Coffin Mew LLP

023 8033 4661

Coffin Mew is a bold, innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, London, Newbury, by appointment in Wantage, Portsmouth and Southampton Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.5/5 265 Customer Reviews 265
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew LLP on ReviewSolicitors

265 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    205
  • Very Good
    29
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    10
  • Awful
    19

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
 Abhishek David & Monika Abhishek
Verified Abhishek David & Monika Abhishek Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 17, 2019 20190817111409

Excellent service

5

Instant replies. All queries sorted promptly...Hassle free mortgage process.

Solicitor being reviewed: Emily Brown

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 18 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Daniel Robert
Verified Daniel Robert Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 04, 2019 20190804200850

Mortgage application

5

Really friendly and great service throughout. Communication was great

Solicitor being reviewed: Rachael Redding

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 05 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Mark
Verified Mark Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711135842

Very good

4

Good service provided and always clear with answering questions as well as speedy response. Sometimes found it hard to get in contact and talk to them on the phone in person and did get confusing with different solicitors taking over my purchase however they did seem to understand the majority of my issues when raised without needing to talk to other solicitors involved.

Solicitor being reviewed: Natalie Marsh

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627172444

Probate

5

Lindsay Taylor at Southampton has provided wonderful support at a difficult time. She enabled a very smooth transfer from a previous solicitor and was personally most supportive. Since then she has provided a very high level of professional delivery and advice, effectively and speedily tackling some really difficult issues. We have not yet completed administering the estate, but I felt that a review at this stage was more than appropriate given the wonderful service being provided.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Victoria Louise
Verified Victoria Louise Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627055636

Buying a new house

5

Fantastic service. Very friendly and helped with all my questions. Would use again.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Martin David
Verified Martin David Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 23, 2019 20190623012604

Helpful as expected

5

I used Coffin Mew because a solicitor I'd used previously had moved across to them. She had a history of no nonsense advice in diamond plain english and I was happy to use her services to make my new Will.
Short, to the point and no waffle; just like their service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Lindsay Elizabeth May Taylor

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 25 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Alieu S
Verified Alieu S Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 17, 2019 20190617130549

Well done

5

Well done happy with the way they handle my whole mortgage process

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 20 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Christopher William
Verified Christopher William Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 13, 2019 20190613111629

Reassuring

5

From start to finish the whole team have been there to support and reassure if any concerns arose, as they always do in house buying.
Thank you for a brilliant service - easily recommend the company with no qualms whatsoever .

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 13 June, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 03, 2019 20190603092823

Excellent Service

5

We are Landlords in the private rented sector and have used Adrian and Danielle on varied matters. We have always been happy with the knowledgeable and professional service along with fixed pricing structure provided. They won our case on this particular occasion, where representation was also required.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adrian George McClinton

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Yashica Kamleshkumar & Shreya Kamleshkumar
Verified Yashica Kamleshkumar & Shreya Kamleshkumar Added 3 months ago Report to admin
May 28, 2019 20190528145910

Very great service,

5

Easy approchable, very professional.
Highly knowledgeable solicitors.
Very easy to understand.
I would use their service again.
Made to first time home buyer, less painful and less stressful. Very efficient and use their initiative to support the clients.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Wilf
Wilf Added 5 months ago Report to admin
March 29, 2019
Collected on
20190329234506

Wilf Hashimi

2

Not impressed. Unable or unwilling to take on an extremely basic litigation case - and took two days to tell me. Feeble comments about their fees making the case not worth pursuing, as if they don’t really understand the principles of quantum and costs, and referred me to the CAB! Utterly useless. The one redeeming factor was that the (apparently junior) solicitor was polite and personable, and was clearly deferring to someone else. But if they can’t handle a basic civil tort, I shall not be taking more complex and lucrative work to them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 08 April, 2019

Hi Wilf, we are very sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your recent experience with us. Unfortunately, as our solicitors discussed with you at the time, the firm does not take on cases of this nature, so we referred you to other firms who may have been able to help. Thank you for your positive comments about the solicitor you spoke with, we will be sure to pass these on. Kind Regards, Coffin Mew

ant
ant Added 10 months ago Report to admin
November 16, 2018
Collected on
20181116190622

ant black

5

A big thank you to Jennifer Chrzanowski and her team at Coffin Mew in Southampton. They knew from day one we were under huge pressure to complete the purchase of our property quickly due to a very tight deadline, and they did not disappoint. From the moment we contacted Jennifer, up until the day of completion, she pulled out all of the stops to make this happen and was also commended by the vendor's estate agent, at her speed and diligence. We were updated daily - either by email or phone calls - and never once were we left worried our purchase was not getting her full attention. I cannot thank them enough for all their hard work and professionalism.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Southampton
Southampton Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 29, 2017
Collected on
20171129124144

Southampton Vineyard Hello

5

We bought our last house with them and are now buying and selling with them. They have not disappointed. They are very thorough, knowledgeable and good at keeping us up to date and informed. They are very quick at responding to queries, professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Riomani
Riomani Added 3 years ago Report to admin
March 30, 2016
Collected on
20160330104703

Riomani Rosetta

1

aware, please dont use these solicitors, they are terrible. Especially conveyancing department is aweful and they dont care about their clients and all they care about is their money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2016

Dear Riomani Rosetta Having reviewed our case files, I am unable to identify yourself as being a client of Coffin Mew. Perhaps you could call Kirsty Hughes on 023 9238 8021 to discuss your complaint further and to resolve any issues. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Kirsty

Sadek
Sadek Added 3 years ago Report to admin
March 24, 2016
Collected on
20160324232238

Sadek Rahman

1

Please dont ever use these solicitors, they care least about their clients and they are very rude. You are paying them and but they act like they are not acting for you. They are incompetent and lazy and because of their incompetency they blame the clients. Its simply waste of time and money dealing with them, I had very bad experience dealing with conveyancing team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2016

Dear Sadek Rahman Having reviewed our case files, I am unable to identify yourself as being a client of Coffin Mew. Perhaps you could call Kirsty Hughes on 023 9238 8021 to discuss your complaint further and to resolve any issues. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Kirsty

About This Branch

Description

Our client focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Agricultural and Rural Business. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing 230 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000