 2019 20190817111409

Excellent service

5

Instant replies. All queries sorted promptly...Hassle free mortgage process.

Solicitor named in this review: Emily Brown

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 18 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Daniel Robert
Verified Daniel Robert Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 04, 2019 20190804200850

Mortgage application

5

Really friendly and great service throughout. Communication was great

Solicitor named in this review: Rachael Redding

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 05 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711135842

Very good

4

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Good service provided and always clear with answering questions as well as speedy response. Sometimes found it hard to get in contact and talk to them on the phone in person and did get confusing with different solicitors taking over my purchase however they did seem to understand the majority of my issues when raised without needing to talk to other solicitors involved.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627172444

Probate

5

Lindsay Taylor at Southampton has provided wonderful support at a difficult time. She enabled a very smooth transfer from a previous solicitor and was personally most supportive. Since then she has provided a very high level of professional delivery and advice, effectively and speedily tackling some really difficult issues. We have not yet completed administering the estate, but I felt that a review at this stage was more than appropriate given the wonderful service being provided.

Solicitor named in this review: Lindsay Taylor

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Victoria Louise
Verified Victoria Louise Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627055636

Buying a new house

5

Fantastic service. Very friendly and helped with all my questions. Would use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Martin David
Verified Martin David Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 23, 2019 20190623012604

Helpful as expected

5

Matter Type: Wills

I used Coffin Mew because a solicitor I'd used previously had moved across to them. She had a history of no nonsense advice in diamond plain english and I was happy to use her services to make my new Will.
Short, to the point and no waffle; just like their service.

Solicitor named in this review: Lindsay Taylor

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 25 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Alieu S
Verified Alieu S Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 17, 2019 20190617130549

Well done

5

Matter Type: Commercial mortgages

Well done happy with the way they handle my whole mortgage process

Solicitor named in this review: Sharon Sandisiwe Dube

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 20 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Christopher William
Verified Christopher William Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 13, 2019 20190613111629

Reassuring

5

From start to finish the whole team have been there to support and reassure if any concerns arose, as they always do in house buying.
Thank you for a brilliant service - easily recommend the company with no qualms whatsoever .

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 03, 2019 20190603092823

Excellent Service

5

Matter Type: Possession and repossession proceedings

We are Landlords in the private rented sector and have used Adrian and Danielle on varied matters. We have always been happy with the knowledgeable and professional service along with fixed pricing structure provided. They won our case on this particular occasion, where representation was also required.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Michael
Michael Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 04, 2020
Collected on
20200804143543

Michael

2

I am very disappointed with the service. I have been a customer since 2007 now i cannot even get a response despite numerous e-mails and telephone messages. Will now move my business elsewhere. Shame, as I always thought they were good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 06 September, 2020

We do not recognise this client and so are unable to respond to their review.

M
M Added 10 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 27, 2019
Collected on
20191127155117

A client

1

They are milking the money from their customers, AVOID! They do send you a list of things which might cause additional fees (when buying a house) and be sure that they will come up with something! Also, when our first purchase wasn't accepted by bank, they increased their fees like £400 with the next house - we changed the solicitor at once.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 04 December, 2019

Dear M, We have tried to find your details, but cannot find any record of them on our system. We have also tried to reach out to you for more details, but we have not had any response. We would like to state that we are completely transparent about our fees and we also display our conveyancing fees clearly on our website. If you would like to get in touch with us directly, we will be happy to discuss this with you. Kind Regards, Customer Relations

Wilf
Wilf Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 29, 2019
Collected on
20190329234506

Wilf Hashimi

2

Not impressed. Unable or unwilling to take on an extremely basic litigation case - and took two days to tell me. Feeble comments about their fees making the case not worth pursuing, as if they don’t really understand the principles of quantum and costs, and referred me to the CAB! Utterly useless. The one redeeming factor was that the (apparently junior) solicitor was polite and personable, and was clearly deferring to someone else. But if they can’t handle a basic civil tort, I shall not be taking more complex and lucrative work to them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 08 April, 2019

Hi Wilf, we are very sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your recent experience with us. Unfortunately, as our solicitors discussed with you at the time, the firm does not take on cases of this nature, so we referred you to other firms who may have been able to help. Thank you for your positive comments about the solicitor you spoke with, we will be sure to pass these on. Kind Regards, Coffin Mew

ant
ant Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 16, 2018
Collected on
20181116190622

ant black

5

A big thank you to Jennifer Chrzanowski and her team at Coffin Mew in Southampton. They knew from day one we were under huge pressure to complete the purchase of our property quickly due to a very tight deadline, and they did not disappoint. From the moment we contacted Jennifer, up until the day of completion, she pulled out all of the stops to make this happen and was also commended by the vendor's estate agent, at her speed and diligence. We were updated daily - either by email or phone calls - and never once were we left worried our purchase was not getting her full attention. I cannot thank them enough for all their hard work and professionalism.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Southampton
Southampton Added 2 years ago Report to admin
November 29, 2017
Collected on
20171129124144

Southampton Vineyard Hello

5

We bought our last house with them and are now buying and selling with them. They have not disappointed. They are very thorough, knowledgeable and good at keeping us up to date and informed. They are very quick at responding to queries, professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Our client-focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Private Wealth. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing over 200 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000