Coles Solicitors Limited

01729 823589

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.

4.3/5 274 Customer Reviews 274
Recommended by
308 Verified Clients
like Anonymous and Pete
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

274 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    200
  • Very Good
    29
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    28

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Pete
Verified Pete Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 25, 2019 20190125145950

Great service

5

Easy and quick to deal with, very happy, would use again.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gary
Verified Gary Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 02, 2018 20181002162639

House sale

1

Really poor service, left in the dark over the sale of the house. Meanwhile they have kept my money for as long as they can. Apparently someone is driving from Northallerton with my cheque. We shall see.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 10 months ago Report to admin
July 11, 2018 20180711160340

Good service, well priced

5

I was really pleased with the service I received from Coles, they were very well priced compared to my local solicitor's but the quality of the work was no less - shows the North-South divide! No problems selling my house remotely through them, communication was good throughout anda smooth sale. Would definitely use again.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

They say its grim up north, but we know different and you do too now. Thanks for your positive feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stevie
Verified Stevie Added 11 months ago Report to admin
June 18, 2018 20180618183728

House Sale

4

Very good outfit and very friendly, only a little disappointing when the completion date moved and no one rang me - I had to fish this info out myself.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that you had a little difficulty with the information on the completion date. Please do get in touch with us and we will be happy to investigate this a further for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Keith
Keith Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
May 02, 2018 20180502102225

Promise much, deliver the bare minimum.

1

Of the face of it they appear very slick and professional but look a little deeper and it's nothing but a facade. They throw standard, form letters out at you without thought.
I was given a dedicated solicitor to handle a house purchase with the promise they'd be my sole point of contact. After that initial form letter I never heard from that person again.
There was a problem post-sale, they weren't interested.

They'll promise lots of things in their initial standard, form letters (which contain loads of mistakes - how amateurish) the reality is you get a very poor robotic service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anthony
Verified Anthony Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 01, 2018 20180201050314

Support

5

Kelly Buckle Fleming was quick , precise and supportive during the process off both selling and buying a apartment. Her written and verbal were clear and jargon free.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tracy
Verified Tracy Added 1 year ago Report to admin
December 23, 2017 20171223091955

great service

5

Coles responded very well with our request to remortgage our property after having a problem with another solicitor that was taking too long

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Martin
Martin Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
March 12, 2017 20170312184746

Excellent service by Coles Solicitors (Settle).

5

I have to commend Coles Settle Office for their service. I recently had some family business to attend to and was put in contact with Jessica Dodds. Communication and advice received throughout was clear, straightforward, prompt while at all times being courteous and respectful. It was a pleasure to deal with such a professional individual at a difficult personal time.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 13 March, 2017

Good Morning Martin, Thank you for your feedback and I have just spoken to Jessica and passed on your kind words. I am sorry to hear about your family circumstances and as head of the Wills & Probate team here at Coles, I am reassured that the service you received was sympathetic, professional and most importantly caring. Alex Spurr

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Chris Added 2 years ago Report to admin
February 14, 2017 20170214141836

Brilliant and Strategic

5

I approached these solicitors and from the very start they were strategic in their plans for my case. I found them to be highly experienced and everything went to plan so definetly no complaints there!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sean
Verified Sean Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 13, 2017 20170113185213

House purchase

5

The solicitor and her team were excellent and provided a service second to none. Cannot recommend enough!!

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 17 January, 2017

Good afternoon Sean. thank you very much for taking the time to review our services and I will certainly ensure we pass your praise onto our Conveyancing team. I hope that you have many happy times in your new property!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Graham
Graham Added 3 years ago Report to admin
November 29, 2015
Collected on
20151129002839

Graham Shults

3

Don't expect anything to be done with any urgency

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 05 April, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry if we haven’t met your expectations of how long your matter would take. We are often in the hands of other firms and other people but we are always working hard to improve on our service.

Michael
Michael Added 3 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 21, 2019
Collected on
20190521040152

Michael

5

Excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 21 May, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated. Coles Solicitors

Linda
Linda Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 15, 2019
Collected on
20190515074026

Linda Day

4

Lovely friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tariq
Tariq Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 30, 2019
Collected on
20190430142406

Tariq Majid

4

Good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 30 April, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Tariq.

Annyth
Annyth Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 18, 2019
Collected on
20190418112430

Annyth Perkins

5

Wish i could give more stars! Amazing friendly staff spoke to 'Jill' who was absolutely amazing going above and beyond regarding my inquiry. would highly recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 23 April, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. I will pass this on to Gill who I am sure will be thrilled. Do let us know if there is anything else we can help with. Coles Solicitors

Solicitors who work at Coles Solicitors Limited

  • Mark Cannon

    Mark brings his experience in Wills, Probate and associated Provate Client maters to our Settle office.

  • Peter Gibson

    Peter grew up in Saltburn by the Sea and studied law at The University of Newcastle upon Tyne. Following University, Peter returned to Teesside where he was employed for a period by Iron Trades Insurance. He moved to York in 1998 to take up a position as a trainee Solicitor with Corries Solicitors, whilst studying for his legal practice Course at the College of Law in York from which he qualified in 2001. Peter’s early legal career focused on personal injury litigation for both defendant insurers and for claimants with a particular emphasis on high value and catastrophic personal injuries. Peter also gained experience of management , from supervising teams of other solicitors.

  • Kelly Buckle-Fleming

    Kelly joined Coles in the Autumn of 2013 from Dixon Law in Leeds and heads the Coles Conveyancing Team. She overviewes property related legal work for all of the Coles offices. Kelly brings a wealth of experience in both the residential and commercial property sectors having worked for law firms in London, Leeds and Harrogate. She is a graduate from The University of Hertfordshire.

  • Emma Huscroft

    Emma qualified as a Solicitor in September 2009 after completing a Law Degree at the University of Teesside and the Legal Practice Course at the College of Law in York. She secured a training contract with Archers Law, moving to Freers Solicitors in Middlesbrough in 2011 before joining the Wills Probate and Trusts Department at Coles in October 2015. Emma specialises in advising clients with regard to Wills, Probate and Estate and Tax Planning. She also has a wealth of experience in Court of Protection matters, including Lasting Powers of Attorney and Deputyship Applications. Emma is a member of Tees Valley Law Society and the Education Committee for the society.

  • Keith Wivell

    Keith is a experienced solicitor specialising in Family law. He is able to advise clients on all family matters including divorce, separation, cohabitation (including agreements), pre and post nuptial agreements, domestic violence, private children proceedings and has particular expertise in financial matters including the drafting of Consent Orders following mutual agreement or financial dispute resolution.

  • Elizabeth Matfin

    Elizabeth qualified as a Solicitor in 2003 after gaining an Honours Degree in Law & Accountancy and completing her Legal Practice Course with commendation at the College of Law in York. She spent 7 years at Wood Sherwood in Pocklington where she was a partner specialising in family law and civil litigation before moving to the family department at Hethertons in York. Elizabeth is experienced in all aspects of family work including pre-nuptial agreements, separation, divorce and civil partnership dissolution together with children issues and domestic violence. Being of mixed race, she has a particular interest in cases with a cross-cultural element.

  • Michael Menzies-Baird

    Michael (also known as Mingus) had a somewhat unconventional start to his career, serving as a Bomb Disposal Engineer in the British Army before retraining as a solicitor and qualified in 2000. Mingus brings a wealth of specialist experience of litigation which includes employment law, professional negligence, boundary and land disputes such as landlord & tenant and rights of way disputes, Personal injury and commercial debt recovery. He has previously held senior positions in York at Harland & Co Solicitors and joined Coles Solicitors as a Consultant in February 2015 after previously running his own legal practice in York known as MMB Law. Away from the office Mingus enjoys his voluntary work with SSAFA (Soldier, Sailer, Airman and Families Association) of which he is the East Yorkshire Branch Chairman and North East Regional Representative.

  • Holly Wray

    Holly has a great experience in residential property undertaking sales, purchases and remortgages in East Yorkshire

  • Laurence Daniels

    Laurence joined Coles at the end of 2013 as a Personal Injury and Clinical Negligence Consultant based at our Thirsk office. Laurence qualified as a Solicitor in January 1994 and has predominantly worked in the personal injury and clinical negligence field since that time. Laurence has gained a wealth of experience within this time and has handled cases ranging from the very large to relatively modest. The largest claim he handled settled for £1.6 m involving a severely brain damaged child. Laurence lives just outside York and he was previously the head of the Personal Injury department for Foster Dean Solicitors based in the North West responsible for 23 other Solicitors and the expansion of that firm before he moved back to York in 2004 to set up his own business which was ultimately purchased by Coles in 2010 becoming the Coles York office. Laurence has now returned to Coles to complete the circle as it were and we are delighted to have Laurence join us. Laurence specialises in a wide range of personal injury claims to include accidents at work, road traffic accidents, slipping and tripping claims, clinical negligence claims, fatal claims and accidents involving animals/livestock.

  • Christine Pick

    Christine is a experienced solicitor specialising in Family law. She is able to advise clients on all family matters including divorce, separation, cohabitation (including agreements), pre and post nuptial agreements, domestic violence, private children proceedings and has particular expertise in financial matters including the drafting of Consent Orders following mutual agreement or financial dispute resolution. Christine is predominantly based in our Market Weighton and Beverley offices.

  • Amy Hook

    Amy qualified as a solicitor in August 2009 after completing a Law Degree at Sunderland University and Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, York. Her legal career commenced with Thorpe & Co Solicitors in Scarborough before joining the Wills and Probate Department of Coles Solicitors in March 2015. Amy specialises in advising clients with regard to Wills, Probate and Tax Planning together with Court of Protection matters including Lasting Powers of Attorney and Deputyship applications.

  • Andrew Haigh

    Andrew brings a wealth of experience to the residential property team at York and Market Weighton having worked for Coles previously at our Harrogate office.

  • Vicky John

    Vicky attended the University of Sunderland and studied Law with Psychology and graduated in 2004. She then attended the College of Law in York to study the Legal Practice Cousre obtaining a commendation. Vicky completed her training contract at Darling and Stephensons in Darlington undertaking civil, family and private client work. She then moved to Place Blair & Hatch at Northallerton to cover a period of maternity leave before securing a permanent position at Askews in their Family Team working in the Middlesbrough and Redcar areas. She then took a 2 year break from work after having a son in 2012, and returned to work in 2014 as a legal assistant at Coles before returning to practising in her current role as a member of the Wills and Probate Department.

  • Shauna Finch

    Shauna qualified as a Solicitor in 1990 and worked for 13 years at Newman & Bond in Barnsley, 10 of them as a partner in the firm. She has previously been a Resolution Accredited Specialist, specialising in child issues and pensions, and a member of the Law Society Children Panel. Since 2006 she has worked as a locum solicitor at various Yorkshire law firms, including Harrowells in York and Bury & Walker in Barnsley, and has also worked as a visiting lecturer at the College of Law in York. Shauna joined Coles as a Consultant in 2010 and is also a part-time Tribunal Judge.

  • Andrew Haigh

    Andrew brings a wealth of experience to the residential property team at York and Market Weighton having worked for Coles previously at our Harrogate office.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.


Legal Services
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Mental Health
  • Flexible Working
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Consumer Rights
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Child contact
  • Right to Manage
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
  • Transfers of equity
  • Benefits
  • Family Mediation
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Collaborative Law
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Stress at Work
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Dental Negligence
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Trusts
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Planning
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Repossessions
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Travel rights
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Travel - Airlines going out of business
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Senior Executives
  • Child Law
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
  • Housing Management
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Property Disputes
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Housing Associations
  • TUPE
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Probate
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Pension and property advice
  • Injunctions
  • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Housing disputes
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Trusts
  • Employment Contracts
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Redundancy
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Litigation Law
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Travel - Trip cancellation
  • Housing
  • Family Leave
  • Gardening Leave
  • Social Services
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Family law
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Part Time Workers
  • MRSA Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Financial Matters
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Leasehold properties
  • Against The Council
  • Injunctions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Professional Negligence
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Lease Extensions
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Separation
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Travel - Holiday Sickness
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Wills
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Tax
  • Transfer of title
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Children
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Purchase of development land
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Commercial Leases
  • Corporate finance
  • Employment - business
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • GDPR
  • Data Protection
  • Developer disputes
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Agency agreements
  • Development plot sales
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Licensing
  • Credit Control
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Tax
  • Summary Judgment
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Intellectual Property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Copyright
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Domain Names
  • Commercial Law
  • Environmental policy law
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Finance
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Franchising
  • Setting up a business
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Corporate Law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Planning law
  • Charities
  • Patents
  • Farming disputes
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Management buyouts
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Rights of way issues
  • Equestrian property
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Health and Safety
  • Share option schemes
  • Competition law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Mediation
  • Asset Tracing

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000