Coles Solicitors Limited

01482 231300

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.

4.3/5 269 Customer Reviews 269
Recommended by
303 Verified Clients
like Aleks and Linda
Accreditations
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

How Coles Solicitors Limited compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Coles Solicitors Limited on ReviewSolicitors

269 Customer Reviews

4.3/5

Overall experience

  • Value for money
  • Professionalism
  • Initial Impression
  • Approachability
  • Services
  • Knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    197
  • Very Good
    27
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    8
  • Awful
    28

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Jennifer
Verified Jennifer Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 01, 2019 20190201190701

Sale and Purchase of my house - thank you

5

I have recently used Coles Solicitors in the sale and purchase of a property.

Following the service I received from Gilly French and Andrew Haigh at Coles, I would highly recommend.

The communication levels we’re fantastic, prompt responses to any queries I had and they always kept me up to date with what was happening.

Moving house is a very stressful process but the service I received helped make everything a lot smoother and I can not thank both Andrew and Gilly enough for all their efforts in supporting me with the completion date I was aiming for.

Thank you to you both 😊

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you Jennifer for your kind words. I will ensure these are passed on to Gilly and Andrew. We look forward to working with you again in the future but in the meantime enjoy your new house. Coles Solicitors

glennis
glennis Added 3 months ago Report to admin
January 09, 2019 20190109150508

Excellent result

5

I was very impressed with the way that my case was dealt with, Mr, Menzies-Baird dealt with it swiftly and efficiently, each step of the way I was kept informed by him and Angela Betts as to the progress of my case. All emails pertaining to me were sent promptly and replied to just as quickly. I would definitely use Coles solicitors again and recommend them to others

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 12 February, 2019

Thank you Glennis for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to Michael and Angela and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Nick
Nick Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
April 03, 2018 20180403165518

First class service from Coles

5

Michael and the entire team at Coles provided a first class service and one which I would highly recommend to anybody needing legal assistance. They were highly efficient and professional, and reasonably priced, and achieved a very fast resolution to my problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes

ros
ros Added 2 years ago Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103155918

Excellent service

5

A Huge thank you to everyone involved, in particular Michael Menzies Baird and Sarah Choudary. They helped me get my money back from Ebay seller who sold me a bespoke dining set which became warped. Ebay and Pay Pal were useless. Michael put the case through the small claims court online and also instruced High Court Enforecement when the seller did not refund. The whole process was smooth and strees free thanks to Coles and I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Ros, Thank you very much for leaving such a positive review. We are very glad that we helped you in a smooth and stress free way. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Steve
Steve Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
November 03, 2016 20161103110146

Kelly's Eye... No.1

5

Thank you to everyone at Coles, but in particular - Michael Menzies-Baird and Saarah Choudary for their effort, compassion, empathy and determination in helping my Mum win her bingo dispute case.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 23 November, 2016

Dear Steve, Thank you very much for taking time to make a review about us. Regards, Sarah Chapman

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 27, 2015 20151027200156

taking the extra step

5

rang to enquire about a service. was delt with straight away. my situation needed sorting within 3 days and thanks to mr menzies-baird who went the extra to mile to help me everything got done on time if I need to will definitely us them again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 31 October, 2015

Dear Christopher Thanks for your kind comments about Mingus. we are delighted to have been of help. kind regards Peter

Peter
Verified Peter Added 3 years ago Report to admin
October 12, 2015 20151012183218

Employment Tribunal

5

One side had to win, sadly it wasnt me, and cost me a few thousand pounds to fight my case, however, if I had gone to Coles from the off, then the case may have been presented better as I chose to represent myself initially and I had no legal cover.

Coles were helpful and friendly and explained what they could when the situations arose. I would use them again as my solicitor made it his business to keep in touch through out as my only support. I am thankful for this.

Secretarial support was also very good in the absence of my solicitor

Was this review helpful? Yes

Steven
Steven Added 3 years ago Report to admin
September 23, 2015 20150923111145

Amazing service

5

From start to finish the team were fantastic, I would recommend for all your property legal requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 24 September, 2015

Thanks Steven - delighted to have been of help to you

Mark
Verified Mark Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 05, 2019 20190405220234

Highly Recommend

5

Excellent service from start to finish.
Lindsey Carter and Annabel Charlton kept us in the loop at all times with what was going on on promptly sent out any forms or documents our for us to sign and advised us what to do next, making our first time house buying effortless and stress free.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 08 April, 2019

Thanks for your review Mark. Lindsey and Annabel will be delighted with your feedback. We hope you are enjoying your new home and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Coles Solicitors

Chris
Verified Chris Added 2 weeks ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 01, 2019 20190401185049

Arranging Wills

5

We met with Amy Hook at the Market Weighton office and were extremely pleased with the service and advice that we received in arranging our Wills from Amy and would have no hesitation in recommending her.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 02 April, 2019

Thank you Chris for such wonderful feedback. I'm glad you are pleased with our service. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to Amy and should you ever need a Solicitor again in the future, you know who to contact. Coles Solicitors

Reviews collected on

Linda
Linda Added 1 month ago Report to admin
March 13, 2019
Collected on
20190313161158

Linda Armstrong

5

Excellent service so quick and so reasonable and very helpful and curtious

Was this review helpful? Yes

Aleks
Aleks Added 1 month ago Report to admin
February 22, 2019
Collected on
20190222154548

Aleks Rojko

5

Good solicitors highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 26 February, 2019

Thanks for your review Aleks. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Paul
Paul Added 2 months ago Report to admin
February 19, 2019
Collected on
20190219151743

Paul Chapman

4

Very efficient service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Coles Solicitors Limited responded to this review on 26 February, 2019

Thanks for your review Paul. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Annyth
Annyth Added 4 days ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 18, 2019
Collected on
20190418112430

Annyth Perkins

5

Wish i could give more stars! Amazing friendly staff spoke to 'Jill' who was absolutely amazing going above and beyond regarding my inquiry. would highly recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Babs
Babs Added 1 week ago Report to admin This review is for a different branch.
April 11, 2019
Collected on
20190411123447

Babs Wilson

3

Not very good

Was this review helpful? Yes

Solicitors who work at Coles Solicitors Limited

  • Elizabeth Matfin

    Elizabeth qualified as a Solicitor in 2003 after gaining an Honours Degree in Law & Accountancy and completing her Legal Practice Course with commendation at the College of Law in York. She spent 7 years at Wood Sherwood in Pocklington where she was a partner specialising in family law and civil litigation before moving to the family department at Hethertons in York. Elizabeth is experienced in all aspects of family work including pre-nuptial agreements, separation, divorce and civil partnership dissolution together with children issues and domestic violence. Being of mixed race, she has a particular interest in cases with a cross-cultural element.

  • Michael Menzies-Baird

    Michael (also known as Mingus) had a somewhat unconventional start to his career, serving as a Bomb Disposal Engineer in the British Army before retraining as a solicitor and qualified in 2000. Mingus brings a wealth of specialist experience of litigation which includes employment law, professional negligence, boundary and land disputes such as landlord & tenant and rights of way disputes, Personal injury and commercial debt recovery. He has previously held senior positions in York at Harland & Co Solicitors and joined Coles Solicitors as a Consultant in February 2015 after previously running his own legal practice in York known as MMB Law. Away from the office Mingus enjoys his voluntary work with SSAFA (Soldier, Sailer, Airman and Families Association) of which he is the East Yorkshire Branch Chairman and North East Regional Representative.

  • Peter Gibson

    Peter grew up in Saltburn by the Sea and studied law at The University of Newcastle upon Tyne. Following University, Peter returned to Teesside where he was employed for a period by Iron Trades Insurance. He moved to York in 1998 to take up a position as a trainee Solicitor with Corries Solicitors, whilst studying for his legal practice Course at the College of Law in York from which he qualified in 2001. Peter’s early legal career focused on personal injury litigation for both defendant insurers and for claimants with a particular emphasis on high value and catastrophic personal injuries. Peter also gained experience of management , from supervising teams of other solicitors.

  • Kelly Buckle-Fleming

    Kelly joined Coles in the Autumn of 2013 from Dixon Law in Leeds and heads the Coles Conveyancing Team. She overviewes property related legal work for all of the Coles offices. Kelly brings a wealth of experience in both the residential and commercial property sectors having worked for law firms in London, Leeds and Harrogate. She is a graduate from The University of Hertfordshire.

  • Emma Huscroft

    Emma qualified as a Solicitor in September 2009 after completing a Law Degree at the University of Teesside and the Legal Practice Course at the College of Law in York. She secured a training contract with Archers Law, moving to Freers Solicitors in Middlesbrough in 2011 before joining the Wills Probate and Trusts Department at Coles in October 2015. Emma specialises in advising clients with regard to Wills, Probate and Estate and Tax Planning. She also has a wealth of experience in Court of Protection matters, including Lasting Powers of Attorney and Deputyship Applications. Emma is a member of Tees Valley Law Society and the Education Committee for the society.

  • Keith Wivell

    Keith is a experienced solicitor specialising in Family law. He is able to advise clients on all family matters including divorce, separation, cohabitation (including agreements), pre and post nuptial agreements, domestic violence, private children proceedings and has particular expertise in financial matters including the drafting of Consent Orders following mutual agreement or financial dispute resolution.

  • Holly Wray

    Holly has a great experience in residential property undertaking sales, purchases and remortgages in East Yorkshire

  • Laurence Daniels

    Laurence joined Coles at the end of 2013 as a Personal Injury and Clinical Negligence Consultant based at our Thirsk office. Laurence qualified as a Solicitor in January 1994 and has predominantly worked in the personal injury and clinical negligence field since that time. Laurence has gained a wealth of experience within this time and has handled cases ranging from the very large to relatively modest. The largest claim he handled settled for £1.6 m involving a severely brain damaged child. Laurence lives just outside York and he was previously the head of the Personal Injury department for Foster Dean Solicitors based in the North West responsible for 23 other Solicitors and the expansion of that firm before he moved back to York in 2004 to set up his own business which was ultimately purchased by Coles in 2010 becoming the Coles York office. Laurence has now returned to Coles to complete the circle as it were and we are delighted to have Laurence join us. Laurence specialises in a wide range of personal injury claims to include accidents at work, road traffic accidents, slipping and tripping claims, clinical negligence claims, fatal claims and accidents involving animals/livestock.

  • Christine Pick

    Christine is a experienced solicitor specialising in Family law. She is able to advise clients on all family matters including divorce, separation, cohabitation (including agreements), pre and post nuptial agreements, domestic violence, private children proceedings and has particular expertise in financial matters including the drafting of Consent Orders following mutual agreement or financial dispute resolution. Christine is predominantly based in our Market Weighton and Beverley offices.

  • Amy Hook

    Amy qualified as a solicitor in August 2009 after completing a Law Degree at Sunderland University and Legal Practice Course at The College of Law, York. Her legal career commenced with Thorpe & Co Solicitors in Scarborough before joining the Wills and Probate Department of Coles Solicitors in March 2015. Amy specialises in advising clients with regard to Wills, Probate and Tax Planning together with Court of Protection matters including Lasting Powers of Attorney and Deputyship applications.

  • Andrew Haigh

    Andrew brings a wealth of experience to the residential property team at York and Market Weighton having worked for Coles previously at our Harrogate office.

  • Vicky John

    Vicky attended the University of Sunderland and studied Law with Psychology and graduated in 2004. She then attended the College of Law in York to study the Legal Practice Cousre obtaining a commendation. Vicky completed her training contract at Darling and Stephensons in Darlington undertaking civil, family and private client work. She then moved to Place Blair & Hatch at Northallerton to cover a period of maternity leave before securing a permanent position at Askews in their Family Team working in the Middlesbrough and Redcar areas. She then took a 2 year break from work after having a son in 2012, and returned to work in 2014 as a legal assistant at Coles before returning to practising in her current role as a member of the Wills and Probate Department.

  • Shauna Finch

    Shauna qualified as a Solicitor in 1990 and worked for 13 years at Newman & Bond in Barnsley, 10 of them as a partner in the firm. She has previously been a Resolution Accredited Specialist, specialising in child issues and pensions, and a member of the Law Society Children Panel. Since 2006 she has worked as a locum solicitor at various Yorkshire law firms, including Harrowells in York and Bury & Walker in Barnsley, and has also worked as a visiting lecturer at the College of Law in York. Shauna joined Coles as a Consultant in 2010 and is also a part-time Tribunal Judge.

  • Andrew Haigh

    Andrew brings a wealth of experience to the residential property team at York and Market Weighton having worked for Coles previously at our Harrogate office.

  • Elizabeth Matfin

    Elizabeth is experienced in all aspects of family work including pre-nuptial agreements, separation, divorce and civil partnership dissolution together with children issues and domestic violence. Being of mixed race, she has a particular interest in cases with a cross-cultural element. Elizabeth qualified as a Solicitor in 2003 after gaining an Honours Degree in Law & Accountancy and completing her Legal Practice Course with commendation at the College of Law in York. She spent 7 years at Wood Sherwood in Pocklington where she was a partner specialising in family law and civil litigation before moving to the family department at Hethertons in York.

About This Branch

Description

Coles Solicitors is one of Yorkshire's leading law firms operating from 10 offices across North and East Yorkshire, ensuring clients across our entire network are able to access our team of dedicated professionals. We are a high street law firm handling property, family, litigation and Wills and probate work for clients across Yorkshire and beyond.


Legal Services
  • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
  • Breast Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Medical Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Spinal Surgery Claims
  • Fertility Negligence Claims
  • Property Disputes
  • Travel - Airlines going out of business
  • Inheritance Tax
  • Declarations of trusts
  • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
  • Travel - Volcanic ash disruption
  • Service Charge Recovery
  • Skin Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Dilapidation Claims
  • Domestic Abuse
  • Birth Injury Claims
  • Transfer of title
  • Defective Medical Device Claims
  • Dermal Filler Compensation Claims
  • Tax Compliance Services
  • Bowel Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Eye Surgery Claims
  • Anti-social Behaviour
  • Breast Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Pressure Sore Claims
  • Civil partnerships
  • Tax Advisory Services
  • Unfair Dismissal Claims
  • Property Holding Structures
  • Ovarian Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Gym Injury Compensation
  • Misdiagnosed Miscarriage Claims
  • Surgery Compensation Claims
  • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
  • Litigation - Property litigation claims
  • Transfers of parts of land
  • Right to Manage
  • Travel - Falsely advertised accommodation
  • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
  • Family Mediation
  • Buying at auction
  • Nerve Damage Claims
  • Travel - Holiday Sickness
  • Neighbour Disputes
  • Travel - Unsanitary hotel conditions
  • Family law
  • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
  • Sepsis Negligence Claims
  • Planning
  • Equal Pay Disputes
  • Injunctions
  • Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
  • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
  • Benefits
  • Deeds of Gifts
  • Maternity and Paternity
  • Hospital Negligence Claims
  • Sorin Stockert 3T Heater-Cooler Claims
  • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
  • Consumer Rights
  • Leasehold properties
  • Settlement Agreements
  • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
  • Tax
  • C. Difficile Claims
  • Out Of Court Divorce
  • Option agreements and conditional contracts
  • Pancreatic Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Insurance disputes
  • Nerve Injury Claims
  • Employee Team Moves
  • Housing Associations
  • Inheritance Act claims
  • Landlord and Tenant
  • Surgical and Transvaginal Mesh Claims
  • Personal Injury Law
  • Senior Executives
  • Litigation - Breach of contract
  • Travel - Travel agents going out of business
  • Erb’s Palsy Compensation Claims
  • Anaesthetic Awareness Claims
  • Wills
  • Housing
  • Part Time Workers
  • Right of Way and Rights to Light
  • Redundancy
  • Purchase and Sale
  • Possession and repossession proceedings
  • Oral Cancer Claims
  • Flexible Working
  • New home purchases and sales
  • UK Employment Laws
  • Child Law
  • Pregnancy and Gynaecology Injury Claims
  • Dental Negligence Claims
  • Blood Transfusion Claims
  • Restorative Dentistry Claims
  • Stroke Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Birth Injury To Mother Claims
  • Lease Extensions
  • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
  • Transfers of equity
  • Financial Matters
  • Amputation Negligence Claims
  • Tribunal Claims
  • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
  • Cervical Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Injunctions
  • Asset protection and tax mitigation
  • Extending your Lease
  • Children
  • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
  • Probate
  • Privacy and Data Protection
  • Medical Negligence
  • Professional Discipline
  • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
  • Employment Contracts
  • Stillbirth Compensation Claims
  • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Cochlear Implant Claims
  • Testicular Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
  • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
  • Harassment/Bullying at Work
  • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
  • Tenant Eviction
  • Trusts
  • Boundary Disputes
  • Accident and Emergency Claims
  • Cerebral Palsy Claims
  • Periodontal Disease Claims
  • Restrictive Covenants
  • Remortgaging
  • Gardening Leave
  • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
  • Cosmetic Dentistry Claims
  • Lung Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Trusts
  • Fatal Medical Negligence Claims and Inquests
  • Grandparents' Rights
  • Failed Sterilisation Claims
  • Laser Treatment Claims
  • Right of First Refusal
  • Diabetes Claims
  • Repossessions
  • Civil Partnership Dissolution
  • Mental Health
  • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
  • Prostate Cancer Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Discrimination at Work
  • MRSA Claims
  • Group B Streptococcus Claims
  • Stress at Work
  • Matrimonial finance
  • Ophthalmic Negligence Claims
  • Pension and property advice
  • Travel - Trip cancellation
  • Faulty Defibrillator Claims
  • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Residential Conveyancing
  • Investment and buy to let properties
  • Clinical Negligence
  • Metal-On-Metal Hip Replacement Claims
  • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
  • Disciplinary Hearings
  • Consumer Disputes
  • Child contact
  • Dental Negligence
  • Insolvency and bankruptcy
  • Separation
  • Cauda Equina Syndrome Claims
  • Orthopaedic Negligence Claims
  • Laser Eye Surgery Claims
  • Holiday Pay Issues
  • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
  • Service Charge Disputes
  • Children Act proceedings
  • Pension Law
  • Birth Defect and Wrongful Birth Claims
  • Separation Agreement
  • Housing disputes
  • Travel rights
  • Family Leave
  • TUPE
  • Knee Replacement Claims
  • Professional Negligence
  • Social Services
  • Matrimonial transfers
  • GP Negligence Claims
  • Against The Council
  • Meningitis Misdiagnosis Claims
  • Housing Management
  • Litigation Law
  • Cosmetic Surgery Claims
  • Child Relocation After Divorce
  • Whistleblower Protection
  • Litigation - Product liability claims
  • Collaborative Law
  • Freehold Enfranchisement
  • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Environmental policy law
  • Asset Tracing
  • Share option schemes
  • Credit Control
  • Computer and IT Law
  • Corporate Law
  • Veterinary negligence
  • Health and Safety
  • Agency agreements
  • Insolvency and Bankruptcy
  • Finance
  • Contractual Disputes
  • Intellectual Property
  • Management buyouts
  • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Commercial Leases
  • Farming disputes
  • Personality and Image Rights
  • Dealing with intellectual property infringements
  • Confidential Information, Know-How and Trade Secrets
  • Planning law
  • Intellectual Property Litigation and Dispute Resolution
  • Buying and selling a farm
  • Licensing
  • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Copyright
  • Commercial Law
  • Mediation
  • Commercial mortgages
  • Development plot sales
  • Franchising
  • Tax
  • Partnership and LLP law
  • Domain Names
  • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
  • Sales and Purchases
  • Merchandising and sponsorship
  • Business structures and joint ventures
  • Employment - business
  • Statutory Demands
  • Corporate finance
  • GDPR
  • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
  • Patents
  • Advertising and Marketing Compliance
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Trade Marks and Designs
  • Setting up a business
  • Anti-Counterfeiting and Anti-Piracy
  • Employment of farm workers
  • Design rights and product designs
  • Summary Judgment
  • Commercial Litigation Matters
  • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
  • Charities
  • Landlord and tenant
  • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
  • Rights of way issues
  • Shareholder Agreements
  • Data Protection
  • Equestrian property
  • Agricultural land for sale or development
  • Developer disputes
  • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
  • Competition law
  • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
  • Purchase of development land

Opening times
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0900 - 1730
  • 0000 - 0000
  • 0000 - 0000