Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 96%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 16%
Overpriced 0%
About Right 83%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 99%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 99%
No 1%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 98%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 98%
No 2%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.8/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    221
  • Very Good

    12
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    3
  • Awful

    6

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Susan

Matter Type:

Separation

Susan

April 26, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Separation and conveyancing

I had two lots of solicitors dealing with my separation and obtaining an equity settlement. Both Aadil and Piers plus their teams have given me their professionalism and support in this extremely difficult time. All of the staff I dealt with were nothing more than courteous and patient. I would fully recommend this company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

sneha

Matter Type:

Consumer Disputes

sneha

February 23, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Justin Sadler

We had to reach out to Justin for advice about an ongoing ‘situation’ we had with a builder. Justin was professional, empathetic and patiently explained what our next steps should be to best secure our interests. We were very satisfied with the advice we got and appreciated his time.

Was this review helpful?

Steve

Matter Type:

Probate

Steve

August 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate Application

Having used the services of Barrett & Co a few years ago for a house purchase, I again employed Barrett & Co to help with the Probate application process - this was not the easiest of cases, as I am dealing with my parents estate in Portugal, with assets in the UK, whilst being based myself in mainland Europe.
I found the service from Vanessa very efficient and professional. Questions were answered quickly and the process was made much easier with the professionalism and attention to detail.
The invoice was true to the fees quoted at the beginning of the process (in fact, the price that was quoted was honoured, even though the hours spent on my case exceeded the initial estimate). I was very impressed by Barrett & Co and the service from Vanessa and would not hesitate to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Lynne

Matter Type:

Probate

Lynne

August 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Exceptional service

I recently employed Barrett & Co to help me through the arduous task of Probate and all that that entails - Vanessa Ruparel, my solicitor was so kind while dealing with me and got every box ticked - she was efficient, extremely professional and guided me at every turn with great skill giving me practical advice whenever I asked. Probate was granted thanks to her being very proactive and knowledgable.
I also used Vanessa to produce my will and as I expected it was done without any preamble exactly how I wished it to be.
The fees that I was quoted were reasonable and they were true to the bill that I later paid.
I was very impressed by the team at Barrett & Co and will most definitely use them again in the future and would also recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

JNK

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

JNK

August 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

I have recently used Barrett and Co Solicitors for a multiple legal issues needing to be resolved and also creating a will. I found them to be very good and professional, the majority of the work being carried out by Juliette Spanner who has very knowledgeable, professional and courteous.

From my experience I will be using them in the future again.

Was this review helpful?

Paula Kennedy & Tony Short

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Wills

Paula Kennedy & Tony Short

July 06, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Preparation of wills and LPAs

We were very pleased with the service we received from Barrett & Co when they prepared our wills and LPAs. Juliette Spanner was extremely helpful and talked us through all the intricacies in an exemplary fashion, using plain language to get the message across very clearly. Timely communication meant that we were always kept well informed of all developments. We would be happy to recommend Barrett & Co to anyone in the Reading area who requires a good and reliable firm of solicitors.

Was this review helpful?

Cath

Matter Type:

Wills

Cath

June 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kind & Caring

The thought of writing a will was quite daunting. Having discussed many times over the years, we decided that we should go ahead. Vanessa was helpful in navigating us through the process. She was very patient and understanding, alongside her professionalism. This made the potential ordeal for us so much easier. I would strongly recommend Barrett & Co for any legal activities and would return to them in the future for any legal services. I would like to thank you for all your assistance.

Was this review helpful?

Marc

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Marc

June 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Lost of time

I contacted Barret & Co a while ago for properties inquires. They wrote me they were happy to take our case.

They called me back, asked several questions and said that they would contact me again with more information about how to proceed etc.

They never called back. I decided to call back this morning and they said they rudely said they were at full capacity. What a wast of time and unprofessional behaviour.

I would not recommend anyone to wast time with them.

Was this review helpful?

Victoria Stevens ACR

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Employment Law

Victoria Stevens ACR

June 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

An excellent and efficient service, tailored to my requirements

I was very happy indeed with the service I received: prompt, professional and sound advice, at a reasonable price. The resulting output has been both useful and specifically tailored to my needs. The practice was approachable and efficient; highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

Gaby Moretti-Chambers

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP.

Matter Type:

Probate

Gaby Moretti-Chambers

May 08, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Probate and Wills

The professional and personal attention we got from Barrett & Co was exceptional. From my first contact with Claire who arranged the first online meeting with Juliette who then handled all our needs with great care and considerstion for the delicate time we were going through. Juliette was very considerate of my dads slight language barrier with detailed help along the way. I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

Ged

Ged

February 19, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

Ged

Never replied to email!

Was this review helpful?

James

James

January 11, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

James

Dealing with Barrett&Co was excellent from the start. They were very swift in providing initial information and booking an initial zoom meeting. I dealt with Justin Sadler who took time to understand my situation and was clearly both knowledgeable re the situation and also honest about what I could expect. Will use again and thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

simon

simon

January 07, 2022

Report to admin

Collected on:

simon

I've dealt with many solicitors in the past 10 years in various areas of law and I must say Barrett come 1st place for me. Great care and attention.

**Meant to have mentioned Charlotte Fox was the lady that took care of my affairs.

Was this review helpful?

Stephen

Stephen

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stephen

In February 2020 my sister contacted Barrett’s to enquire about a power of attorney on behalf of our mother who was in the Royal Berks after a bad fall. She was later transferred to Wokingham Hospital and one of their solicitors Vanessa Ruparel came out to explain what would be involved, talking to mum directly as much as possible (although she was ninety seven, she was still sharp though a little hard of hearing). When unfortunately mum died about three weeks later, we decided to engage Barrett’s to deal with mum’s estate. In early March we met up with Vanessa to discuss the various stages of the estate and an estimated range of their costs (the final bill was well within it). Throughout a very trying 2020 & 2021, Vanessa kept us totally informed of all the stages involved throughout this period, both by email and on the phone. As well as doing the legal legwork, she also arranged for the house and garden to be tidied up prior to its sale, later on in 2020 - the conveyancing work of which was undertaken by Alan Warnes, another Barrett’s solicitor. All in all, a very clear and approachable firm of solicitors. I should also like to mention the helpful assistance throughout of Rebecca Pykett, Emma Docking, Rebecca Rai, Piers Galton-Becque and Megan Aedy.

Was this review helpful?

Michelle

Michelle

October 27, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Michelle

We came across Barrett and Co Solicitors via a free Will writing scheme. Mrs Ruparel was very professional yet friendly; the whole process was very straightforward as she explained all the steps and areas for consideration clearly. The legal support team were also very helpful in answering any queries we had.

Was this review helpful?

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

Since 1981, Barrett & Co. has provided specialist, personalised legal services with a focus on service excellence. During this time, we’ve formed loyal and lasting relationships with a range of clients who appreciate our simple, straightforward, successful approach. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our senior partner Hilary Buckle specialises in Wills and Probate and is partnered by Justin Sadler, who practices both Litigation and Employment Law, and Anthony Raumann, a collaborative lawyer and mediator in Family Law. Richard Ince heads up our Property Conveyancing department. We’re proud of our motivated, experienced staff, who epitomise our positive spirit and friendly, professional culture. Many have been with us for several years, giving the firm a depth of knowledge and reliability that is invaluable to clients and colleagues alike.

Practice areas

Wills/Trusts and Probate are a specialist area for our firm. We have nationally recognised experts and also specialise in contested probate and Inheritance Disputes. We also help clients with Lasting Power of Attorney. Employment law is an area where see many clients use our services. For any employment problem, the initial advice can often result in thousands of pounds of extra compensation. Family law, divorce and separation and all issues relating to settlement agreements and child access are covered by our family team. Conveyancing is handled by our in house team with expert knowledge of the Thames Valley. We offer a genuine bespoke service that is highly valued by clients. Commercial and company law, including contracts is an area that we have great expertise. From setting up a company to managing its sale, we can help. Litigation and disputes is an area where we also have a dedicated team. Our services start from simple letters requesting payment to a full representation role at court. We offer flexibility to our clients so that they can find the legal services that suit them, whether fully represented by us or on a basis where we do some of the work, but the client does some too. The best way to get started is to book a 1 hour consultation for £95 which enables you to get the advice you need without committing to the full service, until you know exactly what you need.

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Clinical Negligence
    • Clinical Negligence
  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Consumer Rights
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel rights
  • Education
    • Education
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Employment Law
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Media and Sports
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pay Issue
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Annulment
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Abduction
    • Child Access
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Custody
    • Child Law
    • Child Maintenance
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Divorce Mediation
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Domestic Violence
    • Elderly care
    • Elderly care home fees
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Fixed Fee Divorce
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • High Net Worth Divorce
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • International Divorce
    • Lasting power of attorney
    • Marriage and civil partnerships
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Second charges
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Notary
    • Notary
  • Personal Injury
    • Personal Injury Law
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Disputed Probate
    • Disputed Trusts
    • Disputed Wills
    • International
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
  • Charities
    • Charities
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Contracts and Agreements
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contract law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
    • Insurance
    • Intellectual Property
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Outsourcing agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Dispute Resolution
    • Mediation
  • Energy & Transport
    • Energy
  • IT & Intellectual Property
    • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
    • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
    • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
    • Copyright
    • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
    • Design rights and product designs
    • Domain Names
    • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
    • Patents
    • Personality and Image Rights
    • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
    • Licensing
Book an appointment