Coles Solicitors Limited

01642 788196

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 9 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.

4.3/5 217 Customer Reviews 217
Recommended by
252 Verified Clients
like Anonymous and Gerard
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

217 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    158
  • Very Good
    22
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    25
Anonymous
Click to rate
Gerard
Gerard Added 6 months ago Report to admin
July 11, 2018 20180711121030

Property Management

5

After years of wrangling over 2 big ongoing problems which our Property Managment Company essentially 'inherited', we appointed Coles and Emma got it all sorted in little more than 6 months. All done and dusted - everything to our satisfaction. We couldn't be happier. Both problems now resolved but if any others crop up I know who to use!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

We are delighted to have had such a positive outcome for you. We stand ready with our magic wand to help should you need us again.

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 8 months ago Report to admin
May 16, 2018 20180516085700

Conveyancing

5

Having Andrew Haigh as my solicitor for my house purchase and sale was very comforting. He seemed to know exactly what he was doing at all times, his advice seemed to be sound, he was very supportive during extremely stressful situations and navigated me through them out to the other side.
When I emailed him I couldn’t have asked for a faster reply with a real answer, he never fobbed me off.
I tried not to phone as I knew it would take up valuable time but when I did I always got Andrew and again, he was unfailingly helpful, polite and friendly.
I was worried that he wasn’t in an office in my city but this never mattered. If I needed to sign something I just went into my local office and they had it ready for me. And because I couldn’t print anything Andrew sent me anything I needed in a paper copy.
I felt that it was a very personal service even though I never met Andrew and I felt very looked after.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Alexandra
Alexandra Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 12, 2019 20190112165415

Great Service!

5

From start to finish Coles were very pleasant and effient to deal with. One of the best things was being able to pick up the phone and speak with my contact Kelly who was so patient and and great with timelines. The whole team were always helpful if my main contact was not always available.

We would definitely use them again based on our current experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes

glennis
glennis Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 09, 2019 20190109150508

Excellent result

5

I was very impressed with the way that my case was dealt with, Mr, Menzies-Baird dealt with it swiftly and efficiently, each step of the way I was kept informed by him and Angela Betts as to the progress of my case. All emails pertaining to me were sent promptly and replied to just as quickly. I would definitely use Coles solicitors again and recommend them to others

Was this review helpful? Yes

Valerie
Verified Valerie Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 20, 2018 20181220033216

Thank you

5

I really appreciated the way Mr. Haigh replied to my multiple emails promptly & patiently. He kept me briefed about the progress of my house purchase, and recommended other experts for matters outside his purview.
I would certainly use Coles' again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 08 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Chris
Chris Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 27, 2018 20181127163528

Representation from Coles

5

Cannot reccomend Coles highly enough . Extremely friendly , knowledgable , profession and above all supportive through a very hard time 5*****

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 08 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Amy
Amy Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 26, 2018 20181126225157

Excellent Solicitors

5

We received an excellent and friendly service from Lindsey - she was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and approachable throughout the purchasing process. Neither myself, or my partner have bought a house before, Lindsey explained each step of the process to us and helped us exchange contracts with the builders quickly and easily. The process has been stress-free and we couldn’t recommend her enough - she has been extremely professional throughout, setting realistic targets and keeping in regular contact.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 08 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future..

Philip
Philip Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 22, 2018 20181122161241

House Purchase

1

Do not return telephone calls.Do not reply to Emails. Do not honour commitments. The whole conveyancing process riddled with errors. Finally failed to deal with Land Registry and then lost the most important part of the Mortgage Agreement. A truly terrible service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Antony
Verified Antony Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 21, 2018 20181121131138

Large Property Sale

5

A big thank-you to Gilly French and Andrew Haigh for their professional support and personal service during our recent home sale. A number of detailed queries cropped up during the process and they were handled patiently and seamlessly. Gilly and Andrew were always easy to contact directly and very prompt in their responses and actions. Overall a speedy and smooth process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 08 January, 2019

Thank you for your review. You have raised a complaint directly with us and we have responded to that complaint which is now resolved. There are always two sides to every story and what your feedback doesn't say is that we completed your transaction in normal timescales.

Aimee
Verified Aimee Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 20, 2018 20181120063711

Supportive and approachable

4

Really friendly and supportive service which was much appreciated during our first home buying process thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Coles Solicitors Limited

  • Peter Gibson

    Peter grew up in Saltburn by the Sea and studied law at The University of Newcastle upon Tyne. Following University, Peter returned to Teesside where he was employed for a period by Iron Trades Insurance. He moved to York in 1998 to take up a position as a trainee Solicitor with Corries Solicitors, whilst studying for his legal practice Course at the College of Law in York from which he qualified in 2001. Peter’s early legal career focused on personal injury litigation for both defendant insurers and for claimants with a particular emphasis on high value and catastrophic personal injuries. Peter also gained experience of management , from supervising teams of other solicitors.

  • Kelly Buckle-Fleming

    Kelly joined Coles in the Autumn of 2013 from Dixon Law in Leeds and heads the Coles Conveyancing Team. She overviewes property related legal work for all of the Coles offices. Kelly brings a wealth of experience in both the residential and commercial property sectors having worked for law firms in London, Leeds and Harrogate. She is a graduate from The University of Hertfordshire.

  • Elizabeth Matfin

    Elizabeth qualified as a Solicitor in 2003 after gaining an Honours Degree in Law & Accountancy and completing her Legal Practice Course with commendation at the College of Law in York. She spent 7 years at Wood Sherwood in Pocklington where she was a partner specialising in family law and civil litigation before moving to the family department at Hethertons in York. Elizabeth is experienced in all aspects of family work including pre-nuptial agreements, separation, divorce and civil partnership dissolution together with children issues and domestic violence. Being of mixed race, she has a particular interest in cases with a cross-cultural element.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 9 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.


Legal Services
  • Leasehold properties
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Benefits
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Injunctions
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Travel - Airlines going out of business
  • Trusts
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Housing Management
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Buying at auction
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Trusts
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Medical Negligence
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Family Leave
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Employment Contracts
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Tax
  • Mental Health
  • Litigation Law
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Professional Negligence
  • Consumer Rights
  • Right to Manage
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Consumer Disputes
  • MRSA Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Redundancy
  • Stress at Work
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Pension Law
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Child Law
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Transfers of equity
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Family law
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Housing
  • Remortgaging
  • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
  • Pension and property advice
  • Civil partnerships
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Planning
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Social Services
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Separation
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children
  • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • TUPE
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Part Time Workers
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Wills
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Travel - Trip cancellation
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Flexible Working
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child contact
  • Separation Agreement
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Travel - Holiday Sickness
  • Dental Negligence
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Mediation
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Probate
  • Housing disputes
  • Gardening Leave
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Employment - business
  • Licensing
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Purchase of development land
  • Asset Tracing
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Finance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Corporate finance
  • Corporate Law
  • Development plot sales
  • Patents
  • Mediation
  • Domain Names
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Commercial Leases
  • Credit Control
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Agency agreements
  • Statutory Demands
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Share option schemes
  • Developer disputes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Farming disputes
  • Copyright
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Equestrian property
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Tax
  • Management buyouts
  • Setting up a business
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Environmental policy law
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Charities
  • Planning law
  • Data Protection
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Rights of way issues
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Intellectual Property
  • Commercial Law
  • GDPR
  • Competition law
  • Summary Judgment
  • Franchising
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Health and Safety
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000