Butterworths

0191 482 1152

Whether the matter is of a personal or business nature, you can be sure that you will receive outstanding advice tailored to meet your own needs and which reflects your own personal circumstances. You can be sure you are in safe hands every time.

4.2/5 71 Customer Reviews 71
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Butterworths compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Butterworths on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

71 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    48
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    9
Anonymous
Click to rate
Ian
Verified Ian Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 07, 2019 20190807030009

Home sale

5

Timely efficient and kept me up to date

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mandy
Verified Mandy Added 1 month ago Report to admin
August 06, 2019 20190806224348

Selling

3

Communication was good when I had Grace on the case. Very slow service though.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 2 months ago Report to admin
July 06, 2019 20190706165355

house sale

5

When ever I had a querie I could just ring and they would get back to me right away a younger lad called jack all ways called me back he was very nice i would say to him you are bound to be sick of me and he would say of coarse not ring any time you want

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

sovail
sovail Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 26, 2019 20190626163559

Fantastic Service

5

All i want to say is thank you Katie Richardson for your hard work and fantastic service for the sale of my house. Would recommend this company and would definitely use them again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Molly
Verified Molly Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 11, 2019 20190611142054

Frustrated

2

I was recommended Butterworths by a friend, but was disappointed when we clearly did not receive the same level of service.
It was almost impossible to speak to anyone on the team. At times, after no response via email and no answer on the phone, I had to ask the receptionist to speak to them to get any response.
This was the case even when trying to get payment details from them (not sent with the payment request which I found very odd).
They responded to most questions we had about the house buying process with vague answers and jargon which they failed to clarify the meaning of. For example we were concerned about the vendors failing to clear out the property, after not sending any formal documentation of the agreed list of things that would be left they simply said that if this was the case it would be a breach of contract. They would not say what this meant in practical terms.
They failed to return documents back to us. After asking if there were any other documents we needed to send to them regarding a gifted deposit, they said no, but then just a few days before completion they requested more documents which caused unnecessary stress.

We were working to a tight timeframe which they didn't seem to respect. We spent quite a lot of time chasing them for updates, making them aware of emails and documents that had been sent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michał
Michał Added 3 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 10, 2019 20190610045043

Case against Ryanair

1

Well they took my time to file a claim against Ryanair and then they just retreated stating highly likely they would not succeed

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alisha
Alisha Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 06, 2019 20190606191126

First time house purchase

5

We used Butterworths because we wanted somewhere local and with a good reputation. As first time buyers we were nervous about who to use and how much it would cost. Our solicitor Katie Richardson, was professional, kind extremely knowledgable and put us at ease for the whole experience, from the first enquiry, to completion. She kept in contact with me directly by phone and email (which ever I preferred) and reassured me that no questions were ridiculous ( I had many, many queries) and that she was there to help with everything we needed. After hearing so many stories of other solicitors not having time for you or just treating you like a number, I was really impressed with how professional and comfortable it was to deal with Katie and how easy the entire process was-someone said buying a house was stressful and it didn’t feel that way with her! Would highly recommend and definitely use again should I need to.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Trevor
Verified Trevor Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 06, 2019 20190606151256

Couldn't be Happier!

5

Adele did a wonderful job dealing with our house sale and I wouldn't hesitate to use Butterworths again! Thanks also to Jack Pattinson.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

James
Verified James Added 3 months ago Report to admin
June 06, 2019 20190606142812

First time buyers - very helpful.

5

Whilst purchasing our first property we appointed Butterworth's as our conveyancer. They were quick in providing their original quote and were very helpful throughout our purchase. Being first time buyers I had a lot of questions and they were able to answer them all.

Although we mainly dealt with Grace, Adele was also very helpful when covering during periods of annual leave etc.

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lee
Verified Lee Added 4 months ago Report to admin
May 09, 2019 20190509224357

House purchase

5

Our experience was a good one
Would use again

Solicitor being reviewed: Adele Louise Siddle

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Based in the North of England we offer high-quality, sensible legal advice to clients seeking professional help and easy to access support. Whether the matter is of a personal or business nature, you can be sure that you will receive outstanding advice tailored to meet your own needs and which reflects your own personal circumstances. You can be sure you are in safe hands every time.


Legal Services
  • Wills
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Valuers
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Family law
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Barristers
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Transfers of equity
  • Pension and property advice
  • Property Disputes
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Trusts
  • Extending your Lease
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Professional Discipline
  • Social Services
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Lease Extensions
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Against The Council
  • Financial Matters
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Travel rights
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Child contact
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Dental Negligence
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Professional Negligence
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Professional trustees
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Stress at Work
  • Buying at auction
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Employment Contracts
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Part Time Workers
  • MRSA Claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing Associations
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Probate
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Senior Executives
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Insurance brokers
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Consumer Rights
  • Leasehold properties
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Children
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Right to Manage
  • Family Leave
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Redundancy
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Media and Sports
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Litigation Law
  • Gardening Leave
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Housing Management
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Flexible Working
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Child Law
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Remortgaging
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • TUPE
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Financial advisors
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • IT professionals
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Finance
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Rights of way issues
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Employment - business
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Mediation
  • Competition law
  • Management buyouts
  • Equestrian property
  • Debt Recovery
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Corporate Law
  • Corporate finance
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Agency agreements
  • Health and Safety
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Credit Control
  • Farming disputes
  • Commercial Law
  • Development plot sales
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Asset Tracing
  • Developer disputes
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Environmental policy law
  • Statutory Demands
  • Intellectual Property
  • Share option schemes
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Setting up a business
  • Franchising
  • Summary Judgment
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Banking
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Data Protection
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Purchase of development land
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Leases
  • Landlord and tenant

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000