Coffin Mew

020 3002 2890

Coffin Mew is an innovative and entrepreneurial law firm working across the Southern and Thames Valley region, with offices in Brighton, Gosport, London, Newbury, Portsmouth, Southampton and by appointment in Wantage, Our team provides legal advice to individual clients, entrepreneurs, SMEs and corporate organisations across a wide range of legal matters, working for some of the region’s largest names as well as many start ups and technology businesses that make up much of the region’s lifeblood. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with highly commercial and practical advisors.

4.5/5 272 Customer Reviews 272
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coffin Mew compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coffin Mew on ReviewSolicitors

272 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    209
  • Very Good
    31
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    10
  • Awful
    19

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
 Katie
Verified Katie Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730161722

First time buyers

5

We got a few quotes from local solicitors and I had asked if coffin mew do any price matching to start with as I'd had slightly cheaper quotes elsewhere. They had said the price they offer is their fixed price and they believe the service they deliver is worth the fee they charge so they don't price match. I went with my gut and have absolutely no regrets. Emily have us a faultless service. All paperwork was out to us promptly with clear explanation and instructions at each step. If we had any questions I would just call up and Emily always got back to me within an hour or two. We also really felt that she had our best interests in mind the whole time and wasn't willing to put us in a vulnerable position despite eagerness from our sellers and the estate agents. Thank you for everything Emily, we really appreciate your help in buying our first home. It has been a very stress free process with coffin mew, and worth every penny!!

Solicitor being reviewed: Emily Merrett

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Richard John
Verified Richard John Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 30, 2019 20190730144202

sale of bungalow 4 reeds Road

5

Andrew dealt with our sale process in his understanding and very efficient way. His secretary and staff were also extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Thank you all for your help.

Solicitor being reviewed: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Joe & Hannah
Verified Joe & Hannah Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 29, 2019 20190729173131

Very happy customers

5

We have no complaints and are overall very satisfied with the service provided.

Solicitor being reviewed: Andrew Paul

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Vladislav Boykov
Verified Vladislav Boykov Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 22, 2019 20190722174055

Professional

5

I would like to say thank you to Kerry and her team for smooth process.
Good job guys!

Solicitor being reviewed: Kerry Allen

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Rebecca Jane
Verified Rebecca Jane Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 22, 2019 20190722132735

The team were great

5

We cannot recommend our solicitor Elisabeth Smith enough for her help along the way. We were promised a move in date by the company in which we bought the property from and Elisabeth and her team worked around the clock to make sure that happened. Thank you to Elisabeth, Denise and Rosie, you are true gems and myself and Billy cannot thank you all enough! We were first time buyers and the team took their time to explain things to us. You cannot put a price on knowing your case is in good hands. We will be using you again in the future! Thanks - Rebecca and Billy.

Solicitor being reviewed: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 01 August, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Russell Nicholas
Verified Russell Nicholas Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 19, 2019 20190719153251

Great service

5

Very pleased with my recent house purchase. Coffin Mew were very easy to deal with, professional at all times and I would definitely use them again in the future.

Solicitor being reviewed: Natalie Marsh

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 22 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Nicola Dawn Clayton
Verified Nicola Dawn Clayton Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 12, 2019 20190712120123

Excellent Service

5

Excellent service and would highly recommend

Solicitor being reviewed: Elisabeth Smith

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 14 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Daniel Paul
Verified Daniel Paul Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 04, 2019 20190704171146

Great for new builds

5

Fantastic solicitors for our new build move. Big thanks in particular to Lisa who fought our corner with the developers to get us in when we needed to. Would recommend these solicitors to anybody looking at a new build property

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 08 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 John & Rosemary
Verified John & Rosemary Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 02, 2019 20190702203221

Excellent

5

Coffin Mew acted for us in the purchase of a property and they could not have been more helpful, open or approachable.

We will definitely be going back to them for any future legal services.

Solicitor being reviewed: Salih Hasan Ozdemirciler

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

 Robert Geoffrey
Verified Robert Geoffrey Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 01, 2019 20190701081447

Exellent

5

Great service - would highly recommend.
Timely responses, great communication.

A representative from Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 15 July, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Henry
Henry Added 11 months ago Report to admin
October 17, 2018
Collected on
20181017122944

Henry

1

Unfortunately this company took over our family solicitors. You can't give no stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Victoria
Victoria Added 2 years ago Report to admin
September 06, 2017
Collected on
20170906095953

Victoria

1

Absolutely useless. They need to consider a different career path!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Madeleine
Madeleine Added 1 day ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 23, 2019
Collected on
20190923095557

Madeleine

5

We used Coffin Mew to help us write our Wills. Deanne was fantastic. She was efficient and approachable. She talked us through the whole process, explaining everything clearly without being patronising. We would definitely use Coffin Mew again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Miko
Miko Added 2 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 22, 2019
Collected on
20190922090920

Miko

3

Very expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 23 September, 2019

Dear Miko - we are sorry you feel we provided a service that was expensive as we do receive good feedback for our value for money services. It isn't clear what legal service you obtained from us, and whether therefore it was a fixed price which is quoted upfront (for eg conveyancing services) or whether you needed additional more bespoke support (maybe employment, litigation or wills planning). Either way, we would be happy to provide further details on pricing if required and have asked for your contact details in this regard. Best wishes Customer Services.

christian
christian Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 09, 2019
Collected on
20190909165618

christian

3

Decent people, helpful but would like to have more communication

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coffin Mew LLP responded to this review on 19 September, 2019

Hi Christian, Thank you for your feedback. We have passed your comments onto the wider team to look at ways we can improve further and look forward to working with you in the future. Kind regards, Customer Services

About This Branch

Description

Our client focused strategy aims to bring the best people and innovation together to deliver great results for every client and we are committed to developing and expanding our expertise across our four key sectors – Technology, Real Estate, Care and Protection, and Agricultural and Rural Business. The firm’s reputation has been built on its ability to deliver exceptional client service combined with innovative, highly commercial and practical advisors. Following a successful Thames Valley merger in 2017, 2018 saw the firm record a strong 30% growth in revenues, and was recorded as the fastest growing law firm in the Solent 100 growth list collated by The Business Magazine and identified as a ‘star performer’ for growth in the South East by The Lawyer UK 200 list 2018. Coffin Mew is proudly accredited by Lexcel, the Law Society’s Quality Practice kite mark and in 2018 was shortlisted for Law Firm of the year (Medium) at the Law Society Excellence Awards. Employing 230 highly-skilled staff, the firm prides itself on its innovative and modern culture, its depth of legal and commercial expertise and exceptional client service.


Legal Services
  • Burns, Scars and Lacerations At Work
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Housing Associations
  • Children's Serious Injury
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Probate
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Buying at auction
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Mesothelioma Compensation
  • Leasehold properties
  • Visas
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Fatal Asbestos
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Spinal Injury Compensation
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Right to Manage
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • TUPE
  • Family Leave
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Gardening Leave
  • Senior Executives
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Extending your Lease
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Litigation Law
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Trusts
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Trusts
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Family law
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Dental Negligence
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Part Time Workers
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Child contact
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Housing disputes
  • Against The Council
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Tribunal Claims
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Lease Extensions
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Serious Injury
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Children
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accidents In Public Places
  • Fatal Accident
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Stress at Work
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Separation
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Asbestosis
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Remortgaging
  • Head and Brain Injury
  • Property Disputes
  • Repossessions
  • Planning
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Immigration Law
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Employment Contracts
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Transfer of title
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Pension Law
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Child Law
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Human Rights
  • Disputed Probate
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Disputed Wills
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Wills
  • MRSA Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Housing Management
  • Transfers of equity
  • Pension and property advice
  • Accident At Work
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Separation Agreement
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Credit Control
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Farming disputes
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Setting up a business
  • Tax
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Domain Names
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Building contracts and professional appointments
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Competition law
  • Summary Judgment
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Equestrian property
  • Development agreements
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Management buyouts
  • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
  • Rights of way issues
  • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Finance
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Guarantees and bonds
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Engineering contracts
  • Development plot sales
  • Construction
  • Share option schemes
  • Copyright
  • Developer disputes
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • In-house training
  • Corporate Law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Employment - business
  • Debt Recovery
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Commercial Law
  • Patents
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Corporate finance
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Intellectual Property
  • Banking
  • Planning law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Statutory Demands
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Development loan facilities
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Environmental policy law
  • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Mediation
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Asset Tracing
  • Data Protection
  • Franchising
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Facility maintenance agreements
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Framework agreements
  • GDPR
  • Agency agreements
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000