Butterworths

0191 482 1152

Whether the matter is of a personal or business nature, you can be sure that you will receive outstanding advice tailored to meet your own needs and which reflects your own personal circumstances. You can be sure you are in safe hands every time.

4.1/5 58 Customer Reviews 58
Recommended by
54 Verified Clients
like Alisha and Trevor
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Butterworths compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Butterworths on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

58 Customer Reviews

4.1/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    38
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    9
Anonymous
Click to rate
Molly
Verified Molly Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 11, 2019 20190611142054

Frustrated

2

I was recommended Butterworths by a friend, but was disappointed when we clearly did not receive the same level of service.
It was almost impossible to speak to anyone on the team. At times, after no response via email and no answer on the phone, I had to ask the receptionist to speak to them to get any response.
This was the case even when trying to get payment details from them (not sent with the payment request which I found very odd).
They responded to most questions we had about the house buying process with vague answers and jargon which they failed to clarify the meaning of. For example we were concerned about the vendors failing to clear out the property, after not sending any formal documentation of the agreed list of things that would be left they simply said that if this was the case it would be a breach of contract. They would not say what this meant in practical terms.
They failed to return documents back to us. After asking if there were any other documents we needed to send to them regarding a gifted deposit, they said no, but then just a few days before completion they requested more documents which caused unnecessary stress.

We were working to a tight timeframe which they didn't seem to respect. We spent quite a lot of time chasing them for updates, making them aware of emails and documents that had been sent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michał
Michał Added 1 week ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 10, 2019 20190610045043

Case against Ryanair

1

Well they took my time to file a claim against Ryanair and then they just retreated stating highly likely they would not succeed

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alisha
Alisha Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 06, 2019 20190606191126

First time house purchase

5

We used Butterworths because we wanted somewhere local and with a good reputation. As first time buyers we were nervous about who to use and how much it would cost. Our solicitor Katie Richardson, was professional, kind extremely knowledgable and put us at ease for the whole experience, from the first enquiry, to completion. She kept in contact with me directly by phone and email (which ever I preferred) and reassured me that no questions were ridiculous ( I had many, many queries) and that she was there to help with everything we needed. After hearing so many stories of other solicitors not having time for you or just treating you like a number, I was really impressed with how professional and comfortable it was to deal with Katie and how easy the entire process was-someone said buying a house was stressful and it didn’t feel that way with her! Would highly recommend and definitely use again should I need to.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Trevor
Verified Trevor Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 06, 2019 20190606151256

Couldn't be Happier!

5

Adele did a wonderful job dealing with our house sale and I wouldn't hesitate to use Butterworths again! Thanks also to Jack Pattinson.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 1 week ago Report to admin
June 06, 2019 20190606142812

First time buyers - very helpful.

5

Whilst purchasing our first property we appointed Butterworth's as our conveyancer. They were quick in providing their original quote and were very helpful throughout our purchase. Being first time buyers I had a lot of questions and they were able to answer them all.

Although we mainly dealt with Grace, Adele was also very helpful when covering during periods of annual leave etc.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lee
Verified Lee Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 09, 2019 20190509224357

House purchase

5

Our experience was a good one
Would use again

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Abbi
Verified Abbi Added 2 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
April 08, 2019 20190408163917

Amazing

5

Grace handled our conveyancing when we moved house and made the process so simple. I had several questions and Grace answered them all and kept us updated every step of the way. Would definitely use Butterworths again and recommend to anyone looking for solicitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caela
Verified Caela Added 3 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
March 01, 2019 20190301153432

Excellent, as always

5

John Cool handled a very difficult purchase for me, one that ultimately fell through, but he kept me sane and I ended up with a much better property.

His excellent attention to detail and friendly personality make even the most difficult of transactions much easier to bear.

Solicitor being reviewed: John Cook

Was this review helpful? Yes

Damien
Verified Damien Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 03, 2019 20190103182717

Good service throughout

5

This was my first property purchase and the whole experience was great. I was kept up to date throughout and received all the information I needed.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Suzanne
Verified Suzanne Added 6 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
December 03, 2018 20181203152546

Grace

5

Grace was incredible. She was very reassuring when I was stressed to the maximum. She was very thorough and explained everything in detail to help us as we hadn’t been through a house sale in 19 years and things had changed so much. We are looking for our next home now and I only hope that’s Grace will be able to deal with our purchase.

Mr & Mrs Shuriah

Suzanne Shuriah

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Based in the North of England we offer high-quality, sensible legal advice to clients seeking professional help and easy to access support. Whether the matter is of a personal or business nature, you can be sure that you will receive outstanding advice tailored to meet your own needs and which reflects your own personal circumstances. You can be sure you are in safe hands every time.


Legal Services
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Stress at Work
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Child contact
  • Professional Negligence
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Travel rights
  • Child Law
  • Injunctions
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Redundancy
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Housing disputes
  • Transfers of equity
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Family Leave
  • Lease Extensions
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Social Services
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Against The Council
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Housing Associations
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Medical Negligence
  • Employment Contracts
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Trusts
  • Leasehold properties
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Civil partnerships
  • Gardening Leave
  • IT professionals
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Children
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Wills
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Repossessions
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Remortgaging
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Financial advisors
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Separation Agreement
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Professional trustees
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Litigation Law
  • Insurance brokers
  • Probate
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Barristers
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Right to Manage
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • TUPE
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Valuers
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Part Time Workers
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Family law
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Pension and property advice
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Dental Negligence
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Property Disputes
  • Buying at auction
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Professional Discipline
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Statutory Demands
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Finance
  • Management buyouts
  • Development plot sales
  • Corporate finance
  • Environmental policy law
  • Data Protection
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Commercial Law
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Franchising
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Setting up a business
  • Equestrian property
  • Credit Control
  • Employment - business
  • Summary Judgment
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Competition law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Share option schemes
  • Corporate Law
  • Farming disputes
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Agency agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Developer disputes
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Leases
  • Debt Recovery
  • Asset Tracing
  • Banking
  • Intellectual Property
  • Purchase of development land
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Health and Safety
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000