Ward Gethin Archer Limited

01553 660033

We offer a client-driven, personal service to an increasing number of businesses and private individuals. Our aim is to resolve your legal problem in a way which exceeds your expectations. Everyone needs a lawyer at some time in their lives. Often our assistance marks a major stage in your life; such as buying a home or making your will. We promise to provide you with the best possible legal services at a time when service and quality really matters.

5/5 415 Customer Reviews 415
Recommended by
405 Verified Clients
like Ossie and Sally & Graham
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
415 Customer Reviews

5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    382
  • Very Good
    21
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    4
Anonymous
Click to rate
Ossie
Verified Ossie Added 5 days ago Report to admin
September 17, 2018 20180917211501

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

The friendly local service is of tremendous value to older clients not having to travel far

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sally & Graham
Verified Sally & Graham Added 6 days ago Report to admin
September 16, 2018 20180916211501

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

We found Kim to be extremely helpful and very acknowledgeable. She was very easy to work with

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
September 07, 2018 20180907211501

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

We have always had Ward Gethin Archer for all our legal matters and have always found them to be excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dawn
Verified Dawn Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
September 06, 2018 20180906211502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

I specifically wanted Marion Oliver to handle my sale as I had dealt with her at another firm

Was this review helpful? Yes

George
Verified George Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 27, 2018 20180827211502

Thank You

5

Thank you for the easy process throughout. Andrew and Cerys were both extremely helpful, and kept us up to date at all times. Very painless throughout, we would highly recommend to anybody else!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
August 27, 2018 20180827211501

Friendly and Efficient

5

Guided me through separate purchase and sale processes. Without doubt the most friendly and efficient law firm I have ever dealt with. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 17, 2018 20180817211502

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Thank you, very professional and friendly service throughout. Very satisfied in receiving a high level of service with the legal knowledge and experience that was supplied.

Was this review helpful? Yes

No name given
Verified No name given Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 17, 2018 20180817211501

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

The service received was very professional

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 08, 2018 20180808211502

Very efficient and friendly service

5

1005 satisfied with service received, very efficient and friendly staff. Whole process of purchasing a house was smooth and fast, and I felt supported from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr and Mrs
Verified Mr and Mrs Added 1 month ago Report to admin
July 30, 2018 20180730211501

A very positive experience - Thank you Clair and Team

5

We were recommended to Ward, Gethin Archer following our previous solicitor being unable to deal with our purchase through no fault of our own. Clair took on our purchase and dealt with it through to completion in a very professional and knowledgeable fashion. We would have no issues with recommending Clair and the company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Ward Gethin Archer Limited

  • Chris Dewey

    Chris is a solicitor, the firm's Managing Director and a key member of both the Personal Injury and Employment Law teams. He is a Senior Litigator with the Association of Personal Injury Lawyers, a member of the Law Society's Personal Injury Panel, and specialises in helping Union members with accidents at work and occupational disease claims. He also has a wealth of experience advising on all aspects of Employment Law including claims for unfair dismissal, disability claims and TUPE transfers.

  • Sarah Fairbrother

    Having completed her training with Ward Gethin Archer, Sarah was admitted to the roll as a Solicitor on 15th September 2011 and is now one of the firm's Directors. Sarah advises clients on all aspects of Family Law including divorce, civil partnership dissolution, in particular upon financial issues that follow a relationship breakdown. Sarah also specialises in issues regarding children such as child contact arrangements and residence disputes. Sarah also deals with advice and preparation of Cohabitation Agreements, Separation Agreements, Pre-Nuptial and Post-Nuptial Agreements and Change of Name Deeds. Sarah is also a Trustee of counselling charity Relate and enjoys playing netball in her spare time. Sarah is also a member of Resolution.

  • Kim Faivelowitz

    Kim is a Chartered Legal Executive and a Director, working in the firm's Litigation and Employment Law Department. Kim joined the firm in 2002 and she advises clients on a wide range of litigation matters, including contract disputes, debt collection, commercial and residential landlord and tenant disputes, property disputes, professional negligence and contentious probate. In terms of employment matters, Kim advises both employers and employees in employment disputes including representing clients in Employment Tribunal claims and she drafts employment contracts for employers. Outside of work, Kim enjoys keeping fit and spending quality time with her family.

  • David Snodgrass

    David is the firm's first non-lawyer manager, an accountant by profession, and the firm's Finance Director. He has responsibility for managing all aspects of the firm's finances, including client money transactions, and is also the nominated Compliance Officer for Finance and Administration (COFA). He joined Ward Gethin Archer in January 2015, having previously spent nearly 15 years in a finance and operations role in another law firm. Outside of work David enjoys photography, running and walking with his family and dog.

  • Anna Hall

    Anna is a solicitor in the Residential Property team and is based in our King's Lynn office. Anna qualified in 2005 and joined the firm in 2010. She has a wide range of experience dealing with all aspects of residential conveyancing for a variety of different clients including landlords and corporate clients. She has acted on the purchase and sale of freehold and leasehold properties; lease extensions; auction sales and purchases. Anna also advises clients on shared ownership and equity release.

  • Alix

    Alix is a Trainee Solicitor in our Dereham office, and joined the company in June 2017. She is currently undertaking her third seat in our Private Client team. Alix enjoys playing the piano, especially by ear. She enjoys reading (her degree was in English Literature) and photography.

  • Desmond Humberston

    Desmond is a Director in the Private Client Department, some 25 years a solicitor, with the vast majority of that time spent practicing in Dereham as a Partner with Hood Vores and Allwood specialising in Wills and Tax Planning, Probate, Powers of Attorney and Court of Protection work and Trusts. He is a member of the Society of Trusts and Estate Practitioners and was, for a number of years, dual qualified as a financial advisor. He has held many appointments over the years as Charitable Trustee, Clerk to the Income Tax Commissioners, Chair of School Governors and Treasurer of the local PCC. He has always been, and remains, a keen sportsman, running and playing racket sports, squash and badminton regularly and as much golf as proves possible. He also enjoys watching sport, walking, film, theatre and reading and vegetable gardening.

  • Sara Plummer

    Sara is a solicitor in the Family Law team and works in our Dereham office covering Dereham, Swaffham and Watton. Sara qualified in 2006, joined the firm in October 2008 and has over ten years' experience in Family Law. Sara advises clients on all aspects of Family Law including divorce, civil partnership dissolution, in particular upon financial issues that follow a relationship breakdown. Sara also specialises in issues regarding children such as child contact arrangements and residence disputes. Sara also deals with advice and preparation of Cohabitation Agreements, Separation Agreements, Pre-Nuptial Agreements and Change of Name Deeds. Sara is a Resolution Accredited Specialist with particular specialisms in Child Law, private proceedings and financial provision. She is also a member of Resolution, which is an organisation of Family Law that is committed to resolving family disputes in a constructive and conciliatory way. She has also been a trustee of charities that help victims of domestic violence. Sara is also on the staff liaison committee with the firm. She enjoys keeping fit/relaxing by supporting her local villages with zumba and yoga clubs.

  • Andrew Skuse

    Andrew is a Solicitor and Director within the Property Department responsible for our Watton, Swaffham and Dereham Property teams and works from our Dereham Office. Andrew commenced his career in law in the year 2000 and has since developed a proven track record within residential conveyancing, including, sales, purchases, leasehold & freehold, new builds, shared ownership, right to buy, share equity, re-mortgage and buy-to-let properties for investors as well as experience with commercial property transactions. Andrew is often praised for his "helpful, fast and efficient service", making clients feel "at ease", being "reliably available" and his working relationship with other professionals.

  • Claire Williamson

    Claire joined WGA in June 2016 in our Dereham Office as a Residential Conveyancing Solicitor. Claire qualified in 2012, originally specialising in Criminal Litigation but found her vocation with residential conveyancing in 2013, specialising in all areas of Residential Conveyancing including buying and selling both freehold and leasehold properties, transfers of equity and re-mortgages. Outside of work, Claire enjoys many outdoor activities from running and cycling to walking in the Lake District but also enjoys quality time with family and friends.

  • Karen Carpenter

    Karen is a Chartered Legal Executive and Director who heads up the Family Team based at the Ely office, where for over 30 years she has given help and support to all her clients who find themselves in situations of conflict and high emotion. A member of the Law Society Family Panel and Resolution, Karen has undertaken mediation training and qualified as a Collaborative Lawyer in 2005 (for more information go to www.ccflg.co.uk). Karen deals with and has experience of all aspects of Family Law including divorce, dissolution of civil partnerships, pre-nuptial and post-nuptial agreements and all related financial issues, child welfare including residence orders and assisting grand parents and other family members to obtain Special Guardianship orders together with Step-parent Parental Responsibility Agreements. Clients appreciate Karen's supportive approach throughout what can be a very difficult period, delivering legal advice with empathy and understanding. Karen plays an active role in her home village. She enjoys amateur dramatics, reading and walking.

  • Philip Hasler

    Based in our Ely Office Philip has recently joined our Residential Property Team. His work includes sales and purchases, re-mortgages, transfers of equity, right to buy and lease extensions. Philip has been a solicitor for over 25 years. He has extensive knowledge of Property Law and worked for many years in London dealing with high value residential property transactions as well as specialising in leasehold enfranchisement. Outside of work Philip has a keen interest in foreign travel and learning foreign languages. Closer to home he is also an avid theatre and cinema goer.

  • Joseph Henry

    Joseph Henry is a solicitor in the firm's Dispute Resolution and Civil Litigation Team and is based in our Ely office. Joseph qualified as a solicitor in 2009 and joined Ward Gethin Archer in June 2017. Joseph specialises in civil litigation and is able to assist clients on a wide range of contentious matters including professional negligence claims, property disputes, inheritance issues and contract disputes. Joseph trained and qualified at a Cambridge firm and before joining Ward Gethin Archer was working at a Legal 500 firm in London. When he is not working, Joseph enjoys spending time with his family and cooking.

  • Georgina Devlin

    Georgina is a Commercial Property solicitor in our Ely Office having joined Ward Gethin Archer in August 2017. Georgina qualified as a solicitor in September 2014 and specialised in utility deeds, transfers and leases at her previous firm. Georgina advises on a range of commercial Property matters, including sale and purchase of commercial property, commercial leases and the grant of covenants and easements. Georgina is personable and has an eye for detail. Outside of work Georgina likes to keep fit and travel both in the UK and abroad.

  • John Thorogood

    John is a Director working in our Ely office and is a specialist in commercial, agricultural and residential property transactions. John qualified as a solicitor in 1982 and joined the firm in 1985. His work encompasses sales and purchases of agricultural land, including farm sales and purchases, the sale and purchase of development sites; legal development of commercial industrial estates and the preparation of options, pre-emption and joint venture agreements. John also deals with partnership formation and franchise agreements as well as business start-ups. John is a member of the Solicitors Benevolent Association and the Law Society Property section. He was a board member of Kings Forest Housing Association, and is currently Chairman of the Eric Drummond Mercer Trust, a charitable trust dealing with people with learning disabilities. John is a former Round Tabler and now a member of the Ely 41 Club (the ex-Round Tablers organisation). He is a member of Ely XT Limited, a charitable organisation responsible for organising the annual firework display in Cherry Hill Park, Ely. John was also the former Registrar to the Dean and Chapter of Ely Cathedral and was a former Governor of Soham Village College from 1996-2007, being Chair of the Governing Body from 1998-2007. He is a keen cyclist and walker, having taken part in the National Three Peaks Challenge and having successfully trekked to Everest Base Camp.

About This Branch

Description

We are a long established East Anglian practice with eight offices serving West Norfolk & Cambridgeshire and one of the major firms in the area in terms of size and expertise. A full range of legal services is offered by highly qualified personnel: solicitors and legal executives with the support of other well trained and experienced staff. Although based in East Anglia, we offer a personal service to both our local clients and those who live away from the area. Ward Gethin Archer take the delivery of our services very seriously; wherever possible we adhere to recognised service requirements and quality standards. Wherever appropriate we also encourage our Partners and lawyers to join and participate in their specialist bodies and accreditation schemes. We are authorised and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA Practice Number 566796) and their rules and principles governing solicitors' conduct apply to us. An on-line guide to these can be found at www.sra.org.uk/handbook.


Legal Services
  • Children
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Repossessions
  • Purchase & Sale
  • Remortgages
  • Employment - General
  • Media & Sports
  • Personal Injury
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
  • Tax
  • Divorce & Separation
  • Wills & Probate
  • Renting & Tenancy Agreements
  • Corporate Law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Intellectual Property
  • Commercial Leases
  • Insolvency & Bankruptcy
  • Mediation
  • Partnership & Shareholder Disputes
  • Business Affairs
  • Purchase & Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Mergers & Acquisitions
  • Commercial Law
  • Employment

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • 0845 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed