• Resolution House
  • GU1 4UX
  • 01483 887766
  • www.hartbrown.co.uk

Hart Brown

01483 887766

Hart Brown is a leading law firm with offices throughout Surrey. Established in 1919, our continued success and ability to build long term relationships has been based upon our unique understanding of the law and our clients and our commitment to making the process as straightforward as possible, in the most professional way. It’s the combination of these factors that creates our USP and makes us different. Hart Brown is… UNDERSTANDING about our clients legal needs and the law. STRAIGHTFORWARD in the way we work and communicate. PROFESSIONAL in everything we do, to achieve results and uphold our reputation.

4.8/5 146 Customer Reviews 146
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Hart Brown compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hart Brown on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

146 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    131
  • Very Good
    10
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    5

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Andrew and Kath Mason
Verified Andrew and Kath Mason Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 29, 2019 20190629205206

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Debbie provided an excellent service. She kept us informed on the progress of our house and dealt with everything in an extremely efficient way.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs Valeria M Mahmood
Verified Mrs Valeria M Mahmood Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 29, 2019 20190629205202

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

My house sale / purchase stretched over a period of eleven months. With very unhelpful estate agents and is was only Debbie Beswick who kept me sane over this tense and upsetting period. Thank goodness it all ended well.

Was this review helpful? Yes

sharon
sharon Added 1 month ago Report to admin
June 27, 2019 20190627214925

Professional service

5

Many thanks to Mark Wisby of Hart Brown in Guildford for a very professional service.
I approached him to understand if my case would be wise to proceed with.
In his own time he swiftly viewed the correspondence and advised with great clarity and in a very eloquent manner.
Though I was given an honest opinion he sensed my emotion attached to the case and approached it with an empathetic style, which in turn helped me understand his reasoning.
I would recommend the practice wholeheartedly. Thank you for your time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 01, 2019 20190601205202

Personal Injury / Insurance

5

Very happy with the service. Straightforward, professional and good advice.

Solicitor being reviewed: Gerard Thomas Sanders

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Client
Verified Verified Client Added 3 months ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Excellent service and support throughout.

Solicitor being reviewed: Peter David Howe

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mrs Edeltraud Mitchell
Verified Mrs Edeltraud Mitchell Added 3 months ago Report to admin
May 11, 2019 20190511205210

Wills, Trusts and Probate

5

So far we have been very satisfied with your help and attainments with the work you have done for us. Many thanks, Mrs E. Mitchell

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rebecca
Rebecca Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 07, 2019 20190507213911

Highly recommend for Divorce matters

5

I can’t recommend Hart Brown highly enough! My case was dealt with by Julian Waldon of the Cobham branch but with flexibility to meet me at their Guildford offices. Julian was professional and supportive from not only a legal perspective but also emotionally whilst I was going through a very difficult time.
Julian’s knowledge and approach was faultless providing me with expert advice and guidance on all matters arising from divorce with a young child involved.
Thank you to all the team who helped look after my case and offered support along the way.

Solicitor being reviewed: Julian Peter Waldon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter Durrant
Verified Peter Durrant Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

Hart Brown provided a clear estimate of costs and timescales for my conveyancing. They were easy to communicate with throughout the process and available to answer questions. Jeremy Jupp was professional and attentive to my needs, delight and thorough and always gave the clear impression representing my needs in the process which was reassuring and confidence inspiring. He has a deep experience and handled matters efficiently and to agreed time schedules. Very satisfied with the service.

Solicitor being reviewed: Jeremy Edwin Ian Jupp

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hugh Ross
Verified Hugh Ross Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I found Tim and his team very helpful and efficient. I felt that I was in safe hands.

Solicitor being reviewed: Timothy John Pearce

Was this review helpful? Yes

Matt Rust
Verified Matt Rust Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405150804

Residential Property/Conveyancing

5

I originally approached Hart Brown to help me worth a house purchase and also a re-mortgage of my then current property as a Buy to Let. Unfortunately the fees for the BTL re-mortgage were not competitive and I took the business to another firm. Hart brown's quote was £1,159.00 v's Ramsden's quote of £449.00. A big difference for the same service. It may have been a more straightforward experience for us both if the quote had been more competitive. I was very satisfied with value for money for the services I instructed. Also, Jeremy was extremely helpful in the property purchase process and I would recommend him to anyone looking for a efficient and swift process. Thank you.

Solicitor being reviewed: Jeremy Edwin Ian Jupp

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Tristan
Tristan Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 18, 2019
Collected on
20190618101340

Tristan

1

Hart Brown Solicitors Review – Incompetent and Unprofessional  

 

Hart Brown Solicitors are probably the worst solicitors I have had the misfortune to deal with in over 25 years of business. They were instructed by the freeholder of my leasehold flat to deal with a lease extension. I am required to meet their costs, although I am not their client, so I am prevented from complaining directly to Hart Brown about these issues.

 

Not only have they overcharged in my opinion (having obtained 3 other quotes which were half the price for the same work), they have completely mishandled a straightforward lease extension, drafting the wrong terms not once but twice.

When their mistake was pointed out the first time, they denied the error and only changed their position some 2 weeks later. In the meantime, I had incurred extra costs due to having to instruct in independent surveyor to re negotiate the terms, and even when this was done, Hart Brown drafted the lease incorrectly again, making the same mistake they originally made. They were not even able to get the name of our Conveyancer right in correspondence.  

 

When the mistake was pointed out for the second time, they again requested £500+Vat to fix it, adding to my escalating costs. Obviously we replied disputing the extra charges, but they are now ignoring our emails.

 
Total clowns! DO NOT USE Hart Brown Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 18 June, 2019

We are greatly concerned to receive a review of this nature, especially in light of all of the other reviews we have had from our clients. Firstly, it is the firm's policy not to pay commissions to anyone and secondly, after undertaking our own research into your review on this site and other review sites, we note that you are not a client of this firm and therefore we will be asking Google to remove this review.

Nancy
Nancy Added 2 months ago Report to admin
June 12, 2019
Collected on
20190612144954

Nancy

5

Really helpful, efficient solicitors. They also explained everything clearly. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Paulo
Paulo Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 18, 2019
Collected on
20190418093857

Paulo Marques

5

Very efficient and professional. Answered and dealt with all my queries swiftly and efficiently. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nicholas
Nicholas Added 4 months ago Report to admin
April 16, 2019
Collected on
20190416140943

Nicholas Ligertwood

5

Living outside the UK can be awkward when dealing with legal matters. My late father had dealings with this firm. So I instructed them to carry out probate on my father's estate. I really appreciated the excellent professional, friendly service they provided. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

jonathan
jonathan Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 03, 2018
Collected on
20180703201011

jonathan carter-meggs

5

My go to solicitors for all normal stuff, eg conyevancing, probate, etc etc

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hart Brown responded to this review on 06 July, 2018

Thank you for your review.

About This Branch


Practice Area

We offer a full range of legal services to businesses and individuals. With 17 partners, over 110 staff, 5 offices and a reputation for delivering high quality service Hart Brown is proud to have grown through recommendation and repeat business from loyal clients since it was established in 1919. All our lawyers are experts in their chosen field and fully up-to-date with the latest developments. Our teams work closely together to make sure that the service we deliver is fully integrated. Our Business Services include Commercial & Corporate, Commercial Property, and Dispute Resolution among others, and our Individual Services include Residential Property, Personal Injury, Clinical Negligence and Wills, Trusts & Estates. Equality and Diversity Our aim is always to treat everyone, both inside and outside the firm, with respect, consideration courtesy and a positive attitude. We aim to ensure that employment opportunities of whatever kind are only based on individual aptitude and personal ability. We do not discriminate against anyone, either directly or indirectly, on the grounds of colour ethnic or national origin, , orientation, marital status, pregnancy, disability, religion, age, part-time or fixed term status, race or on any other irrelevant or irrational basis.


Legal Services
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Social Services
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Dental Negligence
  • Housing disputes
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • Extending your Lease
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Redundancy
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Children
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Media and Sports
  • Lease Extensions
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Insurance brokers
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Injunctions
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Valuers
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Housing Associations
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Stress at Work
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Family law
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Family Mediation
  • Settlement Agreements
  • TUPE
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Leasehold properties
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Employment Contracts
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Boundary Disputes
  • MRSA Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Litigation Law
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Collaborative Law
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Wills
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • IT professionals
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Financial Matters
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Trusts
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Financial advisors
  • Senior Executives
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Flexible Working
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child contact
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Separation
  • Trusts
  • Barristers
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Remortgaging
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Probate
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Professional trustees
  • Family Leave
  • Gardening Leave
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tax
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Child Law
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Against The Council
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Medical Negligence
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Buying at auction
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Corporate Law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Leases
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Asset Tracing
  • Environmental policy law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Rights of way issues
  • Employment - business
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Developer disputes
  • Setting up a business
  • Franchising
  • Development plot sales
  • Intellectual Property
  • Mediation
  • Tax
  • Statutory Demands
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial Law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Corporate finance
  • Credit Control
  • Finance
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Share option schemes
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Data Protection
  • Management buyouts
  • Agency agreements
  • Competition law
  • Shareholder Agreements

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000