Get advice now

Get advice now

Newman Law LLP

020 8349 2655

View map
Newman Law LLP

How Newman Law LLP Compares

Value for money

This firm - 46%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Newman Law LLP on ReviewSolicitors.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 37%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Newman Law LLP and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Newman Law LLP performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 38%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Newman Law LLP and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Newman Law LLP compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Newman Law LLP offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Newman Law LLP has Not Been Verified by ReviewSolicitors

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors


Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You

Review Sources

Client Reviews

2.5/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    14
  • Very Good

    2
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    1
  • Awful

    26

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Isobel

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Isobel

August 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House buying horror

I selected Newman Law Stockton office via the Conveyancing Index.
We were assigned a Conveyancer, Hayley Toft on 3 March 2021, completed all the initial paperwork and paid £300 for the search fees. We received a letter informing of the process, time constraints and heavy workloads because of the stamp duty holiday and requesting that we don't contact them unnecessarily. Furthermore they would contact us with information about any significant developments.
In the general terms and conditions Newman Law said they would " update you with progress on your matter regularly.......... we will communicate with you in plain language..............we will explain to you the legal work required as the matter progresses.........we will update you on likely timescales for each stage of this matter " Nothing more was heard from Ms Toft until 17 May when I was informed that due to lack of progress with our matter, it would be transferred to the London office where there were more staff.
I contacted the London office after a few more days had elapsed and spoke to Ms Habka who confirmed that they were in receipt of the referral and forms. It wasn't clear whether Ms Habka would be dealing with our matter but I had no other contact details.
After a further period of time with no communication from the London Office, I again phoned and was put in touch with a locum solicitor who advised me that he would find out what was happening and get back to me. When he did it was to inform me that all our documents had been lost, no work had begun and he would need to resend them to us to complete.
We decided there and then to end our dealings with Newman Law and seek another firm of Solicitors, as nearly 4 months had elapsed since instructing them.
I have attempted on several occasions to obtain a refund of the £300 I paid to Newman Law on 15 March and have received absolutely nothing to date.

Was this review helpful?

joanne

joanne

August 16, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

The worst service I have ever received or could imagine

I instructed Newman Law in Jan 2021 to do my remortgage which was completed in March 2021. However, I discovered in August (5 months later) they they have taken my money but not registered this transaction with the land registry. I have sent several emails to Osman Mekki which have been ignored and spoken to three different people - taken their names but they do nothing. I am in the process of getting a lease extension through another law firm in Reading and my current solicitor tells me that we cannot proceed until Newman Law registers the remortgage. So I have paid for something but not had the service. I am considering contacting the Legal Ombudsmen and the local newspapers next.

Was this review helpful?

Nicole

Nicole

July 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

House Sale

We started our sale in Jan 2021 and we picked Newman Law Stockton on Tess branch from the good reviews from a comparison site. Everything started off OK and we were aware of the time constraints and work loads involved due to the stamp duty holiday and we're expecting the process to take longer than usual but due to issues within the branch we had no conact from them for a number of weeks despite numerous attempts from us. The branch was closed and Mr Osmsn Mekki then took charge of our case from their head office in Finchley. He was extremely helpful, was always contractable and dealt with our case as a matter of priority. We have now completed and it is thanks to Mr Mekki's professionalism and his staff at Newman Law Finchley that have seen this through to completion. We would recommend Mr Mekki and the Finchley branch to anyone needing to use solicitors. So after a bad start due to their unforseen circumstances in that Branch, Mr Mekkt and the Finchley branch were extremely professional friendly and dealt with us brilliantly.

Was this review helpful?

Jason

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jason

July 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Uncommunicative, made basic errors, lost things

I was initially assigned to the Stockton office. For over 3 weeks after returning the initial forms, emails and answerphone messages were ignored. Then I was transferred to the London branch, which wasn't much better.

I never had any direct contact with the supervising solicitor, just a paralegal.

Documents I'd sent were lost and I had to send them again. I was told they hadn't received my cheque for the searches, two weeks after they'd cashed it. Twice I was sent documentation for other, completely random properties. The completion statement had the stamp duty incorrectly calculated and to cap it all off I got a demand from the HMRC for outstanding stamp duty. On ringing HMRC, it had been paid, but apparently not before the deadline.

Was this review helpful?

Krupa

Krupa

July 22, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Hannah was brilliant

We had recently needed a rapid turnaround for re-mortgaging our property and Hannah jumped on it as soon as possible, guided us through the process and turned it around in time.
Very proactive, efficient and willing to jump on a call to support us when we were unsure of certain items.
Thanks you so much Hannah!

Was this review helpful?

Lisa

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lisa

July 14, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

DO NOT USE!!

Absolutely terrible service!! Was allocated Newman Law by home legal direct on 1/2/21 to act for me on a property sale. Since then I have spent MONTHS chasing this sale trying to get an update only to be ignored repeatedly.
This week I have discovered that Newman Law are no longer doing conveyancing BUT have not bothered to tell any of their clients or home legal direct. Newman Law have forwarded my case to another solicitors who are also failing to contact me. Over 5 months later and this case is back to square one!!! Do yourself a favour and pay for a local solicitor, yes you will pay much more but at least your conveyancing transaction will be dealt with!!.

Was this review helpful?

Andrew

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Andrew

July 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Excellent service in the end

My initial dealings with Newman Law were not that great, as I kept getting different people to deal with and confusion over what documents I'd already sent which made me consider whether I'd made the right choice. My case was then assigned to Hannah and from then on the level of service was excellent, and everything proceeded effectively and efficiently without fuss, and the sale was completed and a very competitive price for the work.
I've now recommended Hannah to a friend in the process of selling his property.

Was this review helpful?

Jeremy

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Jeremy

July 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

great service, thank you

Hannah Dowling provided a highly professional service with our recent house purchase. Everything was delivered as promised and communications were excellent all the way through. House buying is a stressful experience and Hannah's support and attention to detail greatly helped. I would happily engage Hannah again. many thanks

Was this review helpful?

Emma

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Emma

July 01, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fantastic from start to finish!

Hannah has recently helped us with conveyancing on a new property. Despite the enormous amount of workload that she must be facing currently Hannah was proactive, efficient and went above and beyond to ensure the sale went through in the shortest amount of time possible.
I would not hesitate to recommend Hannah to anyone and has been one of the easiest transactions I have experienced.
Great work Hannah! Thanks again.

Was this review helpful?

Lee

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Lee

June 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Amazing Service

Recommended by our Estate Agent and we were assigned Hannah. We’ve purchased numerous properties in the past and never received such amazing service as we have done by Hannah.
Always on hand, commutation was excellent and looked after us from start to finish.
We highly recommend Hannah and would 100% not hesitate to use her again.
Thankyou Hannah for making the whole process seamless.

Was this review helpful?

About this branch

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Dispute resolution - civil mediation
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
    • Travel - Airlines going out of business
    • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
    • Travel - Holiday Sickness
    • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
    • Travel - Trip cancellation
    • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
    • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence
    • Assault
    • Business Crime
    • Criminal Damage
    • Criminal defence - All
    • Drugs offences
    • Murder and Manslaughter
    • Professional Conduct
    • Regulatory Defence
    • Theft
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • Neighbour Disputes
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Human rights
    • Human rights
  • Immigration
    • Administrative reviews, appeals and judicial reviews
    • Ancestry visas
    • Applications for British citizenship
    • Applications for discretionary leave
    • Applications to extend leave to remain or for settlement
    • Asylum applications and appeals
    • Citizenship
    • Deportation appeals
    • EEA Family Permits
    • EEA Registration Cards
    • EEA Residence Permits
    • Entry clearance applications and appeals
    • Family Based Visas
    • Family Reunion Applications / Appeals
    • Family Visit Visa Applications /Appeals
    • General Visit Visa Applications / Appeals
    • Human Rights
    • Illegal Workers and Civil Penalties
    • Immigration Law
    • Indefinite leave to remain applications
    • Marriage Applications/Appeals
    • Nationality, Citizenship, Registration application
    • Partner and family visas
    • Re-entry bans
    • Settlement Applications and indefinite leave to remain appeals
    • Tier 1 (investors, entrepreneurs and exceptional talent)
    • Tier 2 (sponsored skilled workers)
    • Tier 4 (students)
    • Tier 5 (temporary workers)
    • UK ancestry
    • Visas
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Data Protection
    • Franchising
    • Insurance
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety