Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP

0118 958 9711

For over 30 years, Barrett & Co has provided personalised, specialist legal advice to a wide range of individuals and small-to-medium businesses. Based in Reading, Berkshire, Barrett & Co offers a professional, friendly and competitive service that’s based around you. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our experienced lawyers work closely with every client to understand their issues, and provide effective solutions through a diverse legal services portfolio covering individuals and businesses.

4.8/5 179 Client Reviews 179 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

179 Client Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    166
  • Very Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    4

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Kersti
Kersti Added 1 month ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
November 20, 2020 20201120134207

Kersti

5

Matter Type: Probate

Both Charlotte and Vanessa have been very professional but compassionate when dealing with my late mother's estate and more recently an LPA for my father.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 January, 2021

Thank you so much for trusting us with your mother's estate. It is always a difficult time for clients when a loved one passes away and we do try to be as compassionate as we can whilst being professional in organising probate. Thank you also for trusting us with the LPA for your father. We will always be here for you should you need us in the future. Vanessa and Charlotte.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ann and Richard
Ann and Richard Added 1 month ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
November 20, 2020 20201120124601

Amendment of wills

5

Matter Type: Wills

As always Barrett have been accommodating and helpful, so friendly and understanding.
We have used them for many years and continue to do so.
A special thanks to Vanessa for amending our wills

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 January, 2021

Thank you once again for trusting us with your amendments. We are always pleased to help you. Vanessa Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Suzanne
Suzanne Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 27, 2020 20200827073004

My will

5

Matter Type: Wills

I would not hesitate to use Vanessa again in the future. She has been more than helpful, sympathetic and knowledgeable in her line of expertise. I needed to sort my affairs quickly and she was more than attentive and prompt in responding. I can’t thank her enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 27 August, 2020

Thank you so much for placing your trust in me. I am extremely grateful that you took the time out to write this lovely review. It really does help other people decide who to choose as their solicitor. Should you ever need me again or our firm for any other matter, please do get in touch. We are always happy to look after our client's interests and if you would kindly recommend me to anyone who wants an efficient and experienced solicitor I would be very happy to help them. Vanessa.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patrick
Patrick Added 7 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
June 04, 2020 20200604153319

Probate

4

Matter Type: Probate

I found the staff at Barrett & Co. most helpful at a difficult time for me
and were efficient in carrying out the necessary legal and inheritance
tax requirements.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 June, 2020

Thank you for taking time to review our work for you. It's always good to hear that we have done a good job and provided a good service at a difficult time. Should you need us again in the future for any legal work, please do get in touch and if you can recommend us to any friends of family, it would be very much appreciated. Thank you. Vanessa Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 8 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
May 12, 2020 20200512164129

Exceptional service

5

Matter Type: Wills

We were introduced to Barrett & Co through the WIll Aid scheme and from the very first engagement, have received nothing but exceptional service. The whole team have been super helpful, professional, kind and patient and we could not recommend them highly enough. If we ever require a solicitor in the future, I know we will be in the best hands. Thank you Vanessa, Rebecca, Hilary, Megan and everyone else we had the pleasure to deal with.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2020

Thank you so much for letting people know how you found our service. It seems as though we did a good job for you! It really is helpful when people leave a review as many clients find us through recommendation, especially for our private client work such as wills, trusts and probate. Please do recommend me to any friends or family and we will always take care of them with the same attention. Vanessa Ruparel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr
Mr Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 17, 2020 20200417091859

Outstanding service

5

Outstanding proactive and accommodating service we received. Would highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. It is very kind of you to rate our service so highly. Please do recommend us to family and friends who may require a good private client solicitor. We have an excellent team at Barrett and Co Solicitors and most of our clients come from recommendations. Even whilst there is a lockdown due to Covid-19, we are able to serve clients via email/Skype . We look forward to helping you in the future should you need us. Vanessa Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Emma Added 11 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
January 24, 2020 20200124162827

Buying a house

4

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Perfect location for me as I live near Reading town centre.
The process of buying a house took longer than I thought but I can't put the fault on Barrett and co as they endeavored to make sure I was well protected with odd things that arise when buying a house (correct boundaries etc)
Very surprised with the final bill ...very happy .
Staff are all lovely , even when pestering them with trivial questions , they knew how to put me at ease .
Thank you guys for all your hard work especially the receptionist , Emma and of course Richard xx

Solicitor named in this review: Richard Ince

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 March, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all delighted that you got what you wanted from our service. Happy and loyal clients are what our work is all about and please do feel free to recommend us to friends and family. When you need us again for any legal matter please do get in touch so we can introduce you to other colleagues you may need for legal expertise. Richard Ince.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
September 13, 2019 20190913110233

Five star service and advice

5

Matter Type: Disputed Probate

We needed to discuss our difficult probate situation with a solicitor and were recommended Hilary Buckle. With just one hour’s telephone consultation, Hilary grasped every aspect of our predicament, identified the key issues and suggested the best solution. I don’t think I’ve ever felt better served by a solicitor. Absolutely first class!

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. I am always available to help with any private client legal problem you may have. Please do refer me to any family or friends that require expertise in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Spencer
Spencer Added 1 year ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
April 17, 2019 20190417174331

Excellent and professional service

5

Matter Type: Divorce

I have been using Barrett &co solicitors for around 4 years now, for family matters and the like.
They have been excellent in every way.
Paul wild (my solicitor) is excellent in everything I have given him to do, very professional service and I will continue to use them as and when I need.
Would definitely recommend !

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Wild

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. Should you ever need our services for the future, whether family law or any other area, do please get in touch with me. Paul Wild

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 24, 2019 20190324201604

Brilliant Service

5

Chris Miller dealt with the eviction of my tenant. His advice was professional and knowledgeable. He acted efficiently and was very understanding. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Barry
Barry Added 2 days ago Report to admin
January 15, 2021
Collected on
20210115130554

Barry

5

Extremely satisfied with the service. A protracted and complex case made bearable by the very professional and caring approach. The firm also took great care to avoid costs spiraling out of control. I would recommend Barrett & Co to anyone who asked.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 15 January, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our legal service. We're extremely happy to hear you will recomend us to anyone who asks. That is the true sign that we have done a good job for you. Thank you so much for trusting us and should you need us for anything in the future, please do get in touch. Justin Sadler, Partner.

john
john Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 19, 2020
Collected on
20201119185648

john

5

I recently required the support of a Solicitor in an employment matter - the support and advice I received from Justin Sadler was professional, incredibly timely, detailed and importantly pragmatic. This pragmatism has made a potentially stressful situation simple and has supported a quick and very satisfactory solution . I would highly recommend Justin !

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 January, 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's really pleasing to be able to help clients in employment matters. If there is anything else I can help with in the future please do let me know.

Daniele
Daniele Added 1 month ago Report to admin
November 19, 2020
Collected on
20201119122848

Daniele

5

Despite some initial confusion I would say the solicitor has been fast in responding and in a professional manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 20 November, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are glad we sorted out the initial confusion and that our solicitor provided a good service for you.

Andrew
Andrew Added 2 months ago Report to admin
November 17, 2020
Collected on
20201117150012

Andrew

5

I approached several local companies about advice on an employment matter. Barrett and Co were, by far, the most responsive and flexible. The advice I received from Justin Sadler was timely, expert, professional and concise. Thank you for a great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 19 November, 2020

Thank you for your five star review of our employment law service. A review really does help other people who may be in the position of searching for a good solicitor in the Reading area. We are always flexible because we know our clients need us when they need us. Employment law is something that you don't want to wait for to get good advice on. We really appreciate you choosing Barrett and Co Solicitors and personally, I am delighted to have been able to help. Justin Sadler.

Anna
Anna Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 29, 2020
Collected on
20201029121420

Anna

5

I highly recommend Barrett and Co Solicitors. I was helped by Paul Wild who was knowledgeable, professional and easy to talk to. I received a very prompt and thorough service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 02 November, 2020

Thank you for leaving a five star review. It is extremely important that our clients are happy with our sevice. Thank you for choosing me for your legal work and please do refer any other people you know who may need a good firm of solicitors to help them. All the best Paul Wild

Reviews collected on

Emily Barroso
Emily Barroso Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 29, 2018 20181029150917

Emily Barroso

5

I would like to recommend my solicitor, Justin Sadler, who helped me prepare for my 1975 Inheritance Act Case. I trusted him and he did not let me down. He was economical, kind, considerate and frank. I highly recommend him. Emily-Jane Hillman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. Your recommendation is much appreciated as it will help other people choose a solicitor to help them in the same area of complex probate . Justin Sadler

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson
Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson Added 3 years ago Report to admin
March 14, 2017 20170314141627

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson

5

Having worked for various "magic circle" firms for years, I was very impressed at the service that Jane Whitfield provided. Will have no hesitation in instructing Jane in the future. Brilliant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jon Ewing
Jon Ewing Added 4 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 04, 2016 20161004115221

Jon Ewing

5

Very good value initial one-hour fixed fee consultation for £95 inc VAT.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Since 1981, Barrett & Co. has provided specialist, personalised legal services with a focus on service excellence. During this time, we’ve formed loyal and lasting relationships with a range of clients who appreciate our simple, straightforward, successful approach. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our senior partner Hilary Buckle specialises in Wills and Probate and is partnered by Justin Sadler, who practices both Litigation and Employment Law, and Paul Wild, a collaborative lawyer and mediator in Family Law. Martin Reynolds is a partner and headCompany and Commercial Department and has a wealth of experience dealing with commercial law and property. We’re proud of our motivated, experienced staff, who epitomise our positive spirit and friendly, professional culture. Many have been with us for several years, giving the firm a depth of knowledge and reliability that is invaluable to clients and colleagues alike.


Regulated By:

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000