Hancock Quins

01923 650850

Whatever your reason for needing to consult a solicitor, sometimes knowledge and experience alone are not enough. You want someone who is not only an expert in their field but is also approachable and easy to talk to, someone who can explain often complex issues in plain English and gives you pragmatic advice you can rely on.

4.3/5 303 Customer Reviews 303
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Hancock Quins compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hancock Quins on ReviewSolicitors

303 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    220
  • Very Good
    28
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    38

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Victoria
Verified Victoria Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 05, 2019 20191105072136

Fabulous!

5

A highly efficient, responsive, professional conveyancing service delivered with a warm and friendly approach. Joanne and Bev made our house sale/purchase run smoothly from start to finish! Thank you 😊

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 05 November, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Victoria. We have a fantastic conveyancing department which we are very proud of. We hope you are enjoying your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Madeleine
Madeleine Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 29, 2019 20191029093907

Handling of an estate

5

From 2006 until his retirement in October 2019 I have enjoyed the professional help of Simon Cole, Coles Solicitors Northallerton. As a foreign citizen living outside the United Kingdom it was especially important for me to have a solicitor who acted with integrity and whose advice I could follow with absolute confidence.
I would like to thank Simon Cole and wish him all the best for his retirement
Madeleine

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Simon Pearson Cole

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 29 October, 2019

Many thanks for your wonderful review Madeleine. Simon is a very valued member of our team and we will miss him dearly when he retires on Thursday. We thank you for your continued business and hope you will keep us in mind should you need a Solicitor again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Verified Michael Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 24, 2019 20191024010000

Michael recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

5

Michael recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019 20190926141715

House purchase

4

As always with house moves but stressful and takes longer than expected. But all sorted and seemed very thorough to ensure we have no future issues.

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thank you for your review Mark. We know the moving process can be stressful and lengthy but we thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you enjoy your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

edward
edward Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 24, 2019 20190924130924

Great Trusted company

5

I have been using coles for many years now in regards to a family matter. I have never had any issues with them at all found the to be friendly and approchable. When every to call them its always a happy "hello, how are you doing" nothing is ever an issue to them. Thank you for everything Shauna and Bernie excellent service throughout

Solicitor named in this review: Shauna Leslie Finch

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

Edward, many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review. I have passed your comments on to Shauna and Berni who are both thrilled to have been able to help. If any of our team can be of any help in the future please do not hesitate to get in touch. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 20, 2019 20190920103836

House sale

5

All carried out well, quick to complete, no complaints, would recommend and use again.

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 23 September, 2019

Thank you for your review David. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if there is anything else we can help with. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vicky
Vicky Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 19, 2019 20190919224333

My divorce

5

I could not have had better advice from Mrs Shauna Finch. She has made the whole process bearable. She was able to signpost me to other types of support as well as giving me excellent legal advice. Divorce is never easy, but I am delighted that I have had Shauna’s experience and knowledge to guide me through what has been the most difficult time in my life so far.

Solicitor named in this review: Shauna Leslie Finch

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 23 September, 2019

Vicky, thank you ever so much for leaving such a wonderful review of Shauna. At what is an incredibly difficult time for you we appreciate your feedback. We are glad Shauna could help and we wish you all the very best in the next exciting step in your future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lee
Verified Lee Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 18, 2019 20190918115107

House sale

1

Firstly I must say my house sale actually did go through but later than was actually agreed, however from day 1 I was left out of the loop with decisions, had to deal with a secretary on many occasions after solicitor went on holiday (never handed my case over), had to make phone calls to buyers solicitor to see if any progress and nearly lost the sale.

I was not told when paperwork had arrived and even 3 weeks after something did arrive, was then instructed "oh, I forgot to tell you to send this". Not easy when you live abroad.

Honestly, I'm so happy it's over but do have a large phone bill to now pay.

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I am pleased that your transaction has now completed for you. We are never in complete control of the timings of a transaction due to having to deal with search providers, mortgage lenders, other solicitors, estate agents etc. I appreciate that due to your distance that there was some issues, and having spoken to the team who handled your matter they did do their utmost to assist you. Once again thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Katie
Katie Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 13, 2019 20190913184301

House sale and purchase

5

Huge thank you to Joanne and her team for all of their help in the sale of our house and the purchase of our new home. What should have been a straight forward transaction turned out to be more difficult than anticipated but Joanne kept us updated throughout, was always available to take our calls and answer our queries and ensured that eventually got the completion date that we wanted.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 16 September, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Katie. Joanne is thrilled to have been able to help you. From all at Coles Solicitors, we hope you are enjoying your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clive
Clive Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 13, 2019 20190913093856

Writing my will. Efficient and thorough

5

Great service. I had initially engaged another solicitor in Redcar who treated me as a nuisance because I wanted "my will" rather than and off the shelf will. I moved to Coles, Vicky John listened to what I wanted and translated it into a will. It was my will, not a law-society standard. Thank you Coles for being welcoming and for treating me as an individual

Solicitor named in this review: Victoria John

A representative from Hancock Quins responded to this review on 16 September, 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback Clive. We are glad that Vicky could help you after initially dealing with another firm of Solicitors. If we can be of any assistance in the future, you know where we are. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Clare
Clare Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 20, 2019
Collected on
20190920103015

Clare

1

Absolutely shocking, I instructed them to act for my fathers estate on 3rd July, they passed to another solicitor without my knowledge and done absolutely nothing, apart from ensure I pay up front. An absolute disgrace, avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hancock Quins responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

Clare thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback, and where that feedback is negative we carry out an investigation into the issues raised. As a business we are going through some significant changes with a merger and new personnel joining us and this has caused a small number of issues for some clients. I understand the difficulties you have faced and I know that another one of our colleagues is now taking care of your matter for you. I am grateful for your feedback but if I can be of any further assistance to you please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us and ask to speak with me – Peter Gibson Managing Director.

JOHN
JOHN Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 08, 2019
Collected on
20190808100322

JOHN

5

Excellent service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hancock Quins responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

Peter
Peter Added 6 months ago Report to admin
May 10, 2019
Collected on
20190510190746

Peter

5

Excellent Advice, Support, Guidance and Expertise

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hancock Quins responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Jemma
Jemma Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 22, 2018
Collected on
20180322103558

Jemma

5

In my experience, Stasia, Ben and Jay at Hancock Quins are professional, personable, and hard working and I would have no hesitation in recommending them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

karen
karen Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 05, 2018
Collected on
20180305161815

karen

1

Rubbish

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Property Disputes
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Visas
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Housing Management
  • Lease Extensions
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Assault
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Professional Conduct
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Redundancy
  • Injunctions
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Business Crime
  • Drugs offences
  • Probate
  • Housing disputes
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Repossessions
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Human Rights
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Employment Contracts
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Family Leave
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Professional Discipline
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Remortgaging
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Family Mediation
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Extending your Lease
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Civil partnerships
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Litigation Law
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Part Time Workers
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Senior Executives
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Child contact
  • Citizenship
  • Separation Agreement
  • Trusts
  • Family Based Visas
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Theft
  • Pension Law
  • Consumer Rights
  • Partner and family visas
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Criminal Damage
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Transfers of equity
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Professional Negligence
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Wills
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • TUPE
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Deportation appeals
  • Against The Council
  • Children
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Housing Associations
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Family law
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Leasehold properties
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Financial Matters
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Buying at auction
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Stress at Work
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Consumer Disputes
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Transfer of title
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Travel rights
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Re-entry bans
  • UK ancestry
  • Flexible Working
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Injunctions
  • Social Services
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Child Law
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Right to Manage
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Ancestry visas
  • Immigration Law
  • Collaborative Law
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Trusts
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Gardening Leave
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Pension and property advice
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000