Solicitor at Risdons Solicitors

Amanda Shaw

Solicitor - Partner & Solicitor

SRA ID: 153669

Amanda is a Partner & Solicitor specialising in family law and she joined Risdons in January 2019, having worked exclusively in family law for over 20 years, qualifying in 1992. Her work covers a range of family matters including divorce, financial matters upon divorce and separation, children issues and domestic violence including emergency applications. Amanda is a member of the Law Society Children Panel and Resolution. She is a Resolution Accredited Specialist in cohabitation and Domestic abuse. She has also trained as a collaborative lawyer and believes that a collaborative approach assists in resolving issues for separating couples as amicably as possible. Amanda acts not only for the parents in Children Act proceedings but also for extended family members.

1 Mendip House, High Street, Taunton, Somerset, TA1 3SX

Licensed for 32 years

Practice Areas

Family Law

5.0/5 11 Client Reviews 11
  • Family Law 90%
  • Housing & Property 10%
11 Client Reviews

5.0/5

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge

Reviews summary

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Awful
    0
Anonymous
Click to rate
Charles Frank Lane
Verified Charles Frank Lane Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
November 21, 2023 20231121135402

Not just paperwork

5

Conveyancing when purchasing a new build and involving PX is trickier and requires education as well as advice. Shifting to joint ownership through use of a declaration of trust affects personal relationships and needs delicate handling. In all respects the team at Risdon Hosegood more than met the requirement filling us with confidence and ensuring a timely house move.

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 27 November, 2023

Dear Charles, thank you for your review. Great to hear that our team handled your case professionally, meeting the necessary requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Lisa
Verified Lisa Added 7 months ago 1 found this helpful Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
November 01, 2023 20231101210108

I am very happy with all she as doing for me

5

She is friendly and she has time for you

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 02 November, 2023

Dear Lisa, thank you for your review. We pleased that you are happy with the work that is being completed for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Andrew
Verified Andrew Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
January 12, 2023 20230112204629

Excellent and supportive

5

A pleasure to have been guided and supported through a difficult period in my life with the positive overall outcome.

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 19 January, 2023

Dear Andrew, it was a pleasure to have supported you through a difficult period in your life. Thank you for your review.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Roseanna
Verified Roseanna Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
November 16, 2022 20221116152238

Risdon Hosegood 10/10

5

Excellent service, friendly approachable and helpful staff. I have received excellent service on a number of matters I have had Risdon Hosegood deal with.

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 21 December, 2022

Dear Roseanna, thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with our professional service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Elaine
Verified Elaine Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
August 19, 2022 20220819075344

Very Helpful

5

Very helpful and friendly Solicitor.
Is helping me with court and family matter.

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 13 October, 2022

Dear Elaine, thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased to have provided a helpful and friendly service

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ian
Verified Ian Added 1 year ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
August 18, 2022 20220818120820

Amanda shaw

5

After being thrown under a bus by my partner, Amanda Shaw at risdon hosegood was recommeneded to me..
After a couple of quotes from other solicitors risdon hosegood came in much cheaper and the service provided by Amanda was second to none! She instantly took all the stress off of me and handled my case amazingly, I honestly cannot thank Amanda and her team enough for how well they managed my situatation and case. Needless to say the case went in my favour after all their hard work. I would personally recommend risdon hosegood and especially Amanda Shaw without doubt and if I ever needed a solicitor again I wouldn't look anywhere else!
Thanks again to Amanda and the team!


Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 13 October, 2022

Dear Ian, thank you for your positive feedback and helpful comments, your thanks will be passed on to Amanda and her team

Was this review helpful? Yes

Oliver
Verified Oliver Added 2 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
May 24, 2022 20220524200739

Caring

5

Amanda was so professional and caring with her approach towards me and situation.

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 08 July, 2022

Dear Oliver, thank you for your feedback headed caring that is very helpful and appreciated

Was this review helpful? Yes

Ellen
Verified Ellen Added 2 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
January 11, 2022 20220111091833

Prenuptial Advice

5

Amanda advised me regarding the writing up of a prenuptial agreement between me & my now husband due to the assets that he held being a lot more substantial than those I held

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 11 January, 2022

Dear Ellen, thank you for your positive review that is appreciated

Was this review helpful? Yes

Clare
Verified Clare Added 3 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
April 08, 2021 20210408102239

Divorce Case

5

I couldn't recommend Risden Hosegood highly enough, extremely efficient service and I would have no hesitation recommending them in the future.

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 15 April, 2021

Dear Clare, thank you for your positive feedback, your review is appreciated

Was this review helpful? Yes

Richard
Richard Added 4 years ago Report to admin
Collected whilst working at Risdons Solicitors
March 18, 2020 20200318000000

Communication was excellent.

5

From the very outset or popping in for a quote for divorce, Amanda was understanding, informative and didn’t rush me. This enabled me to have full understanding of what had to go through. Communication was excellent. Amanda was extremely supportive from the first day of meeting her right through to attending court. Thankyou for everything you've been amazing.

Lawyer named in this review: Amanda Shaw

A representative from Risdons Solicitors responded to this review on 26 August, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive comments and they will be passed on to Amanda.

Was this review helpful? Yes

About Amanda Shaw

Amanda is a Partner & Solicitor specialising in family law and she joined Risdons in January 2019, having worked exclusively in family law for over 20 years, qualifying in 1992. Her work covers a range of family matters including divorce, financial matters upon divorce and separation, children issues and domestic violence including emergency applications. Amanda is a member of the Law Society Children Panel and Resolution. She is a Resolution Accredited Specialist in cohabitation and Domestic abuse. She has also trained as a collaborative lawyer and believes that a collaborative approach assists in resolving issues for separating couples as amicably as possible. Amanda acts not only for the parents in Children Act proceedings but also for extended family members.

Languages Spoken: English, Welsh

Contact Amanda Shaw

Address

Risdons Solicitors

1 Mendip House

High Street

Taunton

Somerset

TA1 3SX



Phone 01823 792198

Website

Resume

LICENSE

Country

Status

Acquired

Updated

United Kingdom

Currently Registered

17/02/92

16/05/24

We found no instances of professional misconduct for this solicitor

WORK EXPERIENCE

Title

Name

Duration

Associate - Head of Family

Risdon Hosegood

?-present