Miller Hendry

01764 655151

Miller Hendry is a long established legal and estate agency practice which has been selling properties in the Tayside and Strathearn area for generations. We pride ourselves on providing the high level of service you would expect from one of the largest estate agents in the area combined with the personal touch our clients expect.

4.9/5 187 Customer Reviews 187
Recommended by
185 Verified Clients
like Verified Client

How Miller Hendry compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Miller Hendry on ReviewSolicitors

187 Customer Reviews

4.9/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    168
  • Very Good
    16
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205211

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

All staff were very friendly and helpful. My solicitor kept me informed from start to finish. She was very good and reliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205211

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I was very satisfied with the service of Miller Hendry. All was explained clearly and dealt with efficiently. Very happy with the firm and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 week ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205211

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I was really happy with the service provided by you. I felt better prepared than in my previous 2 experiences (with other solicitors). Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150805

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I found everyone whom I came in contact with at Miller Hendry to be friendly and helpful. The relatively simple estate was dealt with in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150805

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Miller Hendry dealt with sale of my previous home and the purchase of my new one. All work was done in a courteous and professional manner making the whole process as stress free for me as possible. I would have no hesitation in recommending Miller Hendry and will continue to use their services in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308114158

Residential Property/Conveyancing

4

Staff were very friendly and approachable. They were un-phased by any problem which cropped up.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308114158

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

An excellent service. Friendly and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308114158

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

A very efficient, knowledgeable and friendly service. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 08, 2019 20190308114157

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

I could not be more satisfied with the service we received from Mhairi Cage. Her whole demeanour, sympathetic and understanding way in which she dealt with everything could not have been better and could not be faulted. Would have no hesitation in recommending her and the firm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 5 months ago Report to admin
December 17, 2018 20181217201502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

The process of selling my late mother's house was made very simple and the fees charged reasonable for the service provided. Overall very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Miller Hendry

  • Julie Darroch

    Julie is an Associate Solicitor based in our Crieff office, specialising in all aspects of residential property work. Julie is a graduate of Edinburgh University and practiced for many years in Edinburgh prior to returning to Perthshire where she grew up.

  • Liz Dawson

    Liz is an Executry Paralegal based in our Crieff Office and deals with the administration of Executries. Outside the office she enjoys yoga, socialising and walking her dog.

  • David Smart

    “David is an Associate based in our Crieff office. David brings extensive expertise in domestic conveyancing while also handling general chamber work such as preparation of Wills and Powers of Attorney, and is also a Notary Public. A Past President and current Treasurer of The Rotary Club of Crieff, David is well-known in the Strath capital having joined Graham & Finlayson in 1989, first as an Assistant Solicitor and latterly becoming a Partner in 1991. Music plays a significant part in David’s leisure time. Married to a professional musician, the couple have two daughters, one currently studying music at The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (RCS) and the other an RCS music graduate. He is also a keen sportsman who still regularly plays golf and badminton, when time permits.”

  • Donnie Macleod

    Donnie is a Partner based in our Perth office and has worked with Miller Hendry since 2003. He deals with Wills, Powers of Attorney, Guardianships, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Trusts, advice to elderly clients and the administration of Executries. Outside of the office he is a keen curler and golfer and his musical interests include bagpiping.

  • Richard Frenz

    Richard is a graduate of the University of Dundee. He joined the then firm of Sneddon Campbell & Monro in Perth in 1978 and became a Partner in 1982. Head of the Court Department, Richard specialises in most aspects of Family Law including separation, divorce, residence, contact and adoptions. He has been Accredited by the Law Society of Scotland as a specialist in this area. He is also the local co-ordinator of the Family Law Association and has lectured and written articles on his area of his expertise. Amongst his outside interests, Richard is a member and past Secretary of the Society of the High Constables of the City of Perth and is a member of The Guildry Incorporation of Perth. He is a former Secretary and Captain of Perthshire Rugby Club. His sporting interests include golf, curling, bowling, tennis, badminton, squash and cycling. Richard is married and has four children.

  • John G Thom

    John is a Partner based in the Miller Hendry, Perth office. He specialises in Succession and Estate Planning, Powers of Attorney and Guardianships, Private Trusts, Executries, Asset Management and Mental Health Legislation. Educated at Glenalmond College and a graduate of the University of Aberdeen, John joined Miller Sneddon in 1988 and became a Partner in 1991. He has worked in the Perth and Dundee offices of the firm which became Miller Hendry in 1991. Before becoming Chairman of the firm John was Head of the Private Client Department and before that Head of the Residential Property Department.

  • Amanda Frenz

    Amanda looks after our clients in the Perth, Crieff and Auchterarder areas. She specialises in Conveyancing and Leasing. Amanda is a Honours Graduate of the University of Aberdeen. After training with a firm in Aberdeen she joined Miller Hendry in 1994 and since then she has helped hundreds of our clients to successfully purchase and sell their properties. Amanda is friendly and approachable and is always delighted by the number of returning clients and the friends and family of existing clients who contact her for help with property matters. Amanda is a Partner in our Perth office. She has been on the board of Perthshire Solicitors Property Centre for many years. Amanda also is a member of the Oakbank Primary School Council and has helped with many fundraising events over the years. Amanda and her husband, Richard, a Partner in our Court Department, live in Perth with their son.

  • Aileen Scott

    Aileen is an Associate based in our Perth Office. She lives in Auchterarder and came to work with Miller Hendry having worked with Drysdale Anderson, Solicitors, Auchterarder. Aileen deals with the administration of Executries, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Guardianships, Wills and Powers of Attorney. She has many years of experience in this area and enjoys all aspects of private client work.

  • James Andrew

    James is a Partner based in our Perth office. He specialises in Commercial Conveyancing and Business Law. He is a graduate of the University of Edinburgh, where he gained an Honours Degree in Law and his Diploma in Legal Practice. James worked with firms in Edinburgh and Livingston before he and his family moved to Crieff in 1997 when James joined the firm of Drysdale Anderson. This firm merged with Miller Hendry in 1998 and soon after this, he became a Partner. James, his wife and family live in Crieff, his daughter currently studying in Australia. He is active in the local community where he is Clerk to the Board of Governors of Morrison's Academy. A keen sportsman, he is a member of Crieff Golf Club, and follower of most sports, particularly golf, rugby and football. James plays golf in different parts of the globe when his family and other commitments allow!

  • Mhairi Cage

    Mhairi studied law at the University of Glasgow before completing the Diploma in Legal Practice at the University of Dundee in 2009. She works in the Private Client department, dealing with matters including Wills, Powers of Attorney, Executries, Guardianships, Inheritance Tax Planning, Trusts and Charities.

  • Victoria Stronach

    Victoria is a Senior Solicitor based in our Perth Office and her areas of specialisation are Civil Disputes, Personal Injury and Accident Claims, Debt Recovery work and Road Traffic offences including speeding and drink-driving offences as well as a particular interest in Adults with Incapacity work and Guardianship cases. She graduated from the University of Dundee with an Honours Degree in Law and gained her Diploma in Legal Practice the following year. Victoria trained with Miller Hendry and has been a Court Solicitor since 2007. She has worked in Miller Hendry Offices in both Dundee and Perth. Away from the office, Victoria is a keen archer and has recently joined Perth Archery Club.

  • Alison Fitzgerald

    Alison is a Partner based in our Dundee office with experience in Housing Law, Housing Associations and private sector Landlord and Tenant Law.

  • Jeffrey Hope

    Jeff is our Managing Partner and based in our Dundee office and his areas of specialisation are Housing Law, Housing Associations and Accident claims. Jeff graduated from the University of Dundee with an Honours Degree in Law and Diploma in Legal Practice. Following his traineeship in Dundee he joined Burns, Veal & Gillan in 1986, becoming a Partner in 1989. After working in Conveyancing and Corporate Law, Jeff now specialises in Housing Law and Accident Claims. In addition to being the Managing Director of Miller Hendry (Asset Management) Limited which provides financial advice he is also Clerk and Factor of Dundee Educational Trust. Jeff is a member of the New Golf Club in St Andrews and is also an Honorary Member of Junior Chamber St Andrews.

  • Ernest Boath

    Ernie was educated in Kirriemuir and then at the University of Dundee where he graduated with a Degree in Law in 1989 and a Diploma in Legal Practice in 1990. After working mainly in Forfar and Kirriemuir on Court, Agricultural, Private Client and Conveyancing work, he joined Miller Hendry in 1997. He became the Head of the firm's Private Client Department in 2009. Ernie advises clients on Wills, Powers of Attorney, Intervention and Guardianship Orders, Inheritance Planning and Executries. He has been appointed Guardian for a number of incapable adults. In addition, he administers a number of Private and Charitable Trusts. Ernie is Secretary of the Angus Committee of Tayside Valuation Appeal Panel and was appointed a part-time occasional Sheriff Clerk in Forfar. He has taught on the Private Client course in the University of Dundee Post Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice. Ernie lives near Kirriemuir with his wife and their three children. When the seasons allow, he enjoys skiing and shooting.

  • Caroline Fraser

    Caroline is a Partner based in our Dundee office, specialising in the preparation of Wills and Powers of Attorney, providing advice to the elderly, Estate and Inheritance Tax Planning, Charity Law, Succession Law and the administration of Executries. In addition, an area of particular interest to her is Scottish Trust law and taxation. Caroline trained with Miller Hendry and originally hails from Crieff. She was educated at Ardvreck School and Morrison’s Academy and then went on to gain her Honours Degree in Law and the Diploma in Legal Practice from the University of Dundee. She is a Notary Public and is also a member of the Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP), the professional body for practitioners specialising in the field of Trusts and Estates. Caroline completed the STEP Diploma in Trusts and Estates (Scotland) with Distinction and had the honour of receiving the “Trust and Executry Accounting Student of the Year Award” at STEP’s Annual Award Ceremony in London. Married with two sons, Caroline enjoys spending time with family and friends, cooking, travelling and going on country walks. She also has an interest in interior design and gardening.

About This Branch

Description

Miller Hendry is a long established legal practice which has served individuals and businesses in the Tayside and Strathearn area for generations. The firm has grown to be one of the largest legal practices in our area. We are able to assist our clients while offering a personal service to all our clients. Our staff include solicitors, paralegals and support staff who are equipped to provide a complementary blend of specialist and more general expertise on a wide range of fields including those listed on this page. We continue to try to shape in a proactive way the services we provide to meet the ever changing needs of our clients. Whatever the problem, be it personal or business, large or small, routine or complex, it will be given individual attention and will be handled according to the highest professional standards.


Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000