• Century House
  • DL6 2XQ
  • 01609 780717
  • www.coles-law.co.uk

Coles Solicitors Limited

01609 780717

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 9 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.

4.5/5 190 Customer Reviews 190
Recommended by
228 Verified Clients
like Alison and Bernadette
190 Customer Reviews

4.5/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    138
  • Very Good
    20
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    9
  • Awful
    19
Anonymous
Click to rate
Alison
Alison Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 04, 2018 20180404113614

Land sale

5

What a fantastic service . All aspects were clearly explained and the sale of our land was completed thouroughly and efficiently . We were kept well up to date through the whole process .
We are now in the process of making our wills and would never consider using any other solicitors but Coles . Thank you team Coles .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bernadette
Bernadette Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 13, 2018 20180213095213

Excellent service

5

I would just like to say what an excellent service Coles Solicitors provided when I was buying my house, as well as selling my property last year. Andrew Haigh and Gilly French were both fantastic, supportive and very quick at getting back to me on all matters concerned and I would absolutely recommend them to anyone who is looking for a solicitor. They are also not too expensive, which is always good. I will definitely be using them again in the future if needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

June
June Added 4 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
January 13, 2018 20180113171820

Not impressed

3

Having just had my Will re-written, I wouldn't use Coles again. Although the job has been done, I wasn't made to feel I mattered or was important to them as a client and was unimpressed with the correspondence. After an initial helpful meeting, the Will re-draft was sent quickly but that solicitor (in York) then left and the Head of Wills (Northallerton) took over. I overlooked settling the invoice which came with the draft Will, for which I apologised later having realised what I'd done, but received no reminders to pay either by letter or a quick email until a letter from Alex Spurr arrived which was in very firm terms and included reference to debt recovery. This felt threatening and was unnecessary, as, owing to illness, I had simply overlooked sending a cheque for the fee. He didn't acknowledge receipt of my reply and cheque and there was no apology when I pointed out that their attitude was not welcome.

Through a couple of re-drafts and alterations, there were mistakes in the Will and I had no confirmation about my queries, merely a re-drafted document. So no relationship was built up and this is not what I expect from a service which is supposed to be professional - and says on its envelopes that "It's all about you" !

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 11, 2017 20171211211537

Wouldn't recommend to anyone

1

Moved into our first home a month ago now, three weeks after we moved we finally received our paperwork and a letter saying we would get an email to review the service which we have never received which is convenient and unfortunately very similar to out experience with your company.

Firstly throughout the process we had three solicitors which was not helpful as communication between the next professional was clearly not insinc with what we had and hadn't already done. Unfortunately the first solicitor went on sick for personal reasons then the second solicitor was a locum who I must admit was fantastic at his job 'Andrew White' if we had had him throughout the process I feel it would have been a lot less stressful as he always returned calls and let us know what was happening which unfortunately didn't happen with other professionals. We had to ring them daily right up until we moved as they wouldn't return calls they'd missed and didn't fill us with much confidence that much was happening, brushing it off with "its all going through". We never even spoke to the third solicitor and had to go through her assistant for everything.

Secondly if you are going to suggest clients use an online service to check process I suggest you update this regularly or not have it at all as it is stressful when nothing seems to have been completed even if it has.

The day before we were due to move we got an email saying that one of the searches wasn't satisfactory even though I had spoken to them at 15:00 thst day and they said everything was good to go ahead the next day. The email was sent at 17:05 this meant I couldn't reply as technically closed at 17:00 leaving us stressed all night wondering whether we would be moving the next day or not. We rang them 9am the next day when they opened and managed to resolve this, they told us they would ring to say if everything had gone through. Two hours later we rang as we hadn't heard anything she told us the money would get transferred soon. They could of let us know we were so worried about the situation and the people moving out were waiting to leave. The search was done on 11th October and this was 2nd November and they had only just realised the search needed to be done again and needed explanation the night before we were due to move absolutely disgraceful should have been seen weeks before the move.

Where do I begin with the paperwork so unprofessional! Spelling mistakes and arrows to add text into it even in the contract. My partner rang to ask where the paperwork was eg contract and paperwork to sign which they said they'd sent in the post. We rang a couple of days later to be told they weren't sent and we would receive an email with the documents needed. We had to print these off ourselves and sign. The contract was a shambles, writing all over it and corrections made in pen but we had no choice but to sign or not move into our house on the moving day which was fast approaching by now. We feel it was unprofessional that we didn't get invited in by the solicitor to sign the document in front of a legal representative who could give us help if needed. I would use a solicitor who deals with their customers face to face in the future, we felt very in the dark.

We are still disappointed that we still paid full price for this service as it wasn't a pleasant experience at all.

Will not be using you again or recommending to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 08, 2017 20170908181229

Re mortgage

5

I dealt with Andrew Haigh throughout my remortgage application. Thoroughly professional and kept me informed at every step of the way and was always very quick to respond to any questions I may have had. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 11 September, 2017

Thank you Andrew for taking the time to review Andrew Haigh's service to you and experienced great customer service.

David
Verified David Added 9 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
August 02, 2017 20170802150232

Use someone else

1

If my recent experience of Coles' conveyancing team is anything to go by, I would recommend you use someone else.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 10 August, 2017

Dear David, I would be grateful if you are able to let me have a matter number for your dealings with our firm so that I can Identify you and contact you to discuss your concerns.

Nathan
Nathan Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 21, 2017 20170721124243

Conveyancing

5

Completed House sale today, very impressed with the service, communication, value & speed. No issues, always kept up to date.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 10 August, 2017

Dear Nathan, Thank you for reviewing our service and if we can assist you in the future then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Alan
Alan Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 01, 2017 20170501131400

Great Service

5

Louise Simpson was our advisor in preparation of Powers of attorney for myself and my wife. I can not speak too highly of her advice, attention to detail and efficient preparation of the documentation. We had utmost confidence in her and could definitely recommend her for any future requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 15 May, 2017

Dear Alan, Thank you for taking the time to feedback on the service you have received by Louise and we shall certainly advise her of your positive comments.

Jon
Jon Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 14, 2017 20170214141836

Coles achieved my goals!

5

I had taken my employers too court because they fired me due to perssistent sickness. I took them to court with Coles and with their knowledge and power we won!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Verified Stephen Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 01, 2017 20170201151617

House sale and purchase

5

The whole experience was made very easy by Joanne and Steve who kept us fully informed throughout the whole process of selling our Guisborough property and buying our Whetstone property.

The only problems encountered seemed to be caused by the estate agent/conveyancing solicitor of the house we were buying in Leicestershire. Whether this was because the seller was using an on-line system I cannot say but we had no problems fom our end.

We also sold my late fathers house using Coles and experienced no problems with this sale either.

Overall I would use Coles again if I needed to buy or sell property.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 06 February, 2017

Dear Stephen. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on our service. We take our client service very seriously and where possible, try to make the upheaval of moving home as pain free as possible. We look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Solicitors who work at Coles Solicitors Limited

  • Peter Gibson

    Peter grew up in Saltburn by the Sea and studied law at The University of Newcastle upon Tyne. Following University, Peter returned to Teesside where he was employed for a period by Iron Trades Insurance. He moved to York in 1998 to take up a position as a trainee Solicitor with Corries Solicitors, whilst studying for his legal practice Course at the College of Law in York from which he qualified in 2001. Peter’s early legal career focused on personal injury litigation for both defendant insurers and for claimants with a particular emphasis on high value and catastrophic personal injuries. Peter also gained experience of management , from supervising teams of other solicitors.

  • Alex Spurr

    Alex joined Coles in 2013 having previously heading the Wills, Probate and Trust department for Donnelly McArdle Adamson in Darlington and Teesside. Alex gained his legal education at the College of Law in York before qualifying as a solicitor in 2005 with Hewitts Solicitors in the Durham dales. As a member of the respected Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP) and the Law Society's Private Client Section he is a specialist advisor in these areas, including succession and inheritance tax planning for individuals, business and agricultural clients. Alex has a wealth of experience in private client work and can advise you on preparing Wills and Lasting Powers of Attorney, dealing with the Court of Protection, trusts, inheritance tax planning, and estate administration (Probate.)

  • Kelly Buckle-Fleming

    Kelly joined Coles in the Autumn of 2013 from Dixon Law in Leeds and heads the Coles Conveyancing Team. She overviewes property related legal work for all of the Coles offices. Kelly brings a wealth of experience in both the residential and commercial property sectors having worked for law firms in London, Leeds and Harrogate. She is a graduate from The University of Hertfordshire.

  • Elizabeth Matfin

    Elizabeth qualified as a Solicitor in 2003 after gaining an Honours Degree in Law & Accountancy and completing her Legal Practice Course with commendation at the College of Law in York. She spent 7 years at Wood Sherwood in Pocklington where she was a partner specialising in family law and civil litigation before moving to the family department at Hethertons in York. Elizabeth is experienced in all aspects of family work including pre-nuptial agreements, separation, divorce and civil partnership dissolution together with children issues and domestic violence. Being of mixed race, she has a particular interest in cases with a cross-cultural element.

  • Emma Ladd

    Emma joined Coles Solicitors in January 2017 having previously worked for three leading legal 500 firms in Sussex and Berkshire specialising in the sale and purchase of shares and business assets, corporate and business restructuring and corporate governance. Emma qualified as a solicitor in 2002 with a distinction at the London Metropolitan University after gaining a second class honours degree which she completed at the University of East Anglia. In 2007, Emma graduated at the University of Cambridge Institute of Continuing Education with a postgraduate diploma in Notarial Practice. This means that she can offer additional services to our commercial clients who have requirements overseas. Emma is based in our York office and heads up our already successful commercial department and highly experienced team where she is able to advise on every aspect of commercial law.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from ten offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals.


Practice Area

We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.


Legal Services
  • Travel
  • Repossessions
  • Divorce & Separation
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Renting & Tenancy Agreements
  • Litigation
  • Personal Injury
  • Purchase & Sale
  • Employment - General
  • Media & Sports
  • Remortgages
  • Debt & Bankruptcy
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Children
  • Family Mediation
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
  • Wills & Probate
  • Purchase & Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Debt Recovery
  • Business Affairs
  • Insolvency & Bankruptcy
  • Intellectual Property
  • Employment

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000
Accreditations


accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation