Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 86%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 96%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.6/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    458
  • Very Good

    41
  • Average

    10
  • Poor

    7
  • Awful

    34

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Philip Webster

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Philip Webster

September 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The Estate work of my mother and father 2014, 2021

Both of these estates have been handled excellantly, I havnt had to do anything except asked for data. Excellant Work, very impressed if i find myself needing this service again would not hesitate to contact them first.

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Emma

July 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service from Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

We recently used Martin Tolhurst Solicitors for a property purchase that had a strict time requirement to meet if the sale was to proceed. Roger and Andrew acted extremely proactively and quickly on all aspects of the process in order to help us achieve the purchase within a couple of weeks. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Dawn pitt

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Inheritance Act claims

Dawn pitt

April 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Inheritance matters

Very happy excellent care was given and very thorough xx

Was this review helpful?

Jean

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Jean

April 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very satisfied

Very satisfied with the service provided. I was given clear information and knew from the start the cost.
I felt very confident that Sarah Begley who was always approachable acted in my best interest.

Was this review helpful?

Alex G

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Alex G

March 31, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will update

Need to make some changes to Will.
Initial conversation covered all points required, including consideration of foreign assets and digital assets log
Thereafter efficient and friendly service in drafting and execution of will

Was this review helpful?

Jenny

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Jenny

March 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Will

Sarah completed a will for both me and my partner in a short space of time. It was clear and allowed for us to get married without a new will having to be written. Sarah has been extremely approachable and easy to keep in touch with and I would recommend her expertise to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Jane

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jane

March 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service

I can't rate Alan Stevens and his team highly enough. My purchase went though very smoothly, communication was very promt and informative. I didn't have to chase at any time which is rare in the process and my purchse went thouugh quicker than antipcated during the Stamp Duty Holiday which was fraught with conveyancing delays. I would thoroughly recommend using their services.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stephen

February 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Conveyancing

Have used Danny Ball of Martin Tolhurst to help our recent move which has been besought with problems caused by drop outs and other problems within the chain. At no time did Danny lose patience or fail to contact me when he said he would. Would happily recommend them to anyone who required a competent and efficient conveyancing firm.
Steve Finch

Was this review helpful?

Val Collier

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Val Collier

February 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Profession and excellent servicse

Roger Matharoo conducted the legal work for me on the sale of two freeholds. The advice and service was outstanding and I would thoroughly recommend Roger. Will definitely use Martin Tolhurst again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Linda Bailey

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP.

Linda Bailey

December 10, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate and house sale

Dealt with Sarah Begley and found her excellent . Very polite and helpful lady . A credit to your company

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Beverley

Beverley

September 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Beverley

I was very happy with the service I received from Andrew Ashley-Edwards at MT. Andrew was excellent, very efficient, knowledgeable, professional and helped me through the process of a lease extension with ease. He went above and beyond the call of duty to speed up what is normally a very lengthy process. I was impressed and I would highly recommend him and MT. Excellent job. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Riley12

Riley12

July 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Riley12

It would be less than one star. They work in cahoots with Wards and abuse this relationship. They are untrustworthy and don’t treat their clients fairly. I started my home buying journey in January and I have no end in sight. I was recommended by my estate agents and this is so they can use this to their own advantage and treat you very badly.

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Joe

June 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Joe

I have tried to contact Martin Tolhurst on numerous occasions over a period of 6 months. Not once did they answer the phone to deal with my enquiry. Called atleast 20 times.

Was this review helpful?

Zak

Zak

April 09, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Zak

Amazing Service and Highly recommended! After using many different solicitors in the past, it was one of the Best experience working with Roger and the team at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors who made the whole process smooth and efficient.
Best of all, i was able to speak over the phone anytime i contacted , this is considered Luxury these days :)
Will contact them on my next property purchase and highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

paul

paul

September 30, 2020

Report to admin

Collected on:

paul

No communication between themselves and very slow , one hand doesn’t seem to know what the other one is doing

Was this review helpful?

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Children
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
Book an appointment