Book an appointment

Book an appointment

Garner Canning Limited

01827 314004

View map
Garner Canning Limited

How Garner Canning Limited Compares

Value for money

This firm - 59%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Garner Canning Limited on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 45%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Garner Canning Limited and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Garner Canning Limited performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 47%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Garner Canning Limited and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Garner Canning Limited compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Garner Canning Limited offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Garner Canning Limited has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

2.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    14
  • Very Good

    0
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    4
  • Awful

    13

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Sophie

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Sophie

July 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really good! Definitely worth going to!

Garner Canning were just fab when I used them! They are a great solicitors! Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?

G

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

G

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent legal service

I have appointed Garner Canning for a few years now and have been very pleased with the service from Terry Mills and Tracey Nash. They have made the process easy to understand for my commercial and residential properties. Recently have used other members of the property team (Joanna Lee-Mills) and have been very pleased too.

Was this review helpful?

Brian

Matter Type:

Wills

Brian

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

Garner Canning were wonderful when assisting with our will and power of attorney. What a great service they provide.

Was this review helpful?

Megan

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Megan

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Brilliant

Brilliant service, was made to feel at ease with the whole process as it was my first time needing these services. Very reasonably priced for service provided, and was never left in the dark. Would definitely recommend and will be using again in the future.

Was this review helpful?

Karen

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Karen

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service

I would definitely recommend Garner Canning for their professionalism and care with my recent house move. I cannot express how smooth and efficient the whole process was, knowing that I had someone I could trust along the way.
Excellent value for money compared to other quotes I had, making my house move less stressful and expensive. Thank you

Was this review helpful?

Peter

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Peter

July 13, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Really helpful! Great solicitors

When purchasing our property, Both Terry and Alex made the process easy and quick. We were really impressed the service and communication. I really recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Marie

Marie

March 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Illegal and Incompetent

Shocking, Charlatan’s and Liar’s

In January 2020, I instructed Sue Green at Garner Canning to make a cash purchase for the Freehold of my property. The property has just be sold and I find that the paperwork wasn’t registered at the Land Registry.
When I contacted them they said that the we’re moving offices and then staff on furlough and then blamed delays at the Registry. In the end I just asked bluntly if the had sent it, the reply was “No”. I later discover that the date sent to the Registry is logged and can be proven.

I have already made a complaint to the Law Society and contacted the SRA.

Was this review helpful?

Shalane

Shalane

September 15, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Shocking

These solicitors are absolutely shocking. I would advise anyone to use them. I contacted Martin Canning via email with no response complaining about the service. The solicitors never call you back giving an excuse to the secretary. This is know because I said I was a new client, funnily enough he was available then.

Was this review helpful?

Moird

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Moird

August 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

AVOID

I highly suspect any reviews above 1 star here are written by the staff themselves and G&C are *appalling*....they don't even deserve *one* star.

There was a constant turnover of staff, a catalogue of errors with no one at G&C knowing what was going on/where we were at.

It became more and more chaotic and then.....radar silence for *weeks*.
No replies to emails from us or the estate agent (you can't contact them on the phone) leaving us all completely in the dark and under a massive amount of stress.

Due to their complete incompetency and arrogance, the chain was about to collapse, so our estate agent had no choice but to sack them and find us another solicitor to pick up the pieces.

Thankfully, our new solicitor is making good progress and keeping us informed every step of the way which is what you would expect when you pay someone for their conveyancing services.

My only advice is to AVOID.

We have made a report to the Ombudsman.

Was this review helpful?

Daniela

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Daniela

August 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Definitely worth choosing other solicitors

The problem with this company is the level of competence of their personnel and rudeness. We were left in the dark with our case all the time - I do not understand why they have adopted a portal to update their activity if they do not use it properly. At some point, the solicitor left the company and despite several chasing we had not been notified of a replacement. The telephone number of the office is constantly engaged and when calling direct lines they hang up the phone twice. The solicitor falling our case had also shown in several occasions that she was not really checking my communication or information given. Also, when someone went on leave nobody was covering for absences so a lot of time was wasted to wait for people to return from constant holidays.
Due to these frustrations and rude communication, we decided to change solicitor company and have notified termination of instruction - this was the best decision ever! The new solicitor has done in one week more than what Garner Canning has done in 6 weeks. Garner Canning is due to reimburse me money back but no answer yet...I guess Ombudsman will have to be called in.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Media and Sports
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
    • Professional Negligence
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing