Solicitor at Elite Law Solicitors Limited

Paul Miller

Solicitor - Solicitor

SRA ID: 24120

Paul is a highly experienced property solicitor who is based in our Hove office. Paul qualifed in 1996 and since qualification and has gained many years of experience advising on commercial and residential property transactions in both London and Brighton. As well as his strong commercial experience Paul is an experienced residential conveyancer acting for private clients, developers and mortgage lenders. He is used to dealing with both high value residential property transactions, leasehold properties. Paul can advise clients on all types of commercial property acquisitions and disposals, leases and licences as well as providing advice on the sale and purchase of businesses. He has previously acted for a number of retail chains, medical practices, unions and SMEs across many business sectors. Paul is able to advise clients on Share Sale Agreements, Shareholders Agreements and general company matters. Over the last few years he has advised a number of online businesses on web agreements and Licences, regulatory compliance issues and intellectual property issues. Paul regularly writes in property publications advising on changes in legislation and case law. Paul currently lives in Brighton with his wife and 2 children.

8 The Drive, Hove, East Sussex, BN3 3JT

Licensed for 25 years

Practice Areas

Housing & Property, Commercial Property

4.0/5 4 Client Reviews 4
  • Commercial Property 50%
  • Housing & Property 50%
4 Client Reviews

4.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    1
Anonymous
Click to rate
Sindhu
Sindhu Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Elite Law Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Elite Law Solicitors Limited
July 28, 2021 20210728114422

Elite By Name, Elite By Nature.

5

Elite Law recently acted for us in conveyancing our property sale and purchase. They came very highly recommended but still managed to exceed all our expectations. Throughout the whole process, every worry and query was answered with unfailing speed, expertise and in a friendly manner. Paul Miller, who acted for us, made a horribly stressful situation much easier, and having him in our corner made all the difference in the world.
All the documentation was lightning fast and spot-on and communication with Paul and Katrina was exemplary.
If you want to minimise your buying/selling stress, we can't recommend these guys enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Miller

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gino
Gino Added 5 months ago Report to admin
Elite Law Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Elite Law Solicitors Limited
July 28, 2021 20210728082332

Friendly, Professional Hassle-Free Experience.

5

Extremely happy with the professional and attentive service from Elite Law while we were buying our first home.

We're new to the property world and couldn't be more impressed by the calm, informative, reassuring approach of our solicitor Paul and his excellent team.

Special thanks to Katrina for patiently and skillfully answering all our questions and being so calming and friendly when we were fretting about completion dates.

The whole team made what could have been a very stressful experience a real joy.

Couldn't recommend Elite highly enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Miller

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elaine
Elaine Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Elite Law Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Elite Law Solicitors Limited
July 27, 2021 20210727122118

Helpful and efficient conveyancing

5

Paul and his team efficiently dealt with all our enquiries and made the whole conveyancing process very simple for us.

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Miller

Was this review helpful? Yes

Marisol
Marisol Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Elite Law Solicitors Limited
Collected whilst working at Elite Law Solicitors Limited
July 27, 2021 20210727100740

At best, disorganised, at worst, inept

1

Before I start this review, I appreciate that the last 3 months have been the busiest in housing marketing history due to the ending of the stamp duty holiday. That said, if Elite Law were unable to cope, they should have refused to take on our case, in the same way our usual solicitor had already done so.

We were cash buyers purchasing a studio flat that had no onward chain. As our usual solicitors were too busy, we got 3 quotes, including Elite Law who were recommended to us by the estate agent we were purchasing the property from. Although the quote was the highest of the 3, the estate agent assured us he was extremely good, and would make sure we completed promptly.

Over 70 pages of terms and conditions were sent to us by email, meaning printing was done at our cost. Having gone through all the documentation, we had an email conversation highlighting our queries as what was on this paperwork did not match the quote previously sent, and there were conditions that we were very unsure of. Once clarified, we agreed to proceed, and needed to go to the office to do the ID check, but could not get a response by email or phone. This was to be a pattern throughout the sale.

We were aware that the sellers were proving slow to get information from, however at no time were we kept updated, we had to chase each time to get any information. It took two months for Elite Law to get all the information, at which point we were told a “title report” would be prepared. Another week, another chase, and finally we had all the documents. However, the title report was incorrect in many places, starting with the asking price and the fact the sale was in single, not joint names.

There was a bankruptcy report included that had nothing to do with our property at all, one of THREE times we were sent information completely unrelated to our sale – including names and addresses - a severe breach of data protection.

At the meeting to go through all the documents, we were advised the local authority searches had not shown anything as per the document sent, something that we had not received, and had not asked for, as advised by Elite Law.

We agreed an exchange and completion date, but never saw the updated contract reflecting the agreed new price. The exchange did not happen on the date agreed as the solicitor “misunderstood” our instructions, however, even with a very clear, written instruction, the exchange still took place a day later than we instructed. We set of date of 2 weeks after the original exchange date to complete, however we were still waiting for the completion statement 2 days before completion. When it was finally sent, it was wrong, and it took 3 attempts to get it right – we still have no idea where they got the Stamp Duty amount they put in the first statement.

On the day of completion, the person responsible for the funds transfer went on a last minute half day training course with no access to phone or email. The money we made sure to be with Elite Law the day before completion wasn’t sent to the seller’s solicitor until 1.30 on the afternoon of completion, and the keys not released until after 3.00pm.

Purchasing any property is very stressful, but that stress should not be added to by the very people employed by yourself to help. The lack of communication, the time taken, the last minute documentation can all be put down to disorganization, but to be sent documents not relating to us three times, to have incorrect documents to the degree we did not trust anything and had to double check everything I’m afraid I can only call inept.




Solicitor named in this review: Paul Miller

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Paul Miller

Paul is a highly experienced property solicitor who is based in our Hove office. Paul qualifed in 1996 and since qualification and has gained many years of experience advising on commercial and residential property transactions in both London and Brighton. As well as his strong commercial experience Paul is an experienced residential conveyancer acting for private clients, developers and mortgage lenders. He is used to dealing with both high value residential property transactions, leasehold properties. Paul can advise clients on all types of commercial property acquisitions and disposals, leases and licences as well as providing advice on the sale and purchase of businesses. He has previously acted for a number of retail chains, medical practices, unions and SMEs across many business sectors. Paul is able to advise clients on Share Sale Agreements, Shareholders Agreements and general company matters. Over the last few years he has advised a number of online businesses on web agreements and Licences, regulatory compliance issues and intellectual property issues. Paul regularly writes in property publications advising on changes in legislation and case law. Paul currently lives in Brighton with his wife and 2 children.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Paul Miller

Address

Elite Law Solicitors Limited

8 The Drive

Hove

East Sussex



Phone 0800 086 2929

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

02/12/96

29/08/21

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor