Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Boys & Maughan Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 87%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Boys & Maughan Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 91%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Boys & Maughan Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Boys & Maughan Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Boys & Maughan Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    621
  • Very Good

    87
  • Average

    12
  • Poor

    5
  • Awful

    6

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Karen

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Karen

November 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very pleased

Had a will drawn up by Sarah. Found her and Simon very accessible and I am pleased with the service they provided.

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Michelle

November 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will writing

My partner and I are both younger Sarah was very helpful. She worked around our shift patterns and explained things to us in a way we would both understand.
She was very honest about things, made a hard situation easier.

Was this review helpful?

Nicholas

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Trusts

Nicholas

November 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very happy!

Simon at Boys & Maughan, worked quickly and gave me good advice in regard to managing my late parents estate. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Malcolm

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Malcolm

November 04, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Efficient probate service

Friendly and approachable at a difficult time. Probate was handled efficiently and quickly.

Was this review helpful?

Paul & Rachel

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Paul & Rachel

November 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

WILL creation

Simon and team were thorough and professional in supporting us to write our Wills
We appreciate all the help and guidance Simon provided, it made the whole process easy and less stressful.
Thanks Simon and team
Paul and Rachel

Was this review helpful?

Frances

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Frances

October 19, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills

My husband and I had our wills drawn up. We were fortunate to use the ‘free’ scheme. We were more than satisfied with the way that this was undertaken.

(I am not sure what this box requires.)

Was this review helpful?

Michael & Patricia

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Michael & Patricia

October 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills & LPA'S

Simon Crookes has explained in clear and simple terms the process of making a will and lpa's which would otherwise be both difficult and daunting.

Was this review helpful?

Evelyn

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Probate

Evelyn

October 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I had a complicated problem that was solved in a professional and friendly way. Thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Alan & Cherrallee

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Alan & Cherrallee

August 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

GREAT SERVICE

Had our wills done…great service… good advice…very professional….great communication……..They were always happy to help or change….
Would definitely recommend…..Thank you B&M

Was this review helpful?

Julian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Boys & Maughan Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Wills

Julian

August 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A new will

My thoughts and comments have been dealt with by the questionnaire. As to 'value for money', I am not qualified to come to a conclusion in this respect.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Colin

Colin

February 03, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Colin

Good solicitors

Was this review helpful?

Barbara

Barbara

September 06, 2018

Report to admin

Collected on:

Barbara

First class service. A Solicitor who was professional yet approachable. down to earth and understanding. Clear on explaining legal matters on Probate and Will Services. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?

Ryan

Ryan

November 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ryan

Christine Anderson, completed our sale and purchase, I could not fault her work and was very professional, and excellent at giving updates on the progress.

Was this review helpful?

DB

DB

November 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Sharon is an excellent conveyancer, not judged solely by her ability to complete our transaction smoothly, but mainly because her level of communication to us was impeccable. Doing so by email was my preference, as it is quicker and easier, but also, when things needed explaining to us, she did so in a way that made it very easy to understand. We would wholeheartedly recommend Sharon and therefore the firm and look forward to using her again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

June

June

October 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

June

Elizabeth Thomson from the Canterbury branch was brilliant throughout the whole process.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Boys & Maughan Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Boys & Maughan Solicitors is an award winning law firm offering local legal services to individuals and businesses. Founded more than two centuries ago, we have offices in Margate, Birchington, Broadstairs, Canterbury and Ramsgate. Our specialisms include conveyancing, commercial property, landlord & tenant, divorce and family law, disputes & litigation, personal injury, wills & probate, and employment law.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Military
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Personal Injury
    • Accident Abroad
    • Accident At Work
  • Professional Negligence
    • Accountants
    • Architects
    • Barristers
    • Engineers
    • Financial advisors
    • IT professionals
    • Insurance brokers
    • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence law
    • Professional trustees
    • Surveyors
    • Tax consultants
    • Valuers
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Debt Recovery
Book an appointment