Miller Hendry

01764 655151

Miller Hendry is a long established legal and estate agency practice which has been selling properties in the Tayside and Strathearn area for generations. We pride ourselves on providing the high level of service you would expect from one of the largest estate agents in the area combined with the personal touch our clients expect.

4.9/5 155 Customer Reviews 155
Recommended by
153 Verified Clients
like Verified Client

How Miller Hendry compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Miller Hendry on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Miller Hendry offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

155 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    139
  • Very Good
    14
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
November 30, 2018 20181130201501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Simple, fast, service at a good price. Beverley was always one move ahead and charged as estimate. No more!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 10, 2018 20181110201501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

House purchase can be a very stressful process. Mr Johnston's calm, professional approach and attention to detail assured us that we were being supported at each stage of the transaction. Our peace of mind benefitted from this confidence.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 04, 2018 20181104201505

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Friendly, helpful and efficient. I am a MH fan!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 25, 2018 20181025211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

During the buying and selling of the properties we received regular and timely communications and any queries were answered promptly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
October 23, 2018 20181023211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

We have every confidence in David Smart and are always extremely satisfied in the service provided. He is thorough, efficient and very knowledgeable which is all very reassuring.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
October 04, 2018 20181004211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Staff are very friendly and approachable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 months ago Report to admin
September 12, 2018 20180912211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Miller Hendry provided the legal help I needed buying my first home. Everyone was polite and helpful and patiently explained all the steps required to purchase a property. Any questions I had were answered swiftly and I was given a full estimate of the costs for free when I first began looking into the firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 months ago Report to admin
September 06, 2018 20180906211501

Satisfied

5

Very helpful and easy to deal with. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 months ago Report to admin
August 19, 2018 20180819211502

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Both D MacLeod and C Goldwyre have been excellent professional people to deal with. Claire has been a lovely, kind person throughout our many conversations.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 5 months ago Report to admin
June 22, 2018 20180622211501

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

We were very satisfied, along with information we were given along the way, with phone calls to update us.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Miller Hendry

  • Julie Darroch

    Julie is an Associate Solicitor based in our Crieff office, specialising in all aspects of residential property work. Julie is a graduate of Edinburgh University and practiced for many years in Edinburgh prior to returning to Perthshire where she grew up.

  • Liz Dawson

    Liz is an Executry Paralegal based in our Crieff Office and deals with the administration of Executries. Outside the office she enjoys yoga, socialising and walking her dog.

  • David Smart

    “David is an Associate based in our Crieff office. David brings extensive expertise in domestic conveyancing while also handling general chamber work such as preparation of Wills and Powers of Attorney, and is also a Notary Public. A Past President and current Treasurer of The Rotary Club of Crieff, David is well-known in the Strath capital having joined Graham & Finlayson in 1989, first as an Assistant Solicitor and latterly becoming a Partner in 1991. Music plays a significant part in David’s leisure time. Married to a professional musician, the couple have two daughters, one currently studying music at The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (RCS) and the other an RCS music graduate. He is also a keen sportsman who still regularly plays golf and badminton, when time permits.”

  • Donnie Macleod

    Donnie is a Partner based in our Perth office and has worked with Miller Hendry since 2003. He deals with Wills, Powers of Attorney, Guardianships, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Trusts, advice to elderly clients and the administration of Executries. Outside of the office he is a keen curler and golfer and his musical interests include bagpiping.

  • Richard Frenz

    Richard is a graduate of the University of Dundee. He joined the then firm of Sneddon Campbell & Monro in Perth in 1978 and became a Partner in 1982. Head of the Court Department, Richard specialises in most aspects of Family Law including separation, divorce, residence, contact and adoptions. He has been Accredited by the Law Society of Scotland as a specialist in this area. He is also the local co-ordinator of the Family Law Association and has lectured and written articles on his area of his expertise. Amongst his outside interests, Richard is a member and past Secretary of the Society of the High Constables of the City of Perth and is a member of The Guildry Incorporation of Perth. He is a former Secretary and Captain of Perthshire Rugby Club. His sporting interests include golf, curling, bowling, tennis, badminton, squash and cycling. Richard is married and has four children.

  • John G Thom

    John is a Partner based in the Miller Hendry, Perth office. He specialises in Succession and Estate Planning, Powers of Attorney and Guardianships, Private Trusts, Executries, Asset Management and Mental Health Legislation. Educated at Glenalmond College and a graduate of the University of Aberdeen, John joined Miller Sneddon in 1988 and became a Partner in 1991. He has worked in the Perth and Dundee offices of the firm which became Miller Hendry in 1991. Before becoming Chairman of the firm John was Head of the Private Client Department and before that Head of the Residential Property Department.

  • Amanda Frenz

    Amanda looks after our clients in the Perth, Crieff and Auchterarder areas. She specialises in Conveyancing and Leasing. Amanda is a Honours Graduate of the University of Aberdeen. After training with a firm in Aberdeen she joined Miller Hendry in 1994 and since then she has helped hundreds of our clients to successfully purchase and sell their properties. Amanda is friendly and approachable and is always delighted by the number of returning clients and the friends and family of existing clients who contact her for help with property matters. Amanda is a Partner in our Perth office. She has been on the board of Perthshire Solicitors Property Centre for many years. Amanda also is a member of the Oakbank Primary School Council and has helped with many fundraising events over the years. Amanda and her husband, Richard, a Partner in our Court Department, live in Perth with their son.

  • Aileen Scott

    Aileen is an Associate based in our Perth Office. She lives in Auchterarder and came to work with Miller Hendry having worked with Drysdale Anderson, Solicitors, Auchterarder. Aileen deals with the administration of Executries, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Guardianships, Wills and Powers of Attorney. She has many years of experience in this area and enjoys all aspects of private client work.

  • James Andrew

    James is a Partner based in our Perth office. He specialises in Commercial Conveyancing and Business Law. He is a graduate of the University of Edinburgh, where he gained an Honours Degree in Law and his Diploma in Legal Practice. James worked with firms in Edinburgh and Livingston before he and his family moved to Crieff in 1997 when James joined the firm of Drysdale Anderson. This firm merged with Miller Hendry in 1998 and soon after this, he became a Partner. James, his wife and family live in Crieff, his daughter currently studying in Australia. He is active in the local community where he is Clerk to the Board of Governors of Morrison's Academy. A keen sportsman, he is a member of Crieff Golf Club, and follower of most sports, particularly golf, rugby and football. James plays golf in different parts of the globe when his family and other commitments allow!

  • Mhairi Cage

    Mhairi studied law at the University of Glasgow before completing the Diploma in Legal Practice at the University of Dundee in 2009. She works in the Private Client department, dealing with matters including Wills, Powers of Attorney, Executries, Guardianships, Inheritance Tax Planning, Trusts and Charities.

  • Victoria Stronach

    Victoria is a Senior Solicitor based in our Perth Office and her areas of specialisation are Civil Disputes, Personal Injury and Accident Claims, Debt Recovery work and Road Traffic offences including speeding and drink-driving offences as well as a particular interest in Adults with Incapacity work and Guardianship cases. She graduated from the University of Dundee with an Honours Degree in Law and gained her Diploma in Legal Practice the following year. Victoria trained with Miller Hendry and has been a Court Solicitor since 2007. She has worked in Miller Hendry Offices in both Dundee and Perth. Away from the office, Victoria is a keen archer and has recently joined Perth Archery Club.

  • Alison Fitzgerald

    Alison is a Partner based in our Dundee office with experience in Housing Law, Housing Associations and private sector Landlord and Tenant Law.

  • Jeffrey Hope

    Jeff is our Managing Partner and based in our Dundee office and his areas of specialisation are Housing Law, Housing Associations and Accident claims. Jeff graduated from the University of Dundee with an Honours Degree in Law and Diploma in Legal Practice. Following his traineeship in Dundee he joined Burns, Veal & Gillan in 1986, becoming a Partner in 1989. After working in Conveyancing and Corporate Law, Jeff now specialises in Housing Law and Accident Claims. In addition to being the Managing Director of Miller Hendry (Asset Management) Limited which provides financial advice he is also Clerk and Factor of Dundee Educational Trust. Jeff is a member of the New Golf Club in St Andrews and is also an Honorary Member of Junior Chamber St Andrews.

  • Ernest Boath

    Ernie was educated in Kirriemuir and then at the University of Dundee where he graduated with a Degree in Law in 1989 and a Diploma in Legal Practice in 1990. After working mainly in Forfar and Kirriemuir on Court, Agricultural, Private Client and Conveyancing work, he joined Miller Hendry in 1997. He became the Head of the firm's Private Client Department in 2009. Ernie advises clients on Wills, Powers of Attorney, Intervention and Guardianship Orders, Inheritance Planning and Executries. He has been appointed Guardian for a number of incapable adults. In addition, he administers a number of Private and Charitable Trusts. Ernie is Secretary of the Angus Committee of Tayside Valuation Appeal Panel and was appointed a part-time occasional Sheriff Clerk in Forfar. He has taught on the Private Client course in the University of Dundee Post Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice. Ernie lives near Kirriemuir with his wife and their three children. When the seasons allow, he enjoys skiing and shooting.

  • Caroline Fraser

    Caroline is a Partner based in our Dundee office, specialising in the preparation of Wills and Powers of Attorney, providing advice to the elderly, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Charity Law, Succession Law and the administration of Executries. In addition, an area of particular interest to her is Scottish Trust law and taxation. Caroline trained with Miller Hendry and originally hails from Crieff. She was educated at Ardvreck School and Morrison’s Academy and then went on to gain her Honours Degree in Law and the Diploma in Legal Practice from the University of Dundee. She is a Notary Public and is also a member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP), the professional body for practitioners specialising in the field of Trusts and Estates. Caroline completed the STEP Diploma in Trusts and Estates (Scotland) with Distinction and had the honour of receiving the “Trust and Executry Accounting Student of the Year Award” at STEP’s Annual Award Ceremony in London. Married with two sons, Caroline enjoys spending time with family and friends, cooking, travelling and going on country walks. She also has an interest in interior design and gardening.

About This Branch

Description

Miller Hendry is a long established legal practice which has served individuals and businesses in the Tayside and Strathearn area for generations. The firm has grown to be one of the largest legal practices in our area. We are able to assist our clients while offering a personal service to all our clients. Our staff include solicitors, paralegals and support staff who are equipped to provide a complementary blend of specialist and more general expertise on a wide range of fields including those listed on this page. We continue to try to shape in a proactive way the services we provide to meet the ever changing needs of our clients. Whatever the problem, be it personal or business, large or small, routine or complex, it will be given individual attention and will be handled according to the highest professional standards.


Legal Services
  • Appeal driving conviction
  • International
  • Road rage incidents
  • Failure to provide a blood sample
  • Family Mediation
  • Stopping and reporting
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Wills
  • Driving Without Due Care
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Media and Sports
  • Failure to provide a specimen
  • Drink driving
  • Family Leave
  • Flexible Working
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Gardening Leave
  • Goods vehicles - operators licence
  • Discretionary disqualification
  • Driving without a licence
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Death by dangerous driving
  • Military
  • Signs and signal offences
  • Speeding offences
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Taxi offences - licensing investigations
  • Disputed Probate
  • Restoration of licence
  • Professional Discipline
  • Disputed Wills
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Probate
  • Exceptional Hardship
  • Recognition of disqualification
  • Driving whilst disqualified
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Notice of intended prosecution
  • Serious injury by dangerous driving
  • Stress at Work
  • Drug driving
  • New Driver Provisions
  • TUPE
  • Disqualification removal
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Totting Up Driving Ban
  • Failing to notify DVLA
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Pension Law
  • Employment Contracts
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Dangerous vehicle conditions
  • Convicted in absence
  • Pay Issue
  • Failure to furnish identification
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Trusts
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Taxi offences
  • Death By Careless Driving
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Driving without insurance
  • Part Time Workers
  • Employment Law
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Redundancy
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Goods vehicles - tachograph offences
  • Drunk in charge
  • Early return of driving licence
  • Separation
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Special Reasons
  • Careless driving
  • Mobile phone offences
  • Driving Whilst Unfit
  • Remortgaging
  • Senior Executives
  • Taxi offences - illegally plying for hire
  • Taxi offences - points and disqualification
  • Dangerous driving
  • Children
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Tax
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Banking
  • Setting up a business
  • Asset Tracing
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Commercial Leases
  • Contract law
  • Debt Recovery
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Statutory Demands
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Charities
  • Competition law
  • Credit Control
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Intellectual Property
  • Commercial Law
  • Corporate Law
  • Insurance
  • Management buyouts
  • Employment - business
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Agency agreements
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate finance
  • Slander
  • Data Protection
  • Franchising
  • Small businesses
  • Share option schemes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Summary Judgment
  • Unfair Loan Charges

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000