Hallam Solicitors

5.0/5 34 Client Reviews Leave a review

How Hallam Solicitors compares

Value for money

Excellent

Competitive

Poor

THIS FIRM

NATIONAL AVERAGE

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Hallam Solicitors on ReviewSolicitors

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Hallam Solicitors offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Show more

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Become Verified

Hallam Solicitors only have 34 reviews listed here

You may want to discover a firm with an established and proven reputation on ReviewSolicitors

Top Rated Law Firms - Highly Recommended and Recently Used By Clients Like You


34 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    34
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Keith
Keith Added 2 months ago 3 found this helpful Report to admin
February 26, 2021 20210226141023

Very efficient

5

Victoria dealt with our needs very professionally and very effective. I would use Hallam again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Karen
Karen Added 4 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
January 02, 2021 20210102133902

Simy the best

5

What can i say this company is second to none i am so pleased i rang them, Suhail is simply the best , he kept me informed all the way through my house purchase and answered every email promptly and he always answered my calls , so do yourself a favour dont go with these companies promising best prices they buy reviews and your lucky to ever get a call back let alone a professional like Suhail whos work ethic was impeccable
thank you Suhail

Was this review helpful? Yes

liz
liz Added 6 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
October 28, 2020 20201028121205

Top-notch service from Victoria

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

The process for buying and selling homes in England is awful, but Victoria made our experience as good as it could possibly be. She is very responsive and kept us informed at all times. We could see a clear difference between her approach and that of the other solicitors in the chain. In fact, she was so good that we are using her again to help us with our father's house sale.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sinead
Sinead Added 8 months ago Report to admin
September 09, 2020 20200909143438

Best solicitors in Leeds!!!

5

Matter Type: Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property

We have just used Hallam solicitors for the sale and purchase of our home. I can not recommend this company highly enough. Suhail Was fantastic he helped us every step of the way and was always available to answer any questions that may have arisen.
Our sale was a rather complex one due to having such a long chain - Suhail kept us sane and is a genuinely lovely person.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Arthur
Arthur Added 9 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
July 25, 2020 20200725103746

Excellent conveyancing at a time of lockdown

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Matthew Rushfirth has taken us to a very satisfactory completion on a property in Heaton, Bradford that was part of an estate for which we acted as executors living over 250 miles away. The process was remarkably smooth and efficient even when the first prospective buyer pulled out and much of the work done for a sale was seamlessly transferred to the second buyer, all this during lockdown. Unflappable, patient, no fuss and good value for money. Cannot fault.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gina
Gina Added 11 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
June 08, 2020 20200608175650

Brilliant service for conveyancing!

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Absolutely recommend using!!!

Like many of you looking around at the moment, I was extremely nervous about choosing a firm to take on our conveyancing. My parents and I live in London but our property was in Leeds. Although we did not have to choose a Leeds based firm, we thought it would make sense to do so just to ensure that we were in the right hands.

I started researching firms the standard way i.e. google, trust pilot etc. I came across 3 to 4 that stood out to me. In particular was Hallam. I'd never heard of them before but checked across multiple sites to get a feel of them and see what reviews had been posted. Something that stuck out to me was that a lot of the reviews kept referencing certain individuals within the firm. That alone piqued my interest as I tend to use that as gage for checking if reviews are genuine or not.

When I selected 'conveyancing' as my topic, I saw many people naming Victoria Black as a great member of the team who had helped others with their conveyancing. I reached out to Victoria (along with the 3 other firms I had chosen) with a list of questions that I sent to all the firms. Victoria was extremely prompt, answered all my questions on our call and provided me with further information and quotes relatively quickly.

In the end, we chose to go with Hallam Solicitors and I can assure you it was the best decision we ever made. Victoria Black was fantastic from start to finish. We signed our contract with them in October 2019 and completed the sale of our house with monies received by February 2020 (4 months total). Victoria was prompt and clear on everything she needed. If there were instances where she was not in office, we spoke with her colleagues instead (I think it was Suhail - who was also very helpful). At first I was worried because I had heard stories about solicitors taking ages to respond, but she always followed up with us. We had many hurdles with our sale, there was a time when the buyers tried to knock £30k off our asking price but Victoria stood firm and gave us sound advice on how to negotiate. We ended up having our original asking price met. She was extremely persistent with the buyer's solicitors (who was sometimes hard to contact and often requested information that had already been sent).

Another reason we chose Hallam (and should be a word of warning for all), is that although the larger legal firms seem bigger, have more lawyers and may have more tech savvy tools e.g. online case trackers and portals etc. all that glitters may not be gold. Those extras are actually unnecessary, a waste of time and money, and you'll likely be paying higher fees for those tech upgrades. Also, larger firms tend to have more clients and there is a chance that your case will get lost amongst thousands. I chose a smaller firm that had fewer people but had the capacity and dedication to know my case better and spend time on it.

I can honestly say that we had no regrets working with Hallam and appreciate all the hard work and effort that Victoria put in for closing our sale. The fees were also extremely reasonable, I think it only cost us roughly £750 in total (however, this will depend on how complex your sale is so do not use that as a guide).

We were so impressed with the level of service that we are looking to buy a second property in London and hope to use Victoria again as our solicitor. I am also going to copy and paste this review on other sites that I checked when I was searching myself.

Thank you to the Hallam team and we look forward to using you again this Summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Charlotte
Charlotte Added 12 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 17, 2020 20200517122548

Excellent

5

Matter Type: New home purchases and sales

Victoria was brilliant throughout the purchase of our first home. She was prompt in replying to emails and very thorough. Everything was communicated in a professional way, whilst the firm felt friendly and approachable. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Julia
Julia Added 12 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
May 15, 2020 20200515190031

Excellent service

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Matthew and Victoria both brilliant despite the challenges of the Coronavirus situation. No hold-ups, excellent communication and extremely friendly and approachable. I would recommend this firm to anyone. I'm based in Cambridge and distance was no issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nigel
Nigel Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
February 19, 2020 20200219113127

Conveyancing

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Just a few lines to say how good Hallam Solicitors are. Name checks for Suhail Chowdry & Victoria Black who have assisted in 2 transactions to an excellent standard. Very helpful and easy to talk to. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Mr Banks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Jo
Jo Added 1 year ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
December 20, 2019 20191220115015

Excellent

5

Matter Type: Residential Conveyancing

Victoria has been brilliant. Fantastic communication and very patient and professional with me when I'm constantly asking questions. Everything was completed promptly. I'd definitely recommend,

Was this review helpful? Yes

About This Branch

Regulated By:
Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal Services