Coles Solicitors Limited

01482 231300

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.

4.4/5 284 Customer Reviews 284
Recommended by
318 Verified Clients
like Aleks and Linda
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

284 Customer Reviews

4.4/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    209
  • Very Good
    30
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    28

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jennifer
Verified Jennifer Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 01, 2019 20190201190701

Sale and Purchase of my house - thank you

5

I have recently used Coles Solicitors in the sale and purchase of a property.

Following the service I received from Gilly French and Andrew Haigh at Coles, I would highly recommend.

The communication levels we’re fantastic, prompt responses to any queries I had and they always kept me up to date with what was happening.

Moving house is a very stressful process but the service I received helped make everything a lot smoother and I can not thank both Andrew and Gilly enough for all their efforts in supporting me with the completion date I was aiming for.

Thank you to you both 😊

Solicitor being reviewed: Andrew Colin Haigh

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you Jennifer for your kind words. I will ensure these are passed on to Gilly and Andrew. We look forward to working with you again in the future but in the meantime enjoy your new house. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

glennis
glennis Added 6 months ago Report to admin
January 09, 2019 20190109150508

Excellent result

5

I was very impressed with the way that my case was dealt with, Mr, Menzies-Baird dealt with it swiftly and efficiently, each step of the way I was kept informed by him and Angela Betts as to the progress of my case. All emails pertaining to me were sent promptly and replied to just as quickly. I would definitely use Coles solicitors again and recommend them to others

Solicitor being reviewed: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you Glennis for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to Michael and Angela and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nick
Nick Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 03, 2018 20180403165518

First class service from Coles

5

Michael and the entire team at Coles provided a first class service and one which I would highly recommend to anybody needing legal assistance. They were highly efficient and professional, and reasonably priced, and achieved a very fast resolution to my problem.

Solicitor being reviewed: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

Was this review helpful? Yes

ros
ros Added 2 years ago Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103155918

Excellent service

5

A Huge thank you to everyone involved, in particular Michael Menzies Baird and Sarah Choudary. They helped me get my money back from Ebay seller who sold me a bespoke dining set which became warped. Ebay and Pay Pal were useless. Michael put the case through the small claims court online and also instruced High Court Enforecement when the seller did not refund. The whole process was smooth and strees free thanks to Coles and I would highly recommend them.

Solicitor being reviewed: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Ros, Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review. We are very glad that we helped you in a smooth and stress free way. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steve
Steve Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103110146

Kelly's Eye... No.1

5

Thank you to everyone at Coles, but in particular - Michael Menzies-Baird and Saarah Choudary for their effort, compassion, empathy and determination in helping my Mum win her bingo dispute case.

Solicitor being reviewed: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Steve, Thank you very much for taking time to make a review about us. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 27, 2015 20151027200156

taking the extra step

5

rang to enquire about a service. was delt with straight away. my situation needed sorting within 3 days and thanks to mr menzies-baird who went the extra to mile to help me everything got done on time if I need to will definitely us them again

Solicitor being reviewed: Michael Hamish Menzies-Baird

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 31 October, 2015

Dear Christopher Thanks for your kind comments about Mingus. we are delighted to have been of help. kind regards Peter

Was this review helpful? Yes

Peter
Verified Peter Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 12, 2015 20151012183218

Employment Tribunal

5

One side had to win, sadly it wasnt me, and cost me a few thousand pounds to fight my case, however, if I had gone to Coles from the off, then the case may have been presented better as I chose to represent myself initially and I had no legal cover.

Coles were helpful and friendly and explained what they could when the situations arose. I would use them again as my solicitor made it his business to keep in touch through out as my only support. I am thankful for this.

Secretarial support was also very good in the absence of my solicitor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Steven Added 3 years ago Report to admin
September 23, 2015 20150923111145

Amazing service

5

From start to finish the team were fantastic, I would recommend for all your property legal requirements.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 24 September, 2015

Thanks Steven - delighted to have been of help to you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Annmarie
Verified Annmarie Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 11, 2019 20190711154532

Moving

5

Very professional employees with great integrity, very polite and patient

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 15 July, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our services. We are glad you've had a great experience. We look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Carol
Verified Carol Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
July 11, 2019 20190711122011

Sale of house

5

Thankyou so much for dealing with our affairs during a very distressing time in our lives.much appreciated.

A representative from Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 15 July, 2019

We are sorry to hear you are going through a difficult time at the moment but we thank you for taking the time to let us know of the service you received. Bev will be thrilled. Please do keep in touch if there's anything else we can do to help. Coles Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

Linda
Linda Added 4 months ago Report to admin
March 13, 2019
Collected on
20190313161158

Linda Armstrong

5

Excellent service so quick and so reasonable and very helpful and curtious

Was this review helpful? Yes

Aleks
Aleks Added 4 months ago Report to admin
February 22, 2019
Collected on
20190222154548

Aleks Rojko

5

Good solicitors highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 26 February, 2019

Thanks for your review Aleks. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Paul
Paul Added 5 months ago Report to admin
February 19, 2019
Collected on
20190219151743

Paul Chapman

4

Very efficient service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 26 February, 2019

Thanks for your review Paul. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Samantha
Samantha Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 13, 2019
Collected on
20190613175831

Samantha

5

Really lovely staff and a great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 17 June, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback Samantha. Coles Solicitors

Jerome
Jerome Added 1 month ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
June 11, 2019
Collected on
20190611101300

Jerome

5

Used Coles for conveyancing when selling our house. Good communication with helpful and supportive staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 11 June, 2019

Thanks for your review Jerome. We would welcome a review on Facebook too if you can? Thanks in advance. Coles Solicitors

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.


Legal Services
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Transfers of equity
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Child Law
  • Travel rights
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Remortgaging
  • Collaborative Law
  • Against The Council
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Consumer Rights
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Extending your Lease
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Family law
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Redundancy
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Separation
  • Repossessions
  • Buying at auction
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Probate
  • Leasehold properties
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Professional Negligence
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Medical Negligence
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Family Leave
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Housing Associations
  • Right to Manage
  • Planning
  • Separation Agreement
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Senior Executives
  • Gardening Leave
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Benefits
  • Stress at Work
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Litigation Law
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Transfer of title
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Trusts
  • Housing disputes
  • Part Time Workers
  • Injunctions
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Professional Discipline
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Children
  • TUPE
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Housing Management
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Dental Negligence
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • MRSA Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Travel - Airlines going out of business
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Travel - Holiday Sickness
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Financial Matters
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Housing
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Family Mediation
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Lease Extensions
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Child contact
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Social Services
  • Travel - Trip cancellation
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Tax
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Trusts
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Property Disputes
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Wills
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pension Law
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Mental Health
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Civil partnerships
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Employment Contracts
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Patents
  • Corporate Law
  • Farming disputes
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Developer disputes
  • Mediation
  • Commercial Leases
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Licensing
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Setting up a business
  • Purchase of development land
  • Corporate finance
  • Data Protection
  • Charities
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Management buyouts
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Competition law
  • Planning law
  • Credit Control
  • Summary Judgment
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Employment - business
  • Intellectual Property
  • Domain Names
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Development plot sales
  • Copyright
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Commercial Law
  • Finance
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Computer and IT Law
  • GDPR
  • Health and Safety
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Asset Tracing
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Franchising
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Environmental policy law
  • Tax
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Statutory Demands
  • Agency agreements
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Equestrian property
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Share option schemes
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Unfair Loan Charges

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000