Coles

01482 231 300

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.3/5 303 Customer Reviews 303
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles on ReviewSolicitors

303 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    220
  • Very Good
    28
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    38

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jennifer
Verified Jennifer Added 9 months ago Report to admin
February 01, 2019 20190201190701

Sale and Purchase of my house - thank you

5

I have recently used Coles Solicitors in the sale and purchase of a property.

Following the service I received from Gilly French and Andrew Haigh at Coles, I would highly recommend.

The communication levels we’re fantastic, prompt responses to any queries I had and they always kept me up to date with what was happening.

Moving house is a very stressful process but the service I received helped make everything a lot smoother and I can not thank both Andrew and Gilly enough for all their efforts in supporting me with the completion date I was aiming for.

Thank you to you both 😊

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Colin Haigh

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you Jennifer for your kind words. I will ensure these are passed on to Gilly and Andrew. We look forward to working with you again in the future but in the meantime enjoy your new house. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

glennis
glennis Added 10 months ago Report to admin
January 09, 2019 20190109150508

Excellent result

5

I was very impressed with the way that my case was dealt with, Mr, Menzies-Baird dealt with it swiftly and efficiently, each step of the way I was kept informed by him and Angela Betts as to the progress of my case. All emails pertaining to me were sent promptly and replied to just as quickly. I would definitely use Coles solicitors again and recommend them to others

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you Glennis for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to Michael and Angela and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nick
Nick Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 03, 2018 20180403165518

First class service from Coles

5

Michael and the entire team at Coles provided a first class service and one which I would highly recommend to anybody needing legal assistance. They were highly efficient and professional, and reasonably priced, and achieved a very fast resolution to my problem.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

ros
ros Added 3 years ago Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103155918

Excellent service

5

A Huge thank you to everyone involved, in particular Michael Menzies Baird and Sarah Choudary. They helped me get my money back from Ebay seller who sold me a bespoke dining set which became warped. Ebay and Pay Pal were useless. Michael put the case through the small claims court online and also instruced High Court Enforecement when the seller did not refund. The whole process was smooth and strees free thanks to Coles and I would highly recommend them.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Ros, Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review. We are very glad that we helped you in a smooth and stress free way. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 3 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103110146

Kelly's Eye... No.1

5

Thank you to everyone at Coles, but in particular - Michael Menzies-Baird and Saarah Choudary for their effort, compassion, empathy and determination in helping my Mum win her bingo dispute case.

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Steve, Thank you very much for taking time to make a review about us. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 4 years ago Report to admin
October 27, 2015 20151027200156

taking the extra step

5

rang to enquire about a service. was delt with straight away. my situation needed sorting within 3 days and thanks to mr menzies-baird who went the extra to mile to help me everything got done on time if I need to will definitely us them again

Solicitor named in this review: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 31 October, 2015

Dear Christopher Thanks for your kind comments about Mingus. we are delighted to have been of help. kind regards Peter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 4 years ago Report to admin
October 12, 2015 20151012183218

Employment Tribunal

5

One side had to win, sadly it wasnt me, and cost me a few thousand pounds to fight my case, however, if I had gone to Coles from the off, then the case may have been presented better as I chose to represent myself initially and I had no legal cover.

Coles were helpful and friendly and explained what they could when the situations arose. I would use them again as my solicitor made it his business to keep in touch through out as my only support. I am thankful for this.

Secretarial support was also very good in the absence of my solicitor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Steven Added 4 years ago Report to admin
September 23, 2015 20150923111145

Amazing service

5

From start to finish the team were fantastic, I would recommend for all your property legal requirements.

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 24 September, 2015

Thanks Steven - delighted to have been of help to you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Victoria
Verified Victoria Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 05, 2019 20191105072136

Fabulous!

5

A highly efficient, responsive, professional conveyancing service delivered with a warm and friendly approach. Joanne and Bev made our house sale/purchase run smoothly from start to finish! Thank you 😊

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 05 November, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Victoria. We have a fantastic conveyancing department which we are very proud of. We hope you are enjoying your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Madeleine
Madeleine Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 29, 2019 20191029093907

Handling of an estate

5

From 2006 until his retirement in October 2019 I have enjoyed the professional help of Simon Cole, Coles Solicitors Northallerton. As a foreign citizen living outside the United Kingdom it was especially important for me to have a solicitor who acted with integrity and whose advice I could follow with absolute confidence.
I would like to thank Simon Cole and wish him all the best for his retirement
Madeleine

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Simon Pearson Cole

A representative from Coles responded to this review on 29 October, 2019

Many thanks for your wonderful review Madeleine. Simon is a very valued member of our team and we will miss him dearly when he retires on Thursday. We thank you for your continued business and hope you will keep us in mind should you need a Solicitor again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Andrew
Andrew Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019
Collected on
20190806172112

Andrew

5

Excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles responded to this review on 13 August, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Andrew. We look forward to working with you again. Coles Solicitors

Linda
Linda Added 8 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2019
Collected on
20190313161158

Linda Armstrong

5

Excellent service so quick and so reasonable and very helpful and curtious

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you Linda for your review. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Aleks
Aleks Added 8 months ago Report to admin
February 22, 2019
Collected on
20190222154548

Aleks Rojko

5

Good solicitors highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles responded to this review on 26 February, 2019

Thanks for your review Aleks. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Paul
Paul Added 8 months ago Report to admin
February 19, 2019
Collected on
20190219151743

Paul Chapman

4

Very efficient service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles responded to this review on 26 February, 2019

Thanks for your review Paul. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Catherine
Catherine Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
October 31, 2019
Collected on
20191031154447

Catherine

5

Professional services

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles responded to this review on 05 November, 2019

Thank you for your kind words Catherine. Coles Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Professional Negligence
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Gardening Leave
  • Theft
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Flexible Working
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Right to Manage
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Assault
  • Family Based Visas
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Repossessions
  • Social Services
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Drugs offences
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Injunctions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Re-entry bans
  • Litigation Law
  • Housing disputes
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Family Leave
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Wills
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Employment Contracts
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Pension and property advice
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Travel rights
  • Collaborative Law
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Leasehold properties
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Children
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Professional Conduct
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Child Law
  • Pension Law
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Redundancy
  • Stress at Work
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Buying at auction
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Injunctions
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Family law
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Family Mediation
  • Immigration Law
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Human Rights
  • Remortgaging
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Part Time Workers
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Extending your Lease
  • Visas
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Separation Agreement
  • Property Disputes
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Professional Discipline
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Deportation appeals
  • Child contact
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Ancestry visas
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Trusts
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Business Crime
  • TUPE
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Trusts
  • Financial Matters
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Criminal Damage
  • Lease Extensions
  • Transfer of title
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Consumer Rights
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Citizenship
  • Transfers of equity
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Senior Executives
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Housing Associations
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • UK ancestry
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Probate
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Partner and family visas
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Against The Council
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000