Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP

01474 325531

Also known as - Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.4/5 248 Customer Reviews 248 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP on ReviewSolicitors

248 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    192
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    28

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jason mee
Verified Jason mee Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 11, 2020 20200211194411

Company and freehold sale

5

Well I’ve been using martin tollhurst solicitors for many years and every time I’ve got a first class service.There rates are very good and mr Edwards who is one of the partners who with his team always retuned my calls quickly If I called them and they were in a meeting.I look forward to future dealing with them.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Ashley-Edwards

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 12 February, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joanne
Joanne Added 3 months ago Report to admin
December 13, 2019 20191213120441

Great Service

5

Great service would recommend Martin Tolhurst Solicitors 100%, buying a house is such a stressful time but Gemma Nie was absolutely brilliant. As a 1st time buyer my son needed all the help he could get but nothing was too much trouble to answers his questions, so all done and completed very quickly thank you very much.

Solicitor named in this review: Gemma Nie

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 13 December, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 02, 2019 20190902120126

Very happy

5

I would like to write to say I am happy and very satisfied with the services Kenneth gave recently.

The advice he gave and the handling of my case, I would strongly recommend his services to anyone.

I found him to be a very nice man, very reassuring and dealt with the matter smoothly and confidently.

I would like to say a big thank you to Kenneth for making my case a successful one.

Solicitor named in this review: Kenneth Amakye

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 02 September, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lucy Jackson
Verified Lucy Jackson Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 31, 2020 20200331170205

Gemma Nie

5

Gemma was fantastic when dealing with our recent house move. She was professional, honest and efficient - going above and beyond to ensure that Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP were providing an outstanding service. She was in complete control of the matter, had great legal knowledge and we always felt supported by her throughout the whole process. We were pleasantly surprised at how much time she invested in us, particularly her own time, and she went above and beyond to answer our questions and give honest feedback/advice. We would highly recommend Gemma and we will be notifying our friends and family to use her services too. Thank you ever so much for everything you did! The Jacksons!

Solicitor named in this review: Gemma Nie

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 03 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

KB
Verified KB Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 30, 2020 20200330155901

Good service

4

I felt well informed throughout the sale process. I was able to contact Gemma by phone or email whenever needed and found her friendly and helpful during what is inevitably a stressful time.

Solicitor named in this review: Gemma Nie

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lee Bristow
Verified Lee Bristow Added 5 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 30, 2020 20200330093912

Martin Tolhurst Experience

5

I would like to extend my thanks to Gemma Nie who was fantastic throughout the entire process. Gemma was professional, helpful and was always on hand to assist which any problems that we encountered.

Solicitor named in this review: Gemma Nie

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

C Sanderson
Verified C Sanderson Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 27, 2020 20200327221528

House move

5

Great service from beginning to end, thank you

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 30 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

A Parrish
Verified A Parrish Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 27, 2020 20200327121052

Best Solicitor ever dealt with - Gemma Nie

5

Gemma was amazing. She is by far the best solicitor I have ever dealt with. I’ve dealt with lots in my profession. She was always on hand to answer questions and her response to emails was extremely quick. I would have no hesitation to use the company again and I would insist on having Gemma deal with my case. If I could rate her higher than 5/5, I would. Even in these difficult times, nothing was too much.

Solicitor named in this review: Gemma Nie

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 27 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Janet
Janet Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 25, 2020 20200325055727

Fantastic service from beginning to end for house sale and purchase

5

I had such great service from Samantha Newton at Martin Tolhurst. Along with the usual rigours of house selling and purchase, It was a tough emotional time, selling the marital home for divorce, splitting monies accordingly, finding my feet back out in the house-purchasing world again after 23 years in one place. And I'm a really fussy, picky person when it comes to doing a job and to customer service (because of my own high standards in doing my own job) who wants all the detail searched through with a fine tooth comb, expecting efficiency AND wanting a friendly, human service. I got all of this - total and empathetic understanding of my situation, excellent advice re financials during the delay between sale and my purchase.... and all done professionally and efficiently within a pre-agreed good value budget. I intend to use Martin Tolhurst going forward for other legal matters. Highly recommended.

Solicitor named in this review: Samantha Newton

Was this review helpful? Yes

Connor
Verified Connor Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 22, 2020 20200322152936

Great Service, By Helpful People

4

We used Martin Tolhurst for the sale of our house. The service was great and Gemma was very helpful throughout the whole process. We was always able to reach out to her and always had an honest response to the questions we had. She and her team played a successful part in ensuring we exchanged and completed on the date that was set, even with some implications that were looking to delay this.

Would highly recommend their services!

Solicitor named in this review: Gemma Nie

A representative from Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 23 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Sheila
Sheila Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 13, 2020
Collected on
20200213192501

Sheila

1

Never been in there

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rosario
Rosario Added 5 months ago Report to admin
October 24, 2019
Collected on
20191024073420

Rosario

5

Excellent service. Andy has been an amazing help, I was diagnosed with PTSD earlier this year and one of my symptoms is lack of concentration. I explained this to him and said I needed extra help understanding my paperwork (re a property) etc. and he was so helpful, I highly recommend :) Thank you Andy for your compassion and understanding, looking forward to working with you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 24 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Михаил
Михаил Added 7 months ago Report to admin
September 01, 2019
Collected on
20190901142608

Михаил

4

(Translated by Google) law

(Original)
Юристы

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vichi
Vichi Added 8 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
July 23, 2019
Collected on
20190723121235

Vichi

1

i wouldn t recommend them to anyone.we decided to work with them as advised by the estate agent, but it was a big mistake.....we keep on receiving letters,but when it comes to speak with our "allocated" solicitor....well she is nowhere to be found...when calling the number provided for contact,70% of the time nobody answers,and when i finally get through someone it is always a secretary and the solicitor is either on lunch or not available.
i left messages for her to call me back, and i am still waiting after 3 days from my initial call.
we cannot sign the contract for the purchase of the property because we cannot seem to be able to speak with her.
when asking questions about the searches performed on the property,the replies arrive after at least 3 days.....when normally a phone call would have saved us the whole waiting time.
so honestly......we would not recommend them as they do not seem to have the focus on the client,and their customer service is something that really needs improving.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vicky
Vicky Added 8 months ago Report to admin
July 23, 2019
Collected on
20190723070022

Vicky

4

Very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin Tolhurst Partnership LLP responded to this review on 23 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future. Martin Tolhurst Solicitors Online Team

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Separation
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Part Time Workers
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Housing disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Wills
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Separation Agreement
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Financial Matters
  • Pension and property advice
  • Transfer of title
  • Tax
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Redundancy
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Property Disputes
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Repossessions
  • Remortgaging
  • Gardening Leave
  • Professional Discipline
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Trusts
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Housing Associations
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Leasehold properties
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Extending your Lease
  • Trusts
  • Family Leave
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Flexible Working
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Children
  • Collaborative Law
  • Buying at auction
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Injunctions
  • Family law
  • Senior Executives
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Social Services
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • TUPE
  • Civil partnerships
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Right to Manage
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Employment Contracts
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Lease Extensions
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Housing Management
  • Probate
  • Agency agreements
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Credit Control
  • Setting up a business
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Employment - business
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Management buyouts
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Finance
  • Purchase of development land
  • Franchising
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial Law
  • Corporate finance
  • Development plot sales
  • Developer disputes
  • Mediation
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Tax
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Summary Judgment
  • Statutory Demands
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Environmental policy law
  • Corporate Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Debt Recovery
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Rights of way issues
  • Intellectual Property
  • Asset Tracing
  • Data Protection
  • Competition law
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000