Coles Solicitors Limited

01482 231300

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 9 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.

4.3/5 214 Customer Reviews 214
Recommended by
249 Verified Clients
like Nick and Ros
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

214 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    155
  • Very Good
    22
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    25
Anonymous
Click to rate
Nick
Nick Added 8 months ago Report to admin
April 03, 2018 20180403165518

First class service from Coles

5

Michael and the entire team at Coles provided a first class service and one which I would highly recommend to anybody needing legal assistance. They were highly efficient and professional, and reasonably priced, and achieved a very fast resolution to my problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes

ros
ros Added 2 years ago Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103155918

Excellent service

5

A Huge thank you to everyone involved, in particular Michael Menzies Baird and Sarah Choudary. They helped me get my money back from Ebay seller who sold me a bespoke dining set which became warped. Ebay and Pay Pal were useless. Michael put the case through the small claims court online and also instruced High Court Enforecement when the seller did not refund. The whole process was smooth and strees free thanks to Coles and I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Ros, Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review. We are very glad that we helped you in a smooth and stress free way. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Steve
Steve Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103110146

Kelly's Eye... No.1

5

Thank you to everyone at Coles, but in particular - Michael Menzies-Baird and Saarah Choudary for their effort, compassion, empathy and determination in helping my Mum win her bingo dispute case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Steve, Thank you very much for taking time to make a review about us. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 27, 2015 20151027200156

taking the extra step

5

rang to enquire about a service. was delt with straight away. my situation needed sorting within 3 days and thanks to mr menzies-baird who went the extra to mile to help me everything got done on time if I need to will definitely us them again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 31 October, 2015

Dear Christopher Thanks for your kind comments about Mingus. we are delighted to have been of help. kind regards Peter

Peter
Verified Peter Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 12, 2015 20151012183218

Employment Tribunal

5

One side had to win, sadly it wasnt me, and cost me a few thousand pounds to fight my case, however, if I had gone to Coles from the off, then the case may have been presented better as I chose to represent myself initially and I had no legal cover.

Coles were helpful and friendly and explained what they could when the situations arose. I would use them again as my solicitor made it his business to keep in touch through out as my only support. I am thankful for this.

Secretarial support was also very good in the absence of my solicitor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Steven Added 3 years ago Report to admin
September 23, 2015 20150923111145

Amazing service

5

From start to finish the team were fantastic, I would recommend for all your property legal requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 24 September, 2015

Thanks Steven - delighted to have been of help to you

Chris
Chris Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 27, 2018 20181127163528

Representation from Coles

5

Cannot reccomend Coles highly enough . Extremely friendly , knowledgable , profession and above all supportive through a very hard time 5*****

Was this review helpful? Yes

Amy
Amy Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 26, 2018 20181126225157

Excellent Solicitors

5

We received an excellent and friendly service from Lindsey - she was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and approachable throughout the purchasing process. Neither myself, or my partner have bought a house before, Lindsey explained each step of the process to us and helped us exchange contracts with the builders quickly and easily. The process has been stress-free and we couldn’t recommend her enough - she has been extremely professional throughout, setting realistic targets and keeping in regular contact.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Philip
Philip Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 22, 2018 20181122161241

House Purchase

1

Do not return telephone calls.Do not reply to Emails. Do not honour commitments. The whole conveyancing process riddled with errors. Finally failed to deal with Land Registry and then lost the most important part of the Mortgage Agreement. A truly terrible service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Antony
Verified Antony Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
November 21, 2018 20181121131138

Large Property Sale

5

A big thank-you to Gilly French and Andrew Haigh for their professional support and personal service during our recent home sale. A number of detailed queries cropped up during the process and they were handled patiently and seamlessly. Gilly and Andrew were always easy to contact directly and very prompt in their responses and actions. Overall a speedy and smooth process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Coles Solicitors Limited

  • Elizabeth Matfin

    Elizabeth qualified as a Solicitor in 2003 after gaining an Honours Degree in Law & Accountancy and completing her Legal Practice Course with commendation at the College of Law in York. She spent 7 years at Wood Sherwood in Pocklington where she was a partner specialising in family law and civil litigation before moving to the family department at Hethertons in York. Elizabeth is experienced in all aspects of family work including pre-nuptial agreements, separation, divorce and civil partnership dissolution together with children issues and domestic violence. Being of mixed race, she has a particular interest in cases with a cross-cultural element.

  • Peter Gibson

    Peter grew up in Saltburn by the Sea and studied law at The University of Newcastle upon Tyne. Following University, Peter returned to Teesside where he was employed for a period by Iron Trades Insurance. He moved to York in 1998 to take up a position as a trainee Solicitor with Corries Solicitors, whilst studying for his legal practice Course at the College of Law in York from which he qualified in 2001. Peter’s early legal career focused on personal injury litigation for both defendant insurers and for claimants with a particular emphasis on high value and catastrophic personal injuries. Peter also gained experience of management , from supervising teams of other solicitors.

  • Kelly Buckle-Fleming

    Kelly joined Coles in the Autumn of 2013 from Dixon Law in Leeds and heads the Coles Conveyancing Team. She overviewes property related legal work for all of the Coles offices. Kelly brings a wealth of experience in both the residential and commercial property sectors having worked for law firms in London, Leeds and Harrogate. She is a graduate from The University of Hertfordshire.

  • Emma Ladd

    Emma joined Coles Solicitors in January 2017 having previously worked for three leading legal 500 firms in Sussex and Berkshire specialising in the sale and purchase of shares and business assets, corporate and business restructuring and corporate governance. Emma qualified as a solicitor in 2002 with a distinction at the London Metropolitan University after gaining a second class honours degree which she completed at the University of East Anglia. In 2007, Emma graduated at the University of Cambridge Institute of Continuing Education with a postgraduate diploma in Notarial Practice. This means that she can offer additional services to our commercial clients who have requirements overseas. Emma is based in our York office and heads up our already successful commercial department and highly experienced team where she is able to advise on every aspect of commercial law.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 9 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.


Legal Services
  • Injunctions
  • Collaborative Law
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Probate
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Housing disputes
  • Travel rights
  • Gardening Leave
  • Flexible Working
  • TUPE
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Family law
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Buying at auction
  • Senior Executives
  • Housing Associations
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Travel - Airlines going out of business
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Transfer of title
  • Consumer Rights
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Against The Council
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Stress at Work
  • Mental Health
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Pension Law
  • Housing
  • Wills
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Social Services
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Injunctions
  • Lease Extensions
  • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Declarations of trusts
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Travel - Trip cancellation
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Child contact
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Pension and property advice
  • Employment Contracts
  • Benefits
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Travel - Holiday Sickness
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Part Time Workers
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Child Law
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Leasehold properties
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Transfers of equity
  • Trusts
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Repossessions
  • Right to Manage
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Discrimination at Work
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Tax
  • Extending your Lease
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • Housing Management
  • Family Mediation
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Civil partnerships
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Redundancy
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Trusts
  • Professional Negligence
  • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Children
  • Separation
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Financial Matters
  • New home purchases and sales
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Remortgaging
  • Separation Agreement
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Professional Discipline
  • Litigation Law
  • Inheritance Tax
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Family Leave
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Planning
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Franchising
  • Credit Control
  • Finance
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Agency agreements
  • Domain Names
  • Competition law
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Commercial Leases
  • GDPR
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Environmental policy law
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Corporate finance
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Tax
  • Corporate Law
  • Developer disputes
  • Rights of way issues
  • Commercial Law
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Intellectual Property
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Development plot sales
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Purchase of development land
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Summary Judgment
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Share option schemes
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Statutory Demands
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Health and Safety
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Setting up a business
  • Patents
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Employment - business
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Licensing
  • Management buyouts
  • Copyright
  • Planning law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Data Protection
  • Charities
  • Mediation

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000