Request a callback

Book an appointment

How XYZ Law Ltd Compares

Value for money

This firm - 94%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of XYZ Law Ltd on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 7%
Overpriced 7%
About Right 84%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used XYZ Law Ltd and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how XYZ Law Ltd performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 97%
No 3%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used XYZ Law Ltd and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how XYZ Law Ltd compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that XYZ Law Ltd offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    271
  • Very Good

    7
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    9

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
A

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

A

April 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Incompetent, lazy, non-communicative, unapologetic

We went with XYZ as they seemed to have genuine good reviews and were good on pricing. I have my suspicions about the reviews, but that is just a personal thought. They are lower than average for conveyancing costs - There is a reason.

Mr Manga was placed on our case from the outset, and so things began.

Initially there were a few teething problems, and thus he got the benefit of the doubt. I corrected inaccuracies, like emails addressed to the wrong person, email addresses were wrong, leasehold documents were sent when the property was freehold. Of course, these kind of things can be expected when first kicking off a case, I didn't think much of it.

The sale was a cash sale. The most straightforward of sales, no chain, just us and the buyer. This seemed to be too much for Mr Manga, and the communication and progress quickly nosedived to barely a recognition of the job that he was being paid to do.

The same documents were being sent to us to fill out, again the leasehold document instead of freehold, which we had already filled in and sent back weeks prior.
The enquiries were simply being forwarded on from our buyers solicitor with no attempt from Mr Manga to answer them, and in effect all we were paying for was an admin service for email forwarding. Half of the time the emails contained the same questions that we had already answered in the previous email.

When I raised my concerns to him, and the senior partners in the firm, I was ignored, then fobbed off with empty promises from Mr Dadu. I requested on multiple occasions to have our case moved from Mr Manga to a senior who could actually do the work. Again, these requests were ignored and I was assured from Mr Dadu that Mr Manga is "very experienced" (Graduating in July 2021 does not a very experienced paralegal make). Only when I submitted a formal complaint mentioning that I would be going to the SRA, was it "suggested" that they could move it to another member of their team (Who, subsequently did a fantastic job).

In all of this, not once has their been an acknowledgement of their short comings, neither the company or the individuals. Not a sorry, or an "I apologise for letting you down". They seem to be of the opinion that customer service doesn't matter.

To everyone reading this, XYZ are now a part of Abbot Legal Limited, I doubt this will be enough to remove the engrained bad customer service and lack of professionalism from individuals within this company, but who knows.

This was our experience. I hope no-one else gets to experience this and will find this review helpful and make you consider using another firm to handle your conveyancing process.

Was this review helpful?

A

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

A

April 12, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Review of Aasiyah NOT XYZ

Our case had been handled (Badly) by another Paralegal within XYZ.

After 4.5 months of no real progress, Aasiyah was put in place to take over the case, and I cannot thank her enough for all of the work she has done on our behalf.

Considering that she only works half days, she puts in a shift and gets more done than the individual who was on our case and also in half the time. She managed to get our sale finished within 2 months where as the other person had done nothing (or so it appeared).

She is attentive to emails and all communication, making sure that we were kept up to date and responding to any questions or queries we had in a matter of hours which goes a very long way to keeping the client calmer and knowing that things are happening.

Would I recommend using XYZ Law? Not in the slightest.

If however you do find yourself stuck with them, then I recommend Aasiyah to be the conveyancer to get your case done and dusted in a professional manner!

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 14, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great efforts to achieve purchase success while it may not go through

We thought our purchase might be failed and we may face a fine because contract had been exchanged few days before the fixed date for completion. Unexpectedly our mortgage advance did not reach XYZ firm on the day of completion for some reason. Because the difficult situation, Anis joined in and helped to go through. Emma Stranks and Anis Dadu acted quickly and communicated with the lender. They did their best to save our purchase.
Emma and Anis contacted different departments of the lenders at the earliest time of next day. With their efforts, the lender issued our mortgage fund in the afternoon. We are very happy about our purchase. It was finally completed. And the seller did not ask us to pay fine for 1 day delay. Main thing is that Emma and Anis joined and worked together and turn impossible case to a completion. Amazing result. The completion date was 22/02/2022. Many years could not meet this date and this result.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Anonymous

March 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Very helpful efficient service

After Manjit Kaur helped us purchase our 1st Buy-to-Let property, we were very happy about her high efficient service. We came back to her for our 2nd BTL. Again Manjit provided great advice and service. The 2nd property was purchased with a sitting tenant. The completion date was set few days after the rent pay day. Manjit positively discussed with the seller’s solicitor and helped us hold some fund for covering rent the tenant overpaid to the seller. Manjit transferred the holding rent to us after completion. We really appreciate Manjit’s hard work and excellent experience.

Was this review helpful?

Anonymous

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Anonymous

March 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Service.

Manjit spent a lot of time in our purchasing. Our mortgage application took longer time than others. And the property we purchased is built on coal field. We worried about our mortgage application and purchase of the property. Manjit was patiently helped us go through the documents, and communicate with the lender. Finally the lender carefully asked the surveyor to re-check everything to make sure there is no problem for the property. Without Manjit’s help, we do not think we could complete our purchase and get into the ladder of the property. We would like to recommend our friends to Manjit if they will purchase properties. Many thanks, Manjit.

Was this review helpful?

Rebecca

Rebecca

February 16, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great indeed

Was transferred over to this company after my initial conveyancers ceased trading. Louise was brilliant and sorted the registration of house deeds no problem at all, thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Grant

Grant

January 28, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mortgage

Emma was really helpful throughout the purchase and kept us fully informed. Would recommend and use again.

Was this review helpful?

Siobhan

Siobhan

January 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Created a lot of additional stress

We had a very negative experience with XYZ Solicitors from start to finish. We instructed them to help with the purchase of a property and they made it a very stressful and unpleasant experience for us. From sending us documents for the complete wrong property, our solicitor going on annual leave for 2 weeks without anyone notifying us or picking up our case as we were due to exchange, to speaking to both me and my partner in a rude and unprofessional manner on several occasions, this a company I would strongly recommend avoiding.

I have seen that XYZ Solicitors seem to try and get in contact with anyone who leaves a negative review but this platform is here to help advise potential customers. Customer service is something that massively needs working on for this company and I hope other people don't have the additional stress added onto their property purchase like we had.

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Matter Type:

Transfers of equity

Paul

January 13, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Perfect all the way

I rarely write reviews but this time I feel it’s critical to do so to thank Louise Pugh so much for her outstanding work. The commitment Louise gave since she picked up my case has been outstanding. Louise even took the time to answer my emails at 22:00 at night which obviously was in her own family time. I have never experienced such customer care before , hence why she deserves my time for this review. If you want professionalism with peace of mind, use Louise for your requirements. Thank you Louise. You’re a star and it wouldn’t have completed without you

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

January 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service

Inherited my case from another firm that recently went out of business. Did a much better job than the previous firm and now, within a short space of time, all of the t's are crossed and i's are dotted (which the previous firm didn't manage in the year since completion!). Thanks, great service

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Abdul

Abdul

May 03, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Abdul

Good company with good people, I think there are some learners as well along with Learned,

Was this review helpful?

H

H

April 20, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

Their behaviour is absolutely disgraceful. I instruct them to help with a property purchase.
The most unpleasant, stressful experience I have ever had! Extremely low and slow response on emails and they refuse to talk on the phone. The last time I called and insist to speak with someone, a guy called Anis picked up the phone and in a very disrespectful tone said "I charge £250 per hour, don't have time to answer calls". He seems to forget that I am a client who is paying that firm to answer my questions not to ignore and disrespect me.
Shame on you guys, No manner whatsoever!
You have wasted my time and that cost me a lot, will take my complaint further, you need to either improve your system and treat people with respect or shut the firm down.

Was this review helpful?

Michael

Michael

January 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michael

Inherited my case from another firm that recently went out of business. Did a much better job than the previous firm and now, within a short space of time, all of the t's are crossed and i's are dotted (which the previous firm didn't manage in the year since completion!). Thanks, great service from Louise Pugh

Was this review helpful?

kathy

kathy

January 06, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

kathy

NEVER use this company as a conveyancer. They are acting on behalf of the client at the bottom of our house sale chain and have held things up for weeks by their complete lack of communication, despite a formal complaint being made against them to the Law Society.

Was this review helpful?

mackenzie

mackenzie

December 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

mackenzie

very slow to email and call, I heard they are getting low pay but should stay responsive.

Was this review helpful?

XYZ Law Ltd are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

To maintain the highest of standards, we have invested in state-of-the-art technology and developed an entirely client-centred approach. We listen and understand before providing straight-forward and honest professional advice to get you the best results. Our friendly team of expert lawyers have a wealth of experience. Not just in law but also in all the other things that matter – like building great relationships, putting people first, and making a difference.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Legal aid
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Planning
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Banking
    • Banking
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Planning law
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Litigation for Holiday and Residential Parks
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Slander
    • Small businesses
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Construction
    • Building contracts and professional appointments
    • Construction
    • Construction and engineering dispute resolution
    • Contracts for the supply, installation and maintenance of specialist mechanical and electrical plant
    • Crane oversailing and scaffolding licences
    • Development agreements
    • Development loan facilities
    • Due diligence audits for banks and other financial institutions
    • Engineering contracts
    • Facility maintenance agreements
    • Framework agreements
    • Guarantees and bonds
    • In-house training
    • Warranties, third party rights and reliance letters
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
Book an appointment