Garner Canning Limited

Also known as - Garner Canning

2.3/5 9 Customer Reviews Leave a review

How Garner Canning Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Garner Canning Limited on ReviewSolicitors

Become Verified

Garner Canning Limited has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


9 Customer Reviews

2.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    4
  • Awful
    3
Anonymous
Click to rate
Seb
Seb Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 26, 2019 20191026141354

Remortgage

2

Slow slow slow, then rude rude rude.

If you can go with someone else, I'd advise doing so.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Phoebe
Phoebe Added 1 year ago 6 found this helpful Report to admin
May 21, 2019 20190521120402

Poor Communication causing unnecessary delays

2

I was not a client of Garner Canning. They were acting as the solicitor for my buyer during the sale of my house. Frustratingly, during the sale of my house both me, my solicitors, and the rest of the chain were subject to radio silence far too often from Garner Canning. Now that my house sale has been completed, I have been trying to retrieve a fee incurred to me from GC to no avail with (yet again) more radio silence. I have followed their complaints procedure but again, had no response, so am regrettably having to gain support from the Legal Ombudsman. I would do your research on GC before instructing them as I would hate for anyone else to be in the same position as I have been left in- out of pocket and increasingly frustrated.

Solicitor named in this review: Gary Glover

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
David Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 18, 2020 20200618140308

Don't Go here !!! Garner Cunning

1

Don't believe the BS on their websites. Terrible Company or Just C*nts or Sh*ts.
The son of the Owner of Garner Canning. Arrogant and lazy. Took 8 Months to do a a 6 week completion. Cash Sale, no chain, I did the searches for him in advance. Did not look into issues after the sale either. Plus they cover up their mistakes.

Solicitor named in this review: Kevin Garner

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ross
Ross Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
May 20, 2020 20200520155446

Would never use again

2

We purchased a new house in 2018 -2019 firstly the house we originally attempted to buy was offer accepted in oct 2018 but due to the seller this didnt go through and we finally pulled out of the sale in june 2019 during this time we constantly had to chase Ganner Canning for updates - only once did we manage to speak to our solitior on the phone as all other times we would be told they would call back which never came. This first house i fully blame on the seller but zero help was offered by GC to resolve the issue.
Second house was offer accepted and deposit paid in June 2019 paperwork was confused and required to be resubmitted - again struggled to communicate with GC and only response by emails to their director level were heeded - if you are struggling communicating with GC then I advise you go to the top.
After purchase of the property went through in december 2019 the day prior we received a letter implying that our final bill would be £27,000ish (note - deposit had been paid in June) this almost gave my partner a heart attack thinking that we had been scammed out of the earlier paid deposit upon questioning this I was told that the figure was incorrect and this would be £26,000ish again questioned this and then highlighted that the final fee should be more like £500 as we had paid the deposit and other fees earlier.
Finally we were told that no infact we had over paid and they were refunding us (they would have sent us £27,000 if i had not so vigourously questioned the amount) in total after trying the get the overpayment refunded for months I finally had to threaten the solitors ombudsman to which I then received the refund in march 2020.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rumie
Rumie Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 02, 2020 20200402012944

Not a good experience for a first time buyer

2

Garner Canning was referred to me by the company I used to carry out surveys (Homeward Legal) who were an absolute delight to deal with. I assumed I would have the same experience with the solicitors but it was quite the opposite.

Initially it took a while to even get the ball rolling as the paralegal took her sweet time in getting anything done such as sending initial paperwork. I had to chase this up myself a few times. Weeks went by and I phoned again to ask about where we had progressed to be told by this same girl that everything is ready to be started and they’re just waiting for some funds from me. Well pardon me for not being a mind reading mutant - a simple email telling me this would have sufficed. After this I started dealing with my solicitor. The only time she would respond to my queries (after ignoring my emails initially) is when I would CC her supervisor in. My house purchase was delayed by a simple thing - an indemnity policy required by the mortgage lender. My solicitor kept me going round in circles for 3 weeks, for the sake of a £15 policy. It seemed to me she just didn’t know that was what was needed hence I assume she is young and inexperienced. Whatever her reason - she wasn’t helpful at all. I paid her to help me yet she just didn’t seem to have my best interests. She was off sick many times and when she’d be back she’d tell me she wasn’t well. I’m sorry but I don’t care and that’s not my problem. Eventually she went off to self isolate and my case was taken over by someone who was clearly more senior, knowledgeable and experienced and my house purchase was completed in a jiffy. A few times I rang the Sutton Coldfield branch when I couldn’t get through to Coleshill and always spoke to a very rude woman who spoke to me like she feels the world is against her and everything is a chore.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 11 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
August 16, 2019 20190816181852

Shockingly bad service, DO NOT USE

1

I have used GC on a couple of occasions for different house purchases.. On both occasions the sellers solicitors have complained that they don't respond to e mails and have slowed down the transaction significantly.
On my latest transaction they overpaid stamp duty despite the fact that I alerted to the fact that Multiple Dwelling Relief applied. This has resulted in an over payment of over £10,000+ to HMRC which now has to be claimed back. The money was meant to be used for my refurbishment and is going to cause major delays to my project.

I telephone GC on a regular basis, sometimes having to wait between 15-20 minutes to get to #1 in the queue only for the answering machine to kick in, very frustrating indeed. I have been trying to speak to Carole Mcadams for over 2 weeks, to date she has not had the courtesy to return a single one of my calls and after e mailing both Carole and Gary Glover twice without response I now have to make an official complaint to the ombudsman to have my complaints addressed.
SHOCKING SERVICE, DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR, PAY A LITTLE MORE AND RECEIVE A GOOD SERVICE FROM ELSEWHERE

Solicitor named in this review: Gary Glover

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rose
Rose Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 02, 2019 20190402212630

Excellent, efficient and friendly service

5

Having used solicitors from Garner Canning in West Bromwich, Tamworth and Atherstone for several house sales and personal matters such as my will, I have no hesitation in recommending them. In addition, my partner received excellent and sympathetic help which meant successful mediation following obstacles and problems in dealing with a break up.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 30, 2019 20190330091800

Excellent service

5

Excellent service from Deborah Watts when applying for child Arrangement Order. She guided me throughout the whole process from the application to the hearing. I was kept up to date with emails letters and phone calls, which resulted in the best Valentines Day present ever. We got the result we wanted on Valentines Day. Thank you Deborah I know you went above and beyond to support me.

Was this review helpful? Yes

susan
susan Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
March 06, 2019 20190306135407

RUBBISH SERVICE

1

Terrible service told them I wasnt happy Gail at Tamworth was getting trust done I at to wait a year for it to go through when it should of took 2 months.
I asked them to send a bill They sent me an invoice with no bank details they sent a letter saying interest will be added if not paid so I asked to pay over the phone their pay machine was not working for days.
I told Gail at the Tamworth branch me or my daughter not happy the way we been treated being put on hold ages rude staff no bill sent out i made loads of calls but cant pay it as they machine not working.
GAIL REFUSED TO SAY SORRY AND I EXPLAINED IM OLD 77YRS IN PAIN AND CAUSED ME STRESS AND INCONVENICE AND I ASKED HER 3 TIMES SO R U GOING TO SAY SORRY SHE SAID NO.
Im 77 yrs old and in a lot of pain this as stressed me and my daughter out. was put u on hold for ages
They dont care about the customers.
Staff are rude and change subject when I asked anything bad manners.
Never will I use them again

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Legal Services