Kingly Solicitors Limited

01482 231 300

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors, Richard Herne & Co, Ray Nixon Brown, Coles, Austin Ray, Hancock Quins

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.2/5 353 Customer Reviews 353 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Kingly Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Kingly Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

353 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    245
  • Very Good
    34
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    13
  • Awful
    48

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Gordon
Verified Gordon Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 27, 2020 20200527093635

House sale

4

Very helpful in the sale of my property.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ruth
Ruth Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 11, 2020 20200511132503

032776 Laurence Daniels

5

Laurence managed my expectations and then exceeded them,he explained every part of my claim and felt I could and did ask for clarification when legal terms used. These he put into layman's terms. I would recommend that if you have an injury claim he is your man.



Solicitor named in this review: Laurence Daniels

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 3 weeks ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 05, 2020 20200505094735

Terrible experience

1

Used Coles solicitors ( now taken over by RH Legal ) as conveyances for our house purchase. We offered on our proposed new house in early Oct 2019 and eventually completed on the 24/04/2020!!
The delay was due, mainly, to the ineptitude of RH Legal. The issue was that due to Coles being taken over by RH they had not kept up to date with their “housekeeping”. This meant that they were not on the panel of lenders for our mortgage company. We were told repeatedly this would not be an issue and the details, or housekeeping, required by our lender, would all be updated speedily. This never happened. We stuck with RH until we were told by them to switch to another firm of solicitors to manage our new house purchase, as they were unable to complete the necessary checks to ensure that RH were a legitimate firm and our lender could send monies to them at the completion stage of the house purchase.
The delays caused a great deal of stress to my wife and I. I have never been treated like this previously and we have moved house several times previously.
Due to the long delay, our house seller demanded that we increase our original offer price to due house price rises which she missed out on in the 7 months it took to complete. She also lost the purchase of her intended house due to the long delays.
At no time were we told that the housekeeping matters would cause such a delay to the whole process. I gave Coles ( now RH Legal ) the benefit of the doubt on several occasions. In hindsight, if we had have been told to change solicitors earlier, we would have completed early in the new year, which was the preferred date for all parties in the chain.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Vera
Verified Vera Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2020 20200430171045

House Sale, handled by Coles Solicitors (not RH Legal)

2

This was the first time in dealing with a law firm that I have never met the solicitor acting on my behalf.

Most of the delays seemed to be created by the buyer's solicitors, but my solicitor did not seem to respond to their queries as robustly as I would have hoped. I was asked questions to which I thought the answers should have been apparent from the deeds, eg whether the property was landlocked, and about access to a non-existent garage. The overall impression was that the solicitor had perhaps not read all the paperwork.

Also, I was asked the same question twice about a draft indemnity policy.

In the end, what should have been a simple transaction, dealing with a cash buyer, took about twice as long as expected, and caused extra anxiety.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sandra
Sandra Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2020 20200430111714

Will

5

I instructed Hancock Quins for the preparation of my Will. My queries were explained in depth and the advice I received on Inheritance Tax was concise and accurate.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Andrew Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 29, 2020 20200429224555

Shocking!

1

In summary
-Poor service, lack of communication
-GDPR data breach sharing personal information of another client
-Misplaced documents containing bank, insurance, investments which led to miscalculation of estate value and inheritance tax
- Failure to include all investments and bank values in Assets and Liabilities statement
- Failure of the companies internal complaints procedure as outlined in their T&Cs - basically the senior person in the company appointed has not responded despite being chased!
- Miscalculation of inheritance tax due to HMRC
- 8 months down the line - still no application for probate, nor conveyancing concluded
- A senior manger appointed to handle this case has made various promises to send forms, appoint other solicitors, advise etc. Still waiting!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
James Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 14, 2020 20200414122502

Fantastic experience buying and selling

5

Mariette was brilliant throughout the process. Our sale and purchase both went through smoothly. Mariette was thorough with her explanations and requests, and she always clarified things clearly when we had any queries. She was great value for money and always went out of her way for us. We could happily trust Mariette with our sale and purchase.
We definitely recommend Mariette. Thanks again!

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2020 20200401180152

House Sale - Mariette

4

First class service from Mariette under the current conditions that we find ourselves in.
I am used to dealing with MY Solicitor - previously Chris Tunnard - so was initially disheartened to find myself being passed from office to office and person to person. The interdepartmental communication was not good - and I was starting to panic.
However, when I eventually ended up in Mariette's safe hands I didn't need to worry again. She pushed my sale along at an exceptional rate. Nothing sat on her desk for any length of time. She was always very quick in responding to my queries and was always a step in front me.
Many thanks Mariette - your efforts are very much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paul
Verified Paul Added 2 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 03, 2020 20200303122054

Inept Communication

2

I was selling a house in a different location from where I live and wanted to use a local solicitors that had the facilities to do so without travelling. Coles seemed a perfect fit, however the branch that was asked to sell my propoerty would not get in touch or communicate with me throughout the process, I had to initiate contact and most of the informationI received was through the estate agent. I was also told that there was delays in selling my house as their assistant was of sick, sorry not my problem! Did not feel like a valued customer felt like a problem.

There was good news though, if I was to rate my local Coles I would have given them a higher rating as they were courtious and helpful. I went to complain about the branch dealing with the sale my house and the level of attention I got after this was much better.

The scores are solely based on the branch that was local to the property not my local branch.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matthew
Verified Matthew Added 3 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 02, 2020 20200302000000

Housing & Property

5

Matthew recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

aff
aff Added 5 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
December 16, 2019
Collected on
20191216090012

aff

2

Never call you back when they are supposed to you always have to chase them up

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kingly Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 16 December, 2019

I have spoken with our Solicitor and unfortunately we are unable to speak with you as you are not our client and another firm of Solicitors is acting on your behalf.

Catherine
Catherine Added 7 months ago Report to admin
October 31, 2019
Collected on
20191031154447

Catherine

5

Professional services

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kingly Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 05 November, 2019

Thank you for your kind words Catherine. Coles Solicitors

Andrew
Andrew Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019
Collected on
20190806172112

Andrew

5

Excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kingly Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 13 August, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Andrew. We look forward to working with you again. Coles Solicitors

Linda
Linda Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 13, 2019
Collected on
20190313161158

Linda

5

Excellent service so quick and so reasonable and very helpful and curtious

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kingly Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you Linda for your review. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Aleks
Aleks Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 22, 2019
Collected on
20190222154549

Aleks

5

Good solicitors highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kingly Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 25 February, 2019

Thanks Aleks.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Criminal Damage
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Drugs offences
  • Tribunal Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Professional Discipline
  • Property Disputes
  • Ancestry visas
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Family Based Visas
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Assault
  • Professional Negligence
  • Injunctions
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Housing Associations
  • Employment Contracts
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Theft
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Litigation Law
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Re-entry bans
  • Trusts
  • Immigration Law
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Civil partnerships
  • Repossessions
  • Child Law
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Wills
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Children
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Leasehold properties
  • Transfer of title
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Redundancy
  • UK ancestry
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Human Rights
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Against The Council
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Collaborative Law
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Trusts
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Deportation appeals
  • Business Crime
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • UK Employment Laws
  • TUPE
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Citizenship
  • Child contact
  • Travel rights
  • Partner and family visas
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Housing Management
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Children Act proceedings
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Senior Executives
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Professional Conduct
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Stress at Work
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Family law
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Visas
  • Pension Law
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Flexible Working
  • Consumer Rights
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Transfers of equity
  • Part Time Workers
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Financial Matters
  • Lease Extensions
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Buying at auction
  • Injunctions
  • Probate
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Pension and property advice
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Social Services
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Remortgaging
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Housing disputes
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Family Mediation
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Separation Agreement
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000