Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 97%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    205
  • Very Good

    10
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Paula Kennedy & Tony Short

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Paula Kennedy & Tony Short

July 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Preparation of wills and LPAs

We were very pleased with the service we received from Barrett & Co when they prepared our wills and LPAs. Juliette Spanner was extremely helpful and talked us through all the intricacies in an exemplary fashion, using plain language to get the message across very clearly. Timely communication meant that we were always kept well informed of all developments. We would be happy to recommend Barrett & Co to anyone in the Reading area who requires a good and reliable firm of solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

Cath

Matter Type:

Wills

Cath

June 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kind & Caring

The thought of writing a will was quite daunting. Having discussed many times over the years, we decided that we should go ahead. Vanessa was helpful in navigating us through the process. She was very patient and understanding, alongside her professionalism. This made the potential ordeal for us so much easier. I would strongly recommend Barrett & Co for any legal activities and would return to them in the future for any legal services. I would like to thank you for all your assistance.

Was this review helpful?

Marc

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Marc

June 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lost of time

I contacted Barret & Co a while ago for properties inquires. They wrote me they were happy to take our case.

They called me back, asked several questions and said that they would contact me again with more information about how to proceed etc.

They never called back. I decided to call back this morning and they said they rudely said they were at full capacity. What a wast of time and unprofessional behaviour.

I would not recommend anyone to wast time with them.

Was this review helpful?

Victoria Stevens ACR

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Victoria Stevens ACR

June 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

An excellent and efficient service, tailored to my requirements

I was very happy indeed with the service I received: prompt, professional and sound advice, at a reasonable price. The resulting output has been both useful and specifically tailored to my needs. The practice was approachable and efficient; highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Gaby Moretti-Chambers

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Gaby Moretti-Chambers

May 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate and Wills

The professional and personal attention we got from Barrett & Co was exceptional. From my first contact with Claire who arranged the first online meeting with Juliette who then handled all our needs with great care and considerstion for the delicate time we were going through. Juliette was very considerate of my dads slight language barrier with detailed help along the way. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Graham

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Trusts

Graham

March 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Wills & LPAs

In 2020, my wife and I decided to update our wills and to create a LPA and found a real gem in the service provided by Juliette Spanner at Barrett & Co Solicitors. Despite the limitations imposed by two lockdowns, the service provided was friendly, highly professional and efficient. Our questions were answered clearly, sensible advice was given and the quality of communication was very good from start to finish. On this basis, we would highly recommend Juliette at Barrett & Co,

Was this review helpful?

Hamad

Matter Type:

Commercial Litigation Matters

Hamad

March 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dispute

I was delighted with the Professionalism of Mr Chris Miller.
He was very helpful and knowledgeable. I would strongly recommend
this Law Firm for their excellent service and efficiency.

Was this review helpful?

Annwyl Williams and Howard Dobbs

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Annwyl Williams and Howard Dobbs

March 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Satisfied customers

We used Barrett & Co to update our wills. We were very satisfied with the service we received.

Was this review helpful?

Diane

Diane

March 03, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House sale

This was a very difficult time , with the death of my father. Emma Docking was a well mannered and helpful young lady. She communicated well, through out the ups and downs of the sale.
She is a credit to her work force.

Was this review helpful?

Nat

Matter Type:

Wills

Nat

January 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Seamless service and expert knowledge

Vanessa was outstanding at ensuring that she understood my wishes and concerns for my estate and took great care to explain all the possibilities available to me in a very simple and intuitive way. I was really pleased with her expert knowledge and professionalism. I feel very comfortable with complex decisions I had to make. I definitely recommend her services. Working with Vanessa is seamless as she really listens to your detailed needs and just gets it first time.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Ameet

Ameet

July 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ameet

My wife and I have greatly benefited from the legal advice and service received from Barrett and Co Solicitors with respect to an on-going dispute we had with our wedding service suppliers.

We worked closely with Justin Sadler, who was friendly and personable, and was generous with his time in order to understand the background of our dispute and what we wanted to achieve. Justin was able to quickly identify the principles on which our dispute could be resolved, and also provided an education like approach to bring us up to speed on our rights and laws that exisit to protect us as consumers.

What we were most grateful for was Justin's experience in cases like ours, which allowed us to prepare for our hearing. We feel his ethos is to keep things simple and clear, and above all, realistic. This helped managed our expectations, realise where to direct our focus, and what our end goal should be.

He was also invalueable in other matters such as making us aware of the process leading up to the hearing; what to prepare, when to send, and things to keep on top off. This was so helpful, as in our case with the Courts there were multiple documents to prepare, several deadlines we had to meet, and processes to follow through with. I am sure we would have struggled greatly had we not had his advice.

We are very likely to return to Justin for more advice in the future. We felt we were in good hands, receiving up to date advice, clear & simple to understand, and extremley good value for the time he gave us.

In addition to Justin, we also like to extend our thanks to Ella DAlton who was very pleasant to work with. She worked quickly to arrange our meetings with Justin, and she was effective in ensuring all messages back and fourth were passed on, and always followed up with an update/response.

We are very grateful to both Justin Sadler and Ella DAlton for their help. We would highly recommend them, and Barett and Co Solictors for your legal matters.

Was this review helpful?

Joe

Joe

July 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Joe

Great mirror will produced by Ms Spanner, it was so easy to do and she kept us updated at all times. We used the MS Trust special promotion and was well worth it. I would highly recommend Barrett & Co.

Was this review helpful?

Claudia

Claudia

July 07, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Claudia

My experience with Barrett and Co Solicitors LLP has been very good, easy to contact, very clear and transparent and the most important flexible.

Was this review helpful?

Bala

Bala

July 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Bala

I have used Barret & co for a while and they are very professional (Emma & Martin) and to dealt with matters of complex and resolve them quickly and all transactions completed on time, Appreciate their work and Knowledge.

Was this review helpful?

Marci

Marci

June 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Marci

Emma Dorking has done a brilliant job in completing our property sale today.

She was responsive and enthusiastic from the start when she took on the sale.

She has been diligent and comprehensive in bringing the sale to a conclusion in the face of extremly tight deadlines and under pressure.

I highly commend her and Barrett solicitors for this work

Marci and Linda Sandels

Was this review helpful?

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Since 1981, Barrett & Co. has provided specialist, personalised legal services with a focus on service excellence. During this time, we’ve formed loyal and lasting relationships with a range of clients who appreciate our simple, straightforward, successful approach. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our senior partner Hilary Buckle specialises in Wills and Probate and is partnered by Justin Sadler, who practices both Litigation and Employment Law, and Anthony Raumann, a collaborative lawyer and mediator in Family Law. Martin Reynolds is a partner and heads up the Company and Commercial Department and has a wealth of experience dealing with commercial law and property. We’re proud of our motivated, experienced staff, who epitomise our positive spirit and friendly, professional culture. Many have been with us for several years, giving the firm a depth of knowledge and reliability that is invaluable to clients and colleagues alike.

Practice areas

Wills/Trusts and Probate are a specialist area for our firm. We have nationally recognised experts and also specialise in contested probate and Inheritance Disputes. We also help clients with Lasting Power of Attorney. Employment law is an area where see many clients use our services. For any employment problem, the initial advice can often result in thousands of pounds of extra compensation. Family law, divorce and separation and all issues relating to settlement agreements and child access are covered by our family team. Conveyancing is handled by our in house team with expert knowledge of the Thames Valley. We offer a genuine bespoke service that is highly valued by clients. Commercial and company law, including contracts is an area that we have great expertise. From setting up a company to managing its sale, we can help. Litigation and disputes is an area where we also have a dedicated team. Our services start from simple letters requesting payment to a full representation role at court. We offer flexibility to our clients so that they can find the legal services that suit them, whether fully represented by us or on a basis where we do some of the work, but the client does some too. The best way to get started is to book a 1 hour consultation for £95 which enables you to get the advice you need without committing to the full service, until you know exactly what you need.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing

Opening times

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • Closed
  • Closed
Book an appointment