Coles Solicitors

01642 788 196

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.

4.2/5 325 Customer Reviews 325
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

325 Customer Reviews

4.2/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    232
  • Very Good
    30
  • Average
    10
  • Poor
    11
  • Awful
    42

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Victoria
Verified Victoria Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 05, 2019 20191105072136

Fabulous!

5

A highly efficient, responsive, professional conveyancing service delivered with a warm and friendly approach. Joanne and Bev made our house sale/purchase run smoothly from start to finish! Thank you 😊

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 05 November, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Victoria. We have a fantastic conveyancing department which we are very proud of. We hope you are enjoying your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Susan
Verified Susan Added 6 months ago Report to admin
July 27, 2019 20190727133448

Great service

5

Excellent, keep you informed, very friendly

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 29 July, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Susan. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Carol
Verified Carol Added 6 months ago Report to admin
July 11, 2019 20190711122011

Sale of house

5

Thankyou so much for dealing with our affairs during a very distressing time in our lives.much appreciated.

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 15 July, 2019

We are sorry to hear you are going through a difficult time at the moment but we thank you for taking the time to let us know of the service you received. Bev will be thrilled. Please do keep in touch if there's anything else we can do to help. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Amy
Verified Amy Added 7 months ago Report to admin
June 19, 2019 20190619134254

Great Service

5

Great service from start to finish. Excellent communication felt well informed throughout. Highly recommended.

Solicitor named in this review: Joanne Elizabeth Oldfield

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 24 June, 2019

Thank you for your feedback Amy. I will make sure this is passed on to Joanne! We hope you enjoy your new home. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gerard
Gerard Added 1 year ago Report to admin
July 11, 2018 20180711121030

Property Management

5

After years of wrangling over 2 big ongoing problems which our Property Managment Company essentially 'inherited', we appointed Coles and Emma got it all sorted in little more than 6 months. All done and dusted - everything to our satisfaction. We couldn't be happier. Both problems now resolved but if any others crop up I know who to use!

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

We are delighted to have had such a positive outcome for you. We stand ready with our magic wand to help should you need us again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
May 16, 2018 20180516085700

Conveyancing

5

Having Andrew Haigh as my solicitor for my house purchase and sale was very comforting. He seemed to know exactly what he was doing at all times, his advice seemed to be sound, he was very supportive during extremely stressful situations and navigated me through them out to the other side.
When I emailed him I couldn’t have asked for a faster reply with a real answer, he never fobbed me off.
I tried not to phone as I knew it would take up valuable time but when I did I always got Andrew and again, he was unfailingly helpful, polite and friendly.
I was worried that he wasn’t in an office in my city but this never mattered. If I needed to sign something I just went into my local office and they had it ready for me. And because I couldn’t print anything Andrew sent me anything I needed in a paper copy.
I felt that it was a very personal service even though I never met Andrew and I felt very looked after.

Solicitor named in this review: Andrew Colin Haigh

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 14 August, 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Catherine
Verified Catherine Added 1 hour ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 28, 2020 20200128081542

Sale of home

5

Excellent service throughout and always professional and pleasant when answering the telephone. I wouldn’t use anyone else.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clare
Clare Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 16, 2020 20200116152847

Do not touch - shocking

1

7 months in to dealing with my late father's grant of probate, its still not resolved and have handed the case off to another firm. No service offered at all, and are not even adhering to their own complaints procedure. Save yourself the stress and go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes

David
Verified David Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 14, 2020 20200114000000

David recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

5

David recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pauline
Verified Pauline Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
January 06, 2020 20200106000000

Pauline recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

5

Pauline recommends Rh Legal (bristol) Limited

A representative from Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 22 January, 2020

Thank you for your recommendation Pauline.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Jerome
Jerome Added 7 months ago Report to admin
June 11, 2019
Collected on
20190611101300

Jerome

5

Used Coles for conveyancing when selling our house. Good communication with helpful and supportive staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 11 June, 2019

Thanks for your review Jerome. We would welcome a review on Facebook too if you can? Thanks in advance. Coles Solicitors

Tariq
Tariq Added 9 months ago Report to admin
April 30, 2019
Collected on
20190430142406

Tariq Majid

4

Good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 30 April, 2019

Thanks for the feedback Tariq.

Babs
Babs Added 9 months ago Report to admin
April 11, 2019
Collected on
20190411123447

Babs Wilson

3

Not very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Stacy
Stacy Added 1 year ago Report to admin
April 26, 2018
Collected on
20180426140656

Stacy & Irving Photography

5

Coles acted in the purchase of our property and were really good at keeping pressure on the sellers to get us into our new home quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 07 October, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Richard
Richard Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
December 30, 2019
Collected on
20191230133151

Richard

1

Slow service. No communication between staff

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors responded to this review on 07 January, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you have not had the experience you wanted from us. Unfortunately the festive period can often create delays for which we apologise.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors has a network of nine offices across Yorkshire and the Tees Valley, from the historic cities of York and Ripon to the thriving North and East Yorkshire towns of Northallerton, Harrogate, Market Weighton, Beverley and Settle, along with Redcar in Cleveland and Stockton in Teesside. We all need a solicitor at some time in our personal lives or for our business; from the excitement of moving house, starting up our own company, the administration involved when a loved one passes away, to righting a wrong – we are here to help.


Legal Services
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Employment Contracts
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Murder and Manslaughter
  • Applications for British citizenship
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Tenant Eviction
  • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
  • Citizenship
  • EEA Residence Permits
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Wills
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Consumer Rights
  • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Children
  • Leasehold properties
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Asylum applications and appeals
  • Housing Associations
  • Entry clearance applications and appeals
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Transfers of equity
  • Re-entry bans
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Injunctions
  • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Professional Negligence
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Repossessions
  • Family law
  • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
  • Separation Agreement
  • Indefinite leave to remain applications
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Professional Discipline
  • Property Disputes
  • Business Crime
  • Pension and property advice
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Travel rights
  • Applications for discretionary leave
  • Right to Manage
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Professional Conduct
  • Part Time Workers
  • Litigation Law
  • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • TUPE
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Stress at Work
  • Further leave to remain applications
  • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Refugee Family Reunion
  • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Housing disputes
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Assault
  • Remortgaging
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Family Leave
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Pension Law
  • Senior Executives
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Probate
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Marriage Applications/Appeals
  • Family Mediation
  • Criminal defence - All
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Civil partnerships
  • Buying at auction
  • Flexible Working
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • EEA Family Permits
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Criminal Damage
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Partner and family visas
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Drugs offences
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Social Services
  • Ancestry visas
  • Child contact
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • UK ancestry
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Child Law
  • Collaborative Law
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Housing Management
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Asylum and Deportation
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Regulatory Defence
  • Immigration Law
  • Transfer of title
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Against The Council
  • Professional Negligence law
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Trusts
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Redundancy
  • Extending your Lease
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Financial Matters
  • Tier 4 (students)
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Injunctions
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Family Based Visas
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Gardening Leave
  • Deportation appeals
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • EEA Registration Cards
  • Theft
  • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
  • Visas
  • Trusts
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Human Rights
  • Commercial Law

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000