Garner Canning Limited

2.7/5 6 Customer Reviews Leave a review

How Garner Canning Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Garner Canning Limited on ReviewSolicitors

Become Verified

Garner Canning Limited has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


6 Customer Reviews

2.7/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    2
Anonymous
Click to rate
Seb
Seb Added 3 months ago Report to admin
October 26, 2019 20191026141354

Remortgage

2

Slow slow slow, then rude rude rude.

If you can go with someone else, I'd advise doing so.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Phoebe
Phoebe Added 8 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
May 21, 2019 20190521120402

Poor Communication causing unnecessary delays

2

I was not a client of Garner Canning. They were acting as the solicitor for my buyer during the sale of my house. Frustratingly, during the sale of my house both me, my solicitors, and the rest of the chain were subject to radio silence far too often from Garner Canning. Now that my house sale has been completed, I have been trying to retrieve a fee incurred to me from GC to no avail with (yet again) more radio silence. I have followed their complaints procedure but again, had no response, so am regrettably having to gain support from the Legal Ombudsman. I would do your research on GC before instructing them as I would hate for anyone else to be in the same position as I have been left in- out of pocket and increasingly frustrated.

Solicitor named in this review: Gary Glover

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 5 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 16, 2019 20190816181852

Shockingly bad service, DO NOT USE

1

I have used GC on a couple of occasions for different house purchases.. On both occasions the sellers solicitors have complained that they don't respond to e mails and have slowed down the transaction significantly.
On my latest transaction they overpaid stamp duty despite the fact that I alerted to the fact that Multiple Dwelling Relief applied. This has resulted in an over payment of over £10,000+ to HMRC which now has to be claimed back. The money was meant to be used for my refurbishment and is going to cause major delays to my project.

I telephone GC on a regular basis, sometimes having to wait between 15-20 minutes to get to #1 in the queue only for the answering machine to kick in, very frustrating indeed. I have been trying to speak to Carole Mcadams for over 2 weeks, to date she has not had the courtesy to return a single one of my calls and after e mailing both Carole and Gary Glover twice without response I now have to make an official complaint to the ombudsman to have my complaints addressed.
SHOCKING SERVICE, DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR, PAY A LITTLE MORE AND RECEIVE A GOOD SERVICE FROM ELSEWHERE

Solicitor named in this review: Gary Glover

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rose
Rose Added 9 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 02, 2019 20190402212630

Excellent, efficient and friendly service

5

Having used solicitors from Garner Canning in West Bromwich, Tamworth and Atherstone for several house sales and personal matters such as my will, I have no hesitation in recommending them. In addition, my partner received excellent and sympathetic help which meant successful mediation following obstacles and problems in dealing with a break up.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 10 months ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 30, 2019 20190330091800

Excellent service

5

Excellent service from Deborah Watts when applying for child Arrangement Order. She guided me throughout the whole process from the application to the hearing. I was kept up to date with emails letters and phone calls, which resulted in the best Valentines Day present ever. We got the result we wanted on Valentines Day. Thank you Deborah I know you went above and beyond to support me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

susan
susan Added 10 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 06, 2019 20190306135407

RUBBISH SERVICE

1

Terrible service told them I wasnt happy Gail at Tamworth was getting trust done I at to wait a year for it to go through when it should of took 2 months.
I asked them to send a bill They sent me an invoice with no bank details they sent a letter saying interest will be added if not paid so I asked to pay over the phone their pay machine was not working for days.
I told Gail at the Tamworth branch me or my daughter not happy the way we been treated being put on hold ages rude staff no bill sent out i made loads of calls but cant pay it as they machine not working.
GAIL REFUSED TO SAY SORRY AND I EXPLAINED IM OLD 77YRS IN PAIN AND CAUSED ME STRESS AND INCONVENICE AND I ASKED HER 3 TIMES SO R U GOING TO SAY SORRY SHE SAID NO.
Im 77 yrs old and in a lot of pain this as stressed me and my daughter out. was put u on hold for ages
They dont care about the customers.
Staff are rude and change subject when I asked anything bad manners.
Never will I use them again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Other Sutton Coldfield Solicitors