Kingly Solicitors

01438 301123

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors, Richard Herne & Co, Ray Nixon Brown, Coles, Austin Ray, Hancock Quins

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.2/5 353 Customer Reviews 353 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Kingly Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Kingly Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

353 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    245
  • Very Good
    34
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    13
  • Awful
    48

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Sandra
Sandra Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 30, 2020 20200430111714

Will

5

I instructed Hancock Quins for the preparation of my Will. My queries were explained in depth and the advice I received on Inheritance Tax was concise and accurate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gordon
Verified Gordon Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 27, 2020 20200527093635

House sale

4

Very helpful in the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ruth
Ruth Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2020 20200511132503

032776 Laurence Daniels

5

Laurence managed my expectations and then exceeded them,he explained every part of my claim and felt I could and did ask for clarification when legal terms used. These he put into layman's terms. I would recommend that if you have an injury claim he is your man.



Solicitor named in this review: Laurence Daniels

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 05, 2020 20200505094735

Terrible experience

1

Used Coles solicitors ( now taken over by RH Legal ) as conveyances for our house purchase. We offered on our proposed new house in early Oct 2019 and eventually completed on the 24/04/2020!!
The delay was due, mainly, to the ineptitude of RH Legal. The issue was that due to Coles being taken over by RH they had not kept up to date with their “housekeeping”. This meant that they were not on the panel of lenders for our mortgage company. We were told repeatedly this would not be an issue and the details, or housekeeping, required by our lender, would all be updated speedily. This never happened. We stuck with RH until we were told by them to switch to another firm of solicitors to manage our new house purchase, as they were unable to complete the necessary checks to ensure that RH were a legitimate firm and our lender could send monies to them at the completion stage of the house purchase.
The delays caused a great deal of stress to my wife and I. I have never been treated like this previously and we have moved house several times previously.
Due to the long delay, our house seller demanded that we increase our original offer price to due house price rises which she missed out on in the 7 months it took to complete. She also lost the purchase of her intended house due to the long delays.
At no time were we told that the housekeeping matters would cause such a delay to the whole process. I gave Coles ( now RH Legal ) the benefit of the doubt on several occasions. In hindsight, if we had have been told to change solicitors earlier, we would have completed early in the new year, which was the preferred date for all parties in the chain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vera
Verified Vera Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2020 20200430171045

House Sale, handled by Coles Solicitors (not RH Legal)

2

This was the first time in dealing with a law firm that I have never met the solicitor acting on my behalf.

Most of the delays seemed to be created by the buyer's solicitors, but my solicitor did not seem to respond to their queries as robustly as I would have hoped. I was asked questions to which I thought the answers should have been apparent from the deeds, eg whether the property was landlocked, and about access to a non-existent garage. The overall impression was that the solicitor had perhaps not read all the paperwork.

Also, I was asked the same question twice about a draft indemnity policy.

In the end, what should have been a simple transaction, dealing with a cash buyer, took about twice as long as expected, and caused extra anxiety.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Andrew Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 29, 2020 20200429224555

Shocking!

1

In summary
-Poor service, lack of communication
-GDPR data breach sharing personal information of another client
-Misplaced documents containing bank, insurance, investments which led to miscalculation of estate value and inheritance tax
- Failure to include all investments and bank values in Assets and Liabilities statement
- Failure of the companies internal complaints procedure as outlined in their T&Cs - basically the senior person in the company appointed has not responded despite being chased!
- Miscalculation of inheritance tax due to HMRC
- 8 months down the line - still no application for probate, nor conveyancing concluded
- A senior manger appointed to handle this case has made various promises to send forms, appoint other solicitors, advise etc. Still waiting!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 14, 2020 20200414122502

Fantastic experience buying and selling

5

Mariette was brilliant throughout the process. Our sale and purchase both went through smoothly. Mariette was thorough with her explanations and requests, and she always clarified things clearly when we had any queries. She was great value for money and always went out of her way for us. We could happily trust Mariette with our sale and purchase.
We definitely recommend Mariette. Thanks again!

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2020 20200401180152

House Sale - Mariette

4

First class service from Mariette under the current conditions that we find ourselves in.
I am used to dealing with MY Solicitor - previously Chris Tunnard - so was initially disheartened to find myself being passed from office to office and person to person. The interdepartmental communication was not good - and I was starting to panic.
However, when I eventually ended up in Mariette's safe hands I didn't need to worry again. She pushed my sale along at an exceptional rate. Nothing sat on her desk for any length of time. She was always very quick in responding to my queries and was always a step in front me.
Many thanks Mariette - your efforts are very much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 2 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 03, 2020 20200303122054

Inept Communication

2

I was selling a house in a different location from where I live and wanted to use a local solicitors that had the facilities to do so without travelling. Coles seemed a perfect fit, however the branch that was asked to sell my propoerty would not get in touch or communicate with me throughout the process, I had to initiate contact and most of the informationI received was through the estate agent. I was also told that there was delays in selling my house as their assistant was of sick, sorry not my problem! Did not feel like a valued customer felt like a problem.

There was good news though, if I was to rate my local Coles I would have given them a higher rating as they were courtious and helpful. I went to complain about the branch dealing with the sale my house and the level of attention I got after this was much better.

The scores are solely based on the branch that was local to the property not my local branch.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Verified Matthew Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 02, 2020 20200302000000

Housing & Property

5

Matthew recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Antony
Antony Added 2 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 12, 2020
Collected on
20200512094824

Antony

1

Despite the service supposedy being redirected to a sister company in Northampton, if you are lucky enough to get through (which may take days) nobody ever calls back or responds in any fashion - TIME WASTERS!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kayleigh
Kayleigh Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 05, 2020
Collected on
20200505082923

Kayleigh

5

Down to earth and professional

Was this review helpful? Yes

Victor
Victor Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 14, 2020
Collected on
20200314132831

Victor

3

Good welcoming service you can have a free 30min first consultation. Had to make a refund and it took to long unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes

kelly
kelly Added 2 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 09, 2020
Collected on
20200309185306

kelly

5

Solicitor was very informative and helpful . I would certainly use this solicitor again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kingly Solicitors responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Kelly and we look forward to working with you again. Coles Solicitors

Chris
Chris Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 04, 2020
Collected on
20200304091222

Chris

1

I don't normally do reviews, but tried to arrange for a Statutory Declaration to be witnessed - they said they didn't have anyone who could do it today (not that I had asked for it to be done today). They didn't offer to do it any other day and it is surprising that they don't have any solicitors in their head office who could take 2 minutes to witness a signature. Last year we spent in excess of £50K on legal fees - none of it will go to Coles in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kingly Solicitors responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Chris, we apologise for the service you received on this occasion. As you will know, this is not standard of the previous service you have received and we sincerely hope you will allow us the chance to put it right. Coles Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Redundancy
  • Part Time Workers
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Remortgaging
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Stress at Work
  • TUPE
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Family Leave
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Professional Conduct
  • UK ancestry
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Buying at auction
  • Trusts
  • Housing disputes
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Lease Extensions
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Social Services
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Housing Management
  • Ancestry visas
  • Flexible Working
  • Probate
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Right to Manage
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Transfers of equity
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Senior Executives
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Leasehold properties
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Partner and family visas
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Repossessions
  • Civil partnerships
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Drugs offences
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Business Crime
  • Immigration Law
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Property Disputes
  • Family law
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Housing Associations
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Pension and property advice
  • Litigation Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Professional Negligence
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Family Based Visas
  • Theft
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Extending your Lease
  • Consumer Rights
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Assault
  • Human Rights
  • Against The Council
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Travel rights
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Criminal Damage
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Re-entry bans
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Citizenship
  • Injunctions
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Child contact
  • Injunctions
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Pension Law
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Wills
  • Financial Matters
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Child Law
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Collaborative Law
  • Separation Agreement
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Children
  • Deportation appeals
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Family Mediation
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Visas
  • Professional Discipline
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Gardening Leave
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Trusts
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Transfer of title
  • Employment Contracts
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000