Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 89%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 0%
Overpriced 20%
About Right 80%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    638
  • Very Good

    62
  • Average

    14
  • Poor

    11
  • Awful

    43

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Mrs Theresa Maughan

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Mrs Theresa Maughan

July 31, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Making my will

Good, but better when I met them face to face.

Was this review helpful?

ROSS

ROSS

June 30, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Pilgrims Hospice make a Will service

Paul gave us excellent, personal and very professional service in a relaxed atmosphere. The advice given on tax implications pit falls of Will writing was gratefully received. All our questions were explained and answered in a way which were easy to understand. We would definitely return and recommend you to any body that would need the services you offer.

Was this review helpful?

Leigh and Lorraine Barnes

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Leigh and Lorraine Barnes

June 29, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

Sarah Begley and her team were so professional and quick to respond to questions regarding my late fathers estate. Nothing was too much trouble and all done with a pleasant attitude and we never felt like we were being a nuisance.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Anonymous

May 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Our Wills

An excellent client service and outcome, producing a fair Wills solution, for a complex family structure .

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Anonymous

May 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Administration of The Estate of Mrs Audrey Beatrice Stoneham

I would like to Thank Sarah Begley of Martin Tolhurst Solicitors.The Last Will and Testament of the above was handled very professionally and I was kept informed of all procedures that occurred during sorting the estate.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Anonymous

May 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

So helpful and professional.

I must say that l received a very good help from my attorney during difficult time.
I recommande this firm for the efficiency, human behaviour, and keeping always contact.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Anonymous

May 18, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Grant of probate

Very helpful and quick service at a very sad & upsetting time

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Anonymous

May 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

For many years our family has used Martin Tolhurst.
Over the past few years we have had the pleasure or dealing with Sarah Begley a most professional and friendly person.
The most recent was the passing of my mother and the legal minefield that had to be sorted.
Because I now live overseas, Sarah took on that task and she made what I thought to be an impossible task simple.
She completely managed all the paperwork and finalised everything for me.
You are a lifesaver Sarah, I can't thankyou enough.
I would recommend Sarah to anyone needing help with any legal matters.
Martin Tolhurst has always done the right thing by our family.
I highly recommend this firm and especially Sarah Begley.

Was this review helpful?

Ashis

Ashis

April 25, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent and quick service

I have used Roger twice now and each time he has provided an amazing service. He answers any queries and ensures the buying process is as quick as possible. I highly recommend him

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Anonymous

March 31, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Did not feel that the lady had sufficient knowledge as she had to refer to another solicitor to provide answers to my queries.
The first draft looked like a cut and paste, the second had factual errors and the third looked very similar to my previous will apart from two simple changes.
I did not feel comfortable as the impression I was given was that being older equalled not being very intelligent.
I have used this firm for many years, since the 1970's, and have recommended them to a number of people but this experience has changed my opinion.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Katey

Katey

August 02, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Katey

Poor communicator to the potential detriment of the chain

If you're in a position whereby your sale/purchase is to be part of a chain then I would not recommend this solicitor or accept a buyer that is using them. Solicitors within the same firm are not even able to get a meaningful update. Crumbs of promising information are provided and no more than fortnightly, on each occasion I have believed that the pace will increase but now I don't think it will go through. I understand that there there is national overload of work but basic communications and putting in search requests within a week or two would keep everyone more comfortable and enable people to take holidays or visit family.

Was this review helpful?

Dan

Dan

June 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dan

We're currently in the process of buying a house and have asked multiple times for documents regarding the house we're selling to be sent in the post. We have sent multiple emails and receive no replies to our questions. My wife has called on a number of occasions and was told each time 'someone will ring you back' but for almost a month all we heard was crickets. When we finally got through to someone last week on the phone they advised us the person we'd emailed who has been dealing with our case has gone on maternity leave (she has no 'out of office' set up, and we weren't advised our case would be handed to anyone else), but we were told the documents would be posted promptly in the post. Again we've still not received them. All of the above has just added extra stress to the already stressful situation of moving and doesn't fill us with confidence for the company. The annoying thing is when you actually do speak to someone they are really nice and sound really professional, but we've only been left with a sour taste in our mouth's when the few things we have asked for haven't been actioned.

Edit: have just had a call advising that our memorandum of sale has been with Martin Tolhurst for over a week. Apparently this document is meant to be discussed with our seller's solicitors which they haven't done and our seller is now getting worried that we're not actually interested.

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Ian

May 27, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ian

They did our last lease they were slow and never called you back now we need a new lease on a new factory unit I have called 3 times same story no one there and no call backs..

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Emma

May 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Emma

I have used the Gravesend branch (Roger Matharoo) for over 3 years for a number of property purchases and remortgages. Totally professional, always on top of everything and an absolute pleasure to deal with. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

tracy

tracy

November 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

tracy

Roger Mataharoo - Martin Tolhurst
Excellent service, very Professional and supportive. Always handled and answered any questions very quickly nothing was too much trouble.
Would highly recommend. Thank you for all your help.
Nick Sansom - Kimberley Grove

Was this review helpful?

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Children
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
Book an appointment