Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP

0118 958 9711

For over 30 years, Barrett & Co has provided personalised, specialist legal advice to a wide range of individuals and small-to-medium businesses. Based in Reading, Berkshire, Barrett & Co offers a professional, friendly and competitive service that’s based around you. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our experienced lawyers work closely with every client to understand their issues, and provide effective solutions through a diverse legal services portfolio covering individuals and businesses.

4.8/5 204 Client Reviews 204 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

204 Client Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    189
  • Very Good
    8
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    3
  • Awful
    4

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Graham
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP. Graham Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 24, 2021 20210324101948

Wills & LPAs

5

Matter Type: Lasting power of attorney

In 2020, my wife and I decided to update our wills and to create a LPA and found a real gem in the service provided by Juliette Spanner at Barrett & Co Solicitors. Despite the limitations imposed by two lockdowns, the service provided was friendly, highly professional and efficient. Our questions were answered clearly, sensible advice was given and the quality of communication was very good from start to finish. On this basis, we would highly recommend Juliette at Barrett & Co,

Solicitor named in this review: Juliette Spanner

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 01 April, 2021

Thank you so much for taking time to review our legal service. I am particularly pleased you found communication during lockdown was efficient. If there's anything else I can do for you in the future, please do get in touch. Of course, I would love it if you could recommend me to any friends or family that may need a Will or Power of Attorney or any other matter. Thank you. Juliette Spanner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hamad
Hamad Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 05, 2021 20210305183115

Dispute

5

Matter Type: Commercial Litigation Matters

I was delighted with the Professionalism of Mr Chris Miller.
He was very helpful and knowledgeable. I would strongly recommend
this Law Firm for their excellent service and efficiency.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 March, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. It really does make me proud to be a solicitor when I can help people get the right result. Please do recommend me to any friends or family who may need a solicitor in the future and thank you for trusting Barrett and Co for legal services. Chris Miller.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Annwyl Williams and Howard Dobbs
Verified This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP. Annwyl Williams and Howard Dobbs Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 05, 2021 20210305112327

Satisfied customers

5

We used Barrett & Co to update our wills. We were very satisfied with the service we received.

Solicitor named in this review: Juliette Spanner

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 March, 2021

Thank you for your review, it was my pleasure to guide you through the process. If there is anything I can assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. Please do feel free to recommend me to any friends or family who are looking for a good legal adviser. Thank you. Juliette Spanner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Diane
Diane Added 2 months ago Report to admin
March 03, 2021 20210303161437

House sale

5

This was a very difficult time , with the death of my father. Emma Docking was a well mannered and helpful young lady. She communicated well, through out the ups and downs of the sale.
She is a credit to her work force.

Solicitor named in this review: Emma Docking

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 08 March, 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so pleased to be able to help. Emma Docking.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nat
Nat Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 30, 2021 20210130000004

Seamless service and expert knowledge

5

Matter Type: Wills

Vanessa was outstanding at ensuring that she understood my wishes and concerns for my estate and took great care to explain all the possibilities available to me in a very simple and intuitive way. I was really pleased with her expert knowledge and professionalism. I feel very comfortable with complex decisions I had to make. I definitely recommend her services. Working with Vanessa is seamless as she really listens to your detailed needs and just gets it first time.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 01 February, 2021

Thank you so much for the lovely review of my work and our service at Barrett and Co. Everyone at the firm really appreciates you taking the time to write a few words of praise as it really does help others when they come to choose a solicior for important private client work. Much of our expertise lies in communicating the various complex options open to clients and explaining with clarity what the advantages are. It's something that comes with experience and I am so pleased to have been able to help you. Please feel free to recommend me to any friends or family members who may need any estate management plans or wills or power of attorney as I will take great care of them. Vaness Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Kersti
Kersti Added 5 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
November 20, 2020 20201120134207

Kersti

5

Matter Type: Probate

Both Charlotte and Vanessa have been very professional but compassionate when dealing with my late mother's estate and more recently an LPA for my father.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 January, 2021

Thank you so much for trusting us with your mother's estate. It is always a difficult time for clients when a loved one passes away and we do try to be as compassionate as we can whilst being professional in organising probate. Thank you also for trusting us with the LPA for your father. We will always be here for you should you need us in the future. Vanessa and Charlotte.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ann and Richard
Ann and Richard Added 5 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
November 20, 2020 20201120124601

Amendment of wills

5

Matter Type: Wills

As always Barrett have been accommodating and helpful, so friendly and understanding.
We have used them for many years and continue to do so.
A special thanks to Vanessa for amending our wills

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 04 January, 2021

Thank you once again for trusting us with your amendments. We are always pleased to help you. Vanessa Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Suzanne
Suzanne Added 8 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
August 27, 2020 20200827063004

My will

5

Matter Type: Wills

I would not hesitate to use Vanessa again in the future. She has been more than helpful, sympathetic and knowledgeable in her line of expertise. I needed to sort my affairs quickly and she was more than attentive and prompt in responding. I can’t thank her enough.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 27 August, 2020

Thank you so much for placing your trust in me. I am extremely grateful that you took the time out to write this lovely review. It really does help other people decide who to choose as their solicitor. Should you ever need me again or our firm for any other matter, please do get in touch. We are always happy to look after our client's interests and if you would kindly recommend me to anyone who wants an efficient and experienced solicitor I would be very happy to help them. Vanessa.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Patrick
Patrick Added 11 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
June 04, 2020 20200604143319

Probate

4

Matter Type: Probate

I found the staff at Barrett & Co. most helpful at a difficult time for me
and were efficient in carrying out the necessary legal and inheritance
tax requirements.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 June, 2020

Thank you for taking time to review our work for you. It's always good to hear that we have done a good job and provided a good service at a difficult time. Should you need us again in the future for any legal work, please do get in touch and if you can recommend us to any friends of family, it would be very much appreciated. Thank you. Vanessa Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 12 months ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
May 12, 2020 20200512154129

Exceptional service

5

Matter Type: Wills

We were introduced to Barrett & Co through the WIll Aid scheme and from the very first engagement, have received nothing but exceptional service. The whole team have been super helpful, professional, kind and patient and we could not recommend them highly enough. If we ever require a solicitor in the future, I know we will be in the best hands. Thank you Vanessa, Rebecca, Hilary, Megan and everyone else we had the pleasure to deal with.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2020

Thank you so much for letting people know how you found our service. It seems as though we did a good job for you! It really is helpful when people leave a review as many clients find us through recommendation, especially for our private client work such as wills, trusts and probate. Please do recommend me to any friends or family and we will always take care of them with the same attention. Vanessa Ruparel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Simon
Simon Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 29, 2021
Collected on
20210429092300

Simon

2

I used Barrett and Co to try and do a fairly simple financial agreement between myself and my ex-wife. I was quoted up to £3000 to complete the agreement. After spending £3400 and only managing to fill out a form and then been quoted another £2000-3000 to complete it I decided to do it myself. My advice to anyone planning on using a solicitor for this kind of thing is don't! You need to sit down with the other person and draw up a 'fair' agreement and just get it legalized by a solicitor. The staff I interfaced with were all professional but in the end it was a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Antonio
Antonio Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 28, 2021
Collected on
20210428101652

Antonio

5

We contacted Barrett & Co to get advice on Wills and Power of Attorneys. Our primary contact was Juliette who was approachable and professional throughout the process. She gave advice based upon our particular circumstances and not just generic feedback. I would highly recommend Juliette and Barrett & Co.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 May, 2021

Thank you. When getting a Power of Attorney and wills organised it is so important to get bespoke advice and I am delighted to have been able to help. Should you ever need any help in the future with any updates or changes please do get in touch. All the best. Juliette.

Ally
Ally Added 1 week ago Report to admin
April 27, 2021
Collected on
20210427085323

Ally

5

We used Barrett and Co for probate and conveyancing. Jane, Emma and Piers were absolutely outstanding in their help with these matters. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 May, 2021

Thank you. Probate and conveyancing teams often work together and we are delighted that you can recommend our services. Should you ever need us again in the future, we will be happy to help. Jane Whitfield.

Abby
Abby Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 22, 2021
Collected on
20210422112339

Abby

5

We worked with Emma Docking to sell and buy properties recently. In spite of the hugely complicated process (our properties are somewhat unusual), we had consistent and clear communication from Emma and Berrett and co throughout. They were very responsive and kept us up to date. Would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 May, 2021

Thank you Abby. We love unusual! If ever you need us again for any legal reason, we're here to help for the extraordinary, or the ordinary. We hope to be your solicitors for whatever your needs are. Thank you so much for trusting us. Emma Docking.

Michal
Michal Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin
April 18, 2021
Collected on
20210418073358

Michal

5

Great experience having Barrett & Co do the conveyancing for our property purchase. Emma, Alan and Richard were responsive, helpful, patient and provided a great deal of knowledge throughout the entire process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 May, 2021

Thank you Michal, that is very good to hear. We really have been working hard to ensure all clients get a great service as there has been a very busy period for home buyers and sellers. The entire process requires patience and great communication and we love to help clients like you buy property. Thank you from Emma, Alan and Richard.

Reviews collected on

Emily Barroso
Emily Barroso Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 29, 2018 20181029150917

Emily Barroso

5

I would like to recommend my solicitor, Justin Sadler, who helped me prepare for my 1975 Inheritance Act Case. I trusted him and he did not let me down. He was economical, kind, considerate and frank. I highly recommend him. Emily-Jane Hillman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. Your recommendation is much appreciated as it will help other people choose a solicitor to help them in the same area of complex probate . Justin Sadler

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson
Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson Added 4 years ago Report to admin
March 14, 2017 20170314141627

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson

5

Having worked for various "magic circle" firms for years, I was very impressed at the service that Jane Whitfield provided. Will have no hesitation in instructing Jane in the future. Brilliant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jon Ewing
Jon Ewing Added 4 years ago 2 found this helpful Report to admin
October 04, 2016 20161004105221

Jon Ewing

5

Very good value initial one-hour fixed fee consultation for £95 inc VAT.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Since 1981, Barrett & Co. has provided specialist, personalised legal services with a focus on service excellence. During this time, we’ve formed loyal and lasting relationships with a range of clients who appreciate our simple, straightforward, successful approach. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our senior partner Hilary Buckle specialises in Wills and Probate and is partnered by Justin Sadler, who practices both Litigation and Employment Law, and Paul Wild, a collaborative lawyer and mediator in Family Law. Martin Reynolds is a partner and heads up the Company and Commercial Department and has a wealth of experience dealing with commercial law and property. We’re proud of our motivated, experienced staff, who epitomise our positive spirit and friendly, professional culture. Many have been with us for several years, giving the firm a depth of knowledge and reliability that is invaluable to clients and colleagues alike.


Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000