• Resolution House
  • GU1 4UX
  • 01483 887766
  • www.hartbrown.co.uk

Hart Brown

01483 887766

Hart Brown is a leading law firm with offices throughout Surrey. Established in 1919, our continued success and ability to build long term relationships has been based upon our unique understanding of the law and our clients and our commitment to making the process as straightforward as possible, in the most professional way. It’s the combination of these factors that creates our USP and makes us different. Hart Brown is… UNDERSTANDING about our clients legal needs and the law. STRAIGHTFORWARD in the way we work and communicate. PROFESSIONAL in everything we do, to achieve results and uphold our reputation.

4.8/5 198 Customer Reviews 198
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Hart Brown compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hart Brown on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

198 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    181
  • Very Good
    12
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    5

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
J A P Montyn
Verified J A P Montyn Added 3 days ago Report to admin
October 18, 2019 20191018205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Hart Brown Partners and Staff are very professional, helpful and true to their word.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 week ago Report to admin
October 14, 2019 20191014010621

Highly professional.

5

This is a highly professional team that goes over and beyond to get the best outcome for the client. Very knowledgeable with the subject of clinical injury. Highly efficient. Mine was I am sure, one of the most complex cases of injury HartBrown has had to deal with, and they did the best. Thanks to them I should soon be able to move to a ground floor accommodation , no more stairs, as well as cut down my hours to stretch my functioning. Thank you so much Mark Wisby, Marek B and everyone at HartBrown. You’re the best !

Was this review helpful? Yes

Osborn
Verified Osborn Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
October 05, 2019 20191005205201

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Well done Hart Brown for fulfilling legal needs and advice over the years. It is reassuring to know that your team of partners has been able to provide an excellent service.

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Tobias

Was this review helpful? Yes

A Brown
Verified A Brown Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 18, 2019 20190918205202

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Peter Howe is outstanding and a pleasure to deal with!

Solicitor named in this review: Peter Howe

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gerald
Verified Gerald Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 15, 2019 20190915205202

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

Obverall a very competent, helpful and friendly practice, with good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sylvia Penn
Verified Sylvia Penn Added 1 month ago Report to admin
September 13, 2019 20190913205201

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

This was the fourth time Jeremy Jupp has dealt with the conveyancing on our move. He has always been very helpful and efficient keeping us informed at every stage. Couldn't recommend him more highly!

Solicitor named in this review: Jeremy Jupp

Was this review helpful? Yes

Natalie Gabrielle Nakkas
Verified Natalie Gabrielle Nakkas Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 29, 2019 20190829205201

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Emma Moore is incredibly professional, dedicated and efficient. She goes above and beyond for every task. She is supportive, honest and conducts herself with integrity. Thank you!

Solicitor named in this review: Emma Moore

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris Millward
Verified Chris Millward Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 25, 2019 20190825205201

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I have worked with Peter before and so I knew he was excellent regarding the purchase of my flat. Peter was 1st class again. I have no hesitation in recommending him unreservedly. He is ably assisted by his colleague Sara Evans.

Solicitor named in this review: Peter Howe

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew and Kath Mason
Verified Andrew and Kath Mason Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 29, 2019 20190629205206

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Debbie provided an excellent service. She kept us informed on the progress of our house and dealt with everything in an extremely efficient way.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs Valeria M Mahmood
Verified Mrs Valeria M Mahmood Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 29, 2019 20190629205202

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

My house sale / purchase stretched over a period of eleven months. With very unhelpful estate agents and is was only Debbie Beswick who kept me sane over this tense and upsetting period. Thank goodness it all ended well.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Fred
Fred Added 3 days ago Report to admin
October 18, 2019
Collected on
20191018193057

Fred

5

I’ve used Hart Brown twice in five years for conveyancing as we’ve moved home. Both times the service has been excellent, characterised by friendly competent people, an efficient process and a willingness to move quickly when required. The latter in particular sets them apart from their competition. They are not the cheapest but the service is worth every extra penny. All in all, I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rynhardt
Rynhardt Added 1 week ago Report to admin
October 10, 2019
Collected on
20191010155036

Rynhardt

5

Very personable and warm, supportive and extremely efficient. I would recommend them in a heartbeat! Jane Crosby is the ultimate professional when it comes to steering people through a tricky time during their careers. Well done Hart Brown Solicitors and thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Emma Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 04, 2019
Collected on
20190904144607

Emma

5

I needed help with a difficult family estate in the capacity of executor and Hart Brown were recommended to me by another solicitors firm as having the necessary expertise to assist. I have been working with Paul Grimwood for over a year and would wholeheartedly recommend him to any executor finding themselves in a potential dispute situation or with a contentious estate; Paul is knowledgeable, diligent and eloquent, as well as being thoroughly practical and a good diplomat. He helped steer me through a complex and changing situation, calling in other specialists from the firm as need dictated, until the situation was resolved. Whilst the circumstances that required me to need help with the estate in the first place remain regrettable, Paul helped me get as good an outcome as was practicable in the circumstances and for this I am very grateful. Special thanks also go to Margaret Gale for her expert advice on trust documentation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marie
Marie Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 29, 2019
Collected on
20190829115152

Marie

5

We found Mark Wisby to be very helpful, knowledable and very quick to respond to any concerns that we had. Would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tristan
Tristan Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 18, 2019
Collected on
20190618101340

Tristan

1

Hart Brown Solicitors Review – Incompetent and Unprofessional  

 

Hart Brown Solicitors are probably the worst solicitors I have had the misfortune to deal with in over 25 years of business. They were instructed by the freeholder of my leasehold flat to deal with a lease extension. I am required to meet their costs, although I am not their client, so I am prevented from complaining directly to Hart Brown about these issues.

 

Not only have they overcharged in my opinion (having obtained 3 other quotes which were half the price for the same work), they have completely mishandled a straightforward lease extension, drafting the wrong terms not once but twice.

When their mistake was pointed out the first time, they denied the error and only changed their position some 2 weeks later. In the meantime, I had incurred extra costs due to having to instruct in independent surveyor to re negotiate the terms, and even when this was done, Hart Brown drafted the lease incorrectly again, making the same mistake they originally made. They were not even able to get the name of our Conveyancer right in correspondence.  

 

When the mistake was pointed out for the second time, they again requested £500+Vat to fix it, adding to my escalating costs. Obviously we replied disputing the extra charges, but they are now ignoring our emails.

 
Total clowns! DO NOT USE Hart Brown Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 18 June, 2019

We are greatly concerned to receive a review of this nature, especially in light of all of the other reviews we have had from our clients. Firstly, it is the firm's policy not to pay commissions to anyone and secondly, after undertaking our own research into your review on this site and other review sites, we note that you are not a client of this firm and therefore we will be asking Google to remove this review.

About This Branch


Practice Area

We offer a full range of legal services to businesses and individuals. With 17 partners, over 110 staff, 5 offices and a reputation for delivering high quality service Hart Brown is proud to have grown through recommendation and repeat business from loyal clients since it was established in 1919. All our lawyers are experts in their chosen field and fully up-to-date with the latest developments. Our teams work closely together to make sure that the service we deliver is fully integrated. Our Business Services include Commercial & Corporate, Commercial Property, and Dispute Resolution among others, and our Individual Services include Residential Property, Personal Injury, Clinical Negligence and Wills, Trusts & Estates. Equality and Diversity Our aim is always to treat everyone, both inside and outside the firm, with respect, consideration courtesy and a positive attitude. We aim to ensure that employment opportunities of whatever kind are only based on individual aptitude and personal ability. We do not discriminate against anyone, either directly or indirectly, on the grounds of colour ethnic or national origin, , orientation, marital status, pregnancy, disability, religion, age, part-time or fixed term status, race or on any other irrelevant or irrational basis.


Legal Services
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Pension and property advice
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Transfer of title
  • Leasehold properties
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Family Leave
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Travel rights
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tax
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Separation
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Stress at Work
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Collaborative Law
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Family Mediation
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Child contact
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Employment Contracts
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • New home purchases and sales
  • MRSA Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Insurance brokers
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Professional trustees
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Trusts
  • Redundancy
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Financial Matters
  • Extending your Lease
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Family law
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Wills
  • Part Time Workers
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Domestic Abuse
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • IT professionals
  • Right to Manage
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Social Services
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Buying at auction
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Children
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Gardening Leave
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Barristers
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • TUPE
  • Litigation Law
  • Housing disputes
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Pension Law
  • Dental Negligence
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Associations
  • Probate
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Medical Negligence
  • Injunctions
  • Child Law
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Trusts
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Injunctions
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Valuers
  • Tax
  • Corporate Law
  • Setting up a business
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Asset Tracing
  • Intellectual Property
  • Finance
  • Credit Control
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Development plot sales
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Employment - business
  • Data Protection
  • Rights of way issues
  • Agency agreements
  • Share option schemes
  • Franchising
  • Statutory Demands
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Mediation
  • Developer disputes
  • Competition law
  • Corporate finance
  • Management buyouts
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Environmental policy law
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial Law
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000