Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Barrett & Co Solicitors Compares

Value for money

This firm - 95%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barrett & Co Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using Barrett & Co Solicitors. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 8%
Overpriced 8%
About Right 82%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barrett & Co Solicitors and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Barrett & Co Solicitors performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 95%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barrett & Co Solicitors and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Barrett & Co Solicitors compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 95%
No 5%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Barrett & Co Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    277
  • Very Good

    14
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    11

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Guy Baxter

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors.

Guy Baxter

April 06, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Professional and friendly service

As always friendly and professional service from Barrett’s for our house sale and purchase. We were particularly impressed by the response when we dropped into the office twice unannounced to sign papers. This helped to speed up the process and was also helpful because Richard could explain things in person. Iqra was also very responsive and helpful, and impressive in her knowledge.

Was this review helpful?

Jonah

Jonah

February 16, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Justin for Justice!

Justin does it again. I said this last time and I'll say it again, Justin is a true Angel from , giving those who don't have a voice a voice. He immediately instils confidence in your decision making by laying out all the facts about your case one by one, then provides the best possible legal advice to help you find a resolution. If you are looking for an Employment Solicitor, this is your guy. Outstanding work Justin!

Was this review helpful?

Wendy

Wendy

February 15, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent Solicitors

The whole experience of getting my will written has been really easy using a Barrett and co Solicitor . I would recommend this excellent company. Really knowledgeable and helpful and made the whole process stress free.

Was this review helpful?

stakeholder

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

stakeholder

January 03, 2024

Report to admin

Collected on:

Failed to notify me of onerous service charge for weeks

I wanted to buy a leasehold flat in Reading and used Barrett as my usual solicitor didn't feel they had the expertise to deal with leasehold. I felt Barrett were slow in putting together a report for me, but the big issue was that they knew for weeks that the property had an onerous service charge and didn't tell me. I would have pulled out immediately if I had known. In the end I had to pay them over £900 even though I had to cancel the sale. Also they didn't notice that the leaseholder sent them information on the WRONG FLAT! It took me a cursory glance to realise. Very poor service.

Was this review helpful?

Linda

Linda

July 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Peace of mind

The help and advice I received was very good I felt very confident I was in the right hands and my affairs are on in order.

Was this review helpful?

Shaun

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Shaun

June 02, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

A Seamless Experience

Like the previous dealings I have had over the years with Barrett & Co. their handling of the sale of my property was exceptional. Always available, extremely helpful, never failing to fully explain in a way that could be easily understood and totally professional. Many thanks to Barbara Kovacs.
Although I have now relocated away from Reading (but still in the UK) I was so satisfied that I will continue to consult them from afar on any future legal matters that I might have.
Thank goodness I originally found a solicitor I could rely on to deliver to my satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?

Raphael

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Raphael

May 26, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great service and team

Iqra and Richard provided conveyancing service for the purchase of my first property. I found the team to be professional and supportive, taking time to explain the process to a first time buyer.

I would recommend their service and I would be happy to return to Barrett & co in the future.

Was this review helpful?

leander186

Matter Type:

Lasting power of attorney

leander186

April 19, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Preparation of Powers of Attorney

I have been a client of Barrett and Co for many years and have always been completely satisfied with the professionalism and dedication to guiding my late wife and me through various stages of sometimes complicated procedures in several legal areas. Courtesy and patience by all staff of the company is always a feature of every situation, and it is always a sense of relief to be able to take for granted a level of customer service, professional knowledge and courtesy which many commercial organizations regrettably do not always provide.

It is a great pleasure to unreservedly recommend Barrett and Co in all respects, the company has always provided the sort of support that every customer has the right to expect.

Was this review helpful?

Mrs Johnson

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Mrs Johnson

March 29, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Expert advice and support for redundancy settlement

I would like to share my experience with Barrett & Co Solicitors with regards to my redundancy settlement agreement advice. Justin Sadler was extremely helpful with expert advice and recommendations after reviewing my redundancy settlement agreement. The appointment was organised very efficiently and due to the urgency of this matter, Justin was available the next day after my initial inquiry. The advice I received helped me to renegotiate certain clauses in the agreement which otherwise would have been overlooked and detrimental towards my situation. I want to thank Justin for his sensitivity, due diligence and clear advice regarding my settlement agreement. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?

Reuben Boyce

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors.

Matter Type:

Settlement Agreements

Reuben Boyce

February 28, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Settlement Agreement

I would like to thank Aishah and especially Justin for the lovely kind help and excellent service in helping me sort out my works Settlement Agreement which is much appreciated which i highly recommend.
Thanks
Kind regards
Reuben.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Stephen

Stephen

July 18, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephen

Friendly and efficient service. Got what I needed and would recommend to others

Was this review helpful?

Mark

Mark

July 01, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Mark

After 30 years living in our family home, it was time to create a new home for our grown up children and their families. With such an important change, we turned to Barrett & Co to support our sale and purchase. It was not an easy process, partly due to an odd property market following COVID and a drawn out delivery of our new home. Throughout, we had a team at Barrett & Co who stood firmly with us, shoulder to shoulder, leaning in to the task at hand. They were always the ones with ideas, ways forward and somehow managed to bring the two matters together. That makes this recommendation rather simple. You can use any conveyancing firm when things go smoothly, with Barrett & Co you have the backup of a firm who will guide you through if the ride gets a little more bumpy.

Was this review helpful?

Hassan

Hassan

June 13, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hassan

Used Barrett & Co to discuss my issue I had with David Lloyds membership. Had my first telephone consultation with the lawyer who was very helpful in explaining my legal position (after I explained the situation). He gave me all the references I need to use to respond to David Lloyds. I am very happy with the advice given.

Was this review helpful?

Neal

Neal

May 12, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Neal

Great service. Responsive.

Was this review helpful?

Dino

Matter Type:

Disputed Probate

Dino

April 27, 2023

Report to admin

Collected on:

Dino

We used Hilary Buckle at Barrett & Co for a contentious probate matter. She was calm, efficient and empathetic and provided us with clear and effective advice. I would definitely recommend her for any contentious probate issues.

Was this review helpful?

Barrett & Co Solicitors are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

For over 30 years, Barrett and Co has provided personalised, specialist legal advice to a wide range of individuals and small-to-medium businesses. Based in Reading, Berkshire, Barrett and Co offers a professional, friendly and competitive service that’s based around you. Appointments are available at our offices, or by telephone. Our experienced lawyers work closely with every client to understand their issues, and provide effective solutions through a diverse legal services portfolio covering individuals and businesses. We offer a professional and competitive service based around you. Barrett and Co offers a full suite of legal services including: conveyancing, wills and probate, contentious probate, family law and employment services.

Practice areas

Wills/Trusts and Probate are a specialist area for our firm. We have nationally recognised experts and also specialise in contested probate and Inheritance Disputes. We also help clients with Lasting Power of Attorney. Employment law is an area where see many clients use our services. For any employment problem, the initial advice can often result in thousands of pounds of extra compensation. Family law, divorce and separation and all issues relating to settlement agreements and child access are covered by our family team. Conveyancing is handled by our in house team with expert knowledge of the Thames Valley. We offer a genuine bespoke service that is highly valued by clients. Employment law, for both individuals and companies, including contracts and settlement agreements is an area that we have great expertise in. Litigation and disputes is an area where we also have a dedicated team. Our services start from simple letters requesting payment to a full representation role at court. We offer flexibility to our clients so that they can find the legal services that suit them, whether fully represented by us or on a basis where we do some of the work, but the client does some too. The best way to get started is to book a 1 hour consultation for £95 which enables you to get the advice you need without committing to the full service, until you know exactly what you need.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Domestic violence
    • Drugs offences
    • Fraud
    • Harassment
    • Juvenile
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Prison law
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Sexual allegations including Rape and Sexual Assaults
    • Theft
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment