Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

01474 706168

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.

4.1/5 29 Customer Reviews 29
Recommended by
23 Verified Clients
like Asma and Sally
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Martin Tolhurst Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Martin Tolhurst Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

29 Customer Reviews

4.1/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    20
  • Very Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Awful
    5
Anonymous
Click to rate
Richard
Richard Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
February 07, 2019 20190207164524

House sell and purshase

5

Gemma Nie was both fantastic,professional and always polite.
The house sale and purshase of new house. No phone call or silly questions from me was to much trouble.
I would definitely reccomend Gemma and her team from Martin Tolhurst

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sean
Sean Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 23, 2019 20190123191948

Giles Dobson

5

Throughout my dealings with Giles Dobson I found him to be professional and efficient and felt that I was in safe hands.I was always at ease when speaking to him as he has great communication skills.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Aria
Aria Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 22, 2019 20190122123704

Rachel Plumb

2

I been dealing with Rachel Plum , communication was just via email , the state agent Kim gave me more advice and it was more helpful then her. Im first time buyer and it was very difficult process I had loads of questions as first time buyer, and the way she answer was not professional at all. For example when I asked her when I have to go to the bank to pay my deposit , she said whenever you like we can exchange you without it,I found is answer very unprofessional , she wasn't helpful at all ! Went to the bank to pay my deposit found out that she forwarded me the wrong sort code , totally unacceptable ! When she called the next day didn't even appolgise she gave me wrong sort code ! I would still use them in the future but I definitely am for different salicitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Asma
Asma Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 19, 2018 20181219164712

Amazing Team

5

We would like to say a big big thank you to Jane Williams Longfield branch and her wonderful team for supporting us step by step throughout the whole process of buying our family home. These months have been absolutely draining as we had the worst vendors any one can imagine! It's been a nightmare however Jane has always guided us as a professional and finally completion has taken place. Thank you to Natalie Rebecca for helping us too. Once again we couldn't of had better Solicotors then Jane from Martin Tolhurst. I have already recommended the firm to my family and friends please keep all the excellent work you do. Wishing you all a festive season.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dave
Dave Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 08, 2018 20181008161236

Danielle Morgan

5

Danielle Morgan is the most dedicated, efficient and helpful Conveyencer I have ever had dealings with. She has been amazing with two recent sales. I cannot rate professional person highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sally
Sally Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 24, 2018 20180924090352

Excellent service!

5

We chose Martin Tolhurst because of the mostly positive reviews and we were so glad we did. Our solicitor, Gemma Nie, was faultless. She represented us professionally, efficiently, was super friendly and always picked up the phone if we needed to speak with her. Our sales agent's communication was extremely poor, so we were incredibly thankful for Gemma's prompt and concise responses. It often felt like I'd barely clicked 'send' and her email response would come through. 9 weeks from start to finish selling our house and it would have been way more had she not been as on the ball as she was. Will highly recommend and use again without doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kim Erin
Kim Erin Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 09, 2018 20180809204400

Very good. Very understanding.

4

Martin Tolhurst Solicitors managed my father's sale and purchase. He is partially sighted and so needs extra help. Some documents and letters were sent in especially large print and the solicitor explained things calmly and with patience.

The sale in particular was quite testing and it was helpful that our solicitor could speak to other experts within the firm to gather additional experience and insight.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lilia
Lilia Added 7 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 21, 2018 20180721073856

Excellent service

5

Satvir, Danielle and their team were excellent supporters and helpers in whole process of buying our first home. They make us feel comfortable and the process went smoothly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daniel
Daniel Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 12, 2018 20180612104917

Excellent service

5

Excellent team of Solicitors. Danielle and Satvir were extremely helpful and guided us through everything. Would certainly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adeniran
Adeniran Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 04, 2018 20180604234939

You will never go wrong with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

5

Highly recommended. Very professional. Always at the end of the phone whenever you need Satvir. Kept us informed every step of the way

Thanks Satvir you are a great asset to your firm. Will definitely come back for my future conveyancing etc

Thank you Harry Dhinsa from Mortgage Matters for recommending

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors

  • Jane Williams

    Jane deals with all areas of residential property including leasehold and freehold sales and purchases, new build plot purchases, re-mortgage transactions, transfers of equity and transfers of part, home-ownership sales, purchases and staircasing. Jane is the partner in charge of our Longfield office.

  • Kevin Newell

    Kevin is the Partner in charge of our Sittingbourne office and specialises in residential and commercial property transactions for individuals/private clients. He has significant experience with Freehold and Leasehold property sales and purchases and new build transactions.

  • Richard Carter

    Richard is Managing Partner of the firm who specialises in Residential Property Law. As a residential conveyancing solicitor he has a wealth of experience with a wide range of residential property transactions, including expertise in Staircasing and Shared Ownership, Re-mortgages, Listed Buildings and mixed Commercial and Residential Units.

  • Andrew Ashley-Edwards

    Andrew is a partner and head of the commercial department at the firm. Specialising in Commercial Property, Business and corporate matters, Andrew has broad experience looking after small and medium enterprises with particular emphasis on family businesses.

  • Simon Franklin

    Simon is a Partner and the Head of our Wills & Probate Department based at our Gravesend office. He has a wealth of experience in Property Law, Wills, Trust and Probate work and is a member of the Agricultural Law Association with a specialist Agricultural practice acting for many farmers in the North Kent area

  • Giles Dobson

    Giles deals with a broad spectrum of matters from divorce and cohabitation to personal injury, contractual disputes and debt recovery for individuals and businesses. He is experienced across a number of areas of law and has built a wide ranging caseload of matters dealt with in the County Court, High Court and Court of Appeal.

  • Paul Rothwell

    Paul specialisms are in the preparation of wills, tax planning, lasting powers of attorney, applications to the Court of Protection and estate administration. He has experience of advising a broad range of clients including high net wealth clients, specifically preparing wills and administering estates for business owners and farmers.

  • Barbara Stewart

    Barbara is the Partner in charge of our Dartford office. Barbara has vast experience and expertise within all aspects of Probate, Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney and Residential Conveyancing.

  • Kevin Denny

    Kevin is one of the Residential Conveyancing Partners and is in charge of our Medway office; he has over 20 years of experience within his area of law. Kevin has a large caseload involving a wide variety of conveyancing transactions and is ably supported by his experienced secretarial team. Kevin also has expertise with Re-mortgages, Transfers of Equity, New-Build purchases, and Equity Release charges.

About This Branch

Description

Established over 130 years ago, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is one of Kent’s leading Law firms. With traditional values, complimented by our modern approach, online case tracking and case management systems – our clients can benefit from our years of experience a vast array of specialisms and rest assured that their case will be handled thoroughly, professionally, in an approachable and understandable way.


Legal Services
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Housing disputes
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Trusts
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Employment Contracts
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Housing Management
  • Right to Manage
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Buying at auction
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Flexible Working
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Housing Associations
  • Separation Agreement
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Tax
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Wills
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Extending your Lease
  • Social Services
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Property Holding Structures
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Leasehold properties
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Family Leave
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Children
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Professional Discipline
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Redundancy
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Transfer of title
  • Trusts
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Transfers of equity
  • Family law
  • Pension and property advice
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Family Mediation
  • Domestic Abuse
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Injunctions
  • Gardening Leave
  • Part Time Workers
  • Pension Law
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Litigation Law
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Property Disputes
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Remortgaging
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Collaborative Law
  • Civil partnerships
  • Senior Executives
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Injunctions
  • TUPE
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Probate
  • Repossessions
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Separation
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Mediation
  • Tax
  • Competition law
  • Employment - business
  • Purchase of development land
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Franchising
  • Corporate finance
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Intellectual Property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Commercial Law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Statutory Demands
  • Debt Recovery
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Corporate Law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Developer disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Commercial Leases
  • Setting up a business
  • Data Protection
  • Rights of way issues
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Agency agreements
  • Credit Control
  • Summary Judgment
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Finance
  • Development plot sales
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Management buyouts

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000