Coles Solicitors

01430 873 593

Also known as - Kingly Solicitors, Richard Herne & Co, Ray Nixon Brown, Coles, Austin Ray, Hancock Quins

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.2/5 353 Customer Reviews 353 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

353 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    245
  • Very Good
    34
  • Average
    13
  • Poor
    13
  • Awful
    48

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Ruth
Ruth Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
May 11, 2020 20200511132503

032776 Laurence Daniels

5

Laurence managed my expectations and then exceeded them,he explained every part of my claim and felt I could and did ask for clarification when legal terms used. These he put into layman's terms. I would recommend that if you have an injury claim he is your man.



Solicitor named in this review: Laurence Daniels

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chris
Verified Chris Added 1 year ago Report to admin
April 01, 2019 20190401185049

Arranging Wills

5

We met with Amy Hook at the Market Weighton office and were extremely pleased with the service and advice that we received in arranging our Wills from Amy and would have no hesitation in recommending her.

Solicitor named in this review: Amy Claire Hook

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 02 April, 2019

Thank you Chris for such wonderful feedback. I'm glad you are pleased with our service. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to Amy and should you ever need a Solicitor again in the future, you know who to contact. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

GRAHAM
GRAHAM Added 1 year ago Report to admin
November 09, 2018 20181109160806

Ignoref

1

Completely ignored by Coles, last correspondance 18 /10/2018 now 09/11/2018, repeatedly rung and emailed and have received no reply. Rung head office to see if they were still representing me, two days later still no reply. Contacted the solicitor acting for my wife and received more help and information.
Graham Barr

Was this review helpful? Yes

ian
ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 10, 2018 20180910235825

A light at the end of the tunnel

5

I'm working with Shauna Finch on a family matter and I'm really impressed with how understanding, empathetic and professional she is.
The case is tedious and very protracted because of the other side, that said, Shauna is always patient and supportive.

Everyone I've spoken with at Coles has always been polite and you're always made to feel important.

I would wholeheartedly reccomend Shauna at Market Weighton and Coles.

Solicitor named in this review: Shauna Leslie Finch

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 09 July, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. We very much appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hilary
Verified Hilary Added 1 year ago Report to admin
September 04, 2018 20180904155335

Sale of father's house

5

Holly West and her assistant, Nicola Willey, were helpful and efficient during the sale of my father's house, and Holly stayed in the office past closing time to sort out communication with the buyer's solicitors on the day contracts were exchanged. The conveyancing process had begun at the Stockton office (before being held up by probate proceedings following my father's death); the man who dealt with us there was friendly and helpful.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 09 July, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. We very much appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rachael
Rachael Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 19, 2018 20180819221731

Outstanding

5

This is the second time I have used Coles Solicitors and both times they have been excellent. The staff are friendly and welcoming, nothing is ever too much trouble and the conveyancing service that I received on both occasions was exemplary. I cannot recommend Coles highly enough. Thank you.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Michael
Verified Michael Added 1 year ago Report to admin
August 17, 2018 20180817122322

Poor Service

1

Found the communication from the solicitors very poor indeed! Had to chase all the time as they never contacted myself at all.

Completion of the house when through on a Friday but never found out until the Tuesday, again I had to contact them

Have another property to sell but will not be using their services.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Peter Added 2 years ago Report to admin
June 24, 2017 20170624135905

Excellent Service! - Matter Ref: 031065

5

Although the case was very straightforward, Amy Hook, the solicitor who assisted me, was extremely helpful, quick and efficient. The matter was handled extremely professionally with no problems. I would have no hesitation in returning to Coles in the future or recommending them to others.

Solicitor named in this review: Amy Claire Hook

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 13 July, 2017

Dear Peter, Thank you for your review and we are pleased our service matched your expectation. We look forward to assisting you further in the future with any legal matters that may arise.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dherm
Dherm Added 3 years ago Report to admin
January 30, 2017 20170130141836

Nice service

4

Good customer service, cannot complain at all. Good value for money as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melanie
Melanie Added 3 years ago Report to admin
December 07, 2016 20161207185853

Tenant eviction

5

Due to not knowing any law on eviction of tensnts Coles were employed to advise.

Expensive but covered everything and won 2 court cases

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 16 December, 2016

Dear Melanie, Thank you for such a great review. We are delighted you have recognised the importance of good advice and asked us to to act for you. Regards, Sarah Chapman Marketing

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

kelly
kelly Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 09, 2020
Collected on
20200309185306

kelly

5

Solicitor was very informative and helpful . I would certainly use this solicitor again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 10 March, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Kelly and we look forward to working with you again. Coles Solicitors

Brian
Brian Added 9 months ago Report to admin
August 20, 2019
Collected on
20190820154035

Brian

5

Laurence Daniels has to be number one in his profession. He handled my accident claim with true professionalism and sheer grit resulting in a successful conclusion. There was excellent communication throughout. The entire process was stress free due to the thorough, straightforward, timely service. I can't praise Laurence enough; he was unwavering, confident and on the ball- a safe pair of hands. I had faith in the whole process from start to finish. A very helpful, pleasant and polite service.
( Review from Lynne Annable-Staines )

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 16 September, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Brian. We are glad Laurence could help. If you ever need any legal services in the future please don't hesitate to get in touch. Coles Solicitors

Jayne
Jayne Added 1 year ago Report to admin
June 02, 2019
Collected on
20190602125352

Jayne

5

Laurence Daniels handled my personal injury claim impeccably. His communication skills are exceptional, breaking down legal jargon and process at each step of the way. I had the feeling right from Instruction that if Laurence couldn't do it - nobody could! We were dealing with a particularly difficult, non compliant and unsavoury character, but we got there. Thank you, Laurence. Justice was served. I couldn't have done it without you and I'm grateful. If you should ever find yourself in need of a personal injury solicitor, without reservation and wholeheartedly, I would recommend Laurence Daniels.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 10 June, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review Jayne. I have passed this on to Laurence and i'm sure he'll be thrilled. Please don't hesitate in recommending Coles Solicitors to your family and friends and we hope to work with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Vanessa
Vanessa Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 09, 2019
Collected on
20190109182137

Vanessa Creaser

5

Laurence, thank you for all the time and effort you have spent on my complex case and for the excellent service that I have received. You have been superb from start to finish.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

What wonderful feedback Vanessa. Many thanks for taking the time to do so and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Sue
Sue Added 1 year ago Report to admin
January 08, 2019
Collected on
20190108205042

Sue Render

5

I was so impressed with all the advice and guidance given to me by Laurence at Coles Solicitors.

He was very clear and encouraging at all times and put me at ease when I asked for clarification of matters to do with my case.

I am so grateful that he agreed to represent me in quite a tricky case and that he believed in justice being done.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this company's service to anyone, and in particular Laurence is second to none.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you Sue for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate your kind words and I will ensure your feedback is passed on to Laurence. We look forward to working with you again in the future but please do not hesitate in recommending Coles to your family and friends. Coles Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Part Time Workers
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Child contact
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Buying at auction
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Civil partnerships
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Family Based Visas
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Family Mediation
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Travel rights
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Trusts
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Injunctions
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Litigation Law
  • Right to Manage
  • Trusts
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Business Crime
  • Assault
  • Deportation appeals
  • Professional Conduct
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Housing Management
  • Human Rights
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Family Leave
  • Criminal Damage
  • Separation Agreement
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • TUPE
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Lease Extensions
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Visas
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Housing disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Remortgaging
  • Professional Negligence law
  • Flexible Working
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Collaborative Law
  • Financial Matters
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Social Services
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Ancestry visas
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Redundancy
  • Consumer Rights
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Repossessions
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Citizenship
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Gardening Leave
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Professional Discipline
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Extending your Lease
  • Transfers of equity
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Property Disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Partner and family visas
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Against The Council
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Housing Associations
  • Leasehold properties
  • Children
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Senior Executives
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Probate
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Stress at Work
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Family law
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Immigration Law
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Wills
  • Employment Contracts
  • Professional Negligence
  • Theft
  • Transfer of title
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Drugs offences
  • Injunctions
  • UK ancestry
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Re-entry bans
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Pension Law
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Child Law
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000