Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP

0118 958 9711

For over 30 years, Barrett & Co has provided personalised, specialist legal advice to a wide range of individuals and small-to-medium businesses. Based in Reading, Berkshire, Barrett & Co offers a professional, friendly and competitive service that’s based around you. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our experienced lawyers work closely with every client to understand their issues, and provide effective solutions through a diverse legal services portfolio covering individuals and businesses.

4.8/5 143 Customer Reviews 143 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

143 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    134
  • Very Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    3

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Emma
Emma Added 2 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 24, 2020 20200124162827

Buying a house

4

Perfect location for me as I live near Reading town centre.
The process of buying a house took longer than I thought but I can't put the fault on Barrett and co as they endeavored to make sure I was well protected with odd things that arise when buying a house (correct boundaries etc)
Very surprised with the final bill ...very happy .
Staff are all lovely , even when pestering them with trivial questions , they knew how to put me at ease .
Thank you guys for all your hard work especially the receptionist , Emma and of course Richard xx

Solicitor named in this review: Richard Ince

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 March, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all delighted that you got what you wanted from our service. Happy and loyal clients are what our work is all about and please do feel free to recommend us to friends and family. When you need us again for any legal matter please do get in touch so we can introduce you to other colleagues you may need for legal expertise. Richard Ince.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 6 months ago Report to admin
September 13, 2019 20190913110233

Five star service and advice

5

We needed to discuss our difficult probate situation with a solicitor and were recommended Hilary Buckle. With just one hour’s telephone consultation, Hilary grasped every aspect of our predicament, identified the key issues and suggested the best solution. I don’t think I’ve ever felt better served by a solicitor. Absolutely first class!

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. I am always available to help with any private client legal problem you may have. Please do refer me to any family or friends that require expertise in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Spencer
Spencer Added 11 months ago Report to admin
April 17, 2019 20190417174331

Excellent and professional service

5

I have been using Barrett &co solicitors for around 4 years now, for family matters and the like.
They have been excellent in every way.
Paul wild (my solicitor) is excellent in everything I have given him to do, very professional service and I will continue to use them as and when I need.
Would definitely recommend !

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Wild

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. Should you ever need our services for the future, whether family law or any other area, do please get in touch with me. Paul Wild

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 24, 2019 20190324201604

Brilliant Service

5

Chris Miller dealt with the eviction of my tenant. His advice was professional and knowledgeable. He acted efficiently and was very understanding. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 06, 2019 20190206222542

Professional Service

5

Paul Wild dealt with my recent divorce proceedings - over a period of eighteen months. Roll on divorce law reform!

Paul was very understanding, knowledgable and remained totally professional throughout. Just what one needs when going through a difficult and stressful time.

Recommended.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. Should I, or any of my fellow solicitors be of service in the future, please do get in touch. Paul Wild.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Boyd
Boyd Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 05, 2018 20180205150305

Debt collection service

5

Justin Sadler acted for my family when a company owed several hundred thousand pounds. A few letters and weeks after the initial meeting, we were in receipt of the money in full. That was an excellent result and all achieved without any headaches or worries.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jan
Jan Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 30, 2018 20180130201730

Would definitely recommend!

5

We had suffered trespass and criminal damage on our land and needed someone to fight our corner. We contacted Justin Sadler at Barratt & Co to see if he could help us. We couldn’t have chosen better! He gave us sound advice about our rights and what we could expect by way of a solution.

Justin and his team were amazing and extremely professional. They kept us well informed and guided us throughout the whole process. They essentially took all of the stress out of the situation and just dealt with the issue in hand.

We are so pleased with our choice of solicitors. Justin and his team were friendly, efficient and helpful - not to mention very knowledgeable! The result of which meant we reached an amicable outcome. We will definitely use them again but hopefully won’t need to anytime soon!

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your review and recommendation. If we can ever be of service again for any legal matter please do get in touch. Justin Sadler

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mark
Mark Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 24, 2018 20180124230911

Excellent advice and service

5

I contacted Justin Sadler as I needed help with a dispute I was having with my upstairs neighbour. Justin was extremely helpful and provided practical guidance as well as very useful legal advice.
I would recommend Justin and his colleagues without hesitation.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your recommendation. It's always a pleasure to act for a client and get a good outcome. Please feel free to recommend me and our firm for any legal matter to family and friends. Justin Sadler

Was this review helpful? Yes

Diana
Diana Added 3 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 14, 2016 20161214140747

Wills

5

The advice and attention my husband and I received from Ms Charlotte Mckenty
regarding our Mirror Wills was excellent. The staff we encountered were helpful and
courteous.

We have no hesitation in recommending Barrett & Co and would certainly use them
again should the need arise.

Solicitor named in this review: Charlotte Fox

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Sue
Sue Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
March 05, 2020
Collected on
20200305092840

Sue

5

Paul Wild is the best solicitor you can wish for. I benefited from his crucial law experience and wisdom. Excellent customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 March, 2020

Thank you for your comment. Helping clients and getting feedback like this really is what being a family solicitor is all about. Your recommendation will hopefully allow other people searching for a family solicitor in Reading feel confident to pick up the phone and get help. Please do feel free to recommend me to anyone who needs a good solicitor for family law. All the best. Paul Wild.

Eva
Eva Added 4 weeks ago Report to admin
March 01, 2020
Collected on
20200301091450

Eva

5

During the process of repossession proceedings against my tenant I felt reassured by the open and honest advice I received from Chris Miller. I was impressed by the efficient, professional and friendly service. I can highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 06 February, 2019

Thank you so much. Excellent and down-to-earth is probably the best review a solicitor can get! A five star review as well! Please feel free to recommend me to friends and family should they need a grounded solicitor in Reading! Justin Sadler

azam
azam Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 06, 2020
Collected on
20200206111047

azam

5

I had a very delicate but deeply personal matter that I needed professional legal help with.in short it involved a matter of my father's will,inheritance and money owed to me from a sibling.After much research I contacted Justin at Barrett and co.After an hours consultation with him and Hilary Buckle I gained the confidence to take further steps.it was in their mannerism and approach and they even gave me a written quote detailing exactly what stage they would charge me for ,and even this quote was much lower than other specialst solicitors .They were so considerate with me and their reputation so high that my sister instantly gave me large sum of money owed to me and as a bonus all siblings have begun mending our relationship.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 07 February, 2020

Thank you for your kind words. It is certainly an area of law where specialist solicitors are required. There are often disputes within families with probate and solving these is always very satisfactory when siblings can repair relationships. Should you need us again for any other area of law please do come back to us, and feel free to recommend us to family and friends. Justin Sadler.

Gilly
Gilly Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 22, 2020
Collected on
20200122172315

Gilly

5

I used Barrett and Co for my will via the Will Aid scheme. They were very professional, efficient and friendly. They took time to explain things simply and effectively - offering advice on the implications of different scenarios and ensuring I 'future proofed' my will. Very pleased with the service all round. Charlotte Fox was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 22 January, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to have helped you with your will. It’s one of the most important legal documents anyone can have and getting it organised puts you in a positive position where you can have peace of mind. Please do recommend us to friends and family as they are assured of the same high level of service. Charlotte Fox

James
James Added 2 months ago Report to admin
January 21, 2020
Collected on
20200121094954

James

5

Very professional service offered by Barrett and Co. Justin was fantastic in assisting me regarding a settlement agreement taking the time to discuss and go through it all with me - would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 22 January, 2020

Thank you for this review. I know that other people do look at them to get an idea if we’d be a good firm to handle employment issues and settlement agreements so it really does help everyone. Should you ever need employment or any other type of legal service in the future please do get in touch. Justin Sadler

Reviews collected on

Emily Barroso
Emily Barroso Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 29, 2018 20181029150917

Emily Barroso

5

I would like to recommend my solicitor, Justin Sadler, who helped me prepare for my 1975 Inheritance Act Case. I trusted him and he did not let me down. He was economical, kind, considerate and frank. I highly recommend him. Emily-Jane Hillman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. Your recommendation is much appreciated as it will help other people choose a solicitor to help them in the same area of complex probate . Justin Sadler

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson
Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson Added 3 years ago Report to admin
March 14, 2017 20170314141627

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson

5

Having worked for various "magic circle" firms for years, I was very impressed at the service that Jane Whitfield provided. Will have no hesitation in instructing Jane in the future. Brilliant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jon Ewing
Jon Ewing Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 04, 2016 20161004115221

Jon Ewing

5

Very good value initial one-hour fixed fee consultation for £95 inc VAT.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Since 1981, Barrett & Co. has provided specialist, personalised legal services with a focus on service excellence. During this time, we’ve formed loyal and lasting relationships with a range of clients who appreciate our simple, straightforward, successful approach. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our senior partner Hilary Buckle specialises in Wills and Probate and is partnered by Justin Sadler, who practices both Litigation and Employment Law, and Paul Wild, a collaborative lawyer and mediator in Family Law. Martin Reynolds is a partner and headCompany and Commercial Department and has a wealth of experience dealing with commercial law and property. We’re proud of our motivated, experienced staff, who epitomise our positive spirit and friendly, professional culture. Many have been with us for several years, giving the firm a depth of knowledge and reliability that is invaluable to clients and colleagues alike.


Legal Services
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Buying at auction
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Employment Law
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Consumer Rights
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Leasehold properties
  • Senior Executives
  • Family Leave
  • Gardening Leave
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Family Mediation
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Pension and property advice
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Child Abduction
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Child Law
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Extending your Lease
  • Notary
  • Stress at Work
  • Disputed Probate
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Employment Contracts
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Property Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Elderly care
  • Elderly care home fees
  • Separation Agreement
  • Domestic Violence
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Travel rights
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Debt and Bankruptcy
  • Child Custody
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Children
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Tax
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Right to Manage
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Trusts
  • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
  • Financial Matters
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Family law
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Education
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Probate
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Divorce
  • Repossessions
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Remortgaging
  • Civil partnerships
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Housing disputes
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Flexible Working
  • Second charges
  • Litigation Law
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Child Access
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Transfers of equity
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • International
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Disputed Wills
  • Fixed Fee Divorce
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Wills
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Social Services
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Housing Associations
  • Disputed Trusts
  • Lease Extensions
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • High Net Worth Divorce
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Professional Discipline
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Separation
  • Transfer of title
  • Pension Law
  • Annulment
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Child Maintenance
  • Pay Issue
  • Lasting power of attorney
  • Child contact
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Children Act proceedings
  • International Divorce
  • Housing Management
  • Media and Sports
  • Purchase and Sale
  • TUPE
  • Marriage and civil partnerships
  • Divorce Mediation
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Part Time Workers
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Redundancy
  • Trusts
  • Collaborative Law
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Commercial Law
  • Health and Safety
  • Share option schemes
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Finance
  • Credit Control
  • Equestrian property
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Data Protection
  • Setting up a business
  • Competition law
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Statutory Demands
  • Domain Names
  • Developer disputes
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial Leases
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Agency agreements
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Energy
  • Debt Recovery
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Intellectual Property
  • Environmental policy law
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Contract law
  • Corporate Law
  • Insurance
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Purchase of development land
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Licensing
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Charities
  • Patents
  • Outsourcing agreements
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Employment - business
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Copyright
  • Franchising
  • Management buyouts
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Development plot sales
  • Summary Judgment
  • Corporate finance
  • Tax
  • Farming disputes
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Asset Tracing

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000