Hancock Quins

01923 650850

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors, Richard Herne & Co, Ray Nixon Brown, Coles, Austin Ray, Hancock Quins

Whatever your reason for needing to consult a solicitor, sometimes knowledge and experience alone are not enough. You want someone who is not only an expert in their field but is also approachable and easy to talk to, someone who can explain often complex issues in plain English and gives you pragmatic advice you can rely on.

4.2/5 353 Customer Reviews 353 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Hancock Quins compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hancock Quins on ReviewSolicitors

353 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    245
  • Very Good
    34
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    13
  • Awful
    48

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Andrew
Andrew Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
April 29, 2020 20200429224555

Shocking!

1

In summary
-Poor service, lack of communication
-GDPR data breach sharing personal information of another client
-Misplaced documents containing bank, insurance, investments which led to miscalculation of estate value and inheritance tax
- Failure to include all investments and bank values in Assets and Liabilities statement
- Failure of the companies internal complaints procedure as outlined in their T&Cs - basically the senior person in the company appointed has not responded despite being chased!
- Miscalculation of inheritance tax due to HMRC
- 8 months down the line - still no application for probate, nor conveyancing concluded
- A senior manger appointed to handle this case has made various promises to send forms, appoint other solicitors, advise etc. Still waiting!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gordon
Verified Gordon Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 27, 2020 20200527093635

House sale

4

Very helpful in the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ruth
Ruth Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2020 20200511132503

032776 Laurence Daniels

5

Laurence managed my expectations and then exceeded them,he explained every part of my claim and felt I could and did ask for clarification when legal terms used. These he put into layman's terms. I would recommend that if you have an injury claim he is your man.



Solicitor named in this review: Laurence Daniels

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 05, 2020 20200505094735

Terrible experience

1

Used Coles solicitors ( now taken over by RH Legal ) as conveyances for our house purchase. We offered on our proposed new house in early Oct 2019 and eventually completed on the 24/04/2020!!
The delay was due, mainly, to the ineptitude of RH Legal. The issue was that due to Coles being taken over by RH they had not kept up to date with their “housekeeping”. This meant that they were not on the panel of lenders for our mortgage company. We were told repeatedly this would not be an issue and the details, or housekeeping, required by our lender, would all be updated speedily. This never happened. We stuck with RH until we were told by them to switch to another firm of solicitors to manage our new house purchase, as they were unable to complete the necessary checks to ensure that RH were a legitimate firm and our lender could send monies to them at the completion stage of the house purchase.
The delays caused a great deal of stress to my wife and I. I have never been treated like this previously and we have moved house several times previously.
Due to the long delay, our house seller demanded that we increase our original offer price to due house price rises which she missed out on in the 7 months it took to complete. She also lost the purchase of her intended house due to the long delays.
At no time were we told that the housekeeping matters would cause such a delay to the whole process. I gave Coles ( now RH Legal ) the benefit of the doubt on several occasions. In hindsight, if we had have been told to change solicitors earlier, we would have completed early in the new year, which was the preferred date for all parties in the chain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vera
Verified Vera Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2020 20200430171045

House Sale, handled by Coles Solicitors (not RH Legal)

2

This was the first time in dealing with a law firm that I have never met the solicitor acting on my behalf.

Most of the delays seemed to be created by the buyer's solicitors, but my solicitor did not seem to respond to their queries as robustly as I would have hoped. I was asked questions to which I thought the answers should have been apparent from the deeds, eg whether the property was landlocked, and about access to a non-existent garage. The overall impression was that the solicitor had perhaps not read all the paperwork.

Also, I was asked the same question twice about a draft indemnity policy.

In the end, what should have been a simple transaction, dealing with a cash buyer, took about twice as long as expected, and caused extra anxiety.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra
Sandra Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2020 20200430111714

Will

5

I instructed Hancock Quins for the preparation of my Will. My queries were explained in depth and the advice I received on Inheritance Tax was concise and accurate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 14, 2020 20200414122502

Fantastic experience buying and selling

5

Mariette was brilliant throughout the process. Our sale and purchase both went through smoothly. Mariette was thorough with her explanations and requests, and she always clarified things clearly when we had any queries. She was great value for money and always went out of her way for us. We could happily trust Mariette with our sale and purchase.
We definitely recommend Mariette. Thanks again!

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2020 20200401180152

House Sale - Mariette

4

First class service from Mariette under the current conditions that we find ourselves in.
I am used to dealing with MY Solicitor - previously Chris Tunnard - so was initially disheartened to find myself being passed from office to office and person to person. The interdepartmental communication was not good - and I was starting to panic.
However, when I eventually ended up in Mariette's safe hands I didn't need to worry again. She pushed my sale along at an exceptional rate. Nothing sat on her desk for any length of time. She was always very quick in responding to my queries and was always a step in front me.
Many thanks Mariette - your efforts are very much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 3 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 03, 2020 20200303122054

Inept Communication

2

I was selling a house in a different location from where I live and wanted to use a local solicitors that had the facilities to do so without travelling. Coles seemed a perfect fit, however the branch that was asked to sell my propoerty would not get in touch or communicate with me throughout the process, I had to initiate contact and most of the informationI received was through the estate agent. I was also told that there was delays in selling my house as their assistant was of sick, sorry not my problem! Did not feel like a valued customer felt like a problem.

There was good news though, if I was to rate my local Coles I would have given them a higher rating as they were courtious and helpful. I went to complain about the branch dealing with the sale my house and the level of attention I got after this was much better.

The scores are solely based on the branch that was local to the property not my local branch.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Verified Matthew Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 02, 2020 20200302000000

Housing & Property

5

Matthew recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Antony
Antony Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 12, 2020
Collected on
20200512094824

Antony

1

Despite the service supposedy being redirected to a sister company in Northampton, if you are lucky enough to get through (which may take days) nobody ever calls back or responds in any fashion - TIME WASTERS!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Victor
Victor Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 14, 2020
Collected on
20200314132831

Victor

3

Good welcoming service you can have a free 30min first consultation. Had to make a refund and it took to long unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 5 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
December 12, 2019
Collected on
20191212100114

Colin

1

Avoid at all costs. Instructed these solicitor to carry out legal work on a rental property. After payment upfront but no communication in the first 3 months I phoned to see where I was with the legal work. The solicitor appointed had left and nobody had told me. Nothing had been done and more to the point they had not appointed another solicitor. After a few days I was phoned and introduced to a new solicitor and assured that they would be dealing with my case and everything would be resolved. After a few emails I felt that things were at last going in the right direction. However once again I was wrong. Yet again the appointed solicitor left and again I was not told. After more phone calls I was asked to attend a meeting with one of the directors to discuss my case. They admitted they failed miserably and I was given a choice of either a full refund and walk away and engage another company or they would continue with my case and not charge me any more money. I opted to carry on because months had passed and I wanted closure as soon as possible. How many times can a company get things wrong. In the end they approached me saying there was no way forward because they were financially out of pocket and therefore they would not complete the work. I was reimbursed my money but unfortunately a year had passed and I was no further forward.
I cannot believe that a so called professional company or persons to that matter can conduct themselves in such a poor way, it’s absolute disgrace to us mere mortals that these people can treat us as just objects and get away with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clare
Clare Added 8 months ago 4 found this helpful Report to admin
September 20, 2019
Collected on
20190920103015

Clare

1

Absolutely shocking, I instructed them to act for my fathers estate on 3rd July, they passed to another solicitor without my knowledge and done absolutely nothing, apart from ensure I pay up front. An absolute disgrace, avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hancock Quins responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

Clare thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback, and where that feedback is negative we carry out an investigation into the issues raised. As a business we are going through some significant changes with a merger and new personnel joining us and this has caused a small number of issues for some clients. I understand the difficulties you have faced and I know that another one of our colleagues is now taking care of your matter for you. I am grateful for your feedback but if I can be of any further assistance to you please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us and ask to speak with me – Peter Gibson Managing Director.

JOHN
JOHN Added 10 months ago Report to admin
August 08, 2019
Collected on
20190808100322

JOHN

5

Excellent service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hancock Quins responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Stress at Work
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Lease Extensions
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Extending your Lease
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Remortgaging
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Citizenship
  • Personal Injury Law
  • UK ancestry
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Right to Manage
  • Gardening Leave
  • Buying at auction
  • Redundancy
  • Senior Executives
  • Professional Negligence
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Family law
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Probate
  • Child contact
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Litigation Law
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Against The Council
  • Transfers of equity
  • Criminal Damage
  • Deportation appeals
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Family Based Visas
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Assault
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Housing disputes
  • Transfer of title
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Immigration Law
  • Leasehold properties
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Pension Law
  • Civil partnerships
  • Children
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Re-entry bans
  • Child Law
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Employment Contracts
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Human Rights
  • Wills
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Flexible Working
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Financial Matters
  • Social Services
  • Visas
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • TUPE
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Theft
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Separation Agreement
  • Repossessions
  • Part Time Workers
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Consumer Rights
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Property Disputes
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Professional Discipline
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Ancestry visas
  • Professional Conduct
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Family Leave
  • Collaborative Law
  • Travel rights
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Business Crime
  • EEA Family Permits
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Pension and property advice
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Partner and family visas
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Trusts
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Housing Associations
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Trusts
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Injunctions
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Drugs offences
  • Housing Management
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000