• Century House
  • DL6 2XQ
  • 01609 780717
  • www.coles-law.co.uk

Coles Solicitors Limited

01609 780717

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.

4.3/5 279 Customer Reviews 279
Recommended by
313 Verified Clients
like Geoff and Linda
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

279 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    204
  • Very Good
    30
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    28

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Susan
Verified Susan Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 11, 2019 20190311165438

Family law

5

We dealt with Emma Harbron and she was a pleasure to deal with.she told me from the start what our chances were, she was upfront about costs, everything was explained to us from start to finish,she was straight forward,efficient, and very easy to understand.the whole process was as easy to deal with as anything can be the whole company from the first phone call to the final bill was first class thank you Emma x

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 March, 2019

Many thanks for your feedback Susan. I have passed this on to Emma and I'm sure she'll be delighted. Please do keep us in mind should you need a Solicitor in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 8 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
October 18, 2018 20181018160221

Never again

1

Appalling level of service.
I rang them 11 times on the day of exchange. They had gone home without exchanging and without telling me we weren't going to exchange that day.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jamie
Verified Jamie Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 26, 2018 20180926115112

Would not recommend

1

I found our solicitor very unprofessional and very off hand with me at times, I didn't feel like I was a paying client! Emails were blunt and I constantly had to chase for explanations. No communication between the solicitor and assistants either. Certainly won't be recommending to anyone I know and would not use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 24, 2018 20180924165504

House Purchase

1

Please see below which gives more detail of our review. You have asked for our honest opinion but we have given up on taking this forward as we did not believe that anything would happen unless a third party was involved.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lezline
Lezline Added 10 months ago Report to admin
August 14, 2018 20180814120859

On Going

3

Coles represented me at the beginning of an Employment Tribunal via my insurance. The process was a tedious process as the communication between Coles and the insurance company wasn't the best and delays were causing problems as directed emails from the respondent's Solicitor were instructed from Coles, they couldn't help until the insurance authorised they would pay the bill. Eventually, the Insurance company agreed to pay an interim Fee of £2,000 and if I had a 51% chance of winning would pay all legal cost. The Barrister Coles use concluded I only had 49%, so the Insurance refused to pay out. I then proceeded with the hearing without legal representation but withdrew as the Judge felt that my claim was not an employment issue but a County court and said I had a case with being exploited and if heard I had a reasonable chance of winning. I later went back to Coles for assistance to pursue in County Court and was referred to use another firm of Solicitors. The case is Still ongoing and I am representing myself.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

Thank you for your review. The circumstances here are that the legal proceedings had already been commenced before we were instructed, and the requirement for Counsels opinion was made by your insurers who then withdrew funding for your case. In all of the circumstances, having spoken with the Solicitor handling this matter before responding we did all that we could for you. Unfortunately sometimes the merits of a case are not great and despite our best efforts we don't achieve the results people desire - that is the risk of litigation. We wish you the very best of luck for the further pursuit of your case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alison
Alison Added 1 year ago Report to admin
April 04, 2018 20180404113614

Land sale

5

What a fantastic service . All aspects were clearly explained and the sale of our land was completed thouroughly and efficiently . We were kept well up to date through the whole process .
We are now in the process of making our wills and would never consider using any other solicitors but Coles . Thank you team Coles .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bernadette
Bernadette Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 13, 2018 20180213095213

Excellent service

5

I would just like to say what an excellent service Coles Solicitors provided when I was buying my house, as well as selling my property last year. Andrew Haigh and Gilly French were both fantastic, supportive and very quick at getting back to me on all matters concerned and I would absolutely recommend them to anyone who is looking for a solicitor. They are also not too expensive, which is always good. I will definitely be using them again in the future if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

June
June Added 1 year ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
January 13, 2018 20180113171820

Not impressed

3

Having just had my Will re-written, I wouldn't use Coles again. Although the job has been done, I wasn't made to feel I mattered or was important to them as a client and was unimpressed with the correspondence. After an initial helpful meeting, the Will re-draft was sent quickly but that solicitor (in York) then left and the Head of Wills (Northallerton) took over. I overlooked settling the invoice which came with the draft Will, for which I apologised later having realised what I'd done, but received no reminders to pay either by letter or a quick email until a letter from Alex Spurr arrived which was in very firm terms and included reference to debt recovery. This felt threatening and was unnecessary, as, owing to illness, I had simply overlooked sending a cheque for the fee. He didn't acknowledge receipt of my reply and cheque and there was no apology when I pointed out that their attitude was not welcome.

Through a couple of re-drafts and alterations, there were mistakes in the Will and I had no confirmation about my queries, merely a re-drafted document. So no relationship was built up and this is not what I expect from a service which is supposed to be professional - and says on its envelopes that "It's all about you" !

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you din't feel valued as a client. We send drafts of all Wills to clients to approve and to check family names and addresses and make those changes ready for your appointment just as we did for you. I am sorry that you felt chased for payment, but is important that we as a business are paid for the services we provide. A quick call to let us know you were poorly would have helped us.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
December 11, 2017 20171211211537

Wouldn't recommend to anyone

1

Moved into our first home a month ago now, three weeks after we moved we finally received our paperwork and a letter saying we would get an email to review the service which we have never received which is convenient and unfortunately very similar to out experience with your company.

Firstly throughout the process we had three solicitors which was not helpful as communication between the next professional was clearly not insinc with what we had and hadn't already done. Unfortunately the first solicitor went on sick for personal reasons then the second solicitor was a locum who I must admit was fantastic at his job 'Andrew White' if we had had him throughout the process I feel it would have been a lot less stressful as he always returned calls and let us know what was happening which unfortunately didn't happen with other professionals. We had to ring them daily right up until we moved as they wouldn't return calls they'd missed and didn't fill us with much confidence that much was happening, brushing it off with "its all going through". We never even spoke to the third solicitor and had to go through her assistant for everything.

Secondly if you are going to suggest clients use an online service to check process I suggest you update this regularly or not have it at all as it is stressful when nothing seems to have been completed even if it has.

The day before we were due to move we got an email saying that one of the searches wasn't satisfactory even though I had spoken to them at 15:00 thst day and they said everything was good to go ahead the next day. The email was sent at 17:05 this meant I couldn't reply as technically closed at 17:00 leaving us stressed all night wondering whether we would be moving the next day or not. We rang them 9am the next day when they opened and managed to resolve this, they told us they would ring to say if everything had gone through. Two hours later we rang as we hadn't heard anything she told us the money would get transferred soon. They could of let us know we were so worried about the situation and the people moving out were waiting to leave. The search was done on 11th October and this was 2nd November and they had only just realised the search needed to be done again and needed explanation the night before we were due to move absolutely disgraceful should have been seen weeks before the move.

Where do I begin with the paperwork so unprofessional! Spelling mistakes and arrows to add text into it even in the contract. My partner rang to ask where the paperwork was eg contract and paperwork to sign which they said they'd sent in the post. We rang a couple of days later to be told they weren't sent and we would receive an email with the documents needed. We had to print these off ourselves and sign. The contract was a shambles, writing all over it and corrections made in pen but we had no choice but to sign or not move into our house on the moving day which was fast approaching by now. We feel it was unprofessional that we didn't get invited in by the solicitor to sign the document in front of a legal representative who could give us help if needed. I would use a solicitor who deals with their customers face to face in the future, we felt very in the dark.

We are still disappointed that we still paid full price for this service as it wasn't a pleasant experience at all.

Will not be using you again or recommending to anyone.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

Rebecca, thank you for taking the time to review our service. Conveyancing transactions can be very fraught, particularly as completion is approached. it is often the case that to save time of having contracts re-issued handwritten amendments are made and this is common practice. The movement of money on the day of completion depends on a number of people, the bank, the mortgage lender, the other solicitors in a chain and whilst we always do our best to update people as the day progresses we are not solely in control of the movement of the money on the day. We do provide very helpful guide to moving house which is we direct every new client to which outlines the steps we take. I am pleased that we have successfully completed your transaction and you are now settled in your new home

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 08, 2017 20170908181229

Re mortgage

5

I dealt with Andrew Haigh throughout my remortgage application. Thoroughly professional and kept me informed at every step of the way and was always very quick to respond to any questions I may have had. Thank you

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 11 September, 2017

Thank you Andrew for taking the time to review Andrew Haigh's service to you and experienced great customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Linda
Linda Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 15, 2019
Collected on
20190515074026

Linda Day

4

Lovely friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you for your review Linda. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

geoff
geoff Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 04, 2019
Collected on
20190404195500

geoff ARCHER

5

Have worked with Coles both professionally and personally, great staff and great communication

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 08 April, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback Geoff. We look forward to working with you again. Coles Solicitors

Mandy
Mandy Added 5 months ago Report to admin
January 10, 2019
Collected on
20190110082732

Mandy Hambly

5

Excellent service and advise from Michael Menzies--Baird on a work related issue. Thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post a review Mandy. I will ensure your feedback in passed on to Michael and we look forward to working with you again. Coles Solicitors

Nick
Nick Added 6 months ago Report to admin
December 09, 2018
Collected on
20181209175339

Nick Moore

4

Lindsey (and her assistant Annabel) were very helpful and kept me informed for most of the process. My only criticism is that it took a little while before I was able to actually have a direct conversation with my assigned solicitor at the beginning of the process which was a little frustrating. But overall I had a very good experience with them and they did a professional job. I would certainly recommend them to others going through the buying process. (It was the estate agents who were the fly in the ointment and how they still have a use in this day and age is beyond me) - Good luck to anyone buying! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Nick. I will ensure this is passed on to Lindsey and Annabel. It's important to us to have constructive feedback so we can work on areas to improve but we are glad the overall service satisfied your expectations. Coles Solicitors

David
David Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 06, 2017
Collected on
20170906142133

David Stokell

5

Good friendly crowd

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 05 April, 2018

Thank you David for your kind words. We do try to make people feel at ease as we appreciate that visiting us are often worried. A smile and a cup of tea goes a long way to helping things.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.


Legal Services
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Stress at Work
  • Medical Negligence
  • Transfer of title
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Lease Extensions
  • Benefits
  • Probate
  • Tax
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Part Time Workers
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Children
  • Financial Matters
  • Housing
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Social Services
  • Flexible Working
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Travel - Holiday Sickness
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Child Law
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Travel - Trip cancellation
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Senior Executives
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Planning
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • TUPE
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Pension and property advice
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Trusts
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Mental Health
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
  • Separation Agreement
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Trusts
  • Family Mediation
  • Travel - Airlines going out of business
  • Housing disputes
  • Child contact
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Wills
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Leasehold properties
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Gardening Leave
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Consumer Rights
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Redundancy
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Professional Negligence
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Housing Associations
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Travel rights
  • Right to Manage
  • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Dental Negligence
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Family law
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Transfers of equity
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Civil partnerships
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Personal Injury Law
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Separation
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Against The Council
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Pension Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Injunctions
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Intellectual Property
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Planning law
  • Developer disputes
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Domain Names
  • Credit Control
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Mediation
  • Charities
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Corporate Law
  • Copyright
  • Purchase of development land
  • Equestrian property
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Statutory Demands
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Development plot sales
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Licensing
  • Rights of way issues
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Agency agreements
  • Employment - business
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Health and Safety
  • Patents
  • Commercial Law
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Asset Tracing
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Tax
  • Setting up a business
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Share option schemes
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Farming disputes
  • Franchising
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Data Protection
  • GDPR
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Summary Judgment
  • Finance
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Commercial Leases
  • Management buyouts
  • Competition law
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Environmental policy law
  • Corporate finance

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000