Coles Solicitors

01423 307 777

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.3/5 299 Customer Reviews 299
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

299 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    216
  • Very Good
    28
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    38

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Paul
Paul Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 09, 2019 20190809185103

Extremely helpful

5

Made the process stress free with proactive engagement to keep us informed at each stage. As well as provided helpful assurance through response to any questions we had and in a timely manner. Very professional.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 13 August, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Paul. I'll be sure to pass this on to Kelly. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Eyad
Eyad Added 2 months ago Report to admin
August 09, 2019 20190809143851

Great service on our recent house purchase

5

We have used Coles to help with our recent new house purchase. Our situation was slightly more difficult than usual as we were purchasing a house while being an expat leaving outside the UK.
Coles were very patient and responsive to our frequent questions and inquiries.
Very reliable and professional. Would definitely use them again and would recommend them anytime.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 13 August, 2019

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. Good luck in your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 3 months ago Report to admin
July 06, 2019 20190706054449

Excellent customer experience - house buying

5

Mariette was so efficient and responsive from when she took over the management and control of my very challenging and protracted ( none of which was due to Mariette ) buying process. She was always contactable via any channel and on hand to answer any questions I had no matter what they were, and there many.

Would definitely use Coles again and would happily recommend them based upon my own great customer experience - great service from friendly and professional people to work and interact with.

Thanks Mariette – your support, help and advice was excellent and very much appreciated.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 08 July, 2019

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad Mariette and Gilly provided an exceptional service to you and we hope you enjoy your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jane
Jane Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 03, 2019 20190703125404

Land Registry Issues

5

I got in touch through the Northallerton office to Mariette Marren who specialises in Land Registry/Title issues, as we needed to resolve and issue concerning a small section of our garden which we thought was on our title deeds and wasn't!! I had a very informative and friendly meeting with Mariette at Northallerton, and she was extremely knowledgeable and reassuring.

Once I had sent copies of the necessary documentation, I could safely leave it in Mariette's hands, and the matter was resolved speedily and the title issued - all within 6 - 8 weeks.

Communications between myself and Mariette were frequent, and I was kept informed of progress throughout. I would highly recommend Mariette for anyone having queries over title/land registry issues - what I thought would be pretty complex turned out to be straightforward, not shrouded in jargon and resolved expidentially.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 08 July, 2019

Thank you very much for your review Jane. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to Mariette. In the meantime if there's anything else we can help with, please don't hesitate to get in touch. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Joanne
Joanne Added 4 months ago Report to admin
June 14, 2019 20190614091314

Review of Coles Solicitors, Harrogate

4

Kelly was dealing with our house sale and purchase and I was impressed with the service from start to finish. Her advice and guidance throughout the whole process was gratefully received and she was incredibly patient and understanding when we were going through some tricky stages of the sale and I was having a meltdown! Would highly recommend Coles to anyone considering using them.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Joanne. I have passed this on to Kelly who is thrilled with your feedback. We wish you all the best in your new home and hope to work with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rachel
Rachel Added 5 months ago Report to admin
May 08, 2019 20190508225639

1 Raines Paddock, Giggleswick

5

Mariette was so efficient from the start to the end of our buying process. She was always on hand to answer any questions I had no matter what they were.

She went the extra miles, we completed in a speedy 6 and a half weeks.

Would definitely use Coles again for any future selling/buying.

Fab service - great people.

Solicitor named in this review: Mariette Marren

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 13 May, 2019

Thank you so much Rachel for such a wonderful review. I have passed your feedback on to Mariette and i'm sure she'll be thrilled. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if there is anything else we can help with. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Raymond
Raymond Added 7 months ago Report to admin
March 16, 2019 20190316073152

Initial contact good

5

Excellent initial advice from Tony Eastwood on organizations to contact before proceeding with legal action and honest review of fees.

Solicitor named in this review: Anthony Eastwood

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 18 March, 2019

Thank you for your review Raymond. Do let us know if there is anything else we can help with. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alexandra
Alexandra Added 9 months ago Report to admin
January 12, 2019 20190112165415

Great Service!

5

From start to finish Coles were very pleasant and effient to deal with. One of the best things was being able to pick up the phone and speak with my contact Kelly who was so patient and and great with timelines. The whole team were always helpful if my main contact was not always available.

We would definitely use them again based on our current experience!

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you for your review Alexandra. I will ensure this feedback is passed on to Kelly and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 22, 2018 20181022122202

When is the extremely complicated less than extremely complicated ?

5

That may appear a contradiction in terms but with a legal holding of hands along the way by Coles solicitors the maze of conveyancing was simplified.

Previously, I had been impressed when, on recommendation, we sold a house through Coles...a straightforward sale.

I therefore returned to them, when, naively, I purchased a property that transpired to have two leaseholds & a freehold.

I could have been a lamb led to the slaughter..I had a quote from an online company but they were so lax in returning my calls & When I got their initial quote I thought I was just buying the freehold.

luckily for me when I contacted Coles in Harrogate, Kelly Buckle-Fleming was on the ground & on the case throughout the highly complicated legalities.

As my husband & I went through the massive paperwork involved, Kelly sat patiently with us & explained everything to me & my husband . We are pretty thick & she managed us perfectly in a straightforward & concise explanatory way .

Coles quote appeared to be competitive & realistic. I shudder to think how easily we could have been led down the online garden path....

Many thanks to Kelly & the super team at Coles . They surpassed our expectations.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 08 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 13, 2018 20180213164038

House sale - 9 Chapel Street, Thirsk, YO7 4SQ

5

Kelly Buckle Fleming and Mariette Marren worked on this transaction and provided a fast, prompt service and an excellent level of feedback. The buyer was pushing for a rapid exchange and completion and in the final few days Mariette was quick to keep the ball rolling with regular emails during each day to resolve issues as soon as they arose. A very professional service.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Steven
Steven Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven
Steven Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven
Steven Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

Anthony
Anthony Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 24, 2019
Collected on
20190924064048

Anthony

1

would not recommend did no work for me and sent me a CCJ very bad

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

As a business we charge for the work we carry out for clients, and where that work is not paid for we rightly pursue the recovery of that money. Once the debt has been settled the CCJ will be marked as satisfied.

Clare
Clare Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 20, 2019
Collected on
20190920103015

Clare

1

Absolutely shocking, I instructed them to act for my fathers estate on 3rd July, they passed to another solicitor without my knowledge and done absolutely nothing, apart from ensure I pay up front. An absolute disgrace, avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

Clare thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback, and where that feedback is negative we carry out an investigation into the issues raised. As a business we are going through some significant changes with a merger and new personnel joining us and this has caused a small number of issues for some clients. I understand the difficulties you have faced and I know that another one of our colleagues is now taking care of your matter for you. I am grateful for your feedback but if I can be of any further assistance to you please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us and ask to speak with me – Peter Gibson Managing Director.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Housing Management
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Pension Law
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • UK ancestry
  • Employment Contracts
  • Pension and property advice
  • Property Disputes
  • Trusts
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Separation Agreement
  • Consumer Rights
  • Assault
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Deportation appeals
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Remortgaging
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Leasehold properties
  • Professional Discipline
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Extending your Lease
  • Children
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • TUPE
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Transfers of equity
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Collaborative Law
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Trusts
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Redundancy
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Partner and family visas
  • Human Rights
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Family law
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Family Mediation
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Transfer of title
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Housing Associations
  • Family Based Visas
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Theft
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Business Crime
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Housing disputes
  • Drugs offences
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Buying at auction
  • Family Leave
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Probate
  • Stress at Work
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Right to Manage
  • Travel rights
  • Flexible Working
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Gardening Leave
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Visas
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Financial Matters
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Social Services
  • Professional Negligence
  • Wills
  • Child Law
  • Child contact
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Injunctions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Senior Executives
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Repossessions
  • Professional Conduct
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Re-entry bans
  • Injunctions
  • Immigration Law
  • Civil partnerships
  • Citizenship
  • Litigation Law
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Against The Council
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Criminal Damage
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Ancestry visas
  • Lease Extensions
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000