Coles Solicitors

01642 482 424

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.2/5 336 Customer Reviews 336 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

336 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    238
  • Very Good
    31
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    11
  • Awful
    44

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Catherine
Verified Catherine Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
January 28, 2020 20200128081542

Sale of home

5

Excellent service throughout and always professional and pleasant when answering the telephone. I wouldn’t use anyone else.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 29 January, 2020

Thank you so much for your feedback Catherine. It's been a pleasure working with you and we look forward to working with you again in the future, should you need us! Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clare
Clare Added 1 month ago Report to admin
January 16, 2020 20200116152847

Do not touch - shocking

1

7 months in to dealing with my late father's grant of probate, its still not resolved and have handed the case off to another firm. No service offered at all, and are not even adhering to their own complaints procedure. Save yourself the stress and go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sarah
Verified Sarah Added 2 months ago Report to admin
December 17, 2019 20191217074930

House move

5

Joanne Bolton was our conveyancing solicitor. Would highly recommend. She was very approachable and responsive. Kept me up to date and was in contact regularly.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 07 January, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Sarah. I have passed this on to Joanne. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clive
Clive Added 5 months ago Report to admin
September 13, 2019 20190913093856

Writing my will. Efficient and thorough

5

Great service. I had initially engaged another solicitor in Redcar who treated me as a nuisance because I wanted "my will" rather than and off the shelf will. I moved to Coles, Vicky John listened to what I wanted and translated it into a will. It was my will, not a law-society standard. Thank you Coles for being welcoming and for treating me as an individual

Solicitor named in this review: Victoria John

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 16 September, 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback Clive. We are glad that Vicky could help you after initially dealing with another firm of Solicitors. If we can be of any assistance in the future, you know where we are. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Annmarie
Verified Annmarie Added 7 months ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711154532

Moving

5

Very professional employees with great integrity, very polite and patient

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 15 July, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We are glad you've had a great experience. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kirstie
Kirstie Added 8 months ago Report to admin
June 06, 2019 20190606143614

House Purchase, Excellent Service

5

Coles Solicitors handled my recent house purchase, they were really easy to deal with, kept me informed all the way through and chased all the sticking points through to completion with the sellers solicitors. I would absolutely recommend them.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback Kirstie. We hope you are enjoying your new home. Do get in touch with our team if there is anything else we can help with in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Verified Ian Added 9 months ago Report to admin
May 02, 2019 20190502131602

House sale

5

Competitively priced, a job well done thanks.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 07 May, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Ian. We hope we can help you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Verified Mark Added 10 months ago Report to admin
April 05, 2019 20190405220234

Highly Recommend

5

Excellent service from start to finish.
Lindsey Carter and Annabel Charlton kept us in the loop at all times with what was going on on promptly sent out any forms or documents our for us to sign and advised us what to do next, making our first time house buying effortless and stress free.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 08 April, 2019

Thanks for your review Mark. Lindsey and Annabel will be delighted with your feedback. We hope you are enjoying your new home and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adam
Verified Adam Added 12 months ago Report to admin
March 01, 2019 20190301191007

House move

5

Absolutely brilliant service. We would definitely use Coles again & would highly recommend this company to our friends & family. Joanne Bolton especially for how she handled our house move. We can not fault her & thank her enough.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 04 March, 2019

Thank you for such a wonderful review Adam. I have passed this on to Joanne and she was glad to be of service. You've made her day. We hope to work with you again in the future, but in the meantime, enjoy your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stephen
Verified Stephen Added 1 year ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
February 18, 2019 20190218195236

Minus 5 *

1

Having used Goodswens/Cole’s for a number of years for various legal issues, both private and commercial, our experiences are frankly beyond belief.
This company appears to be operating in the 1970’s.
If you want good legal services I suggest you look elsewhere.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 19 February, 2019

Stephen, please could you send further details of your complaint to me lucy.groves@coles-law.co.uk and I will investigate further. Many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Marilyn
Marilyn Added 6 days ago Report to admin
February 18, 2020
Collected on
20200218170127

Marilyn

5

Got my business completed quickly and at a competitive price. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Michael Added 9 months ago Report to admin
May 21, 2019
Collected on
20190521040152

Michael

5

Excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 21 May, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated. Coles Solicitors

Andy
Andy Added 1 year ago Report to admin
January 27, 2019
Collected on
20190127203558

Andy Stewart

5

Great service and support from Joanne Oldfield and the team at Coles Solicitors, Redcar. They completed the conveyancing on the sale of my mother’s house in a timely and efficient manner, it certainly helped at what was a difficult time. I can highly recommend this solicitor and would not hesitate to use them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thanks for your review Andy we are pleased to have been of service to you. Your review will help others make an informed decision on their choice of Solicitor.

Tina
Tina Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 28, 2018
Collected on
20180828120529

Tina Bingley

5

We were both very pleased with the service we received from Joanne Bolton at Coles. The service was friendly and professional. We would recommend this firm to others!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 29 August, 2018

Hi Tina and thanks for taking the time to review the service we provided. We are pleased to have been of service to you and trust you are setting into your new home.

Kate
Kate Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 31, 2018
Collected on
20180731075322

Kate Lowe

5

I am surprised to see some of these reviews, I could recommend Goodswens, Redcar, now part of Coles Solicitors, unreservedly. I've always received prompt, pleasant & professional attention in whichever capacity I have required their services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 06 August, 2018

Thank you for your review Kate - very much appreciated. We always aim to provide the best service we can.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Housing Management
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Lease Extensions
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Extending your Lease
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • UK ancestry
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Transfers of equity
  • Housing disputes
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Child contact
  • Wills
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Family Based Visas
  • Pension Law
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Drugs offences
  • TUPE
  • Family Leave
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Deportation appeals
  • Pension and property advice
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Assault
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Family law
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Partner and family visas
  • Gardening Leave
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Visas
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Flexible Working
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Trusts
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Re-entry bans
  • Remortgaging
  • Children
  • Professional Discipline
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Immigration Law
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Trusts
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Criminal Damage
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Collaborative Law
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Stress at Work
  • Repossessions
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Redundancy
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Probate
  • Financial Matters
  • Against The Council
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Travel rights
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Consumer Rights
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Litigation Law
  • Theft
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Human Rights
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Leasehold properties
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Senior Executives
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Employment Contracts
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Civil partnerships
  • Professional Negligence
  • Ancestry visas
  • Family Mediation
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Citizenship
  • Injunctions
  • Transfer of title
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Injunctions
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Buying at auction
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Professional Conduct
  • Property Disputes
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Child Law
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Separation Agreement
  • Social Services
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Part Time Workers
  • Housing Associations
  • Business Crime
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Right to Manage
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000