Coffin Mew LLP

023 8033 4661

Coffin Mew is a bold, innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, London, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton & Wantage. Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.4/5 180 Customer Reviews 180
Recommended by
172 Verified Clients
like Jane and Mark
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

180 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    142
  • Very Good
    14
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    16

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
 Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 week ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711135842

Very good

4

Good service provided and always clear with answering questions as well as speedy response. Sometimes found it hard to get in contact and talk to them on the phone in person and did get confusing with different solicitors taking over my purchase however they did seem to understand the majority of my issues when raised without needing to talk to other solicitors involved.

Solicitor being reviewed: Natalie Marsh

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627172444

Probate

5

Lindsay Taylor at Southampton has provided wonderful support at a difficult time. She enabled a very smooth transfer from a previous solicitor and was personally most supportive. Since then she has provided a very high level of professional delivery and advice, effectively and speedily tackling some really difficult issues. We have not yet completed administering the estate, but I felt that a review at this stage was more than appropriate given the wonderful service being provided.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Victoria Louise
Verified Victoria Louise Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627055636

Buying a new house

5

Fantastic service. Very friendly and helped with all my questions. Would use again.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Martin David
Verified Martin David Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
June 23, 2019 20190623012604

Helpful as expected

5

I used Coffin Mew because a solicitor I'd used previously had moved across to them. She had a history of no nonsense advice in diamond plain english and I was happy to use her services to make my new Will.
Short, to the point and no waffle; just like their service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Lindsay Elizabeth May Taylor

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 25 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Alieu S
Verified Alieu S Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 17, 2019 20190617130549

Well done

5

Well done happy with the way they handle my whole mortgage process

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 20 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Christopher William
Verified Christopher William Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 13, 2019 20190613111629

Reassuring

5

From start to finish the whole team have been there to support and reassure if any concerns arose, as they always do in house buying.
Thank you for a brilliant service - easily recommend the company with no qualms whatsoever .

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 03, 2019 20190603092823

Excellent Service

5

We are Landlords in the private rented sector and have used Adrian and Danielle on varied matters. We have always been happy with the knowledgeable and professional service along with fixed pricing structure provided. They won our case on this particular occasion, where representation was also required.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adrian George McClinton

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Yashica Kamleshkumar & Shreya Kamleshkumar
Verified Yashica Kamleshkumar & Shreya Kamleshkumar Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 28, 2019 20190528145910

Very great service,

5

Easy approchable, very professional.
Highly knowledgeable solicitors.
Very easy to understand.
I would use their service again.
Made to first time home buyer, less painful and less stressful. Very efficient and use their initiative to support the clients.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Catherine Helen
Verified Catherine Helen Added 2 months ago Report to admin
May 02, 2019 20190502081727

House purchase

5

Joanna and her team were easy to work with and did everything in a timely manner. Kept me informed at every stage and were good when having to deal with the developer due to a slow in my separate house sale.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 07 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Grant Paul & Sophie Rowena
Verified Grant Paul & Sophie Rowena Added 3 months ago Report to admin
April 10, 2019 20190410112659

Excellent service

5

A very good experience. Acted with professionalism

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 May, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Wilf
Wilf Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 29, 2019
Collected on
20190329234506

Wilf Hashimi

2

Not impressed. Unable or unwilling to take on an extremely basic litigation case - and took two days to tell me. Feeble comments about their fees making the case not worth pursuing, as if they don’t really understand the principles of quantum and costs, and referred me to the CAB! Utterly useless. The one redeeming factor was that the (apparently junior) solicitor was polite and personable, and was clearly deferring to someone else. But if they can’t handle a basic civil tort, I shall not be taking more complex and lucrative work to them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 08 April, 2019

Hi Wilf, we are very sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your recent experience with us. Unfortunately, as our solicitors discussed with you at the time, the firm does not take on cases of this nature, so we referred you to other firms who may have been able to help. Thank you for your positive comments about the solicitor you spoke with, we will be sure to pass these on. Kind Regards, Coffin Mew

ant
ant Added 8 months ago Report to admin
November 16, 2018
Collected on
20181116190622

ant black

5

A big thank you to Jennifer Chrzanowski and her team at Coffin Mew in Southampton. They knew from day one we were under huge pressure to complete the purchase of our property quickly due to a very tight deadline, and they did not disappoint. From the moment we contacted Jennifer, up until the day of completion, she pulled out all of the stops to make this happen and was also commended by the vendor's estate agent, at her speed and diligence. We were updated daily - either by email or phone calls - and never once were we left worried our purchase was not getting her full attention. I cannot thank them enough for all their hard work and professionalism.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Southampton
Southampton Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 29, 2017
Collected on
20171129124144

Southampton Vineyard Hello

5

We bought our last house with them and are now buying and selling with them. They have not disappointed. They are very thorough, knowledgeable and good at keeping us up to date and informed. They are very quick at responding to queries, professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Riomani
Riomani Added 3 years ago Report to admin
March 30, 2016
Collected on
20160330104703

Riomani Rosetta

1

aware, please dont use these solicitors, they are terrible. Especially conveyancing department is aweful and they dont care about their clients and all they care about is their money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2016

Dear Riomani Rosetta Having reviewed our case files, I am unable to identify yourself as being a client of Coffin Mew. Perhaps you could call Kirsty Hughes on 023 9238 8021 to discuss your complaint further and to resolve any issues. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Kirsty

Sadek
Sadek Added 3 years ago Report to admin
March 24, 2016
Collected on
20160324232238

Sadek Rahman

1

Please dont ever use these solicitors, they care least about their clients and they are very rude. You are paying them and but they act like they are not acting for you. They are incompetent and lazy and because of their incompetency they blame the clients. Its simply waste of time and money dealing with them, I had very bad experience dealing with conveyancing team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2016

Dear Sadek Rahman Having reviewed our case files, I am unable to identify yourself as being a client of Coffin Mew. Perhaps you could call Kirsty Hughes on 023 9238 8021 to discuss your complaint further and to resolve any issues. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Kirsty

About This Branch

Description

Our client focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Agricultural and Rural Business. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing 230 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services
  • Right to Manage
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Flexible Working
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Children
  • Serious Injury
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Wills
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Dental Negligence
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Consumer Rights
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Probate
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Child Law
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Separation Agreement
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Civil partnerships
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Financial Matters
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Litigation Law
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Transfer of title
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Separation
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Employment Contracts
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Pension and property advice
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Trusts
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Medical Negligence
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Child contact
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Family law
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Redundancy
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Remortgaging
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Purchase and Sale
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • MRSA Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Accident At Work
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Disputed Probate
  • TUPE
  • Planning
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Asbestosis
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Transfers of equity
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Trusts
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Family Mediation
  • Collaborative Law
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Fatal Accident
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Against The Council
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Corporate finance
  • Equestrian property
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Employment - business
  • Development loan facilities
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Farming disputes
  • Asset Tracing
  • Intellectual Property
  • Corporate Law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Franchising
  • Patents
  • Developer disputes
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Tax
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Mediation
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Summary Judgment
  • Engineering contracts
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Data Protection
  • In-house training
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Management buyouts
  • Purchase of development land
  • Competition law
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Setting up a business
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Leases
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Commercial Law
  • Construction
  • Environmental policy law
  • GDPR
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Planning law
  • Framework agreements
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Finance
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Agency agreements
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Domain Names
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Copyright
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Development agreements
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Banking
  • Rights of way issues
  • Statutory Demands
  • Development plot sales

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000