Coles Solicitors

01729 823 589

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.3/5 299 Customer Reviews 299
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

299 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    216
  • Very Good
    28
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    38

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Pete
Verified Pete Added 9 months ago Report to admin
January 25, 2019 20190125145950

Great service

5

Easy and quick to deal with, very happy, would use again.

Solicitor named in this review: Mark Harrison Cannon

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gary
Verified Gary Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 02, 2018 20181002162639

House sale

1

Really poor service, left in the dark over the sale of the house. Meanwhile they have kept my money for as long as they can. Apparently someone is driving from Northallerton with my cheque. We shall see.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 11, 2018 20180711160340

Good service, well priced

5

I was really pleased with the service I received from Coles, they were very well priced compared to my local solicitor's but the quality of the work was no less - shows the North-South divide! No problems selling my house remotely through them, communication was good throughout anda smooth sale. Would definitely use again.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

They say its grim up north, but we know different and you do too now. Thanks for your positive feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stevie
Verified Stevie Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 18, 2018 20180618183728

House Sale

4

Very good outfit and very friendly, only a little disappointing when the completion date moved and no one rang me - I had to fish this info out myself.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that you had a little difficulty with the information on the completion date. Please do get in touch with us and we will be happy to investigate this a further for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Keith
Keith Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
May 02, 2018 20180502102225

Promise much, deliver the bare minimum.

1

Of the face of it they appear very slick and professional but look a little deeper and it's nothing but a facade. They throw standard, form letters out at you without thought.
I was given a dedicated solicitor to handle a house purchase with the promise they'd be my sole point of contact. After that initial form letter I never heard from that person again.
There was a problem post-sale, they weren't interested.

They'll promise lots of things in their initial standard, form letters (which contain loads of mistakes - how amateurish) the reality is you get a very poor robotic service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Verified Anthony Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 01, 2018 20180201050314

Support

5

Kelly Buckle Fleming was quick , precise and supportive during the process off both selling and buying a apartment. Her written and verbal were clear and jargon free.

Solicitor named in this review: Kelly Anne Buckle-Fleming

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracy
Verified Tracy Added 1 year ago Report to admin
December 23, 2017 20171223091955

great service

5

Coles responded very well with our request to remortgage our property after having a problem with another solicitor that was taking too long

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin
Martin Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 12, 2017 20170312184746

Excellent service by Coles Solicitors (Settle).

5

I have to commend Coles Settle Office for their service. I recently had some family business to attend to and was put in contact with Jessica Dodds. Communication and advice received throughout was clear, straightforward, prompt while at all times being courteous and respectful. It was a pleasure to deal with such a professional individual at a difficult personal time.

Solicitor named in this review: Jessica Dodds

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 13 March, 2017

Good Morning Martin, Thank you for your feedback and I have just spoken to Jessica and passed on your kind words. I am sorry to hear about your family circumstances and as head of the Wills & Probate team here at Coles, I am reassured that the service you received was sympathetic, professional and most importantly caring. Alex Spurr

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 2 years ago Report to admin
February 14, 2017 20170214141836

Brilliant and Strategic

5

I approached these solicitors and from the very start they were strategic in their plans for my case. I found them to be highly experienced and everything went to plan so definetly no complaints there!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sean
Verified Sean Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 13, 2017 20170113185213

House purchase

5

The solicitor and her team were excellent and provided a service second to none. Cannot recommend enough!!

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 17 January, 2017

Good afternoon Sean. thank you very much for taking the time to review our services and I will certainly ensure we pass your praise onto our Conveyancing team. I hope that you have many happy times in your new property!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Graham
Graham Added 3 years ago Report to admin
November 29, 2015
Collected on
20151129002839

Graham Shults

3

Don't expect anything to be done with any urgency

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 05 April, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry if we haven’t met your expectations of how long your matter would take. We are often in the hands of other firms and other people but we are always working hard to improve on our service.

Steven
Steven Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven
Steven Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

Steven
Steven Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 26, 2019
Collected on
20190926112152

Steven

5

Very professional would recomend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 30 September, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Steven. Please be sure to recommend us to your family and friends.

Anthony
Anthony Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
September 24, 2019
Collected on
20190924064048

Anthony

1

would not recommend did no work for me and sent me a CCJ very bad

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 24 September, 2019

As a business we charge for the work we carry out for clients, and where that work is not paid for we rightly pursue the recovery of that money. Once the debt has been settled the CCJ will be marked as satisfied.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Trusts
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Deportation appeals
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Repossessions
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Gardening Leave
  • Transfer of title
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Senior Executives
  • Transfers of equity
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Criminal defence - All
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Injunctions
  • Employment Contracts
  • Housing Associations
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • UK ancestry
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Consumer Disputes
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Family Leave
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Professional Conduct
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Human Rights
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Against The Council
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Remortgaging
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Professional Discipline
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Ancestry visas
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Buying at auction
  • Housing disputes
  • Business Crime
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Separation Agreement
  • Child contact
  • Collaborative Law
  • Leasehold properties
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Part Time Workers
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Probate
  • Wills
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Injunctions
  • Children
  • Family Based Visas
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Right to Manage
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Redundancy
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Property Disputes
  • Theft
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Criminal Damage
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Flexible Working
  • Family Mediation
  • Consumer Rights
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Pension Law
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Re-entry bans
  • TUPE
  • Child Law
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Litigation Law
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Professional Negligence
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Family law
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Pension and property advice
  • Stress at Work
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Assault
  • Housing Management
  • Trusts
  • Extending your Lease
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Civil partnerships
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Visas
  • Citizenship
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Social Services
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Financial Matters
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Partner and family visas
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Immigration Law
  • Drugs offences
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Lease Extensions
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000