• Resolution House
  • GU1 4UX
  • 01483 887766
  • www.hartbrown.co.uk

Hart Brown

01483 887766

Hart Brown is a leading law firm with offices throughout Surrey. Established in 1919, our continued success and ability to build long term relationships has been based upon our unique understanding of the law and our clients and our commitment to making the process as straightforward as possible, in the most professional way. It’s the combination of these factors that creates our USP and makes us different. Hart Brown is… UNDERSTANDING about our clients legal needs and the law. STRAIGHTFORWARD in the way we work and communicate. PROFESSIONAL in everything we do, to achieve results and uphold our reputation.

4.8/5 118 Customer Reviews 118
Recommended by
117 Verified Clients
like Nancy and Verified Client
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Hart Brown compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hart Brown on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

118 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    108
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    5

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 01, 2019 20190601205202

Personal Injury / Insurance

5

Very happy with the service. Straightforward, professional and good advice.

Solicitor being reviewed: Gerard Thomas Sanders

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Excellent service and support throughout.

Solicitor being reviewed: Peter David Howe

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs Edeltraud Mitchell
Verified Mrs Edeltraud Mitchell Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

So far we have been very satisfied with your help and attainments with the work you have done for us. Many thanks, Mrs E. Mitchell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 07, 2019 20190507213911

Highly recommend for Divorce matters

5

I can’t recommend Hart Brown highly enough! My case was dealt with by Julian Waldon of the Cobham branch but with flexibility to meet me at their Guildford offices. Julian was professional and supportive from not only a legal perspective but also emotionally whilst I was going through a very difficult time.
Julian’s knowledge and approach was faultless providing me with expert advice and guidance on all matters arising from divorce with a young child involved.
Thank you to all the team who helped look after my case and offered support along the way.

Solicitor being reviewed: Julian Peter Waldon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter Durrant
Verified Peter Durrant Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Hart Brown provided a clear estimate of costs and timescales for my conveyancing. They were easy to communicate with throughout the process and available to answer questions. Jeremy Jupp was professional and attentive to my needs, delight and thorough and always gave the clear impression representing my needs in the process which was reassuring and confidence inspiring. He has a deep experience and handled matters efficiently and to agreed time schedules. Very satisfied with the service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Jeremy Edwin Ian Jupp

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hugh Ross
Verified Hugh Ross Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I found Tim and his team very helpful and efficient. I felt that I was in safe hands.

Solicitor being reviewed: Timothy John Pearce

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matt Rust
Verified Matt Rust Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I originally approached Hart Brown to help me worth a house purchase and also a re-mortgage of my then current property as a Buy to Let. Unfortunately the fees for the BTL re-mortgage were not competitive and I took the business to another firm. Hart brown's quote was £1,159.00 v's Ramsden's quote of £449.00. A big difference for the same service. It may have been a more straightforward experience for us both if the quote had been more competitive. I was very satisfied with value for money for the services I instructed. Also, Jeremy was extremely helpful in the property purchase process and I would recommend him to anyone looking for a efficient and swift process. Thank you.

Solicitor being reviewed: Jeremy Edwin Ian Jupp

Was this review helpful? Yes

Darryl
Verified Darryl Added 8 months ago Report to admin
October 19, 2018 20181019211501

Competent and committed

5

The service and legal advice provided by Jordan Page was excellent. He was sensitive to our needs, quick to respond and saved us a good deal of time and unnecessary expenditure.

A representative from Hart Brown responded to this review on 12 November, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

L
Verified L Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 22, 2018 20180322201502

Residential Property / Conveyancing

5

Thank you Emma for handling our property sale with ease and making it an easy, stress free transaction for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kathryn
Verified Kathryn Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 18, 2018 20180218201502

Property purchase

5

Very clear from the outset of how the process is handled and all is requested for you to ensure a smooth operation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Tristan
Tristan Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 18, 2019
Collected on
20190618101340

Tristan

1

Hart Brown Solicitors Review – Incompetent and Unprofessional  

 

Hart Brown Solicitors are probably the worst solicitors I have had the misfortune to deal with in over 25 years of business. They were instructed by the freeholder of my leasehold flat to deal with a lease extension. I am required to meet their costs, although I am not their client, so I am prevented from complaining directly to Hart Brown about these issues.

 

Not only have they overcharged in my opinion (having obtained 3 other quotes which were half the price for the same work), they have completely mishandled a straightforward lease extension, drafting the wrong terms not once but twice.

When their mistake was pointed out the first time, they denied the error and only changed their position some 2 weeks later. In the meantime, I had incurred extra costs due to having to instruct in independent surveyor to re negotiate the terms, and even when this was done, Hart Brown drafted the lease incorrectly again, making the same mistake they originally made. They were not even able to get the name of our Conveyancer right in correspondence.  

 

When the mistake was pointed out for the second time, they again requested £500+Vat to fix it, adding to my escalating costs. Obviously we replied disputing the extra charges, but they are now ignoring our emails.

 
Total clowns! DO NOT USE Hart Brown Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 18 June, 2019

We are greatly concerned to receive a review of this nature, especially in light of all of the other reviews we have had from our clients. Firstly, it is the firm's policy not to pay commissions to anyone and secondly, after undertaking our own research into your review on this site and other review sites, we note that you are not a client of this firm and therefore we will be asking Google to remove this review.

Nancy
Nancy Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
June 12, 2019
Collected on
20190612144954

Nancy

5

Really helpful, efficient solicitors. They also explained everything clearly. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paulo
Paulo Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 18, 2019
Collected on
20190418093857

Paulo Marques

5

Very efficient and professional. Answered and dealt with all my queries swiftly and efficiently. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas
Nicholas Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 16, 2019
Collected on
20190416140943

Nicholas Ligertwood

5

Living outside the UK can be awkward when dealing with legal matters. My late father had dealings with this firm. So I instructed them to carry out probate on my father's estate. I really appreciated the excellent professional, friendly service they provided. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jonathan
jonathan Added 11 months ago Report to admin
July 03, 2018
Collected on
20180703201011

jonathan carter-meggs

5

My go to solicitors for all normal stuff, eg conyevancing, probate, etc etc

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 06 July, 2018

Thank you for your review.

About This Branch


Practice Area

We offer a full range of legal services to businesses and individuals. With 17 partners, over 110 staff, 5 offices and a reputation for delivering high quality service Hart Brown is proud to have grown through recommendation and repeat business from loyal clients since it was established in 1919. All our lawyers are experts in their chosen field and fully up-to-date with the latest developments. Our teams work closely together to make sure that the service we deliver is fully integrated. Our Business Services include Commercial & Corporate, Commercial Property, and Dispute Resolution among others, and our Individual Services include Residential Property, Personal Injury, Clinical Negligence and Wills, Trusts & Estates. Equality and Diversity Our aim is always to treat everyone, both inside and outside the firm, with respect, consideration courtesy and a positive attitude. We aim to ensure that employment opportunities of whatever kind are only based on individual aptitude and personal ability. We do not discriminate against anyone, either directly or indirectly, on the grounds of colour ethnic or national origin, , orientation, marital status, pregnancy, disability, religion, age, part-time or fixed term status, race or on any other irrelevant or irrational basis.


Legal Services
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Child contact
  • Leasehold properties
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Transfer of title
  • Tax
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Part Time Workers
  • Transfers of equity
  • Financial Matters
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Extending your Lease
  • Probate
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Family Mediation
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Barristers
  • Gardening Leave
  • Buying at auction
  • Flexible Working
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Pension and property advice
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Separation
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Professional Discipline
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Pension Law
  • Children
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Family law
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Civil partnerships
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Employment Contracts
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Travel rights
  • MRSA Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Trusts
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Consumer Rights
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Repossessions
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Remortgaging
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • TUPE
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Wills
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Stress at Work
  • Valuers
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Housing disputes
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Professional trustees
  • Media and Sports
  • Senior Executives
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Redundancy
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Trusts
  • Dental Negligence
  • Child Law
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Social Services
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Property Disputes
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • IT professionals
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Lease Extensions
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Housing Associations
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Franchising
  • Developer disputes
  • Credit Control
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Share option schemes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Competition law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Statutory Demands
  • Management buyouts
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Purchase of development land
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Environmental policy law
  • Employment - business
  • Mediation
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Asset Tracing
  • Agency agreements
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Development plot sales
  • Rights of way issues
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Leases
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Data Protection
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Summary Judgment
  • Intellectual Property
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Setting up a business
  • Corporate finance
  • Corporate Law
  • Finance
  • Commercial Law
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Tax

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000