Request a callback

Book an appointment

How Risdon Hosegood Compares

Value for money

This firm - 91%
National Average
Poor Competitive Excellent

Excellent does not necessarily mean ‘cheap’. It means that clients thought that the level of service received was Excellent for what they paid.

This score has been calculated using up to the last 300 reviews left by clients of Risdon Hosegood on ReviewSolicitors.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask reviewer questions about the value for money they felt they received by using ABC Law. These questions include:

  • Value for money (a rating of 1-5)
  • How much were you initially quoted or how much did you expect to pay?
  • Approximately how much did you end up spending for the legal services provided (ignoring disbursements and court fees)
  • Did you think this was underpriced, overpriced or about right?
  • Overall experience

We use data science to amalgamate the answers to these questions and create a ‘ReviewSolicitors score’ out of 100. The above chart representation score is a simple percentage representation of the averaged score across those who have reviewed this law firm.

Underpriced 1%
Overpriced 3%
About Right 94%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Would recommend to
friends and family

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Risdon Hosegood and have had a satisfactory experience where they have indicated that they would recommend the services of the law firm to their friends and family.

You can use this data to see how Risdon Hosegood performs against other law firms nationally. A score close to 100% indicates that this firm is highly valued by their clients.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Would you recommend this firm to somebody else?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Satisfied with
outcome of matter

This firm - 93%
National Average
0% 25% 50% 75% 100%

ReviewSolicitors uses our community data to show you how many clients used Risdon Hosegood and were satisfied with the outcome of their matter. Being satisfied with the outcome of your matter is an important consideration to have in mind.

You can use this data to see how Risdon Hosegood compares to the national average of clients being satisfied with the outcome of their matter after instructing a solicitor.

As part of our review questionnaire we ask the question:

"Were you satisfied with the outcome of your case?"

The reviewer can select either “Yes” or “No”.

The above score is a simple percentage representation of the total amount of clients who selected the “Yes” option:

Yes 93%
No 7%

If you would like to read more about how we work with our review data please see our Transparency section.

Read moreless...

Rankings by area of expertise

The rankings below show the areas of expertise that Risdon Hosegood offers to clients. You can see how good the service offered is in comparison to all other law firms nationally.

Data shown above is based on the reviews and client feedback collected by ReviewSolicitors over the last 12 months.

Review Sources

Client Reviews

4.9/5

Reviews summary

  • Excellent

    357
  • Very Good

    23
  • Average

    3
  • Poor

    2
  • Awful

    6

Overall experience

  • Value For Money
  • Communication
  • Initial Impressions
  • Approachability
  • Documentation Accuracy
  • Legal knowledge
Steven

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Steven

December 05, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Great Service

Megan was keen to help and assist us where she could and was proactive in dealing with our information and ensuring everything was in place before we moved to ensure a swift completion.

Was this review helpful?

Timothy

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Timothy

December 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Purchase during Covid ( March 2021 )

Very quick and easy,
kept well upto date
Nothing to complain about

Was this review helpful?

David

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

David

December 02, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

New house purchase

Great to deal with. Always available when needed and helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kevin

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Kevin

November 26, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Superb. professional service

Th team at Risdon Hosegood were absolutely superb. The sale of my mum's house went through without a hitch everything was really smooth. Sue and Hilary were absolutely on the ball and made sure everything was dealt with when needed. Advice was timely and very professional. I would very definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?

Anna

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Investment purchases and Buy to Let

Anna

November 25, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Fabulous experience!

We selected Risdon Hosegood as our solicitors when buying our first house. A couple of our friends recommended them and we are very pleased with the service we received. Emma was our point of contact and she was friendly, professional and helpful all the way throughout the process. She went out of her way to support us and we can't thank Emma enough for making the experience a straightforward one. The regular updates were great for keeping us in the loop. They have an online portal where you can quickly see when they have ticked something off the 'to do' list and and your virtual removals lorry moves closer to your new home as they work their way through. It was such a good system, no multiple phone calls and emails to check the process as it's all online to login and view. I would highly recommend Risdon Hosegood they are so efficient and no hidden costs. Five star service thank you so much Emma!

Was this review helpful?

Ian

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Disputed Wills

Ian

November 23, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

housing

prompt and clear advice. I have confidence in the firm still even though my experience of the preparation of my will was appalling. I think the person responsible left the firm fairly promptly.

Was this review helpful?

John

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

John

November 18, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Highly Recommended

Having the support of Mercedes and Risdon Hosegood made our house buying process so much easier. We were regularly kept up to date with the progression of our case and our enquiries throughout were answered efficiently and comprehensively.
We were very happy with the service we received and we would not hesitate to recommend them to others.

Was this review helpful?

Stuart and Lindsay

Verified review

This review has been left by a verified client who used Risdon Hosegood.

Matter Type:

Residential Conveyancing

Stuart and Lindsay

November 17, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Stuart & Lindsay Smith - House purchase

Sue Gill was the person who handled the conveyance. As our conveyance was not completely straightforward Sue's work ethic and communication was invaluable. Albeit, House Purchase can be stressful, Sue's professionalism and help made the journey easier for Lindsay and myself. Frankly, there there were times where Sue did all she could and also visited our house with important paperwork to help us.

We are very grateful to Risdons and Sue made the difference.

A mention also for Hilary Dunster and Caroline your locum as all communications were handled well.

Thank you - Stuart & Lindsay

Was this review helpful?

Reviews collected from

IE

IE

November 30, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

A client

very professional and helpful

Was this review helpful?

Kris

Kris

November 29, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Kris

Very quick to progress our house purchase and available to answer any questions we had whether via email or phone, very pleased with the service we received

Was this review helpful?

David

David

November 24, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

David

Could not fault the service
Excellent in every way and would use in a heartbeat

Was this review helpful?

Paul

Paul

October 28, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Paul

Excellent service, despite the incompetence of another company in the chain.
Would have liked communication lines to be more visible on the Portal which really was a waste of time and a little gimmicky as it only told you what you already knew! Therefore in my opinion the Portal requires a makeover.

Was this review helpful?

Meggis

Meggis

October 20, 2021

Report to admin

Collected on:

Meggis

Nice place with nice people

Was this review helpful?

Risdon Hosegood are accredited by

accreditation
accreditation
accreditation
accreditation

About this branch

Description

We also have individual Law Society accredited experts with Peppy Griffiths accredited in family mediation and Stuart Smallman and Amanda Shaw accredited in family law. Peppy is also an accredited member with the Family Mediation Council (FMC)

Regulated by

Solicitors Regulation Authority

Legal services

Personal areas of law

  • Consumer
    • Consumer Disputes
    • Litigation - Breach of contract
    • Litigation - Insurance disputes
    • Litigation - M&A and warranty disputes
    • Litigation - Product liability claims
    • Litigation - Property litigation claims
    • Litigation - Trust and pension issues
    • Litigation Law
  • Employment
    • Agency Staff / Temp Workers
    • Constructive/Unfair Dismissal
    • Disciplinary Hearings
    • Discrimination at Work
    • Employee Team Moves
    • Employment Contracts
    • Equal Pay Disputes
    • Family Leave
    • Flexible Working
    • Gardening Leave
    • Harassment/Bullying at Work
    • Holiday Pay Issues
    • Maternity and Paternity
    • Part Time Workers
    • Pension Law
    • Privacy and Data Protection
    • Professional Discipline
    • Redundancy
    • Restrictive Covenants
    • Senior Executives
    • Settlement Agreements
    • Stress at Work
    • TUPE
    • Tribunal Claims
    • UK Employment Laws
    • Unfair Dismissal Claims
    • Whistleblower Protection
  • Family Law
    • Adoption, Surrogacy, Care and Special Guardianship
    • Asset protection and tax mitigation
    • Child Arrangements Following Divorce
    • Child Law
    • Child Relocation After Divorce
    • Child contact
    • Children
    • Children Act proceedings
    • Civil Partnership Dissolution
    • Civil partnerships
    • Cohabitation agreements and disputes
    • Cohabitation and Unmarried Relationships
    • Collaborative Law
    • Divorce After A Brain Or Other Serious Injury
    • Domestic Abuse
    • Family Mediation
    • Family law
    • Financial Matters
    • Grandparents' Rights
    • Inheritance Act claims
    • Injunctions
    • Matrimonial finance
    • Out Of Court Divorce
    • Parental responsibility, paternity disputes, surrogacy
    • Pension and property advice
    • Pre and Post Nuptial Agreements
    • Separation Agreement
    • Social Services
    • Unmarried Couples' Rights
  • Housing & Property
    • Anti-social Behaviour
    • Boundary Disputes
    • Buying at auction
    • Declarations of trusts
    • Deeds of Gifts
    • Deeds of easements, variation, deeds of rectifications
    • Dilapidation Claims
    • Evicting Squatters and Trespassers
    • Exclusivity and lock-out agreements
    • Extending your Lease
    • Freehold Enfranchisement
    • Housing Associations
    • Housing Management
    • Housing disputes
    • Injunctions
    • Investment and buy to let properties
    • Landlord and Tenant
    • Lease Extensions
    • Leasehold properties
    • Matrimonial transfers
    • New home purchases and sales
    • Option agreements and conditional contracts
    • Possession and repossession proceedings
    • Property Disputes
    • Purchase and Sale
    • Remortgaging
    • Renting and Tenancy Agreements
    • Repossessions
    • Residential Conveyancing
    • Restrictive Covenants, Easements and Wayleaves
    • Right of First Refusal
    • Right of Way and Rights to Light
    • Right to Manage
    • Service Charge Disputes
    • Service Charge Recovery
    • Tenancy Breaches, Injunctions and Forfeiture Claims
    • Tenant Eviction
    • Transfer of title
    • Transfers of equity
    • Transfers of parts of land
    • Unpaid Rent, Service or Ground Charges
  • Money & Tax
    • Debt and Bankruptcy
    • HMRC Tax Investigations and Disputes
    • Inheritance Tax
    • Insolvency and bankruptcy
    • Property Holding Structures
    • Tax
    • Tax Advisory Services
    • Tax Compliance Services
    • Trusts
  • Personal Injury
    • Against The Council
    • Benefits Available To Asbestos Victims
    • Diffuse Mesothelioma Payment Scheme
    • Gym Injury Compensation
    • Personal Injury Law
    • Welfare Issues After Serious Injury
  • Welfare & Benefits
    • Mental Health
  • Wills, Trusts & Probate
    • Probate
    • Trusts
    • Wills

Business areas of law

  • Agriculture
    • Agricultural land for sale or development
    • Buying and selling a farm
    • Commercial contracts for farming businesses
    • Employment of farm workers
    • Equestrian property
    • Farm partnerships and corporate structures
    • Farming disputes
    • Veterinary negligence
  • Commercial Property
    • Commercial Leases
    • Commercial mortgages
    • Developer disputes
    • Development plot sales
    • Environmental policy law
    • Finance
    • Investment purchases and Buy to Let
    • Landlord and tenant
    • Purchase and Sale Of Commercial Property
    • Purchase of development land
    • Rights of way issues
    • Sales or purchases of shops, factories, warehouses, offices and licensed premises
  • Company & Commercial
    • Agency agreements
    • Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)
    • Asset Tracing
    • Business structures and joint ventures
    • Commercial Law
    • Commercial Litigation Matters
    • Competition law
    • Contractual Disputes
    • Corporate Law
    • Corporate finance
    • Credit Control
    • Data Protection
    • Debt Recovery
    • Employment - business
    • Franchising
    • Management buyouts
    • Merchandising and sponsorship
    • Mis-sold Interest Rate Swap Agreements
    • Partnership and LLP law
    • Sales and Purchases
    • Setting up a business
    • Share option schemes
    • Shareholder Agreements
    • Shareholder and Partnership Disputes
    • Statutory Demands
    • Summary Judgment
    • Tax
    • Unfair Loan Charges
  • Regulations
    • Health and Safety
Book an appointment