Solicitor at ZMS Solicitors

Simon Mears

Solicitor - Assistant Solicitor

SRA ID: 276791

Simon is an Assistant Solicitor at ZMS and has been at the firm since 2008. He represents clients at the police station and Magistrates’ Court in all aspects of criminal defence work. Having worked for a number of years in publicly funded defence work he is passionate about representing people accused of criminal offences and for this reason continues to work in this area. An experienced advocate, Simon will ensure that the court knows all about his client and their circumstances, as he feels strongly that the court system need to be aware how issues such as poverty, homelessness and mental health issues affect people’s behaviour. He feels that courts sometimes wish to distance themselves from these realities, and somehow deal with individuals in a void and that it must not be allowed to do so.

11 Bowling Green Street, Leicester, Leicestershire, LE1 6AS

Licensed for 20 years

Practice Areas

Crime/ Criminal Defence

5.0/5 23 Client Reviews 23
  • Crime/ Criminal Defence 95%
  • Consumer 5%
23 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0

Review sources

Anonymous
Click to rate
Kevin
Kevin Added 1 month ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
July 01, 2022 20220701215809

An outstanding Law Firm!

5

Just used the services of ZMS and found them to be one if the best in the market place. Been in business over 25 years and without doubt these guys are the best!
I was assisted by Mr Simon Mears one of the Senior Partners who from start to finish was 100% professional.
His positive attitude , hard work and methodology surpassed my expectations which resulted in achieving an amazing result in Court.
Would recommend his services wholeheartedly!

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 10 July, 2022

Thank you so much for your review Kevin, we really appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to working with you again in the future should you require our assistance!

Was this review helpful? Yes

B
B Added 3 months ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
May 10, 2022 20220510084807

Zms

5

Zms are amazing, Simon gave me great advice and we won the case

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 10 May, 2022

Thank you very much for your kind words B! We are delighted that you happy with Simon's advice and the outcome! Should you require any further assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Was this review helpful? Yes

J foxon
Verified J foxon Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
July 25, 2021 20210725144615

Very professional

5

Simon was very professional through the whole case and he explained everything in great detail so understood, would highly recommend ZMS to represent you . Thank you again Simon.

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 27 July, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hannah
Verified Hannah Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
July 07, 2021 20210707004259

Very helpful, informative, thank you so much!

5

I really appreciate the advice and the time, very concise, very helpful, thank you very much !

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 09 July, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Christopher
Verified Christopher Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
June 15, 2021 20210615235947

Experience

5

Very reassuring and knowledgeable and good advice given

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 16 June, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Verified Ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
May 24, 2021 20210524115115

Knowledgeable and polite

5

Would recommend Simon, he listens well and is very knowledgeable. I am grateful to him and would have no reservations in recommending him. Thank you.

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 26 May, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Isaac
Verified Isaac Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
May 23, 2021 20210523123811

Great representation. I have no complaints. I would be I a big hole without his advice

5

Fantastic service. Great representation

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 24 May, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

M G
Verified M G Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
February 18, 2021 20210218143003

Professional and Knowledgable

5

Simon turned up 30 minutes after receiving the call fully prepared, making me feel comfortable immediately. Most cases can drag on for months, however within 10 minutes we proceeded with the interview and after a further 20 minutes we got the result we deserved.

Simon was instrumental in speeding up the process and therefore, keeping the stress of the situation to a minimum. I feel very lucky to have had a lawyer with the experience of Simon

Furthermore, Yakesh Tanna (MD) took it upon himself to call me a week later to make sure I was ok and that i had received all of my belongings back.

I would recommend that you use ZMS Solicitors if you are ever unfortunate enough to be in my position.

All the best

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 19 February, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dave
Verified Dave Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
January 20, 2021 20210120000000

Dave recommends Zms Legal Limited

5

Dave recommends Zms Legal Limited

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 02 February, 2021

Thank you for your recommendation Dave.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ryan
Verified Ryan Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
December 10, 2020 20201210140934

Court hearing

5

Overall very pleased with the outcome and Simon mears was great! The right result and happy it’s done now.

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 11 December, 2020

Thank you Ryan for your review ZMS Solicitors

Was this review helpful? Yes

Reviews collected on

MegaEengineer
MegaEengineer Added 2 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
July 19, 2020
Collected on
20200719163204

MegaEengineer

5

I was represented by ZMS regarding an unfortunate knife incident (an accident) that took place in my house with a house mate. The Duty solicitor representing me was Yakesh Tanna. Prior to questioning I went through the incident with Yakesh. Right from the start, Yakesh helped me to understand the gravity of the situation, by explaining everything to me. In the time spent with him I came to realise that Yakesh was incredibly articulate, well spoken, personable, and someone who had extensive experience in criminal law. He appeared to instinctively understand the situation. I realised quickly that he was interested in the best outcome for me. As well as been conventional in his way of thinking, he also takes a wider view, and can think laterally. For example, he recommended that, in the Police interview I mention my friendship with house mate, my extensive academic background, the fact I had never been involved in a crime before and my ambitions to complete my Computing BSc(hons) and eventually do an MSc and then a PhD in Computer Science, specialising in Artificial Intelligence. I didn’t realise at the time why this was important but it later occurred to me that it was so I could show I was of good character and demonstrate in the interview that I was a valuable member of society and not a bad person. Doing some research, I did go to other solicitors as I didn’t know how good Yakesh was. All the solicitors agreed he was very good and professional. Speaking to other solicitors re-enforced my confidence in Yakesh. My own internet research also revealed that Yakesh had over 24 years’ experience in Criminal Law.
Yakesh clearly explained the process, and advised me not to worry, until I have been informed by Police about the outcome. He was always able to take my calls and answer my questions, and address any concerns and gave me the feeling that he really wanted the best outcome for me. Further to the investigation and after some time waiting the Police decided on no further action (NFA).
Soon after the incident I informed my University and they suspended me. I was expecting this to be for an indefinite period of time and tried to reason with them to allow me to continue as a distance learner but I had no money for a solicitor and without a solicitor to represent me, the gravity of my pleas had no weight. I couldn’t believe it when Yakesh called me up one day and said he would get one of the solicitors (Simon) at the Office to write to the University for free, to request they allow me to continue my studies from home (distance learning). Amazingly, the University agreed. I’d already missed 6 weeks of my Second term, but soon caught up and ended up with a 1st for my second year. I am forever grateful to ZMS, Yakesh and Simon for their help. Furthermore, it didn’t cost me a penny.

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 20 July, 2020

Thank young for taking the time to give this feedback

Was this review helpful? Yes

Mr
Mr Added 4 years ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Zms Legal Limited
Collected whilst working at Zms Legal Limited
October 11, 2017
Collected on
20171011164430

A client

5

I would like to thank Simon Mears for all the efforts that were made on my behalf as my legal advocate, representing me on all prison law issues with his help I was fully confident he was in my corner Tackling all the frustrating and complex issues related to decategorisation.

I have had solicitors over the months but feel that Simon had gone over and above in helping me through my tough challenges sadly I faced in prison I cannot thank him enough for all the help Simon and his team @ ZMS Solicitors have helped me with in the past.

Again I want to thank you for keeping me patient you really have worked tirelessly and we really do appreciate your help you and Sheila at ZMS Solicitors 😊

Solicitor named in this review: Simon Mears

A representative from ZMS Solicitors responded to this review on 12 August, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and look forward to working with you in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Simon Mears

Simon is an Assistant Solicitor at ZMS and has been at the firm since 2008. He represents clients at the police station and Magistrates’ Court in all aspects of criminal defence work. Having worked for a number of years in publicly funded defence work he is passionate about representing people accused of criminal offences and for this reason continues to work in this area. An experienced advocate, Simon will ensure that the court knows all about his client and their circumstances, as he feels strongly that the court system need to be aware how issues such as poverty, homelessness and mental health issues affect people’s behaviour. He feels that courts sometimes wish to distance themselves from these realities, and somehow deal with individuals in a void and that it must not be allowed to do so.

Languages Spoken: English

Contact Simon Mears

Address

ZMS Solicitors

11 Bowling Green Street

Leicester

Leicestershire



Phone 0116 2470 790

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

15/04/02

05/08/20

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Employee

Zms Legal Limited

?-present