ABR Solicitors Limited

03336009222

ABR solicitors is a niche fraud, crime, regulatory and mental health practice . One of the leading criminal practices in the country.This highly regarded team has a longstanding reputation in all matters connected with criminal law. ABR Solicitors, is ranked in the top four practices nationwide and the top three in the North West.

5.0/5 32 Customer Reviews 32
Recommended by
32 Verified Clients
like Rhiannon and Simon
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How ABR Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of ABR Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that ABR Solicitors Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

32 Customer Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    32
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Rhiannon
Rhiannon Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 07, 2018 20180807073351

First class service

5

From the very first time I called ABR I received nothing but professional and friendly advice. Kieth Allen- what a real asset he is to ABR. ABR truely went above and beyond during our trial, ensuring the best outcome possible. If in doubt of who to represent you do not hestate in contacting ABR. First class service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Simon
Simon Added 10 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 24, 2018 20180124191358

Great

5

Rob Rode has been great in helping me so far, i appreciate it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ryan
Ryan Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 02, 2017 20171002010000

Will use every time

5

Great help, good results, Patricia was excelent in every aspect

Was this review helpful? Yes

Luke
Luke Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 02, 2017 20171002010000

ABR solicitors

5

ABR were brilliant to deal with in regards to my every need and question with my case I had. They got me the best result possible and if I'm ever to get in a situation where legal advice is needed they will be the first people I call

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Emma Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
August 10, 2017 20170810010000

I would recommend you and thank you for everything

5

This is the first time ever needed a solicitor and you were kind considirate and very proffessional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wendy
Wendy Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 28, 2017 20170728010000

Very helpful

5

I found your representative was both proffesional and helpful. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Daniel
Daniel Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 20, 2017 20170720010000

A personal and friendly approach.

5

Reassured me and helped me to remain calm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ryan
Ryan Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 12, 2017 20170712010000

I would strongly recommend Susannah and her firm they are professional and care for the client.

5

I would like to thank Susannah for the hard work throughout my case. She was always in contact with myself or my 3rd party. My instructions were followed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Mark Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 07, 2017 20170707010000

The truth always win

5

Mr Topham is a asset to your practice, his command of the magistrates court. I cannot thank Neil enough for this. On the day the truth won!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jack
Jack Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 12, 2017 20170512010000

Great solicitors

5

I couldn't of asked for better representation. I found the service provided from ABR solicitors to be beyond expectation. Every concern + query I may had was thoroughly explained in detail. Although the different possible outcomes had been explained to me, I don believe the sentance i received which was far less than I was preparing myself for, was down to the details, quality + determination of ABR solicitor to achieve the best outcome. ABR understood my case, followed my instructions + achieved the best possible outcome. I would definetely recommend you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at ABR Solicitors Limited

  • Keith Allen

    Keith is a leading criminal defence solicitor. He is based at our Harrogate office and is part of the criminal defence team. Keith also works out of the Leeds office and he is committed to providing the firm’s clients with the best criminal defence in Harrogate and North Yorkshire as well as across the country. As a criminal defence solicitor he enjoys a national reputation in his defence of offences, historic offences, fraud, , drug conspiracy and all other criminal defence work. He has helped make ABR solicitors one of the top ranked criminal practices in the country according to Chambers and Partners and the Legal 500. Keith joined the firm in 2005 after qualifying as a solicitor in 2004. Appointed as a duty solicitor in 2006 he was a member of the Leeds criminal solicitor duty scheme for several years and is now a member of Harrogate criminal solicitor duty scheme. Keith obtained his Higher Rights of Audience in 2011 and can appear before all types of criminal court.

  • Tony Murphy

    Tony is a nationally known practitioner in criminal law. He has represented numerous clients throughout the country in relation to all aspects of criminal law from motoring to , theft to conspiracy to defraud. Tony is a supervisor of the Law Society’s Duty Solicitor Scheme. Tony started his training contract with David Phillips and Partners in 1991 and by 1995 had become a partner. Over the next 5 years he gained valuable experience representing all manner of cases in the Magistrates Court and he has been Duty Solicitor qualified since 1994. In 2000 he was part of a team that was selected by the Legal Services Commission to pilot the first ever contracted case for serious fraud. It is recognised that all other VHCC / fraud cases now have to follow that model.

  • Anna Moran

    Anna re-joined ABR in February 2016 having originally trained at the firm before qualifying as a solicitor in 2013. She became a member of the criminal defence duty solicitor scheme in 2014. Anna defends people detained at the police station and also acts as solicitor at the Magistrates’, Crown and Youth Court. Having obtained Higher Rights of Audience in 2016 Anna has the necessary skills and expertise to allow her to appear as advocate when defending clients in the Crown Court as well. As a solicitor advocate Anna possess a qualification that few of her peers currently possess and is a recognition of Anna’s particular expertise as an advocate. Anna is a graduate of the University of Leeds (LLB) and the University of Manchester (LLM). She undertook the LPC at the College of Law in Manchester, graduating with Distinction and the Burton Copeland Award for performance in Advanced Criminal Practice. Prior to becoming a solicitor, Anna spent several years defending people as a Crown Court Clerk and Police Station Adviser and over the years has defended a full range of offences from minor theft and motoring offences to gang-related gun crime, serious assault and . Anna therefore has a wide range of experience in particular as a defence solicitor for those accused of offences, historic offences and possession of indecent images.

  • Rob Rode

    Rob is a nationally and internationally recognised specialist criminal defence solicitor. He is an acknowledged specialist fraud (white collar) and regulatory defence solicitor. He is described in one of the leading guides to the profession as “like a terrier that never stops digging”. Rob is a supervisor on the Specialist Fraud Panel set up by the Legal Aid Agency. He is a higher court advocate. He represents individuals and companies in the UK and abroad facing investigation/prosecution under the Bribery Act or multijurisdictional legislation including FCPA. He has experience of dealing with prosecution authorities across a number of jurisdictions. Rob undertakes fraud defence, regulatory defence, white collar defence involving international/cross-jurisdictional issues, defence of tax /VAT fraud, motoring and general criminal matters with (again, according to a leading independent guide) “a certain panache”. He is Criminal Law Lawyer of the Year in England (International Advisory Experts Awards 2017)

  • James Mcaulay

    James joined the firm in 2014. He qualified as a solicitor in 2006 specialising in both mental health law and as a criminal defence solicitor. James became a Mental Health Accreditation Panel Member in 2009 and has been a member of the criminal defence duty solicitor scheme since 2013. James supervises our Mental Health Contract with the Legal Aid Agency. He has also provided external supervision to other suppliers of mental health legal services. As a mental health solicitor based in Leeds James has a built a national reputation for his work in the area and delivers training to a number of hospitals throughout the country on law and practice. He appears before the Mental Health Tribunal on a daily basis. James is one of only a handful of solicitors in the country that have represented detained patients at Rampton, Ashworth and Broadmoor Hospitals. He has as a result a particular specialism in dealing with mental health tribunals where the patient is detained following sentence passed by the criminal court.

  • Susannah Proctor

    Susannah heads up the criminal defence team in our Harrogate and York offices. She is a specialist criminal, business crime and regulatory litigator with a fearsome reputation for fighting for her clients. She has built a considerable reputation for her expertise in criminal defence and as a leading solicitor locally and nationally. She is recognised by the Legal 500. Susannah deals with all areas of criminal defence work, specialising particularly in the defence of offence allegations and all areas of business crime and is available to represent individuals, companies and directors. Susannah has a particular expertise in defending complex fraud matters that will involve lengthy trials due to the nature of the case and the volume of evidence and the subsequent confiscation, POCA proceedings incorporating the restraints and cash forfeiture elements. Susannah’s reputation results in the frequent referral from other legal professionals including direct referrals from a number of QC’s and members of the bar. Most recently she was referred by a QC to act on behalf of another member of the bar. Susannah also defends other professionals including solicitors.

  • Neil Topham

    Neil qualified as a criminal defence solicitor in 2008 after undertaking his training contract with John Holden & Jamieson Fitzpatrick Solicitors. Prior to qualifying as a criminal lawyer he completed his Law degree and Legal Practice Course at DeMontfort University, Leicester. Neil is a qualified member of the police station accreditation scheme as well as the criminal defence duty solicitor scheme in Bradford. He defends people accused of a wide variety of offences both at the police station, Magistrates’ and Crown Court, ranging from defending motoring offences and public order offences, to offences of and . As proceeds of crime act proceedings have become more frequent, Neil has developed a niche in this area representing defendants whom the Crown suggest have benefited from hundreds of thousands of pounds as a result of their criminal conduct. He also deals with enforcement and variation of confiscation orders.

  • Julie Murphy

    Julie qualified as a solicitor in 1993 with a top Liverpool city law firm, having previously attended the University of Hertfordshire and the College of Law in Guildford. Julie is an experienced specialist criminal defence solicitor in Liverpool with a specialism in defending fraud cases, confiscation proceedings and multi handed drugs conspiracies. Julie is also regularly instructed as defence solicitor in VHCC matters. She takes a systematic approach to dealing with complex issues arising out of these matters and has been praised for her dedication and preparatory work by clients and senior barristers. Julie’s reputation in the meticulous preparation of complex criminal defence cases means she often receives referrals from other legal professionals. Julie also deals with all aspects of Crown court work and has dealt with a full range of offences including , conspiracy to import firearms, production of cannabis and .

  • Andrew Stewardson

    Andrew joined the firm in June 2006 as a paralegal having previously attended Leicester University and the College of Law. He commenced his training contract with the firm in September 2008 and qualified in May 2010. Andrew is a specialist criminal defence solicitor with a specialism in defending fraud and confiscation proceedings. Andrew deals with all aspects of criminal defence work. He qualified as a member of the criminal defence duty solicitor scheme in November 2012 and regularly represents clients in police stations and Magistrates’ Courts. Andrew has a particular interest in defending fraud cases and confiscation proceedings and has been the defence solicitor in cases prosecuted by CPS, SOCA, Trading Standards and BIS. Andrew is regularly instructed in the defence of high value confiscation cases and is experienced at dealing with complex issues arising out of such proceedings including criminal lifestyle assumptions, third party ownership, assets held in trusts and hidden assets. Andrew also deals with other applications under the Proceeds of Crime Act such as variation of confiscation orders, enforcement and restraint orders.

About This Branch

Description

ABR solicitors is a niche fraud, crime, regulatory and mental health practice . It has offices in Liverpool, Leeds, Harrogate, Bradford, Huddersfield, Sheffield, Middlesbrough and York. As a firm they are committed to operating in a digitalised Court process. They firmly believe in ensuring that people and companies are properly represented in their case. Every case is different. To do so they always fully assess and challenge evidence. They are committed to fighting for all their clients, both publicly and privately funded. They are available 24/7, acting throughout with: Personality Intellectual ability Honesty and integrity Professionalism. They provide ‘The Best Form of Defence’. ABR Solicitors provides the full range of fraud crime and regulatory services; advising and representing clients throughout investigations and proceedings conducted by the Serious Fraud Office, Crown Prosecution Service, Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs, Financial Conduct Authority, National Crime Agency, Health & Safety Executive, trading standards, Fire Protection and Environment Agency and other regulatory agencies. It also represents professions including doctors, dentists, teachers, nurses, solicitors and other professionals in respect of disciplinary proceedings. The firm undertakes all restraint order and confiscation work. ABR advises companies to ensure their procedures are compliant. The partners are Rob Rode, Tony Murphy, Susannah Proctor an Keith Allen. We are recognised in Chambers and Legal 500 as a leading firm in our fields. The firm has one of the leading mental health practitioners James McAulay leading the mental health team. The team advises clients and represents them at tribunals throughout the country. We also provide training for mental health professionals nationally.


Legal Services
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Tax
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Senior Executives
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Stress at Work
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Human rights
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Fraud
  • Employment Contracts
  • Professional Discipline
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Family Leave
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Redundancy
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Theft
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Professional Conduct
  • Drink driving
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Business Crime
  • Gardening Leave
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Litigation Law
  • Criminal Damage
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • TUPE
  • Flexible Working
  • Assault
  • Mental Health
  • Pension Law
  • Part Time Workers
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Drugs offences
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Health and Safety
  • Employment - business
  • Licensing

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • Closed
  • Closed