Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP

0118 958 9711

For over 30 years, Barrett & Co has provided personalised, specialist legal advice to a wide range of individuals and small-to-medium businesses. Based in Reading, Berkshire, Barrett & Co offers a professional, friendly and competitive service that’s based around you. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our experienced lawyers work closely with every client to understand their issues, and provide effective solutions through a diverse legal services portfolio covering individuals and businesses.

4.8/5 152 Customer Reviews 152 Leave a review
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation

How Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP on ReviewSolicitors

Currently showing Reviews and Solicitors specific to

152 Customer Reviews

4.8/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    142
  • Very Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Awful
    3

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Patrick
Patrick Added 3 weeks ago Report to admin
June 04, 2020 20200604153319

Probate

4

I found the staff at Barrett & Co. most helpful at a difficult time for me
and were efficient in carrying out the necessary legal and inheritance
tax requirements.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 05 June, 2020

Thank you for taking time to review our work for you. It's always good to hear that we have done a good job and provided a good service at a difficult time. Should you need us again in the future for any legal work, please do get in touch and if you can recommend us to any friends of family, it would be very much appreciated. Thank you. Vanessa Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Caroline
Caroline Added 1 month ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 12, 2020 20200512164129

Exceptional service

5

We were introduced to Barrett & Co through the WIll Aid scheme and from the very first engagement, have received nothing but exceptional service. The whole team have been super helpful, professional, kind and patient and we could not recommend them highly enough. If we ever require a solicitor in the future, I know we will be in the best hands. Thank you Vanessa, Rebecca, Hilary, Megan and everyone else we had the pleasure to deal with.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 13 May, 2020

Thank you so much for letting people know how you found our service. It seems as though we did a good job for you! It really is helpful when people leave a review as many clients find us through recommendation, especially for our private client work such as wills, trusts and probate. Please do recommend me to any friends or family and we will always take care of them with the same attention. Vanessa Ruparel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr
Mr Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 17, 2020 20200417091859

Outstanding service

5

Outstanding proactive and accommodating service we received. Would highly recommend.

Solicitor named in this review: Vanessa Ruparel

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 April, 2020

Thank you for your review. It is very kind of you to rate our service so highly. Please do recommend us to family and friends who may require a good private client solicitor. We have an excellent team at Barrett and Co Solicitors and most of our clients come from recommendations. Even whilst there is a lockdown due to Covid-19, we are able to serve clients via email/Skype . We look forward to helping you in the future should you need us. Vanessa Ruparel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Emma
Emma Added 5 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 24, 2020 20200124162827

Buying a house

4

Perfect location for me as I live near Reading town centre.
The process of buying a house took longer than I thought but I can't put the fault on Barrett and co as they endeavored to make sure I was well protected with odd things that arise when buying a house (correct boundaries etc)
Very surprised with the final bill ...very happy .
Staff are all lovely , even when pestering them with trivial questions , they knew how to put me at ease .
Thank you guys for all your hard work especially the receptionist , Emma and of course Richard xx

Solicitor named in this review: Richard Ince

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 March, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are all delighted that you got what you wanted from our service. Happy and loyal clients are what our work is all about and please do feel free to recommend us to friends and family. When you need us again for any legal matter please do get in touch so we can introduce you to other colleagues you may need for legal expertise. Richard Ince.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
September 13, 2019 20190913110233

Five star service and advice

5

We needed to discuss our difficult probate situation with a solicitor and were recommended Hilary Buckle. With just one hour’s telephone consultation, Hilary grasped every aspect of our predicament, identified the key issues and suggested the best solution. I don’t think I’ve ever felt better served by a solicitor. Absolutely first class!

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 17 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. I am always available to help with any private client legal problem you may have. Please do refer me to any family or friends that require expertise in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Spencer
Spencer Added 1 year ago Report to admin
April 17, 2019 20190417174331

Excellent and professional service

5

I have been using Barrett &co solicitors for around 4 years now, for family matters and the like.
They have been excellent in every way.
Paul wild (my solicitor) is excellent in everything I have given him to do, very professional service and I will continue to use them as and when I need.
Would definitely recommend !

Solicitor named in this review: Paul Wild

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. Should you ever need our services for the future, whether family law or any other area, do please get in touch with me. Paul Wild

Was this review helpful? Yes

Anonymous
Anonymous Added 1 year ago Report to admin
March 24, 2019 20190324201604

Brilliant Service

5

Chris Miller dealt with the eviction of my tenant. His advice was professional and knowledgeable. He acted efficiently and was very understanding. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Colin
Colin Added 1 year ago Report to admin
February 06, 2019 20190206222542

Professional Service

5

Paul Wild dealt with my recent divorce proceedings - over a period of eighteen months. Roll on divorce law reform!

Paul was very understanding, knowledgable and remained totally professional throughout. Just what one needs when going through a difficult and stressful time.

Recommended.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for this review. Should I, or any of my fellow solicitors be of service in the future, please do get in touch. Paul Wild.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Boyd
Boyd Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 05, 2018 20180205150305

Debt collection service

5

Justin Sadler acted for my family when a company owed several hundred thousand pounds. A few letters and weeks after the initial meeting, we were in receipt of the money in full. That was an excellent result and all achieved without any headaches or worries.

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jan
Jan Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 30, 2018 20180130201730

Would definitely recommend!

5

We had suffered trespass and criminal damage on our land and needed someone to fight our corner. We contacted Justin Sadler at Barratt & Co to see if he could help us. We couldn’t have chosen better! He gave us sound advice about our rights and what we could expect by way of a solution.

Justin and his team were amazing and extremely professional. They kept us well informed and guided us throughout the whole process. They essentially took all of the stress out of the situation and just dealt with the issue in hand.

We are so pleased with our choice of solicitors. Justin and his team were friendly, efficient and helpful - not to mention very knowledgeable! The result of which meant we reached an amicable outcome. We will definitely use them again but hopefully won’t need to anytime soon!

A representative from Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you for your review and recommendation. If we can ever be of service again for any legal matter please do get in touch. Justin Sadler

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Julie
Julie Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 10, 2020
Collected on
20200510144603

Julie

5

I used Barrett & Co for my divorce & Ellie couldn't have been more helpful & professional but also kind & considerate during what has been a very difficult time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 02 June, 2020

Thank you so much for leaving this review. Divorce is always a difficult time and I am so pleased to have been able to help you through it. It does make a huge difference when our clients feel as though we also offer support as well as legal solutions. If you ever need a solicitor for any other family matter please do get in touch. If there are friends and family that ever need legal help, please do recommend us and tell them to mention your name. We will all ensure they get support from Barrett and Co Solicitors. All the best, Eleanor Pearson.

Mo
Mo Added 1 month ago Report to admin
May 06, 2020
Collected on
20200506084437

A client

5

From start to finish these guys made me feel at ease during a turbulent time. First class service from all who I death with so I highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 02 June, 2020

Thank you for your kind review. We always try to offer a 100% top rate service so it's great to hear that we have hit our target for you! Please do feel free to recommend us to friends and family. Thank you. Justin Sadler, Partner.

Pam
Pam Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 17, 2020
Collected on
20200417092745

Pam

5

Vanessa Ruparel helped me to write my will after I re-married. She also sorted out my uncle's probate, which was more complicated than we anticipated. I have used Barrett & Co before many years ago when I divorced, so I didn't hesitate to use them again. They always give a quote up front for their work and if there are any problems and costs change they inform you and get your approval. I would never hesitate to recommended them (and I have done so). Thank you for all your help.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 02 June, 2020

Thank you so much for continuing to use Barrett and Co and also for recommending us to others. Recommendations for friends and family is when we know we are doing the right thing for our loyal clients. We will always be here as solicitors serving you and providing a great service for wills and power of attorney and any other services you need. Vanessa Ruparel

George
George Added 2 months ago Report to admin
April 17, 2020
Collected on
20200417081557

George

5

Used Barrett and Co extensively with my business and recently for a personal matter, excellent service on all occasions, you only get what you pay for, would have no hesitation in recommending their services. A big thank you to Vanessa for all her advice and assistance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 02 June, 2020

It's absolutely you get what you pay for and we try and offer a great service in return. We are so pleased as a firm to get recommendations and reviews. It makes all our work worthwhile when we can help such excellent clients. Thank you for thinking of us. Vanessa Ruparel

Keith
Keith Added 3 months ago Report to admin
March 30, 2020
Collected on
20200330140402

Keith

5

Sometime ago I used Barrett and Co to create a will using Will Aid and it was a friendly and simple process. I have recently been made redundant so I went for an hours fixed fee meeting to discuss my settlement agreement, again this was a very informative meeting and helped me understand the process and provide me with useful questions to ask.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 02 June, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Clients often like our fixed fee one hour consultations for employment law and it's great that you got the help you needed. We are always here for you for any legal matter and please do feel free to recommend us to anyone who finds themselves in a similar situation. I am sure we can help most people simply by offering good advice and options. Justin Sadler

Reviews collected on

Emily Barroso
Emily Barroso Added 1 year ago Report to admin
October 29, 2018 20181029150917

Emily Barroso

5

I would like to recommend my solicitor, Justin Sadler, who helped me prepare for my 1975 Inheritance Act Case. I trusted him and he did not let me down. He was economical, kind, considerate and frank. I highly recommend him. Emily-Jane Hillman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Barrett & Co Solicitors LLP responded to this review on 18 March, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. Your recommendation is much appreciated as it will help other people choose a solicitor to help them in the same area of complex probate . Justin Sadler

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson
Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson Added 3 years ago Report to admin
March 14, 2017 20170314141627

Elizabeth Catherine Clarkson

5

Having worked for various "magic circle" firms for years, I was very impressed at the service that Jane Whitfield provided. Will have no hesitation in instructing Jane in the future. Brilliant!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jon Ewing
Jon Ewing Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 04, 2016 20161004115221

Jon Ewing

5

Very good value initial one-hour fixed fee consultation for £95 inc VAT.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Description

Since 1981, Barrett & Co. has provided specialist, personalised legal services with a focus on service excellence. During this time, we’ve formed loyal and lasting relationships with a range of clients who appreciate our simple, straightforward, successful approach. Our Fixed Fee initial consultation for £95 is highly recommended as a low cost way of getting initial advice. Our senior partner Hilary Buckle specialises in Wills and Probate and is partnered by Justin Sadler, who practices both Litigation and Employment Law, and Paul Wild, a collaborative lawyer and mediator in Family Law. Martin Reynolds is a partner and headCompany and Commercial Department and has a wealth of experience dealing with commercial law and property. We’re proud of our motivated, experienced staff, who epitomise our positive spirit and friendly, professional culture. Many have been with us for several years, giving the firm a depth of knowledge and reliability that is invaluable to clients and colleagues alike.


Legal Services

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0900 - 1700
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000