Ward Gethin Archer Limited

01553 660033

We offer a client-driven, personal service to an increasing number of businesses and private individuals. Our aim is to resolve your legal problem in a way which exceeds your expectations. Everyone needs a lawyer at some time in their lives. Often our assistance marks a major stage in your life; such as buying a home or making your will. We promise to provide you with the best possible legal services at a time when service and quality really matters.

5/5 468 Customer Reviews 468
Recommended by
458 Verified Clients
like Lynsey and Mr & Mrs T J
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
468 Customer Reviews

5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    433
  • Very Good
    23
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    4
Anonymous
Click to rate
Lynsey
Verified Lynsey Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 28, 2018 20181028201501

Conveyancing

5

Excellent service thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr & Mrs T J
Verified Mr & Mrs T J Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 24, 2018 20181024211502

Other

5

Having used Gordon Cartwright before we decided to stay same location and was very happy with Kim Neal.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julie
Verified Julie Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 28, 2018 20180928211502

House move

5

A house move which should have been easy became very much not so. But Julie Dear negotiated through it all with aplomb. Very supportive and with humour too. Kept me sane!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kelly
Verified Kelly Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 23, 2018 20180923211502

Friendly, professional service

5

I am so pleased I had Sue Broomfield to act on my behalf for selling and buying my house. Every part of the move was explained simply and acted upon promptly and efficiently. Sue’s warm, friendly and very approachable nature made the move so much easier and I would have no hesitation in recommending Sue and her colleagues at Ward Gethin to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Duane
Verified Duane Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 20, 2018 20180920211502

New home 6 weeks from start to finish

5

It says it all in the title. Six week to the day for our new home from the price quoted at the beginning to all the processes up to completion 10 out of 10 on every aspect and super quick in dealing with issues that we had. 100% reccommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ossie
Verified Ossie Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 17, 2018 20180917211501

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

The friendly local service is of tremendous value to older clients not having to travel far

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sally & Graham
Verified Sally & Graham Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 16, 2018 20180916211501

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

We found Kim to be extremely helpful and very acknowledgeable. She was very easy to work with

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 07, 2018 20180907211501

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

We have always had Ward Gethin Archer for all our legal matters and have always found them to be excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dawn
Verified Dawn Added 2 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2018 20180906211502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

I specifically wanted Marion Oliver to handle my sale as I had dealt with her at another firm

Was this review helpful? Yes

George
Verified George Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 27, 2018 20180827211502

Thank You

5

Thank you for the easy process throughout. Andrew and Cerys were both extremely helpful, and kept us up to date at all times. Very painless throughout, we would highly recommend to anybody else!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Ward Gethin Archer Limited

  • Chris Dewey

    Chris is a solicitor, the firm's Managing Director and a key member of both the Personal Injury and Employment Law teams. He is a Senior Litigator with the Association of Personal Injury Lawyers, a member of the Law Society's Personal Injury Panel, and specialises in helping Union members with accidents at work and occupational disease claims. He also has a wealth of experience advising on all aspects of Employment Law including claims for unfair dismissal, disability claims and TUPE transfers.

  • Sarah Fairbrother

    Having completed her training with Ward Gethin Archer, Sarah was admitted to the roll as a Solicitor on 15th September 2011 and is now one of the firm's Directors. Sarah advises clients on all aspects of Family Law including divorce, civil partnership dissolution, in particular upon financial issues that follow a relationship breakdown. Sarah also specialises in issues regarding children such as child contact arrangements and residence disputes. Sarah also deals with advice and preparation of Cohabitation Agreements, Separation Agreements, Pre-Nuptial and Post-Nuptial Agreements and Change of Name Deeds. Sarah is also a Trustee of counselling charity Relate and enjoys playing netball in her spare time. Sarah is also a member of Resolution.

  • Kim Faivelowitz

    Kim is a Chartered Legal Executive and a Director, working in the firm's Litigation and Employment Law Department. Kim joined the firm in 2002 and she advises clients on a wide range of litigation matters, including contract disputes, debt collection, commercial and residential landlord and tenant disputes, property disputes, professional negligence and contentious probate. In terms of employment matters, Kim advises both employers and employees in employment disputes including representing clients in Employment Tribunal claims and she drafts employment contracts for employers. Outside of work, Kim enjoys keeping fit and spending quality time with her family.

  • David Snodgrass

    David is the firm's first non-lawyer manager, an accountant by profession, and the firm's Finance Director. He has responsibility for managing all aspects of the firm's finances, including client money transactions, and is also the nominated Compliance Officer for Finance and Administration (COFA). He joined Ward Gethin Archer in January 2015, having previously spent nearly 15 years in a finance and operations role in another law firm. Outside of work David enjoys photography, running and walking with his family and dog.

  • Anna Hall

    Anna is a solicitor in the Residential Property team and is based in our King's Lynn office. Anna qualified in 2005 and joined the firm in 2010. She has a wide range of experience dealing with all aspects of residential conveyancing for a variety of different clients including landlords and corporate clients. She has acted on the purchase and sale of freehold and leasehold properties; lease extensions; auction sales and purchases. Anna also advises clients on shared ownership and equity release.

  • Alix

    Alix is a Trainee Solicitor in our Dereham office, and joined the company in June 2017. She is currently undertaking her third seat in our Private Client team. Alix enjoys playing the piano, especially by ear. She enjoys reading (her degree was in English Literature) and photography.

  • Desmond Humberston

    Desmond is a Director in the Private Client Department, some 25 years a solicitor, with the vast majority of that time spent practicing in Dereham as a Partner with Hood Vores and Allwood specialising in Wills and Tax Planning, Probate, Powers of Attorney and Court of Protection work and Trusts. He is a member of the Society of Trusts and Estate Practitioners and was, for a number of years, dual qualified as a financial advisor. He has held many appointments over the years as Charitable Trustee, Clerk to the Income Tax Commissioners, Chair of School Governors and Treasurer of the local PCC. He has always been, and remains, a keen sportsman, running and playing racket sports, squash and badminton regularly and as much golf as proves possible. He also enjoys watching sport, walking, film, theatre and reading and vegetable gardening.

  • Sara Plummer

    Sara is a solicitor in the Family Law team and works in our Dereham office covering Dereham, Swaffham and Watton. Sara qualified in 2006, joined the firm in October 2008 and has over ten years' experience in Family Law. Sara advises clients on all aspects of Family Law including divorce, civil partnership dissolution, in particular upon financial issues that follow a relationship breakdown. Sara also specialises in issues regarding children such as child contact arrangements and residence disputes. Sara also deals with advice and preparation of Cohabitation Agreements, Separation Agreements, Pre-Nuptial Agreements and Change of Name Deeds. Sara is a Resolution Accredited Specialist with particular specialisms in Child Law, private proceedings and financial provision. She is also a member of Resolution, which is an organisation of Family Law that is committed to resolving family disputes in a constructive and conciliatory way. She has also been a trustee of charities that help victims of domestic violence. Sara is also on the staff liaison committee with the firm. She enjoys keeping fit/relaxing by supporting her local villages with zumba and yoga clubs.

  • Andrew Skuse

    Andrew is a Solicitor and Director within the Property Department responsible for our Watton, Swaffham and Dereham Property teams and works from our Dereham Office. Andrew commenced his career in law in the year 2000 and has since developed a proven track record within residential conveyancing, including, sales, purchases, leasehold & freehold, new builds, shared ownership, right to buy, share equity, re-mortgage and buy-to-let properties for investors as well as experience with commercial property transactions. Andrew is often praised for his "helpful, fast and efficient service", making clients feel "at ease", being "reliably available" and his working relationship with other professionals.

  • Claire Williamson

    Claire joined WGA in June 2016 in our Dereham Office as a Residential Conveyancing Solicitor. Claire qualified in 2012, originally specialising in Criminal Litigation but found her vocation with residential conveyancing in 2013, specialising in all areas of Residential Conveyancing including buying and selling both freehold and leasehold properties, transfers of equity and re-mortgages. Outside of work, Claire enjoys many outdoor activities from running and cycling to walking in the Lake District but also enjoys quality time with family and friends.

  • Diane Hewitt

    Diane is a Chartered Legal Executive in the Private Client Team, working primarily from our Swaffham office. She joined the firm in May 2006, having specialised in Private Client work for 10 years before joining us. Diane advises on the making of wills and the administration of estates after someone has died, as well as the making and registering of Lasting Powers of Attorney and the appointment of deputies through the Court of Protection. She helps to manage people's financial and property affairs when family are not able to do so. Diane has recently successfully completed the Society for Trust and Estate Practitioner's Advanced Certificate in Will Preparation (England & Wales) and is now a STEP affiliate. Diane enjoys gardening, walking and spending time with her children and grandchildren.

  • Charlotte Merrett

    Charlotte is a Trainee Legal Executive in our Dereham office and specialises in residential property matters. Charlotte joined Ward Gethin Archer in May 2014 as a Legal Secretary, commencing her legal qualification in May 2016. Charlotte's interests outside of work include socialising with friends and family, travelling to new places and swimming.

  • Jill Wheeler

    Jill is a Chartered Legal Executive in our Conveyancing team, based in our Swaffham office having worked in the legal environment within the Norfolk area for the last 11 years. Jill appreciates that buying or selling a property can be a very stressful time and where possible, with her calming approach and excellent negotiation skills, will ensure a smooth and trouble free transaction for everyone. Jill believes that building a strong relationship with her clients is key to a successful resolution of a conveyancing transaction. One of her many strengths is looking after her clients personally, ensuring all their needs are met, providing a high quality bespoke service. In her spare time Jill enjoys badminton, cycling, walking, cooking and was once on Ready Steady Cook!

  • Tony Williamson

    Tony is a trainee Legal Executive in our Swaffham office, and specialises in Residential Property matters. He joined Ward Gethin Archer in November 2017, having come from another legal firm dealing entirely in property transactions, where he worked as a Conveyancing Executive for over three years. Tony is studying the final part of his course to become a Legal Executive, and hopes to qualify in the near future. Clients will like Tony's calm, friendly approach, and his determination to deliver a first-class service. Outside of work, Tony has a keen interest in music and has achieved Grade 7 in piano. He also has an interest in learning the church .

  • Karen Carpenter

    Karen is a Chartered Legal Executive and Director who heads up the Family Team based at the Ely office, where for over 30 years she has given help and support to all her clients who find themselves in situations of conflict and high emotion. A member of the Law Society Family Panel and Resolution, Karen has undertaken mediation training and qualified as a Collaborative Lawyer in 2005 (for more information go to www.ccflg.co.uk). Karen deals with and has experience of all aspects of Family Law including divorce, dissolution of civil partnerships, pre-nuptial and post-nuptial agreements and all related financial issues, child welfare including residence orders and assisting grand parents and other family members to obtain Special Guardianship orders together with Step-parent Parental Responsibility Agreements. Clients appreciate Karen's supportive approach throughout what can be a very difficult period, delivering legal advice with empathy and understanding. Karen plays an active role in her home village. She enjoys amateur dramatics, reading and walking.

About This Branch

Description

We are a long established East Anglian practice with eight offices serving West Norfolk & Cambridgeshire and one of the major firms in the area in terms of size and expertise. A full range of legal services is offered by highly qualified personnel: solicitors and legal executives with the support of other well trained and experienced staff. Although based in East Anglia, we offer a personal service to both our local clients and those who live away from the area. Ward Gethin Archer take the delivery of our services very seriously; wherever possible we adhere to recognised service requirements and quality standards. Wherever appropriate we also encourage our Partners and lawyers to join and participate in their specialist bodies and accreditation schemes. We are authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA Practice Number 566796) and their rules and principles governing solicitors' conduct apply to us. An on-line guide to these can be found at www.sra.org.uk/handbook.


Legal Services
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
  • Media & Sports
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Renting & Tenancy Agreements
  • Children
  • Employment - General
  • Remortgages
  • Purchase & Sale
  • Family Mediation
  • Wills & Probate
  • Tax
  • Repossessions
  • Personal Injury
  • Divorce & Separation
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Mediation
  • Insolvency & Bankruptcy
  • Purchase & Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Debt Recovery
  • Business Affairs
  • Commercial Leases
  • Corporate Law
  • Commercial Law
  • Intellectual Property
  • Employment
  • Partnership & Shareholder Disputes
  • Mergers & Acquisitions

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed